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January 9, 2015

To the Legislature of Alabama:

This is the 22" edition of a publication that the Legislative Fiscal Office first completed in January of 1979.
The book is intended as a reference source for the most basic information about Alabama'’s taxes and
revenues.

This publication involved the entire staff of the Legislative Fiscal Office. Kirk Fulford directed the project
and was responsible for writing the final edition. The research and data collection was accomplished by
the staff analysts.

Legislative history information has been updated to include acts enacted through the 2014 Regular
Session of the Legislature. Collection information has been updated to include fiscal year 2014 receipts.
For most revenue sources, comparison with other states information was updated in November 2013.

The primary sources used in compiling this information were the Code of Alabama 1975, the Acts of
Alabama, and the Commerce Clearing House's State Tax Guide. The data for revenue collections was
obtained primarily from the Department of Revenue's Revenue Abstract reports and revenue reports
issued by the Department of Finance.

Except where noted, all references to years concern fiscal years. The fiscal years of the neighboring states
cited cover the period July 1 through June 30, while Alabama'’s fiscal year extends from October 1 through
September 30.

We would appreciate your suggestions as to how we might make future editions of more value to you.

Sincerely,

7/M;§m

Norris Green
Director
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Education Trust Fund Receipts, Fiscal Years 2011 - 2014

ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL ACTUAL

FY 10-11 FY 11-12 FY 12-13 FY 13-14
BEER TAX 22,813,929 22,367,484 22,311,129 22,247,275
HYDROELECTRIC TAX 466,610 397,051 2,210 332,254
INCOME TAX 2,984,082,697 3,297,903,371 3,452,400,567 3,480,171,055
INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX (1) 30,993,296 30,993,296 30,993,296 30,993,296
MOBILE TELECOMM TAX 32,852,907 28,351,413 27,725,098 24,257,712
SALES TAX 1,563,723,836 1,624,724,081 1,543,676,300 1,624,469,729
STORE LICENSES 44,060 98,137 111,938 112,968
UNCLASSIFIED 247,960 106 5,050
USE TAX 256,998,715 274,448,808 219,225,495 222,246,773
USE TAX REMOTE 1,143,070 2,386,690
UTILITY TAX 394,044,542 367,021,428 385,243,381 395,189,235
SUBTOTAL 5,286,020,592 5,646,553,029 5,682,832,590 5,802,412,038
TRANSFERS AND REVERSIONS 51,643,250 (2) 57,654,590 3) 463,843 324,448

TOTAL

5,337,663,842

5,704,207,619

5,683,296,433

5,802,736,486

(1) Capped at FY 1992 level by Act 93-679.

(2) Includes $18,600,000 reversion of excess Food Stamp sales tax revenues from the Department of Human Resources and $32,302,687
repayment from Public School and College Authority (PSCA).

(3) Includes $27,314,100 reversion of excess Food Stamp sales tax revenues from the Department of Human Resources and $30,000,000

transfer from Dual Relay Fund.

Education Trust Fund Receipts, Fiscal Years 2011 — 2014 (Table)
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Education Trust Fund Receipts by Tax, FY 2014 (Pie Chart)
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State General Fund Receipts, Fiscal Years 2011-2014

NET RECEIPTS FY 10-11 FY 11-12 FY 12-13 FY 13-14
ABANDONED PROPERTY TAX 55,000,000 28,000,000 22,000,000 22,000,000
A.B.C. BOARD 83,859,906 87,716,765 93,607,976 88,760,450

AD VALOREM TAX 140,161,704 141,983,266 140,727,850 145,051,073
AUTO TITLE TAX 20,689,261 20,969,890 22,532,368 22,488,252
CELLULAR TELEPHONE 61,205,789 52,202,826 50,938,195 44,014,426
CIGARETTE TAX 111,185,719 107,741,652 102,569,386 99,959,212
BUSINESS ENTITY TAXES 109,654,834 | (1) 43,292,599 43,989,987 65,258,757
COURT COSTS - JUDICIAL ARTICLE 82,352,336 77,226,989 69,875,553 64,790,000
DEED RECORD TAX 6,564,281 6,753,449 8,356,372 8,257,393
DRIVER LICENSE FEES 15,920,186 16,937,577 15,441,906 15,444,560
FINANCIAL INSTITUTION EXCISE TAX 7,438,132 22,689,109 19,734,185 16,050,710
FREIGHT LINE AND EQUIP. CO. TAX 3,542,668 3,586,112 3,417,879 3,101,959
HAZARDOUS WASTE 90,127 (10,613) (5,409) 451,182
ESTATE TAX 40,613 302,790 18,460 7,653
INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 242,999,915 | (2) 247,011,025 265,054,075 | (2) 274,722,747 | (2)
INTEREST - ALA. TRUST FUND 119,149,302 | (3) 337,406,402 | (3) 259,951,977 | (4) 249,625,519 | (4)
INTEREST ON STATE DEPOSITS 18,430,478 15,985,993 15,111,130 12,416,167
JUDICIAL ADMIN FEES 104,191 101,135 98,768 98,079
LEASE TANG. PERS. PROP. 61,865,708 61,026,091 62,510,131 73,764,532
LODGINGS TAX 35,737,444 37,320,497 38,883,799 41,018,672
MANUFACTURED HOME FEES 613,745 572,608 564,321 553,600
MISC. DEPT FEES AND RECEIPTS 20,392,334 | (5) 8,431,751 | (6) 5,477,756 6,300,978
MORTGAGE RECORD TAX 22,349,974 26,954,786 30,937,392 24,500,802
MOTOR VEH LICENSE 42,373,260 42,474,312 42,044,505 42,483,821

OIL AND GAS PRODUCTION 82,396,569 86,161,737 86,580,018 84,566,740

OIL COMPANY LICENSES 4,073,202 5,587,070 6,789,563 11,933,844
PARI-MUTUEL TAX 1,972,958 1,840,893 1,557,287 1,546,564
PRIVILEGE LICENSE TAX 5,057,883 5,134,360 5,000,438 5,012,934
PUBLIC SAFETY MISC. 18,406,094 18,110,302 18,036,121 17,755,301
PUBLIC UTILITIES LICENSE TAX 22,651,875 22,687,028 21,901,697 22,064,085
SALES TAX ON AUTOS 68,343,728 76,019,409 78,666,086 84,821,274
SALES TAX DISCOUNT 15,336,816 | (7) 21,358,871 | (7) 21,867,756 | (7) 17,472,159 | (7)
STATE SECURITIES COMMISSION 8,324,280 8,188,902 8,316,842 8,604,775
TOBACCO - MEDICAID WAIVER 2,021,911 3,261,043 | (8) 2,072,265 2,050,852
TOBACCO TAX 6,143,783 6,929,810 7,164,780 8,911,702

USE TAX 603,764 729,992 76,748,110 | (9) 76,958,733 | (9)
USE TAX REMOTE 3,429,239 | (9) 7,160,113 | (9)
USE TAX DISCOUNT 1,810,460 | (10) 2,999,532 | (10) 3,205,997 | (10) 2,499,439 | (10)
UNCLASSIFIED 1,500 0 219,492 1,250
SUB-TOTAL 1,389,211,897 1,645,685,962 1,655,394,253 1,672,480,311
TRANSFERS AND REVERSIONS 127,880,527 | (11) 38,179,233 | (12) 69,832,027 | (13) 82,092,527 | (14)
GRAND TOTAL 1,517,092,424 1,683,865,195 1,725,226,280 1,754,572,838

(1) FY 2011 includes $106,536,399 from privilege and shares escrow account.

(2) FY 2011 includes $10,000,000 transfer from the Insurance Guaranty Fund. FY 2013 includes $15,000,000 transfer from Insurance Guaranty Fund. FY 2014 includes
$12,000,000 transfer from Insurance Guaranty Fund.

(3) FY 2011 includes $56,091,288 and FY 2012 includes $13,145,140 in realized and unrealized gains transferred pursuant to Constitutional Amendment 666. FY 2012
also includes $266,371,226 to correct an error in prior distributions of realized and unrealized capital gains.

(4) FY 2013 includes amounts from revised distribution procedure as well as an additional transfer of $145,796,943 pursuant to Constitutional Amendment 856.

(5) Includes one-time transfer of $16,925,375 from a pharmaceutical settlement.

(6) Includes one-time transfer of $2,671,957 from a pharmaceutical settlement.

(7) Includes amount pledged for debt service on state parks and historical sites bonds and the SGF per Act 2000-731. FY 2012 and FY 2013 include an additional
$5,000,000 transferred per Act 2011-642.

(8) Includes $1,192,069 in one-time penalty payment.

(9) Includes additional use tax distribution beginning in FY 2013 pursuant to Act 2012-599.

(10) Revenue distributed to SGF per Act 2001-669. FY 2012 and FY 2013 include an additional $1,000,000 transferred per Act 2011-642.

(11) Includes one-time transfer of $10,760,253 from tobacco balances.

(12) Includes one-time transfer of $10,797,984 from tobacco balances.

)
(13) Includes one-time transfers of $10,603,947 from tobacco balances.
(14) Includes one-time transfers of $10,491,823 from tobacco balances and $46,432,662 from the tobacco arbitration settlement.

State General Fund Receipts, Fiscal Years 2011 — 2014 (Table) Page 9




State General Fund Receipts by Tax, FY 2014 (Pie Chart)
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Abandoned Property Act

Constitutional Provision:

Section 258 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 111, now
appearing as Section 258 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended.
Provided that the estates of deceased persons who die without leaving a will or heir shall be
applied to the maintenance of the public schools. Amendment 111 (proposed by Act 56-82, 1% Ex.
Sess. and proclaimed ratified September 7, 1956) replaced reference to "maintenance of the public

schools" with "the furtherance of education.”

Statutory Authority:

Sections 35-12-70 through 35-12-96, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Description:

This revenue source is not a tax but a provision for the orderly disposition of unclaimed or abandoned
property. Every person or entity holding funds or other property, tangible or intangible, presumed
abandoned must file a report with and deliver the property to the Treasurer. This property includes,
but is not limited to, monies kept on deposit in financial institutions, traveler's checks, money orders,
debit cards or other payment instruments, safe deposit box contents, monies owed to policyholders
by insurance companies, utility deposits, and corporate stocks, securities and dividends held by
brokers and fiduciaries. The Treasurer is required to attempt to notify the apparent owners of
abandoned property in a cost-effective manner. All abandoned property (other than money and
securities) delivered to the state treasurer is sold to the highest bidder at public sale within three years
after its delivery (unless the treasurer determines that the probable cost of sale exceeds the value of

the property).

Collections:
All funds received, including the proceeds from the sale of abandoned property, are collected by the

Treasurer.

Abandoned Property Act Page 12



Fiscal Year
2013-14

2012-13
2011-12
2010-11

2009-10

Gross
Collections
65,773,872

79,300,000
58,682,000
54,160,587

50,012,772

Claims Paid
24,409,793

20,200,000
19,149,150
26,565,460

22,853,215

Net Collections

41,364,079
59,100,000
39,532,851
27,595,127

27,159,557

Percent Change
(30.01)

49.50

43.26

1.60

50.12

Source: State Treasurer's Office Unclaimed Property Division.

State General Fund Receipt

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 22,000000 -
2012-13 22,000,000 (21.43)
2011-12 28,000,000 (49.09)
2010-11 55,000,000 1275.00
2009-10 4,000,000 (76.47)

Source: “State General Fund Receipts—Comparison of Net Receipts” Report — Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
All funds received and proceeds from the sale of abandoned property are deposited as follows:

(1) Funds from estates of persons who died without leaving a will or heir are deposited into the
Public School Fund.

(2) All other funds are deposited into the Unclaimed Property Reserve Fund from which the
Treasurer pays claims duly allowed and transfers funds to the State Treasury Operations Fund
as necessary to pay all costs and expenses of administering the program and all costs and
expenses of administering the Office of the Treasurer (See Legislative History, Acts 2013, No.
92). Surpluses in the Unclaimed Property Reserve Fund are deposited into the State General

Fund on a quarterly schedule.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Municipalities, incorporated municipal boards, counties, county boards and electric cooperatives
are exempted from reporting property as abandoned.
(2) Gift certificates, cards, or in-store credits issued by persons primarily engaged in a retail business.

(3) Property held, due and owing in a foreign country and arising out of a foreign transaction.

Abandoned Property Act Page 13



Legislative History:

Acts 1971, No. 63, p. 101

Established the procedure for the uniform disposition of unclaimed or abandoned property; and
established distribution as follows: 20% into the trust fund for enforcement and claims; 80% to the
State General Fund.

Acts 1991, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 788, p. 176
Accelerated state custody of unclaimed or abandoned tangible and intangible property by changing
the dormancy period from seven to five years (provided one-time $6 million windfall to State General
Fund); and provided for current disposition of funds.

Acts 1996, No. 724, p. 1197
Transferred the administration of the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act from the
Department of Revenue to the State Treasurer's Office beginning October 1, 1996; amended reporting
and delivery of property requirements; also established new funds within Treasurer’s Office with
reserves accruing to the State General Fund on a quarterly basis.

Acts 1999, No. 381, p. 607
Provided that any warrant drawn by the state comptroller which is outstanding and unpaid one year
from the date of issue is void and shall be reported and maintained through the unclaimed property
program (formerly void after one year with payment to the State General Fund).

Acts 2004, No. 440, p. 755
Repealed the prior unclaimed property law and provided for the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed
Property Act of 2004; shortened the time period within which holders of property must report and pay
to the state property that is presumed to be abandoned; and clarified that property resulting from
demutualization of an insurance company is subject to the unclaimed property law.

Acts 2013, No. 91, p. 192
Allows banks to treat debit cards and other payment instruments equally to other deposit products
regarding abandonment. Requires the holder of property presumed abandon to electronically file a
report to the Treasurer concerning the property; and remit any monies electronically. Allows the
surviving child or children or, if none, the surviving parent or parents of an abandoned property owner
who has died intestate to claim the abandoned property if certain conditions are met.

Acts 2013, No. 92, p. 203
Effective October 1, 2013, establishes funding for the Office of the State Treasurer through the newly
created State Treasury Operations Fund which will allow the operations of Treasury Administrative,

Unclaimed Property, and the SAFE Program to be managed under this single fund. Dissolves the

Abandoned Property Act Page 14



Unclaimed Property Administrative Fund and the SAFE Program Administration Fund and transfers any
unobligated funds to the State Treasury Operations Fund. Requires that all unobligated funds shall
remain in the fund and be used for office operations.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
The law requires reports of abandoned property to be filed with the Department of Financial
Services. Funds are deposited into the State School Trust Fund, where the funds are used for
public education, until being claimed by the owners or owners’ heirs.

Georgia
Procedures for disposition of abandoned property are carried out by the Department of Revenue.
Unclaimed property reverts to the State General Fund.

Mississippi
Abandoned property is handled by the State Treasurer's Office. A portion is set aside in the
Historic Properties Financing Fund with the remainder of the proceeds invested to generate
interest income for the state.

Tennessee
The State Treasurer's Office administers the orderly disposition of abandoned property (Unclaimed

Property Division). Proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.
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Ad Valorem Tax

Constitutional Provisions:

(1) Levying Provisions:
Section 214 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 214 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.
Limited total state property tax levied for state purposes to 6.5 mills.
Amendment No. 111 to Section 260 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 260
of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 56-82,
1% Ex. Sess., proclaimed ratified September 7, 1956).
Section 260 provided a tax of 3 mills for the Public School Fund to be applied to the support and
maintenance of public schools and restated the authority of the Legislature to levy a total state ad
valorem tax up to 6.5 mills, including the 3 mills provided by this section for the Public School Fund
(See Legislative History-Acts 1935, No. 194). Amendment 111 replaced reference to the "public school
fund" with "education fund" and reference to use of the 3-mill tax for the "support and maintenance
of the public schools" with "support and furtherance of education.”
(2) Exemption Provisions:
Section 91 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 91 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.
Prohibited the Legislature from taxing the real or personal property of the state, counties or municipal
corporations or cemeteries and certain property used exclusively for religious worship, schools or for
purely charitable purposes. (See also Amendment No. 373).
(3) Other Provisions:
Amendment No. 373 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 217 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended “Lid Bill" (proposed by Act 78-6, 2" Ex.
Sess., proclaimed ratified November 20, 1978, effective October 1, 1978).
(a) Established the current classes of property, assessment ratios and the maximum total amount of
ad valorem tax payable on any item in any one year (as a percentage of fair market value).
(b) Provided option of current use value for Class III property.
(c) Provided that taxable property be assessed uniformly by local governments at the state ratio
effective October 1, 1978 and further provided for the adjustment of the ratios (within a
prescribed range of assessment ratios of 5% to 35%) as applied to property taxes levied by local

authorities.
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(d) Established procedures for increasing local millage rates above limits otherwise provided in the
Constitution as follows:

(i) proposal by the local governing body after a public hearing;
(i) approval by the Legislature;
(iii) approval by a majority of affected voters in a special election.

(e) Provided that, on or after October 1, 1978, taxing authorities may levy and collect up to 2 mills
property tax for reimbursement for certain reappraisal costs, with any collections above the
reassessment costs in the year the tax terminates to be used for general purposes.

(f) Restated exemption of property devoted exclusively to religious, educational or charitable

purposes (see also Section 91) and provided additional exemptions. (See Major Exemptions).

Statutory Authority:

Sections 38-4-12, 38-4-12.1, 38-4-13 and 40-1-1 through 40-11-5, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
A property tax is levied on the owners of real and personal property within Alabama. All property is

assessed in one of four classes at the ratios and maximums below:

Assessment Annual Max. Payable Total Millage
Description Ratio (as % of Market Value)® Equivalent
All property of utilities 30% 2.00% 66.7

All property not otherwise classified 20% 1.50% 75

All agricultural, forest and single-
family, owner-occupied residential
property, including owner-occupied
residential manufactured homes,
located on land owned by the
manufactured home owner, and
historical buildings and sites

All private passenger automobiles
and motor trucks of the type
commonly known as “pickup
trucks” used for personal use

! Total (including state and all applicable local levies) payable per taxpayer per property. The cities of Mountain Brook, Vestavia Hills
and Huntsville are exempted from the ceiling by Amendment No. 373 “Lid Bill.” Other cities may be exempted by constitutional
amendment. The fair and reasonable market value of the property (to which the appropriate assessment ratio is applied) is
determined by the local tax assessor and local Board of Equalization except in the case of public utility property, where the
Department of Revenue makes such determinations.
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Tax Rate:
State levy of 6.5 mills per dollar of assessed value. (A mill is 1/1000 of a dollar or 1/10 of a cent, so that 6.5
mills equal $.0065 or .65% of $1. One mill equals $1 of taxes per $1,000 of assessed value of property.)
Example of application of State millage rate to determine state ad valorem taxes due: Assuming a
home has an appraised value of $100,000 and the homeowner (taxpayer) is eligible for the $4,000 state
homestead exemption. (See Major Exemptions).
$100,000 (appraised value)
x 10% (assessment ratio of Class IIl property)
$T,OOO (assessed value)
-4,000 (homestead exemption)
~$ 6000
x .0065 (6.5 mills)
ﬁ (State ad valorem tax due)

Information regarding local levies follows Legislative History.

Collections:
By County Tax Collector or Revenue Commissioner; remitted to state treasury on the 5™ and 20" of each

month.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) (State only)2 Percent Change
2013-14 330,068,989 2.26

2012-13 322,767,866 0.03
2011-12 322,682,353 1.66
2010-11 317,428,029 0.18

2009-10 316,868,628 1.27

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report-Comptroller's Office.

% Does not include property tax relief replacement revenues from income tax receipts. Section 40-18-58 of the Code provides an
appropriation from income tax receipts to the Property Tax Relief Fund (Section 40-9-24) to replace revenue losses which result from
homestead exemptions. The transferred amount is distributed as are other state property tax receipts.
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Property Tax Relief Fund Collections:

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 48,692,423 0.92

2012-13 48,246,331 0.24
2011-12 48,129,414 0.88
2010-11 47,710,509 1.57

2009-10 46,975,325 3.04

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

3-mills to the Public School Fund; 2.5-mills to the State General Fund; and 1-mill distributed as follows: (1)
$20,773,500 to the Department of Human Resources for “old age pension purposes”; (2) one percent of
the entire 1-mill levy to the Alabama Historical Commission for the maintenance of the Confederate
Memorial Park in Chilton County; (3) the amount appropriated by the Legislature in the annual
appropriations act to the Department of Revenue for administrative costs; (4) the amount required to the
Department of Human Resources for pension payments to Confederate soldier and sailor widows; and (5)
the remainder to the Alabama Veterans' Assistance Fund. County, municipal, and other special tax district

levies are generally earmarked.

Major Exemptions:

Section 91 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 exempts the real and personal property of the state,
counties, or other municipal corporations, or cemeteries, as does Amendment No. 373. Amendment No.
373 also exempts property devoted exclusively to religious, educational or charitable purposes, as well as
household and kitchen furniture, all farm tractors, all farming implements when used exclusively in
connection with agricultural property and all stocks of goods, wares and merchandise (inventory). Sections
40-9-1 through 40-9-36, and 40-9-38, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, provide a listing of additional
property tax exemptions for various organizations and for various types of property. Among these are a
$4,000 (in assessed value) homestead exemption from state taxes for those 65 or under (up to 160 acres)
and a total exemption from state ad valorem taxes on homesteads for those over 65 years of age or those
who are retired due to total and permanent disability, regardless of age, or who are blind, regardless of
age. Municipal industrial development projects, county industrial development projects and property and
projects of Municipal Industrial Development Boards, Downtown Redevelopment Authorities, County

Industrial Development Boards, County Industrial Development Authorities and Municipal Medical Clinic
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Boards may be exempt from certain ad valorem taxes as provided by Code of Alabama 1975, Sections 11-
54-31, 11-20-12, 11-54-96, 11-54A-14, 11-20-47, 11-92A-18 and 11-58-14, respectively. Numerous other
statutes exempt other authorities, facilities, commissions, corporations, districts and foundations from

property taxes.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Levied the 3-mill tax specified by Section 260 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, plus 1-mill for

needy Confederate soldiers and sailors and their widows, and 2.5 mills for general state purposes; set

the assessment ratio of taxable property at 60% of fair market value and specified certain exemptions.
Acts 1951, No. 703, p. 1211

Established the State Department of Public Welfare (now the State Department of Human Resources)

and provided that the surplus or residue of the proceeds from the levy of the 1-mill tax for the relief of

needy Confederate soldiers and sailors and their widows be used for old age assistance purposes
exclusively before any part may be expended for any other purposes of the department of public
welfare.

Acts 1967, No. 502, p. 1215

Changed assessment ratio to 30% of market value.

Acts 1971, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 116, p. 4339, (Constitutional Amendment No. 325, now appearing as
Section 217 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended)
(1) Created three classes of taxable property with the following state assessment ratios:
Class I - all property of utilities - 30%
Class II - all property not otherwise classified - 25%
Class III - all agricultural, forest and residential property - 15%

(2) Provided that taxable property be assessed by local governments according to the classes and
assessment ratios above; further provided that the Legislature could vary the local governments'
assessment ratio for each class of property or fix a uniform ratio for all property and that such
ratios could vary among counties (within a prescribed range of 15% to 35%); also provided for
local adjustment of tax rates.

(3) Established maximum amount of total ad valorem tax payable on one property in any one year at
1.5% of fair market value.

(4) Restated certain exemptions.
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Acts 1971, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 166, p- 4413
Restated and further defined property classes and assessment ratios, provided additional exemptions;
and established differing assessment ratios for counties, as authorized by Act 71-116, 3™ Ex. Sess.
Acts 1973, No. 1216, p. 2062
Changed assessment ratios of several individual counties.
Civil Action No. 2877-N. (U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Alabama, Northern Division,
March 8, 1974)
Required a statewide re-valuation of all real property in Alabama, fairly appraising each parcel of real
estate at its current market value.
Civil Action 77-242-H. (U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Alabama, Northern Division,
April 21, 1978)
Declared Section 40-8-1(e) Code of Alabama 1975, unconstitutional because the varying county
assessment ratios provided therein created a disparity in rates among counties that was determined to
be arbitrary and grossly unequal. However, the provision in Amendment No. 325 allowing the
Legislature to vary assessment ratios among counties was upheld.
Acts 1975, No. 1187, p. 2319
Provided that 1% of the 1-mill ad valorem tax allocated for the relief of needy Confederate soldiers
and sailors and their widows be remitted to the Alabama Historical Commission to provide for capital
improvements and maintenance at the Confederate Memorial Park at Mountain Creek, Chilton County,
Alabama.
Acts 1978, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 46, p. 1724
Restated and further defined classes and assessment ratios as prescribed by Constitutional
Amendment No. 373-Lid Bill.
Acts 1982, No. 302, p. 384
Provided a formula method for determining the current use value of agricultural and forest land.
Acts 1991, No. 694, p. 1340
Provided that a registration fee be paid in lieu of ad valorem taxes on manufactured homes which are
rented or leased or located on land owned by someone other than the owner of the manufactured
home. An owner-occupied manufactured home located on land owned by the occupant remained
subject to ad valorem taxes.
Acts 1993, No. 309, p. 464
Allocated a portion of the proceeds from the 1-mill tax for veterans' homes in Bay Minette and

Huntsville.
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Acts 1997, No. 279, p. 499
Capped the amount that the Department of Human Resources receives from the 1-mill tax at
$20,773,500 annually, established the Alabama Veterans' Assistance Fund and allocated the residue
from the 1-mill tax to the Alabama Veterans' Assistance Fund.

Acts 1999, No. 399, p. 663
Provided that property owned by customer-owned coin operated telephone companies and
broadband personal communication services companies would be taxed as Class II property rather
than as Class I property.

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 665 p-131
Exempted shares of stock from ad valorem tax.

Acts 2000, No. 242, p. 386 (Constitutional Amendment No. 669, now appearing as Section 269.07 of
the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended).

Removed the requirement that at least a 3-mill county school tax must be levied before a 3-mill
district school tax may be levied under Amendment No. 3.

Acts 2005, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 215, p. 423 (Constitutional Amendment No. 778, now appearing as
Section 269.08 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended).

Proposed a constitutional amendment to require 10 mills of ad valorem tax in each public school
district (no longer "or equivalent”) beginning October 1, 2006.
Acts 2009, No. 551, p. 1593
Proposed an amendment to Section 269 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, to
remove the supermajority vote requirement for the 1-mill countywide school tax to become effective.
(The proposed amendment was defeated at the 2010 General Election.)
Acts 2011, No. 544, p. 996
Homeowners and Storm Victims Protection Act of 2011. Allowed single-family dwellings and the fully-
developed lot owned by a home builder to be classified as residential property for ad valorem taxes.
The reclassification terminates when one of the following occurs: (1) the classification has been in place
for 24 months; (2) the owner no longer holds a valid license; or (3) the sale, transfer, or other action
resulting in the single-family dwelling or fully-developed lot no longer being held by the person
seeking reclassification.
Acts 2011, No. 710, p. 2192
Provided that residential property does not lose its classification as residential property for a period of

24 months if the property is not used as the owner’s single-family dwelling because the property is not
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inhabitable or is otherwise under repair after being damaged by a natural disaster. Also, any
homestead exemption is not affected during any period the homestead is being repaired after being
damaged by a natural disaster.

Acts 2012, No. 313, p. 708
Increased the income limit for persons over 65 years of age to qualify for a full homestead exemption
(state and local) from $7,500 to $12,000 in net taxable income as shown on the person’s and spouse’s
United States income tax return or other appropriate evidence. Reinstated an income limit for persons
retired due to total and permanent disability to qualify for a full homestead exemption at $12,000 in
net taxable income as shown on the person’s and spouse’s United States income tax return or other
appropriate evidence.

Acts 2013, No. 295, p. 1003
Restored the following homestead exemption provisions that were changed by Act 2012-313,
retroactive to August 1, 2012:

- Language interpreted by Attorney General Opinion to allow persons totally disabled to receive a
full homestead exemption regardless of income.

- Language allowing persons over 65 with adjusted gross income less than $12,000 on their State
income tax return to receive a homestead exemption of $5,000 of assessed value of the county
portion of their ad valorem taxes.

The provision in Act 2012-313 that increased the income limitations for persons over 65 to receive a full
(state and local) homestead exemption from $7,500 on their Federal income tax return to $12,000 was
not changed.

Assessed a penalty for any person who knowingly and willfully gives false information for claiming a
homestead exemption or assisting another person in claiming a homestead exemption. Authorized the
Department of Revenue, by regulation, to issue certificates of disability to persons determined to be
“permanently and totally disabled” and requires the Department to automatically grant a certificate to
any person drawing any pension or annuity from the armed services, a private company or any

governmental agency because they are permanently and totally disabled.

Local Rates:

1. County School Mills

Mills Constitutional Authorization Implementation Statutes
1-Countywide Section 269 as amended by Section 16-13-160. Upon petition of at least 200
Amendment No. 111 qualified electors to the county commission an

election is held and a 3/5 approval required.
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Mills

3-Countywide

3-District

5-Countywide

3-District

Constitutional Authorization

Amendment No. 3, now appearing as
Section 269.01 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended)

Amendment No. 3, now appearing as
Section 269.02 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended)

Amendment No. 202, now appearing
as Section 269.04 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended)

Amendment No. 382, now appearing
as Section 269.05 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended)

2. County Government Mills

Mills
5-(for general
purposes)*

2.5-(for public
buildings,
bridges or
roads-excess
may be used for
general
purposes)

.1-(for county
hospitals)

Constitutional Authorization

Section 215 as amended by
Amendment No. 208

Section 215 as amended by
Amendment No. 208

Amendment No. 59 (Mobile and
Montgomery Counties exempted),
now appearing as Section 215.01 of
the Official Recompilation of the
Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended)

Implementation Statutes

Section 16-13-180. Upon petition of at least 200
qualified electors to the county commission an
election is held.

Section 16-13-180. Upon the request of county
or city board of education to the county
commission, an election is held.

Because of conflicting language in the
Amendment, it is recommended that both a
petition of 200 electors and a request by the local
board of education be made to the county
commission for an election.

Lacking implementation language in Amendment,

the procedures for Amendment No. 3 (above)
should be followed.

Implementation Statutes

Section 22-3-10; up to 5 mills may be levied for
maintenance of a county health officer and health
department; Section 11-9-1; for sanitary waste
disposal systems. No election required.

Section 11-14-11; for public buildings, bridges or
roads; Section 11-14-10; for courthouses, jails
and hospitals; Section 11-14-16; for courthouses
or jails. No election required.

Section 11-14-10; for courthouses, jails, and
hospitals. Election required.
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Mills

4-(for county
hospitals and
health facilities)

.5-(for public
library)

Per acre tax (for
forest fire
protection).
Local levy limited
to the amount
that, when
combined with
the state levy
(currently $.10),
would result in a
total tax of no
more than $.20.

*May be higher if county has levied and is collecting the special 2 mill property tax authorized by Amendment No. 373(e).

3. Municipal Government Mills (may be levied by ordinance)

Mills

Constitutional Authorization

Implementation Statutes

Amendment No. 72 (Mobile,

Montgomery, and Jefferson Counties  hospitals. Election required.

exempted), now appearing as Section
215.02 of the Official Recompilation of
the Constitution of Alabama of 1901,
as amended)

Amendment No. 269, now appearing  None. Election required.

as Section 215.05 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended)

Amendment No. 511, now appearing  Section 9-13-197;
as Section 214.01 of the Official Local legislative act required.

Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended)

Constitutional Authorization

5-(for general purposes) Section 216 (authorizes certain

cities to levy more than 5 mills)

7.5-(for general purposes) Amendment No. 56, now

appearing as Section 216.04 of
the Official Recompilation of the
Constitution of Alabama of 1901,
as amended)

.5-(for public library) Amendment No. 269, now

appearing as Section 215.05 of
the Official Recompilation of the
Constitution of Alabama of 1901,
as amended)

Implementation Statutes

None. No election required.

None. Election required.

None. Election required.

Section 11-14-10; for courthouses, jails, and
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Additional Notes Regarding Local Levies:

D

)

3)

)

(5)
(6)

Local governments may levy additional mills for schools or other purposes (a) under the provisions of
Amendment No. 373 “Lid Bill” outlined under Constitutional Provisions, (b) by local constitutional
amendment, or (c) by general constitutional amendment. A general constitutional amendment
requires passage of a legislative act by 3/5 votes of both houses and statewide approval of voters. A
local constitutional amendment requires passage of a legislative act by 3/5 votes of both houses with
no dissenting votes cast and approval of the Local Constitutional Amendment Commission with
subsequent approval only by voters in the affected area. If there is a dissenting vote, then statewide
approval is required.

Section 16-13-231 of the Code of Alabama 1975, requires that each school system receive an amount
of local tax proceeds equivalent to 10 mills of school district tax in order to participate in the
Foundation Program.

Numerous constitutional amendments and local implementation acts authorize certain local
governments to levy additional property taxes for specified purposes.

Countywide school mill revenues are distributed to local school districts on the basis of the total
calculated costs of the Foundation Program for those local school districts.

District school mill revenues are distributed directly to the district school system.

Local governments may also levy and collect the special 2 mills property tax authorized by
Amendment No. 373 (1), related to reimbursement for certain reappraisal costs, if they have not

already done so.

Local Homestead Exemptions (After Act 2013-295):

County Homestead Exemptions (Up to 160 Acres)

County
Assessed Value School Tax
Eligibility Limitation Income Limitation Collected

Yes

Under Age 65 Not more than $2,000* None

Adjusted Gross Income of
$12,000 or more (State Tax
Age 65 or older Not more than $2,000* Return)

Adjusted Gross Income of less
Age 65 or older Not more than $5,000 | than $12,000 (State Tax Return)

Not more than $12,000
(Combined Taxable Income-
Age 65 or older No Maximum Federal Tax Return)

Disability, Regardless of Age No Maximum None

Permanent and Total
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County
Assessed Value School Tax

Eligibility Limitation Income Limitation Collected

Blind, Regardless of Age Not more than $5,000 None No

State, County and City - Principle Residence (Up to 160 Acres)

County
Assessed Value School Tax
Eligibility Limitation Income Limitation Collected
Not more than $12,000
(Combined Taxable Income-
Age 65 or older No Maximum Federal Tax Return)
Permanent and Total
Disability, Regardless of Age No Maximum None

*The counties, cities, or other taxing authority may grant a homestead exemption up to $4,000 in assessed value.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
All property, real and personal is assessed, whether the property is taxable wholly or partially
exempt or subject to classification reflecting a value less than its just value. All real estate and
personal property (other than homesteads or property valued on use) is assessed at its full cash
value. The assessed value of homesteads cannot exceed the assessment for the prior year plus the
lesser of (1) 3% or (2) the percent change in the Consumer Price Index. Agricultural land may be
assessed based solely on its agricultural use. There is no state levy on real and tangible personal
property.

Georgia
All real and personal property, unless expressly exempt, is assessed at 40% of its fair market value
except bona fide conservation use property (up to 2000 acres) which is assessed at 40% of its
current use value and property devoted to agricultural purposes (the first $100,000 of fair market
value and up to 2000 acres) which is assessed at 75% of the value of other realty. Timber is
assessed at 100% of its fair market value at the time of its harvest or sale. For the 2013 tax year,
the levy is 0.15 mills. The levy is 0.1 mills for the 2014 tax year. For the 2015 tax year, the levy is
0.05 mills; and for tax years beginning after 2015, there is no state tax levy.

Mississippi
All property, real and personal, is subject to taxation unless expressly exempted and is assessed in

proportion to its value. The applicable rate is the total of all lawful levies. For purposes of
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assessment, taxable property is divided into 5 classes: Class 1. Single-family, owner-occupied,
residential real property, 10%; Class II. All other real property, 15%; Class III. Personal property,
15%; Class IV. Public utility property, 30%; and Class V. Motor vehicles, 30%. There is no state levy.
Tennessee
All property, real and personal, is taxed unless exempted. Real property of utilities is assessed at
55% of actual value, industrial and commercial property is assessed at 40% and farm and
residential property is assessed at 25%. Tangible personal property is assessed at 55% for public
utilities, 30% for industrial and commercial property, and 5% for all other tangible personal
property. However, by statute, all tangible personal property, other than public utility property and

industrial and commercial property, has no value.
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Feed Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 2-21-16 through 2-21-34, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

(1) An annual license fee paid by sellers or distributors of commercial feed.

(2) An inspection fee on the sale of commercial feeds.

Tax Rate (Established by the Board of Agriculture and Industries):
(1) License Fee: Within the ranges set out below based upon the number of tons of feed sold or
distributed during the preceding year. An annual license must be obtained by everyone selling or

distributing commercial feed in Alabama.

Authorized
Tons Sold License Fee Current Fee
Less than 250 $30 - $45 $45

250 -499 $60 - $90 $90
500 -999 $200 - $300 $300
1,000 - 1,999 $250 - $375 $375

2,000 - 3,999 $300 - $450 $450

4,000 - 7,999 $350 - $575 $575

8,000 and over $400 - $750 $750

The cost of an initial license for persons not previously distributing commercial feed in Alabama is $30.
(2) Inspection Fee: Not to exceed $.25 per ton on commercial feeds by every person distributing,
manufacturing, or selling commercial feed in Alabama (exempting bulk grain). The current fee is $.25
per ton. If a commercial feed is distributed in packages or containers of 10 pounds or less an annual
fee not to exceed $100 per product is paid in lieu of inspection fees. The current fee is $100 per
product for individuals or entities whose annual gross sales in Alabama exceed $250,000 annually or
$1,000,000 overall, and $50 for individuals or entities whose gross sales are $250,000 or less annually

in Alabama and $1,000,000 or less overall.

Collections:
Annual license fees are paid to the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due by January 1 of

each year. The Department collects inspection fees on a quarterly basis.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2013-14 1,362,433 6.15
2012-13 1,283,477 2.29
2011-12 1,254,763 13.85
2010-11 1,080,935 7.01

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report-Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Major Exemptions:

No inspection fee is paid on vertical-integrator feed or on the ingredients used to manufacture a vertical-

integrator feed.

Legislative History:

Acts 1978, No. 780, p. 1143
Alabama Commercial Feed Law of 1978. Provided for licensing and regulation of the manufacture,
sale, and distribution of commercial feeds and levied license and inspection fees; and provided for the

deposit of those fees to the Agricultural Fund. The license and inspection fees established were:

License Fee:

Tons Sold

Less than 250 $30
250-499 $60
500 -999 $200
1,000 - 1,999 $250
2,000 - 3,999 $300
4,000 - 7,999 $350
8,000 and over $400
Inspection Fee: $.20/ton

Annual Fee in Lieu of Inspection: $25 per brand for packages less than six ounces.
Acts 1979, No. 310, p. 463
Omitted the requirement that the minimum inspection fee paid by any licensee to sell or distribute

commercial feed would be $10 per quarter.
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Acts 2004, No. 516, p. 996
Authorized the Board of Agriculture and Industries to establish license fees within the current ranges
and the inspection fee and annual fee in lieu of the inspection fee at current rates. Also, provided that

the annual fee in lieu of inspection fee would apply to containers up to 10 pounds.
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Fertilizer Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 2-22-1 through 2-22-23, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
(1) Annual permit and license fees paid by sellers of commercial fertilizer.

(2) An inspection fee on the sale and distribution of fertilizer.

Tax Rate (Established by the Board of Agriculture and Industries):

(1) Permit and License Fee: An annual dealer permit must be obtained by everyone selling commercial
fertilizer in Alabama. If the person does not manufacture, mix, formulate or label the fertilizer, the
permit fee is established at a rate not to exceed $10. The current fee is $10. If the person
manufactures, formulates, mixes or labels the fertilizer, the license fee is established within the ranges
set out below based on the number of tons of commercial fertilizer sold in (or sold for importation

into) the state during the preceding year:

Tons Sold Authorized License Fee Current Fee
Less than 100 $25 - $37.50 $37.50

100 -999 $50 - $75 $75
1,000 - 4,999 $100 - $150 $150
5,000 -9,999 $150 - $225 $225

10,000 - 24,999 $200 - $300 $300
25,000 - 49,999 $250 - $375 $375

50,000 - 74,999 $300 - $450 $450

75,000 - 99,999 $350 - $525 $525

100,000 and over $400 - $750 $750

(2) Inspection Fee: Not more than $.75 per ton of gross sales. The current fee is $.75 per ton.

Collections:
Annual permit and license fees are paid to the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due by
October 1 of each year. Inspection fees are collected by the Department and are due by the 20" of each

month following the report period.
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Fiscal Year

2013-14
2012-13
2011-12
2010-11
2009-10

Collections ($)
423,813

431,960
387,398
364,885
354,976

Percent Change

(1.89)

11.50
5.81
279
5.46

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Major Exemptions:

Sales to manufacturers and/or exchanges between manufacturers are exempt from the inspection fee.

Legislative History:

Acts 1969, No. 434, p. 840

Alabama Fertilizer Law of 1969. Provided for licensing and regulation of the sale and distribution of

commercial fertilizers, fertilizer materials, and other substances and levied permit and license fees as

follows:

License Fee:

Dealer Permit: $1.00

Inspection Fee: $0.30

Tons Sold
Less than 100

100 -999
1,000 - 4,999
5,000 -9,999
10,000 - 24,999
25,000 - 49,999
50,000 - 74,999
75,000 - 99,999

100,000 and over

Fee
$25

$50
$100
$150
$200
$250
$300
$350
$400
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Acts 1981, No. 664, p. 1085
Changed the inspection fee to $.50 per ton.
Acts 2004, No. 516, p. 996
Authorized the Board of Agriculture and Industries to establish permit, license and inspection fees at

the current rates.
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Food Safety Permit Fees

Statutory Authority:
Sections 20-1-33 through 20-1-37, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
An annual permit fee paid by food sales establishments in the state that sell baby food, infant formula, or

potentially hazardous food.

Tax Rate:

$50 for each food sales establishment.

Collections:

Annual permit fees are collected by the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due by July 1.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 312,027 0.19
2012-13 311,426 2.63
2011-12 303,444 470
2010-11 289,820 (9.46)
2009-10 320,105 (2.92)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenue by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Meat processing establishments that already have a grant of inspection from the Commissioner
and/or the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

(2) Food service establishments required to obtain a food service permit through the Alabama
Department of Public Health, except those operating in conjunction with a food sales establishment

otherwise requiring a permit.

Legislative History:
Acts 2000, No. 320, p. 505

Alabama Safe Foods Act of 2000. Established the permit fee at the current rate and distribution.
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Liming Materials Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 2-23-1 through 2-23-11, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
(1) An annual permit fee paid by manufacturers or distributors of agricultural liming materials.
(2) An inspection fee on the sale of agricultural liming materials, paid by the first manufacturer or

distributor to sell the material in Alabama.

Tax Rate (Established by the Board of Agriculture and Industries):

(1) Permit Fee: Every manufacturer or distributor of agricultural liming materials must obtain an annual
permit and pay a permit fee not to exceed $250 for the first brand or type of liming material, and not
to exceed $125 for each additional brand or type. The current fees are $250 for the first brand and
$125 for each additional brand.

(2) Inspection Fee: Not more than $.25 per ton of gross sales. The current fee is $.25 per ton.

Collections:
Annual permit fees are collected by the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due by October

1 of each year. Inspection fees are collected by the Department and are due by the 20" of each month.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 156,527 6.09

2012-13 147,542 (3.95)

2011-12 153,602 12.19
2010-11 134,882 56.72

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Major Exemptions:

None.

Legislative History:
Acts 1975, No. 1190, p. 2328

Alabama Agricultural Liming Materials Act. Provided for the licensing and regulation of the sale of

agricultural liming materials.
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Acts 2004, No. 516, p. 996
Authorized the State Board of Agriculture and Industries to establish permit and inspection fees at the

current amounts.
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Pesticide Registration and License Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 2-27-1 through 2-27-16 and Sections 2-27-50 through 2-27-63, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:

D

)
©)

An annual registration fee paid for every pesticide or device which is distributed, sold or offered for
sale in Alabama or delivered for transportation or transported in intrastate commerce or between
points within Alabama through any point outside the state.

An annual license fee paid by anyone selling or offering for sale any restricted-use pesticide.

Permit fee for those purchasing and using restricted-use pesticides, both private and commercial.

Tax Rate (Established by the Board of Agriculture and Industries):

(1)

(2)

Registration Fee: Effective 2012, all registrations issued to registrants whose names begin with the
letters A through M expired on December 31, 2013. Upon expiration of registration on December 31,
2013, a registrant whose name begins with letters A through M may renew a registration for a period
of two years upon payment of $500 per product. The renewed registration will be valid until
December 31, 2015. The registrant may renew every two years thereafter upon payment of the fee of
$600. All registrations issued to registrants whose names begin with the letters N through Z expired
on December 31, 2012. Upon expiration of registration on December 31, 2012, a registrant whose
name begins with letters N through Z may renew a registration for a period of two years upon
payment of $500 per product. The renewed registrations were valid until December 31, 2014. The
registrant may renew every two years thereafter upon payment of the fee of $600.

License Fee: An annual fee is paid by everyone selling or offering for sale any restricted-use
pesticides. The current fee is $45. In addition to any other requirement, persons purchasing and using
restricted-use pesticides must pay a permit fee of not less than $15 and not more than $60 per
category for commercial pesticide applicator, and not more than $40 for a private pesticide applicator
renewable every three years. The current fees are $45 for commercial pesticide applicator and $25 for
private pesticide applicator. The current license fee for custom application by the use of ground

equipment or aircraft is $100.
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Collections:

Annual registration and license fees are paid to the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due

January 1 of each year.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)3 Percent Change
2013-14 4,105,985 15.03

2012-13 3,569,538 (0.92)

2011-12 3,602,840 14.44
2010-11 3,148,285 17.59
2009-10 2,677,228 24

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Major Exemptions:

Permits and licenses are not required of the following:

(1) Any carrier lawfully engaged in transporting a pesticide within this state who will permit the
commissioner or his agent to copy all records showing the transactions in and movement of the
articles.

(2) Any bona fide public or private research institution or agency.

(3) The manufacturer or shipper of a pesticide for bona fide experimental use only, provided the
manufacturer or shipper obtains a permit from the commissioner.

(4) Articles intended solely for export to a foreign country when prepared or packed according to
the specifications or directions of the purchaser.

(5) Pesticides stored or shipped from one manufacturing plant within this state to another operated
by the same person or from one manufacturer to another, provided they are properly labeled

whenever poison labels are required.

Legislative History:
Acts 1951, No. 908, p. 1548

Provided for the regulation and registration of the distribution, sale or transportation of pesticides by
the Department of Agriculture and Industry; and set annual registration fee at $15 for each pesticide

registered.

* Includes: (1) custom pesticide applicator permits; (2) dealer permits; (3) registration permits; and (4) commercial and private
pesticide restricted-use permits.
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Acts 1971, No. 1949, p. 3151
Repealed and replaced Acts 1951, No. 908. Continued the registration fee at $15 for each pesticide
registered; added the requirement that annual use permits be purchased for the purchase and use of
restricted-use pesticides; established an annual dealer license for persons selling or offering for sale
any restricted-use pesticide at $10; and provided a permitting exemption to certain licensed pest
control operators.

Acts 1971, No. 1957, p. 3177
Provided for the regulation and licensing custom application of pesticides, both by aircraft and ground
equipment at $50 for application by ground or only one aircraft, plus $10 for each additional aircraft,
not to exceed a total of $100 per year.

Acts 1989, No. 743, p. 1473
Increased the annual pesticide registration fee from $15 to $50.

Acts 1991, No. 556, p. 1025
Increased the annual pesticide registration fee to $100.

Acts 1993, No. 259, p. 387
Prohibited local governments from passing ordinances related to pesticides and preempted any other
law or ordinance regulating pesticides.

Acts 1993, No. 755, p. 1509
Provided further for the required permit for purchase and use of restricted-use pesticides. Permit to be
from $15 to $30 and permitting to be administered by the Board of Agriculture and Industries. This act
no longer exempts those licensed pest-control operators from permitting as provided in Act 71-1949.

Acts 2004, No. 516, p. 996
Authorized the Board of Agriculture and Industries to establish the registration and license fees.

Acts 2011, No. 549, p. 1010
Established a biennial registration fee schedule for pesticides and pesticide devices. Increased
registration delinquency penalty from $50 to $150.

Acts 2012, No. 403, p. 1102
Increased the biennial fee schedule from $400 to $600. Provided for a $500 interim biennial fee for

the first renewal.
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Petroleum Commodities Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 8-17-80 through 8-17-94, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
(1) A permit fee paid by everyone selling, offering for sale, storing or using petroleum products in
Alabama.

(2) An inspection fee on the person first selling, storing or using any petroleum product in the state.

Tax Rate:
(1) Inspection Fee:
(@) Gasoline, $.02 per gallon.
(b) Diesel fuel, $.02 per gallon. However, diesel fuel that is subject to excise taxes on motor fuel is
exempt from this inspection fee.
(c) Kerosene, $.01 per gallon.
(d) Lubricating oil, $.15 per gallon.
(e) Kerosene or diesel fuel that is of the types customarily used as fuel to propel jet aircraft, 1/40 of
$.01 per gallon.
(f) Kerosene or diesel fuel that is used to operate boats, yachts, ships or other maritime vehicles, 1/40
of $.01 per gallon.
(g) Kerosene or diesel fuel used to operate tractors used exclusively for agricultural purposes, 1/40 of
$.01 per gallon.
(h) Diesel fuel that is of the type customarily used to propel railroad locomotives, 1/40 of $.01 per
gallon.
() Kerosene or diesel fuel used in the treatment of wood products, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon.
(2) Permit Fee: Each person desiring to sell, offer for sale, store or use petroleum products in Alabama

must pay an annual permit fee of $10 for each different brand specified in the permit application.

Collections:
Annual permit fees are collected by the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due by October

1 of each year. Inspection fees are collected by the Department and are due by the 20™ of each month.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2013-14 57,705,487 .98
2012-13 57,144,277 (3.09)
2011-12 58,965,808 (1.12)
2010-11 59,633,488 .28
2009-10 59,464,876 (.29)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
(1) 5% or no less than $175,000, whichever is greater, of the proceeds received each month accrues to
the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.
(2) The balance of the proceeds are distributed as follows:
(@) 13.87% distributed monthly and allocated equally among each of the 67 counties.
(b) $408,981 allocated monthly to the Public Road and Bridge Fund, Department of Transportation,
to be used to match federal funds.
(c) 2.76% of the balance allocated among the municipalities as follows:
(i) 45.45% of the municipalities' share is allocated equally among the 67 counties.
(i) 54.55% of the municipalities' share is allocated among the 67 counties on the basis of
population.
(ili) The amount allocated to each county is distributed among the municipalities within the
county on the basis of population.
(d) Pursuant to Act 2012-400, an additional 5% distributed monthly to the Agricultural Fund after
proceeds from (a), (b), and (c) have been distributed.
(e) The balance of the proceeds after all other proceeds have been distributed monthly is

distributed to the Public Road and Bridge Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) A permitis not required from any person selling, offering for sale, storing, or using petroleum
products obtained from a person that has already paid the fee. The inspection fee is paid only once on
the same product.

(2) Any petroleum product used in a steam boiler.

(3) Any petroleum product used in combustion generating turbines by compression (generating own

power).
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(4) Petroleum products unloaded in any port of the state for shipment into any other state or to any
shipment of petroleum products through the state from any other state to a destination outside the
state.

(5) Diesel fuel subject to the excise taxes on motor fuel.

(6) Petroleum products sold to U.S. Government agencies. Petroleum products sold to city, county and

state agencies are not exempt.

Legislative History:

Acts 1971, No. 1403, p. 2363
Provided for the inspection of petroleum products by the Department of Agriculture and Industries
and inspection fees paid to the Department as follows: (1) gasoline, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon; (2) diesel
fuel, $.01 per gallon; (3) kerosene, $.01 per gallon; (4) lubricating oil, $.15 per gallon; (5) kerosene or
diesel fuel for jet aircraft, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon; (6) kerosene or diesel fuel for maritime vehicles, 1/40
of $.01 per gallon; (7) kerosene or diesel fuel for tractors, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon; and (8) diesel fuel
for railroad locomotives, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon. Provided that the first $55,000 of all proceeds
received each month would be deposited in the Agricultural Fund and the balance remaining
thereafter in the Public Road and Bridge Fund.

Acts 1971, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 339, p. 4643
Further restricted application of the fees to the first person selling petroleum products in Alabama;
and exempted diesel fuel and kerosene used in firing steam boilers or combustion generating turbines
by compression.

Acts 1973, No. 641, p. 949
Provided an inspection fee of 1/40 of $.01 per gallon for kerosene or diesel fuel used in the treatment
of wood products.

Acts 1979, No. 307, p. 460
Provided that 10% of the proceeds collected each month or no less than $55,000 monthly would be
deposited in the Agricultural Fund and the balance remaining thereafter in the Public Road and Bridge
Fund.

Acts 1981, No. 793, p. 1395
Increased annual permit fee to current rate.

Acts 1984, No. 185, p. 279
Increased inspection fees to the current rates. Increased the monthly amount deposited in the

Agricultural Fund to $175,000 and provided current distribution for the remaining monthly balance.
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Acts 1986, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 716, p. 132
Provided that the state treasurer distribute the proceeds from petroleum permit and inspection fees
and penalties.

Acts 2004, No. 546, p. 1164
Effective October 1, 2004, exempted diesel fuel subject to excise taxes from the $.02 per gallon
inspection fee; levied an additional $.02 per gallon excise tax on motor fuel; and further provided for
the current distribution of revenues from the inspection fees and excise taxes on motor fuel.

Acts 2012, No. 400, p. 1092

Provided for additional 5% monthly distribution to Agricultural Fund.
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Seed Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 2-26-1 through 2-26-76, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

(1) A permit fee paid by anyone selling or distributing agricultural type seeds to retail seed dealers,

farmers, and others who use or plant such seed in Alabama.

(2) A fee paid by farmers for seed testing.

(3) A seed inspection fee paid by anyone selling or distributing seed for sale.

Tax Rate (Established by the Board of Agriculture and Industries):

(1) Permit Fee:

(@) When seeds are sold at retail in closed containers or packets of eight ounces or less displayed on

a supplemental container display, an annual permit fee up to $7.50 is paid for each display. The

current fee is $5 for each display.

(b) All other persons selling seeds to retail dealers, farmers, or others who use or plant such seed

are required to purchase annual permits for each place of business, or each representative,

based on the gross receipts from the sale of such seed for the preceding year in Alabama as

follows:

Gross Receipts
$2,500.00 or less

$2,500.01 to $25,000.00
$25,000.01 to $50,000.00
$50,000.01 to $100,000.00

$100,000.01 to $200,000.00

$200,000.01 to $300,000.00

$300,000.01 to $400,000.00
$400,000.01 to $500,000.00

$500,000.01 or more

Authorized Permit Fee

$5-$15

$25 - $50

$50 - $75
$100 - $150
$200 - $300
$300 - $400
$400 - $500
$500 - $600
$600 - $700

Current Fee

$15
$50
$70
$150
$300
$400
$500
$600
$700

(c) For businesses not previously in operation, the fee is based on anticipated gross receipts for the

first year of business. Out-of-state seed sellers not previously selling seed in Alabama which sell
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or distribute seed through a representative soliciting orders in Alabama are not required to pay
the fee on their first year of operation in the state.

(d) Persons engaged in the operation of seed cleaning or processing plants, and persons who
purchase and process seeds for resale must pay an annual fee of up to $100. The current fee is
$75. If such persons sell at retail, they are also required to pay the appropriate permit fee
specified by the above subdivision (c).

(2) Seed Testing:

(@) Alabama farmers are entitled to submit seeds to the Department of Agriculture and Industries
for up to $10 worth of free seed testing per month.

(b) Fees paid by farmers in excess of $10 per month and the fees paid by seed dealers and non-
farmers range from $1 to $10 per sample dependent on the type of seed and test.

(3) Seed Inspection Fee:

(@) The Board of Agriculture and Industries may adopt seed inspection fees, which shall be paid by
every person who sells or distributes seed for sale, whether in bulk or in containers, within the
state or into the state for planting purposes.

(b) All seed inspection fees shall be deposited into the Agricultural Fund and may be expended by
the Commissioner for the support of the Alabama State Seed Laboratory.

Collections:
Annual permit fees are paid to the Department of Agriculture and Industries and are due January 1 of each

year. The testing fees are paid to the Department when testing services are provided.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 137,965 (13.56)

2012-13 159,606 431
2011-12 153,011 21.01

2010-11 120,868 (4.40)

2009-10 126,437 3.52

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the Agricultural Fund, Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Permits are not required of the following:
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(@) Farmers or producers who only sell uncleaned, unprocessed, unpackaged and unlabeled seed of
their own production are not required to obtain a permit.

(b) Farmers selling cleaned, processed, packaged, and labeled seeds at retail, etc., pay on the basis
of their gross receipts, though their first $3,000 in receipts is exempt.

(c) When seed taken from a properly labeled container is sold directly to the consumer.

(d) Seed or grain not intended for sowing or planting purposes.

(e) Seed in storage in or consigned to a seed-cleaning or processing establishment for cleaning or
processing and labeled as not being for sale.

(f) Seed produced in Alabama and sold by the farmer producing such a seed to another farmer
without advertisement.

(g) Seed sold by the grower without advertising and without holding himself as a dealer, unless
such grower is a dealer, to a local merchant and resold by such local merchant.

(2) Testing is not conducted on uncleaned seeds.

Legislative History:

Acts 1943, No. 560, p. 552
Provided for regulation of the sale and distribution of seeds by the Department of Agriculture and
Industries.
Acts 1963, No. 424, p. 931
Established permit fees ranging from $5 to $600.
Acts 1965, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 118, p. 163 and Acts 1971, No. 1951, p. 3168
Further clarified the requirement for purchasing permits.
Acts 2004, No. 516, p. 996
Authorized the Board of Agriculture and Industries to establish current permit fees.
Acts 2012, No. 401, p. 1097

Provided for seed inspection fee.
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Shipping Point Inspection Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 2-9-20 through 2-9-22, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Fees collected by the Department of Agriculture and Industries when agricultural shipping point and

terminal market inspection services are provided by the Department.

Tax Rate:
Various fees as set by the Department of Agriculture and Industries and the federal government based

upon the quantity, commodity, and type of inspection.

Collections:

By the Department of Agriculture and Industries.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 4,950,165 (22.70)

2012-13 6,403,537 41.63
2011-12 4,521,381 (9.82)
2010-11 5,013,944 4.92

2009-10 4,778,763 (15.83)

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
All proceeds are deposited into the Shipping Point Inspection Fund, Department of Agriculture and

Industries.

Major Exemptions:

None.

Legislative History:
Acts 1956, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 26, p- 296

Established the Shipping Point Inspection Fund; and authorized the Department of Agriculture and

Industries to set, collect and deposit fees into the fund.

Shipping Point Inspection Fees Page 49



Alcoholic Beverage

Control Revenues




Beer Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 28-3-1 and 28-3-183 through 28-3-199, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Excise tax on the sale, storage, or receipt for the purpose of distribution of malt or brewed beverages.

Tax Rate:

State levy of $.05 per 12 fluid ounces or fraction thereof. Local beer taxes are uniform at the rate of

$.01625 per 4 fluid ounces or fraction thereof (Section 28-3-190, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

Collections:

By the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board on a monthly basis. Deposits are made to the State

Treasurer's Office.

Fiscal Year

2013-14
2012-13
2011-12
2010-11
2009-10
2008-09

Source: “"Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:

(1) $.015 to the State General Fund.

Collections ($)
(State Tax Only)

55,618,188
55,777,823
54,489,410
58,464,124
55,367,652
56,926,553

(2) $.005 divided equally among the wet counties.

(3) $.01 to the Department of Human Resources.

(4) $.02 to the Education Trust Fund.

Major Exemptions:

Percent Change

(.29)
2.36
(6.80)
5.59

(2.74)

1.69

(1) Sales between wholesalers or distributors and sales to certain agencies of the U.S. armed forces.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1936-37, No. 66, p. 40

Levied a $.005 excise tax on each 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds to the State General
Fund.

Acts 1945, No. 358, p. 575
Levied an additional $.005 excise tax on each 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds of the
additional tax equally to all counties in the state.

Acts 1955, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 66, p. 177
Levied an additional $.01 excise tax on each 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds of the
additional tax to the Public Welfare Trust Fund.

Acts 1963, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 92, p. 257
Repealed the 1945 and 1955 acts and levied an additional $.035 tax per 12 ounces of beer, making the
total tax $.04 per 12 ounces of beer; and provided that the additional $.035 tax would be distributed
$.005 equally to all counties in the state; $.01 to the Public Welfare Trust Fund; and $.02 to the
Education Trust Fund.

Acts 1969, No. 746, p. 1324
Levied an additional $.01 tax per 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds of the additional tax
to the State General Fund.

Acts 1979, No. 802, p. 1475
Replaced the three separate state levies with one levy of $.05 per 12 ounces of beer and established
the present distribution of the proceeds.

Acts 1982, No. 344, p. 473
Abolished all local beer taxes and established a levelized local beer tax of $.04875 per 12 ounces.

Acts 2004, No. 541, p. 1143
Amended Chapter 8B of Title 35, relating to community development districts, to require that if a dry
county or municipality has a community development district, then that county or municipality will
share in the distribution of alcoholic beverage tax and license revenues to local governments.

Acts 2007, No. 417, p. 869
Amended Chapter 8B of Title 35, relating to community development districts, to require that counties
that contain a community development district will participate in the distribution of alcoholic beverage
tax revenues to local governments, even if the community development district is located in a
municipality. Also provided that any alcoholic beverage revenues received by a county as a result of

this act will offset any T.V.A. in-lieu-of tax payments received by that county.
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Acts 2011, No. 630, p. 1488
Allows manufacturer licensees of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board actively and continuously
engaged in the manufacture of alcoholic beverages to provide tastings and samplings that would be
subject to the state and local excise taxes on alcoholic beverages. The act also allows brew pubs to sell
beer in original, unopened barrel or keg containers to any licensed wholesaler for resale and to
purchase other draft or keg beer for resale.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

$.48 per gallon; $.06 per pint or fraction thereof; $.12 per quart. (Tax is equivalent to $.045 per 12

ounces.) No local rate.

Georgia
For standard containers, $.045 per 12 ounces plus local tax of $.05 per 12 ounces. For barrels, $10
per 31-gallon barrel with a proportionate rate for other quantities, plus a local tax of $6 per barrel
containing not more than 15.5 gallons with a proportionate rate for other quantities.

Mississippi
$.4268 per gallon; $.04 per 12 ounces. No local rate.

Tennessee
$4.29 per barrel of 31 gallons. Tax on barrels of more or less than 31 gallons is proportionate, and

equivalent to $.0130 per 12 ounces. Local rate is 17% of wholesale price. Additional tax of $.15 per

case on wholesale sales.
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A.B.C. Licensing and Penalty Revenue

Statutory Authority:

Sections 28-3-1, 28-3A-1 through 28-3A-26, 28-4A-1 through 28-4A-6, 28-7-5 through 28-7-15, and 28-
10-1 through 28-10-8, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Licenses and associated filing fees are required of distillers, manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, and

retailers for the privilege of distributing alcoholic beverages within the State of Alabama.

Tax Rate:
(1) Annual license fees:
(@) Manufacturer license, $500.
(b) Importer license, $500.
(c) Liquor wholesale license, $500.
(d) Wholesaler's license for beer, $550; wine, $550; beer and wine, $750; plus $200 for each
warehouse in addition to the principal warehouse.
(e) Warehouse license, $200.
(f)  Lounge retail liquor license, $300.
(9) Restaurant retail liquor license, $300.
(h)  Club retail liquor license; Class I, $300; Class II, $750.
(i)  Retail table wine license for off-premises consumption, $150.
()  Retail table wine license for on-premises and off-premises consumption, $150.
(k) Retail beer license for on-premises and off-premises consumption, $150.
() Retail beer license for off-premises consumption, $150.
(m) Retail common carrier liquor license, $150 for each railroad, airline, bus line, ship line, vessel or
other common carrier entity with a vehicle passenger capacity of at least 10 people.
(n) Special retail license, $100 for 30 days or less; $250 for more than 30 days.
(0) Special events retail license, $150.
(p) Brewpub license, $1,000.
(@) International Motor Speedway license, $300.
(2) Application filing fees, $50 with original application only.
(3) Filing fee for transfer of a license, $50.

(4) Responsible vendor fee, $35.
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(5) Counties and municipalities may levy additional license fees on any of the licenses listed in (1)

above.

Collections:

By the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board. Licenses are due and payable on or before October 1 of
each year; county license fees are deposited to the state treasury and paid semiannually to the respective
county; state license fees are deposited to the state treasury to the credit of the Beer Tax and License Fund

and paid to the State General Fund and the ABC Board Fund no later than the end of the following month.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)4 Percent Change
2013-14 2,994,581 (7.68)

2012-13 3,243,539 (4.94)
2011-12 3,412,267 (16.67)
2010-11 4,094,753 2417

2009-10 3,297,809 115

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
(1) County license fees to the levying county.
(2) License, filing and permit fees to the State General Fund.

(3) Responsible vendor fees to the ABC Board Fund.

Legislative History:

Acts 1936-37, No. 66, p. 40
Established the ABC Board and provided for its authority to regulate sales of alcoholic beverages.
Acts 1947, No. 298, p. 149
Established the licensing procedures for manufacturers and agents with license fees of $250 and $50,
respectively.
Acts 1963, No. 589, p. 1285
Established the distributor's license tax at 3% of the gross receipts from the previous year.
Acts 1965, No. 766, p. 1398
Required that license tax proceeds be divided equally between the Public Welfare Trust Fund and the
Special Mental Health Fund.

* State only.
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Acts 1979, No. 761, p. 1360
Repealed the 3% distributor's license tax; increased the associated filing fee from $250 to $500; and
levied an additional excise tax of 3%.

Acts 1980, No. 529, p. 806
Revised the entire license code; added new categories and increased fees to the current rates except
for club license which was a single rate of $750.

Acts 1981, No. 701, p. 1178
Amended license code to provide for two classes of club licenses and set rates for each license: Class
I, $300; Class II, $750.

Acts 1990, No. 525, p. 767
Established the Responsible Vendor program; and provided for a $35 filing fee payable upon the
issuance or renewal of a license to any licensee of the ABC Board certified as a responsible vendor.

Acts 1992, No. 535, p. 1078
Provided for the licensing of brewpubs to brew and sell beer on the same premises for on-premises
consumption; and established the annual brewpub license fee at $1,000.

Acts 1997, No. 937, p. 506
Established the International Motor Speedway license and the annual license fee of $300.

Acts 2000, No. 146, p. 211

Clarified that the license fee for a wholesaler of beer is $550.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$40 to $4,000 according to business classification; initial fee of $10,750 for new liquor (quota) licenses.
Georgia
$50 to $1,000 according to business classification.
Mississippi
$10 to $4,500 according to business classification.
Tennessee
$20 to $1,500 according to business classification. Brand tax rates from $100 to $250 depending on

sales quantity.

A.B.C. Licensing and Penalty Revenue Page 56



Liquor Taxes, Wine Taxes, and Stores' Profit

Statutory Authority:

Sections 28-3-53.2, 28-3-74, 28-3-200 through 28-3-207, 28-3-280 through 28-3-286 and 28-7-16, Code
of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Liquor taxes are collected and profits are earned on sales of liquor and table wine in Alabama Alcoholic

Beverage Control (ABC) Board stores and to private enterprises.

Tax Rate:

(1) Liquor is taxed at 56% of the marked-up price (mark-up is set by the Board and is currently cost plus
30% in ABC Board stores and cost plus 16.99% for case-lot sales to private enterprise). The 4% general
sales tax is also applied to the retail price as well as an additional 2% sales tax on ABC store sales (with
distribution of 1.5% of the additional 2% sales tax to the municipality in which it is collected and
distribution of the remaining .5% to the county in which it is collected).

(2) Table wine (any wine containing not more than 16.5% alcohol by volume) is taxed at $.45 per liter.
The 4% general sales tax is also applied to such sales as well as an additional 2% sales tax on ABC
store sales (with distribution of 1.5% of the additional 2% sales tax to the municipality in which it is
collected and distribution of the remaining .5% to the county in which it is collected).

(3) Wine containing more than 16.5% alcohol by volume is taxed at $2.42 per liter. The 4% general sales
tax is also applied to such sales as well as an additional 2% sales tax on ABC store sales (with
distribution of 1.5% of the additional 2% sales tax to the municipality in which it is collected and
distribution of the remaining .5% to the county in which it is collected). (See Legislative History, Acts

2010, No. 607).

Collections:

By the ABC Board; deposits are made to the State Treasurer's Office. Distributions of net profits are made
from time to time during the fiscal year; payments to counties and municipalities are made semiannually
on or before February 1 and August 1 of each year. General sales tax collections by the ABC Board are
reported monthly to the Department of Revenue and are accounted for as ordinary sales tax revenues.

(See Sales Tax).
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Fiscal Year Collections ($)5 Percent Change
2013-14 137,428,007 (1.89)

2012-13 140,072,517 4.30
2011-12 134,294,280 941

2010-11 122,742,353 (2.63)

2009-10 126,058,612 1.65

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:
(1) Proceeds from taxes on spirituous and vinous liquors:

(@) 10% of the total marked-up price to the Human Resources Trust Fund (1955 tax).

(b) 5% of the total marked-up price to the Human Resources Trust Fund (1959 tax).

() 5% of the total marked-up price to the Alabama Special Mental Health Fund (1959 tax).

(d) 13% of the total marked-up price to the State General Fund (5%, 1969 tax and 8%, 1988 tax). Up
to 61.5% of this 13% may be used by the Mental Health Finance Authority if cigarette tax
revenues appropriated under Section 40-25-23 of the Code are not sufficient to pay for bonds
authorized by Title 41, Chapter 10, Article 11.

(e) 10% of the total marked-up price distributed as profit (1943 tax).

(f)  1.5% of the total marked-up price to the Human Resources Trust Fund (1979 tax).

(9) 1.5% of the total marked-up price to the Alabama Special Mental Health Fund (1979 tax).

(h) 10% of the total marked-up price to the State General Fund (1980 tax).

Beginning with fiscal year 2010, the amount of revenue distributed to the State General Fund,
the Public Welfare Trust Fund, and the Special Mental Health Fund from taxes on spirituous and
vinous liquors was frozen at the amount each fund received in fiscal year 2009 until the annual
growth in tax receipts above the fiscal year 2009 amount equals the amount of Tennessee Valley
Authority (TVA) in-lieu-of-taxes payments distributed in fiscal year 2009 to the dry counties not
served by the TVA. The growth in tax receipts up to the amount of TVA payments distributed to
dry counties in fiscal year 2009 plus an amount equal to the percentage growth in TVA
payments received by the state is distributed to the dry counties not served by the TVA. (See
Legislative History, Acts 2010, No. 135).

> Figures shown include all liquor and wine taxes, ABC Board profits and 5% markup on ABC Board store sales. General sales tax (4%)
and special sales tax (2%) collections are not included. Collections from the $2.42 per liter tax on wines containing more than 16.5%
alcohol by volume began in FY 2010.
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(2) Proceeds from taxes on table wine:
(@) $0.38 per liter distributed as profit (1983 tax).
(b) $0.07 per liter distributed to county or municipality where sold (1983 tax).
(3) Other distributions:
(@) 5% of ABC Board mark-up to State General Fund (1983 act).
(4) Profits:
(@) First $2 million as follows:
(i) 50%, State General Fund.
(i) 19%, Department of Human Resources.
(iii) 10%, divided equally among the wet counties.
(iv) 1%, divided equally among the wet counties for Public Health.
(v)  20%, cities where stores are located on a basis of ratio of profits earned by state store(s) in
that municipality to total net profits of all Alabama liquor stores.
(b) First $200,000 above $2 million:
To all incorporated municipalities within the wet counties on basis of population.
() Remainder:
(i) 3.75% to wet counties on basis of population.
(i) 1.25% to municipalities where stores are located (on population).
(iii) 6.25% to incorporated municipalities in the wet counties (on population).
(iv) 3.75% to Department of Human Resources
(v) 85% to State General Fund.
(5) Proceeds from taxes on wine containing more than 16.5% alcohol by volume:
(@) 37% to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.
(b) 34% to the State General Fund.
(c) 20.8% to the Department of Human Resources.

(d) 8.2% to the Department of Mental Health.

Major Exemptions:

Sales to firms or persons outside the state and to certain agencies of the U.S. armed forces.

Legislative History:
Acts 1936-37, No. 66, p. 40

Established the ABC Board and its authority to regulate the sale of alcoholic beverages.
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Acts 1943, No. 99, p. 104
Levied the first 10% tax on the sales price of liquors and wines and credited collections to the
Alcoholic Beverage Control Stores Fund as liquor profits.

Acts 1955, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 78, p. 199
Established the second 10% levy on liquors and wines with the entire proceeds credited to the
Department of Human Resources.

Acts 1959, No. 312, p. 889
Established the third 10% tax on liquors and wines and distributed 50% of the revenue to the
Department of Human Resources and 50% to the Department of Mental Health.

Acts 1969, No. 550, p. 1033
Authorized an additional 5% tax on the sales price of liquors and wines to be credited to the State
General Fund.

Acts 1978, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 92, p. 1786
Provided that dry counties and municipalities therein would cease to receive any share of the Alcoholic
Beverage Control revenue and that the profits allocated to the wet counties were to be divided
proportionately among those counties and the municipalities therein.

Acts 1979, No. 182, p. 291
Imposed an annual privilege or license tax of $25 on the manufacture and a $.05 per gallon excise tax
on the sale of native Alabama farm wines.

Acts 1979, No. 761, p. 1360
Repealed the 3% distributor's license tax and increased the associated filing fee from $250 to $500;
and levied an additional excise tax of 3%.

Acts 1980, No. 382, p. 505
Allowed private enterprise sales of table wine in wet counties. Set up a separate taxing system for
table wine at a rate of 35% of cost of the merchandise.

Acts 1980, No. 478, p. 749
Established an additional 10% tax on the marked-up price of spirituous and vinous liquors to be
credited to the State General Fund.

Acts 1982, No. 427, p. 675
Established an additional 2% sales tax on the marked-up price of spirituous and vinous liquors; 75% to
be distributed to the municipality and 25% to the county from which it was collected.

Acts 1983, No. 427, p. 607

Provided that after June 30, 1983 any additional markup will be credited to the State General Fund.
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Acts 1983, No. 594, p. 927
Changed tax rate on table wine.

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 869, p. 380
Levied an additional 8% tax on the sales price of spirituous and vinous liquors to be credited to the
State General Fund; up to 61.5% of the revenues from this tax are pledged as a secondary source of
revenue for the payment of certain mental health bond obligations should the primary source of
revenue (cigarette tax) be insufficient to pay such obligations.

Acts 2001, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 891, p. 713
Changed the distribution of ABC store profits and prohibited transfers to the State General Fund or
state agencies in the annual General Fund budget act.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1114, p. 1179
Repealed the native farm wine tax; and repealed and reenacted the table wine tax at present rates.

Acts 2004, No. 266, p. 368
Prohibited the ABC Board from increasing the markup on case lot sales of liquor and fortified wine
after December 1, 2004.

Acts 2010, No. 135, p. 190
Limited the amount of revenue distributed from the state liquor taxes to the State General Fund, the
Public Welfare Trust Fund, and the Special Mental Health Fund at the amount received for fiscal year
2009 until the annual growth in liquor tax receipts above the fiscal year 2009 amount equals the
amount of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) in-lieu-of-taxes payments distributed in FY 2009 to the
dry counties not served by the TVA. Beginning with the fiscal year ending September 30, 2010,
distributed to the dry counties not served by the TVA from the growth in state liquor taxes an amount
up to the amount of TVA payments distributed to dry counties for fiscal year 2009 plus an amount
equal to the percentage growth in TVA payments received by the state.

Acts 2010, No. 607, p. 1478
Removed the distinction provided for fortified wine and amended the definition of table wine to
include wines previously defined as fortified wine. As a result, fortified wine will no longer be taxed as
liquor. Levied a new $2.42 per liter tax on fortified wine and provided for the distribution of revenues.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Distilled Spirits:
Less than 17.259% alcohol $2.25/gallon  $ .59/liter

Liquor Taxes, Wine Taxes, and Stores’ Profit Page 61



17.259% to 55.78% alcohol
55.78% plus alcohol

Wine:
Less than 17.259% alcohol
17.259% or more alcohol
Natural sparkling wines
Cider

No local rate.

Georgia

Distilled Spirits:
In-state
Out-of-state

Local

Alcohol:
In-state
Out-of-state

Table Wine:
In-state
Out-of-state

Dessert Wine:
In-state
Out-of-state

Mississippi
Distilled Spirits:
Wine:

Sparkling wine and champagne

All other wines

$6.50/gallon
$9.53/gallon

$2.25/gallon
$3.00/gallon
$3.50/gallon
$ .89/gallon

$1.89/gallon
$3.79/gallon

$1.72/liter
$2.51/liter

$.59/liter
$.79/liter
$.92/liter
$.23/liter

$ .50/liter
$1.00/liter

up to $.22/liter (if sold by the package)

up to 3% of sales price (if sold by the drink)

$2.65/gallon
$5.30/gallon

$.417/gallon
$1.52/gallon

$1.02/gallon
$2.54/gallon

$2.50/gallon

$1.00/gallon
$ .35/gallon

$ .70/liter
$1.40/liter

$.11/liter
$.40/liter

$.27/liter
$.40/liter

$.66/liter

$.26/liter
$.09/liter

Additional markup is imposed on all alcoholic beverages sold by Mississippi's Alcoholic Beverage

Control Division. No local rate.

Tennessee

Distilled Spirits:

$4.40/gallon

$1.161/liter
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Wine: $1.21/gallon $ .3196/liter
Additional tax of 3% of retail price for alcoholic beverages sold for on-premises consumption; and an

additional tax of $.15 per case on wholesale sales. No local rate.
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Automotive Dismantlers and Parts Recyclers License

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-12-410 through 40-12-425 and 40-12-29, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Privilege license on every person or business engaging in the business of purchasing and dismantling,
disassembling or repairing wrecked, abandoned or repairable motor vehicles and selling the usable parts,
or the motor vehicle as a unit at wholesale, or the hulk of the motor vehicle after salvageable parts have
been removed. A person is presumed to be engaged in the dismantling and/or parts recycling business if

he possesses ten or more inoperable vehicles for more than 30 days. (See Major Exemptions).

Tax Rate:

$225 annually.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue. License must be renewed on October 1 of each year. Thirty days of grace

for obtaining the license is allowed without penalty.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 168,138 (1.05)

2012-13 169,925 (18.26)
2011-12 207,883 9.77

2010-11 189,387 (12.87)

2009-10 217,354 13.23

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Collection data is included in the Miscellaneous Taxes data on the “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

A business obtaining an automotive dismantlers and parts recyclers license may accumulate hulks and
parts and may scrap them without first obtaining a separate license as a scrap processor or junk dealer
and may engage in the business of an automotive dismantler and parts recycler without first obtaining a
license as an automobile dealer, automobile accessory dealer, automobile garage or shop, or storage

garage or yard. An automotive dismantlers and parts recyclers license is not required when inoperable
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motor vehicles are being held by a licensed junk dealer or scrap processor for the purpose of recycling
scrap metal or are being held by a licensed repair business awaiting repairs, or when a person, firm or
corporation repairs, reconstructs or reconditions its own motor vehicles for its own use or disposes of a

motor vehicle acquired for its own use.

Legislative History:

Acts 1979, No. 756, p. 1342

Established privilege license at current rate.

Acts 1981, No. 811, p. 1449
Allowed a licensee to file a condensed balance sheet in-lieu-of posting a cash bond; revoked the
previously allowed provision for dealers, reconditioners, rebuilders and wholesalers to buy at salvage
pools; revoked all previously issued buyer identification cards for use at salvage pools.

Acts 1991, No. 321, p. 595
Eliminated the balance sheet as an alternative to posting a cash bond; raised the amount of the
required cash bond to $10,000; and added additional penalties of not less than $500 nor more than
$1,000 for willfully failing to comply with Sections 40-12-240 through 40-12-245 of the Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended.

Acts 2011, No. 633, p. 1507
Required the form needed to do the business of dismantler and recycler in the state to include the
applicant’s unique registration number provided by the administrator of the National Motor Vehicle

Title Information System (NMVTIS ID Number).

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

$300 initially; $75 annual renewal fee.
Georgia

$150 license fee biennially.
Mississippi

$100 permit fee annually.
Tennessee

$400 permit fee biennially.
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Aviation Gasoline Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-17-325 through 4-17-326, 40-17-340, and 40-17-360, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Tax on the sale of aviation gasoline and jet fuel to licensed and non-licensed aviation fuel purchasers.

Tax Rate:

Effective October 1, 2012, the tax rates are $.095 per gallon on aviation gasoline and $.035 per gallon on
aviation jet fuel sold to licensed aviation fuel purchasers. Aviation gasoline sold to a non-licensed aviation
fuel purchaser is taxed as gasoline, and aviation jet fuel sold to a non-licensed aviation fuel purchaser is
taxed as diesel fuel. Before October 1, 2012, the Commissioner of Revenue was authorized to adjust the
rates to ensure that the net income derived from the aviation gasoline tax averaged $600,000 per year. At
that time, the rates were: (1) $.03 per gallon of gasoline or other fuel used to propel aircraft powered by
reciprocating engines and (2) $.01 per gallon for any fuel used to propel aircraft powered by jet or turbine
engines. Under the old law, the tax was adjusted September 1% of each year. (See Legislative History, Acts

2011, No. 565).

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on or before the 22nd of each month.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 2,470,641 274

2012-13 2,404,779 284.95

2011-12 624,699 (6.32)

2010-11 666,847 (21.25)

2009-10 846,842 58.82

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

The revenue, less the cost of collection, shall be paid into the State Treasury to the credit of the State
Airport Development Fund at the Department of Transportation and be used exclusively for the purpose
of paying the cost of acquiring, engineering, construction, improvement, and maintenance of existing or
proposed airports and other air navigation facilities within the state, for the payment of the salaries of all

employees who have been transferred from the Alabama Department of Aeronautics to the Department of
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Transportation under Article 12 of Chapter 1 of Title 23, and for the payment of administrative expenses

incurred by the Department of Transportation in performing aeronautical activities and for the further

purpose of creating a sinking fund for the payment of the interest and retirement of the principal of all

bonds which may be hereafter lawfully issued, sold, and delivered for funds to be used exclusively for the

enumerated purposes.

Refunds/Exemptions:

1

)

3)

(4)

()
(6)

()

A licensed air carrier with a hub operation in the state may apply for a refund on a quarterly basis for

any purchases of jet fuel used to propel aircraft.

A licensed aviation fuel purchaser can apply for a monthly refund of the excise taxes paid to Alabama

on the gallons of jet fuel sold to a licensed air carrier that purchases jet fuel to propel aircraft

powered by jet or turbine engines operated in scheduled all-cargo operations being conducted on

international flights or in international commerce.

K-1 kerosene or aviation jet fuel is produced at a refinery in Alabama and is either exported directly

by the operator of the refinery or sold for immediate export by the operator to a license exporter with

proper documentation.

Motor fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal

issued destination state shipping document that is:

(@) Exported by a supplier who is licensed in the destination state or

(b) Sold by a supplier to a licensed exporter for immediate export to a state for which the applicable
destination state motor fuel excise tax has been collected by the supplier who is licensed to
remit the tax to the destination state.

Sales of dyed diesel fuel

Gasoline blendstocks when sold to:

(@) Licensed supplier or

(b) Person who will not be using blendstocks in the manufacture of gasoline or as a motor fuel (with
exemption certificate).

Fuel sold by licensed supplier or licensed permissive supplier to an exempt agency under Section 40-

17-332 (United States government or agency thereof, any county governing body of state, any

incorporated municipal governing body of state, city and county boards of education of state,

Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind and Alabama Department of Youth Services school district,

and private and church school systems as defined in Section 16-28-1).

Aviation Gasoline Tax Page 67



(8) Motor fuel delivered by licensed supplier from one terminal to another terminal when ownership in
the motor fuel has not changed or by a licensed supplier from a terminal to a refinery operated by

the licensed supplier.

Legislative History:
Acts 1945, No. 367, p. 590

Established tax on all gasoline or other fuels used to propel aircraft at the same rate in effect for
gasoline ($.06 per gallon).

Acts 1967, Ex. Sess., No. 221, p. 278
Authorized the Commissioner of Revenue to adjust the aviation fuel rate to ensure that the net
revenue would be maintained at $450,000 annually; and reduced tax rate on aviation fuel to $.015 per
gallon for gasoline and $.005 per gallon for jet fuel.

Acts 1977, No. 674, p. 1163
Authorized the Commissioner of Revenue to adjust rates to ensure that the net revenue from the
aviation gasoline tax would be maintained at $500,000 annually.

Acts 1979, No. 714, p. 1267
Authorized the Commissioner of Revenue to adjust the aviation gasoline tax rate to ensure net
revenue of $600,000 per 12-month period.

Acts 1986, No. 214, p. 282
Exempted fuel used in aircraft of an air carrier with a hub operation in Alabama.

Acts 2000, No. 220, p. 328
Via Sunset legislation, transferred Aeronautics Department and funds to the Department of
Transportation.

Acts 2002, No. 153, p. 401
Effective October 1, 2002, exempted fuel used in jet or turbine aircraft destined for a foreign port or
engaged in international flights or commerce.

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084
Effective October 1, 2012, repealed and reenacted the state gasoline and motor fuel taxes at the same
rates as the taxes were previously levied except that the rate on aviation gasoline was increased from
$.03 per gallon to $.095 per gallon and the rate on aviation jet fuel was increased from $.01 to $.035
per gallon. Changed the point of collection of the taxes from the distributor to the supplier, which

could reduce the ability to avoid the taxes and generate additional fuel tax revenues.
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Acts 2013, No. 200, p. 391
Amended Section 40-17-329 to provide for a refund of the excise tax paid on jet fuel sold to a
certificated or licensed air carrier conducting all-cargo operations engaged in international flights,
amended Section 40-23-4 to exempt the gross receipts from the sale of any aviation jet fuel to a
certificated or licensed air carrier conducting all-cargo operations engaged in international flights from
sales tax, and amended Section 40-23-62 to exempt the storage, use or other consumption of any
aviation jet fuel used by an aircraft operated by a certificated or licensed air carrier that purchases jet
fuel for all-cargo operations engaged in international flights from use tax.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
An excise tax of $.069 per gallon.

Georgia
Aviation gasoline for licensed distributors is taxed at $.01 per gallon. In addition to the $0.01 per
gallon excise tax, all licensed motor fuel distributors (suppliers) in Georgia must collect a Prepaid
State Tax on all motor fuel sold to any purchaser not licensed as a Georgia distributor. The rate
beginning July 1, 2013 for state, county and municipalities only is $0.168 per gallon and for all
other motor fuel sales the rate is $0.224 per gallon.

Mississippi
Aviation gasoline tax of $.064 per gallon.

Tennessee

Aviation and jet fuel are exempt from Tennessee fuel taxes.
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Bureau of Loans Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 5-2A-80 through 5-2A-83 (Bureau of Loans), 5-18-1 through 5-18-23 (the Alabama Small Loan
Act), 5-18A-1 through 5-18A-22 (the Alabama Deferred Presentment Services Act), 5-19-1 through 5-19-
33 (the Alabama Consumer Credit Act), 5-19A-1 through 5-19A-20 (the Alabama Pawnshop Act), and 5-
25-1 through 5-25-18 (the Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act), Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Initial application investigation, annual license and examination fees for the privilege of: (1) operating a
small loan company making loans of less than $1,000 (Alabama Small Loan Act); (2) offering cash advances
by accepting and holding a check for a specified period of time (Alabama Deferred Presentment Services
Act); (3) extending consumer credit or taking assignments of consumer credit contracts (Alabama
Consumer Credit Act); (4) business of lending money on the security of pledged goods left in pawn; and
(5) soliciting, processing, placing and negotiating mortgage loans (Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing

Act).

Tax Rate:

$500 annual license fee for each office, branch or place of business covered under the Alabama Small Loan
Act, the Deferred Presentment Services Act, the Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act; and the Alabama
Consumer Credit Act (companies licensed under both the Alabama Small Loan Act and the Alabama
Consumer Credit Act pay only the consumer credit $500 annual license fee); $100 investigation fee
accompanying the initial application; and examination fees which are set by the Superintendent of Banks
(currently the fee is $100 per person per day). Examinations of licensees must be conducted at least
annually, with examination fees due at the time of the examination. Pawnbroker licenses are $100 for an
annual license, with an initial application fee of $50. The above fees are in addition to any applicable

business license fee found in Title 40 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Collections:

By the State Banking Department; annual license fee due each October 1 for the one-year period ending
the following September 30. Pawnbroker license fees and Mortgage Brokers license fees are due by
December 1 of each year for the next calendar year. Deferred Presentment Services fees and Consumer

Loan license fees are due each January 1 for the one-year period ending the following December 31.
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Alabama Small Loan Act Consumer Credit Act
Fiscal Year Collections ($)6 % Change Collections ($)6 % Change
2013-14 305,700 74.64 1,043,700 16.13

2012-13 175,050 16.70 898,700 14.94
2011-12 150,000 (4.88) 781,900 571
2010-11 157,700 2430 739,700 8.44
2009-10 126,875 66.07 682,100 125.33

Alabama Deferred
Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act Presentment Services Act
Fiscal Year Collections ($)° % Change Collections ($)° % Change
2013-14 89,800 (16.15) 542,150 (3.33)

2012-13 107,100 (19.23) 560,800 2.38
2011-12 132,600 (4.26) 547,750 (0.14)
2010-11 138,500 (33.80) 548,500 (7.38)
2009-10 209,200 20.89 592,200 (2.51)

Alabama Pawn Shop Act
Fiscal Year Collections ($)G % Change
2013-14 141,400 27.67

2012-13 110,750 (9.81)
2011-12 122,800 2.33
2010-11 120,000 7.60
2009-10 111,528 29.38

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
License fees, investigation fees, and examination fees are deposited into the Banking Assessment Fees

Fund for use by the State Banking Department.

® Collections shown include annual license fees only. One-time investigation fees and examination fees are not included in these
amounts.
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Major Exemptions:

D

@)

3)

)

The Alabama Small Loan Act does not apply to:

(a)

(b)
©
()
(e)
V)

Any person doing business under the authority of the state or U.S. Government relating to
banks, trust companies, savings or building and loan associations, credit unions or pawnbroking
businesses.

Any person making loans to their tenants engaged in agriculture.

Agricultural suppliers who make loans to persons whose principal business is farming.
Agricultural credit corporations or associations organized under an Act of Congress.

The financing of the purchase of motor vehicles, refrigerators, or other personal property.

Loans insured or guaranteed by the U.S. Government.

The Deferred Presentment Services Act does not apply to:

(a)

(b)

Banks, credit unions, savings associations, savings banks, and thrift institutions organized
pursuant to laws of any state or of the United States and any parent of the foregoing entities.

Trust companies, life insurance companies and federally constituted agencies.

The Alabama Consumer Credit Act (Mini-Code) does not apply to:

(a)

(b)
(@]

Any person doing business under the authority of the state or U.S. Government relating to
consumer credit transactions involving an interest in real property, banks, trust companies,
savings or building and

Loan associations, credit unions, life insurance companies, or pawnbroking businesses.

Federally constituted agencies.

The Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act does not apply to:

(a)

(b)

(@)

Any depository institution as defined in Section 3 of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, any
subsidiary institution that is owned and controlled by a depository institution, and employees of
any of the foregoing. Bank holding companies and subsidiaries of bank holding companies, thrift
holding associations, savings banks and other thrift institutions, credit unions, and all other
affiliates of each of the above persons if more than 50 percent of the affiliate’s shares or other
ownership interests are owned or controlled by such person, and federally or state constituted
agencies and employees of any of the foregoing.

any person licensed to make consumer loans or take assignments of consumer credit contracts.
An attorney licensed to practice law in Alabama who is not principally engaged in negotiating
mortgage loans when the attorney renders services in the course of his or her practice as an
attorney.

Any person performing any act relating to mortgage loans under order of any court.
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(d)

(e)

A natural person who is employed by a licensed mortgage broker or person exempted from the
licensing requirements of this chapter when acting within the scope of employment with the
licensee or exempted person; or who solicits mortgage loans exclusively on behalf of a licensed
mortgage broker or person exempted from the licensing requirements of this chapter when the
natural person is acting within the scope of the agency of the licensee or exempted person.
Any licensed real estate salesperson or broker who provides mortgage loan assistance in the
course of doing business unless the real estate salesperson or broker is compensated for

providing mortgage loan assistance.

(5) The Alabama Pawnshop Act does not apply to:

©)
(b)
©
(d)

(e)
(f)

Any bank which is regulated by the State Banking Department of Alabama.

The Comptroller of the Currency of the United States.

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System or any other federal or state authority;
and all affiliates thereof and any bank or savings and loan association whose deposits or
accounts are eligible for insurance by the Bank Insurance Fund or the Savings Association
Insurance Fund or other fund administered by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation all
affiliates thereof.

Any state or federally chartered credit union.

Any finance company subject to licensing and regulation by the State Banking Department

pursuant to the Alabama Consumer Credit Act.

Legislative History:
Acts 1945, No. 159, p. 200

Created Bureau of Loans and established a $200 annual license fee to be paid by loan companies

making loans of $300 or less. Exemptions same as present.

Acts 1951, No. 787, p. 1385

Provided for a $25 investigation fee to accompany initial application for license by loan companies

making loans of $300 or less.

Acts 1957, No. 603, p. 862

Established an examination fee of $100 annually on all licensees of the Bureau of Loans with fees

collected to be paid into the State General Fund and earmarked for the use of the State Banking

Department.
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Acts 1959, No. 374, p. 966
For loan companies making loans of $300 or less, increased investigation fee to current rate of $100;
changed examination fee to $50 per day per examiner plus $10 per diem per examiner, to be limited
to $400 total per year for licensees free from willful violations of this act; and provided that
examination fees collected by the Bureau of Loans are deposited into a special fund to be used by the
Bureau.

Acts 1971, No. 2052, p. 3290
Established $200 annual license fee and present rate of $100 investigation fee for all persons
extending consumer credit not covered by the Alabama Small Loan Act; and increased examination fee
to $60 and examiner per diem to $15.

Acts 1979, No. 327, p. 490
Increased the maximum amount to be considered as a "small" loan from $300 to $749; and changed
the annual examination fee for small loan companies from $60 per day to "the actual cost of each
examination.”

Acts 1980, No. 444, p. 689
Provided that the examination of small loan companies, finance companies and any other holder of a
license from the State Banking Department may be conducted at any "reasonable" time (previously
annually); based examination fees for all holders of licenses from the State Banking Department on the
actual cost of conducting the examinations, as determined by the Superintendent of Banks.

Acts 1983, No. 747, p. 1244
Increased the annual license fee to $400 for entities covered under the Small Loan Act and the
Consumer Credit Act; and altered the distribution of collections schedule to the present schedule.

Acts 1992, No. 597, p. 1227
Provided for licensing and regulation of pawnshops.

Acts 1996, No. 576, p. 887
Increased the annual license fee from $400 to $500 for entities covered under the Alabama Consumer
Credit Act.

Acts 2001, No. 692, p. 1439
Provided for licensing and regulation of mortgage brokers.

Acts 2002, No. 305, p. 863
Increased the maximum amount to be considered a “small” loan from $749 to less than $1,000; and

increased the annual license fee for businesses regulated under the Small Loan Act from $400 to $500.

Bureau of Loans Fees Page 74



Acts 2003, No. 359, p. 992
Provided for licensing and regulation of businesses offering deferred presentment check-cashing
services.

Acts 2004, No. 290, p. 407
Allowed for an acquisition charge (not in excess of 10% of the amount of the loan) and an account
handling charge (rate structure based on the amount of the loan) on loans less than $1,000 as an
alternative to interest rates and other charges currently permitted by a license.

Acts 2006, No. 238, p. 435
Allowed for the charge of an account maintenance fee of $3.00 for each month of repayment if such
charge is provided for in the contract.

Acts 2007, No. 281, p. 383
Increased the late charge allowed by licensees under the Alabama Small Loan Act from no more than
$10 or 5% of scheduled payment in default to no more than $18 or 5% of the scheduled payment
default.

Acts 2009, No. 624, p. 1891
Amended the Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act to limit those excluded from the licensure requirement,
required certain applicants to have experience in the mortgage industry, combined the initial license
and investigative fees, allowed for surety bonds and background checks, excluded exemptions from
licensing fees, and allowed the license’s principal place of business to be outside the State of Alabama.

Acts 2009, No. 625, p. 1900
Changed the months relating to when fees are due under the Alabama Small Business Loan Act. The
Alabama Consumer Credit Act: (1) required a license to be held at each location where activity is
conducted; (2) removed exemption of licensure for life insurance companies; (3) increased the amount
a person licensed under the Small Loan Act can loan without being licensed under the Alabama
Consumer Credit Act; (4) changed the months relating to when fees are due; (5) made all fees
nonrefundable; and (6) allowed the State Banking Department to require applicants to obtain a surety
bond, apply to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry, and submit to background
checks. Deleted certain exemptions.

Acts 2011, No. 529, p. 866
Set the maximum late charge allowed by licensees under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act to match

the late fees allowed under the Alabama Small Loan Act.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
All loan companies required to pay $200 initial application investigation fee and $625 license fee
during the two-year license period; renewal fees are $625 biennially. All businesses offering
deferred presentment check-cashing services must pay an application fee of $1,000; renewal fees
are $1,000 biennially; failure to renew on time requires payment of a $500 late fee. Title loan
companies pay a $200 investigation fee and a $1,200 license fee; renewal fees are $1,200
biennially; a reactivation fee is $600. Loan originators pay a $195 application fee; $150 annual
renewal fee. Mortgage brokers pay a $425 application fee; $375 annual renewal fee. Mortgage
lenders pay a $500 application fee; $475 annual renewal fee. There may be an additional fee for
loan originators, mortgage brokers, or mortgage lenders, under certain conditions relating to the
Mortgage Guaranty Trust Fund. For a loan originator, the special additional fee is $20 for initial
and renewal applications. For mortgage brokers and lenders, the special additional fee is $100 for
initial and renewal applications. The fee for mortgage broker branch offices and mortgage lender
branch offices is $225 each, renewed annually. Pawnshops must pay a $300 license fee annually
and are regulated by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

Georgia
$500 annual license fee and monthly tax of 3% on total interest earned on any loan collected by
companies making up to $3,000 cash loans. $500 for each additional license held by licensee.
Small loan companies are licensed and regulated by Industrial Loan Division of the Insurance
Commissioner’s Office; $250 initial investigation fee. Pawnshops may be regulated by municipal
authorities. Payday lending is a violation of Georgia law under Section 16-17-1 of the Code.
Mortgage lenders pay $1,000 annually; mortgage brokers pay $500 annually; both pay a $250
investigation fee and both have a $350 fee for each branch office with a $20 annual renewal.
Mortgage loan originators pay $100 annually.

Mississippi
All loan companies, check cashing companies and title pledge companies are required to pay $750
initial license fee and $475 annual renewal license fee. Licensed and regulated by Department of
Banking and Consumer Finance. $1,500 initial license fee and $1,000 annual renewal fee for
mortgage loan companies; $100 annual mortgage loan originator’s license; a $300 fee per branch
office with renewal fees of $100. Exam fees not less than $300 but not more than $600 per office

plus actual expenses for locations outside of Mississippi. All pawnshops are required to pay a $500
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initial license fee and $350 renewal fee; a separate license of $350 is required for each place of
business; license fees include the cost of examinations by the Department.

Tennessee
All loan companies required to pay $375 nonrefundable investigation fee and an annual
registration fee of $325. Check cashing companies must pay a $500 application fee per location,
$100 nonrefundable investigation fee, and a $500 annual renewal fee per location. Deferred
presentment checking companies must pay a $500 filing fee and a $500 annual renewal fee per
location. All mortgage companies must pay a nonrefundable investigation fee of $100 and a $500
initial and annual renewal license fee. Pawnshops are not regulated at the state level. Licenses and
renewal fees except those for pawnbrokers are regulated by the Department of Financial

Institutions.
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Business Privilege Tax

Constitutional Provisions:

Section 232 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended now appearing as Section 232 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.
States that the Legislature shall provide for the payment by foreign corporations to the state a
corporate franchise tax, to be based on the amount of capital employed in the state. Exempts strictly
benevolent, educational or religious corporations from the tax.
Section 229 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended now appearing as Section 229 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.
States that the Legislature shall provide for the payment by domestic corporations to the state a
corporate franchise tax, to be based on capital stock. Exempts strictly benevolent, educational or
religious corporations, and certain federal building and loan associations and building and loan
associations organized under the laws of Alabama.
Opinion of the Justices, 756 So. 2d 21 (Ala. 1999).
States that the Legislature is required to impose a franchise tax but may levy a franchise tax on

domestic corporations based upon the amount of their net worth in this state.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-14A-1 and 40-14A-2, 40-14A-21 through 40-14A-29, and 40-14A-41 through 40-14A-43,
Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Privilege tax on every corporation, limited liability entity, and disregarded entity doing business in
Alabama or registered under the laws of Alabama. The tax is based on the taxpayer’s net worth in
Alabama. See Sections 40-14A-23 and 40-14A-24 Code of Alabama 1975, as amended for a detailed

definition of net worth and determination of net worth in Alabama.

Tax Rate:
The rate is determined by the taxpayer's taxable income apportioned and allocated to Alabama. The

following schedule details the tax rates:
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Taxable Income
Tax Rate
At least But less than (per $1,000 of net worth)
$1 $ .25

$1 $200,000 $1.00

$200,000 $500,000 $1.25
$500,000 $2,500,000 $1.50
$2,500,000 $1.75

The minimum tax for all taxpayers except financial institutions is $100.
For financial institutions, the minimum tax is based on the financial institution’s total deposits in Alabama

as determined by the following table:

Financial Institution’s
Total Deposits Tax Rate
in Alabama (per $1,000 of deposits)
Less than $1 billion $.125

$1 billion - $6 billion $.17

$6 billion or more $.225

For purposes of determining total deposits in Alabama, all members of an affiliated group, as defined by
Section 40-14A-22(f)(1)a., must aggregate their deposits. The maximum tax for all taxpayers except
financial institution groups, insurance companies, nonprofit corporations organized solely to hold title to
property and pay related expenses, and electing family limited liability entities is $15,000. The maximum
tax for financial institution groups and insurance companies is $3 million. The maximum tax for nonprofit
corporations organized solely to hold title to property and pay related expenses is $100. The maximum tax
for electing family limited liability entities is $500. See Section 40-14A-1(h) for the definition of an electing

family limited liability entity.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue. The tax return is due two and one-half months following the beginning of
a corporation’s tax year and three and one-half months after the beginning of a limited liability entity’s tax

year.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($)7 Percent Change
2013-14 129,146,067 (2.99)

2012-13 133,123,026 12.44
2011-12 118,390,277 5.74
2010-11 111,966,744 3.79

2008-09 108,551,006 6.18

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
After deduction of the amount appropriated to the Department of Revenue as its costs of collection, the
balance of the tax is distributed as follows:

(1) Each county receives the amount that it received from the franchise tax collections during the
fiscal year ending September 30, 1999. This amount is increased by .75% each year beginning in
the fiscal year ending September 30, 2000.

(2) Each county and each local ad valorem tax recipient agency of funds within each county receives
the amount that it received from the domestic corporation assessment of shares tax during the
fiscal year ending September 30, 1999. This amount is increased by .75% each year beginning in
the fiscal year ending September 30, 2000.

(3) The balance is distributed to the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Organizations described in 26 U.S.C. Section 501(a).

(2) Counties, municipalities, municipal corporations, the State of Alabama, and any corporation or
association owned solely by counties, municipalities or the State of Alabama.

(3) Community chests, funds and foundations.

(4) Entities organized and operated exclusively for religious purposes.

(5) Homeowners' associations.

(6) Political parties, political action committees, and political campaign committees.

(7) Agricultural cooperatives.

7 .
Gross collections.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 665, p. 131

Established the privilege tax at current rates, except for the minimum tax rate for financial institutions.
Acts 2000, No. 705, p. 1442
Established the current minimum tax for financial institution groups and made numerous other

technical corrections to the privilege tax.
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Corporation and Business Entity Filing Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 10A-1-4.31, 10A-8-10.01, 10A-8-10.06, and 10A-10-1.13, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Fees paid by corporations and other types of business entities for filing documents and issuing certificates

and for miscellaneous charges and penalties.

Tax Rate (Effective January 1, 2011):

Fees for filing documents and issuing certificates for business entities:

1)
)
©)

)
©)
(6)

()

(8)

©)

Certificate of formation and restated certificate of formation.

Amendment to certificate of formation.

Name reservations:

A. Less than 24 hours.

B. 24 hours or more.

Certificate of termination.

Certificate of merger; articles of consolidation or share exchange.

Foreign entity registration including registration of foreign limited liability
partnership.

Certificate of existence:

A. Less than 24 hours.

B. 24 hours or more.
Registered limited liability partnership registration.

Certificate of correction for a partnership.

(10) Registered limited liability partnership annual report.

(11) Partnership statement (filing or certifying).

(12) Any other filing instrument required or permitted to be filed.

(13) The Secretary of State shall collect a fee of $1.50 per page for copying and a

fee of $5 for certifying a copy of any filed document relating to an entity.

The Probate Judge shall collect a fee of $1.50 for copying and a fee of $5 for

certifying the copy of any filed document relating to an entity.

State of
Alabama

$100
$50

$25
$10
$100
$100
$150

$25
$10

$100

$25
$100
$25
$25

Probate
Judge

$50
$25

No fee
No fee
$50
$50

No fee

No fee

No fee

$50

No fee
No fee
$25
$25
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(14) For requests for expedited handling of documents to be obtained in less
than 24 hours, other than name reservations and certificates of existence,

regarding document filings, certifications, and certificates, a $100 surcharge

is imposed.
Collections:

By Probate Judges and/or the Secretary of State.

Secretary of State
Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($)8
2013-14 7,427,971
2012-13 8,505,027
2011-12 6,276,912
2010-11 4,476,827
2009-10 3,173,119

Percent Change
(12.66)

35.50

40.21

41.08

5.16

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

Funds collected by the Probate Judges are deposited into county treasuries. Funds collected by the

Secretary of State from corporations, partnerships, real estate investment trusts, and mergers of business

entities are deposited 70% to the State General Fund and 30% to the Secretary of State Entity Fund.

Legislative History:
Acts 1971, No. 1513, p. 2609

Established the Alabama Partnership Act.
Acts 1980, No. 633, p. 1094
Established the Alabama Business Corporation Act.
Acts 1981, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 1073, p- 320
Eliminated $5 fee for filing annual reports.
Acts 1983, No. 513, p. 737
Established the Alabama Limited Partnership Act of 1983.
Acts 1984, No. 290, p. 502
Established the Alabama Nonprofit Corporation Act.

& Includes collections deposited to the credit of the Secretary of State’s Entity Fund and to the State General Fund.
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Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 899, p. 459
Established Secretary of State Corporations Fund and schedule for deposits of collections into the
Fund; also increased filing fees for business corporations.
Acts 1993, No. 724, p. 1425
Established the Alabama Limited Liability Company Act.
Acts 1994, No. 245, p. 343
Repealed and reestablished the Alabama Business Corporation Act.
Acts 1996, No. 528, p. 685
Established the Uniform Partnership Act of 1996; and provided for limited liability partnerships.
Acts 1997, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 920, p. 312
Substantial revision of the Alabama Limited Liability Company Act.
Acts 1997, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 921, p. 335
Established the Alabama Limited Partnership Act of 1997.
Acts 2000, No. 211, p. 279
Established the Business Entities Conversion and Merger Act.
Acts 2000, No. 724, p. 1550
Increased the surcharge for expedited handling of filings by business corporations from $10 to $100.
Acts 2009, No. 513, p. 967
Established the Alabama Business and Nonprofit Entities Code to rearrange and provide uniformity
among various statutes. Brought into a single section the various filing fee provisions scattered
throughout the former law and increased filing and copying fees to current amounts. Changed the
name of the Secretary of State’s Corporations Fund to the Entity Fund. The provisions of the act were
effective January 1, 2011.
Acts 2009, No. 621, p. 1805
Repealed the Alabama Limited Partnership Act of 1997 and enacted the Uniform Limited Partnership
Act of 2010. The act became effective January 1, 2010; however, several provisions did not apply to
certain limited partnerships until January 1, 2012.
Acts 2010, No. 211, p. 337
Changed the effective date for provisions of Act 2009-621 related to certain limited partnerships from
January 1, 2012 to January 1, 2011 to coincide with the effective date of the Business and Nonprofit
Entities Code established by Act 2009-513.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
The corporate franchise tax is in the form of a corporate income tax. Every corporation must file an
annual report and pay a filing fee ranging from $61.25 to $500 depending on the type of business,
collected when corporations file documents with the Department of State. For domestic and
foreign corporations, articles of merger for each party, filing fees, registered agent designation,
articles of dissolution, and amendment of any record, $35; filing for reinstatement, $600; and
foreign corporation certificate of domestication, $50.

Georgia
All domestic and foreign for-profit corporations, except nonprofit corporations and insurance
companies, pay an annual corporation franchise tax graduated from $10 for $10,000 of net worth
or less to $5,000 for over $22 million of net worth. The tax is based on net worth, including capital
stock and paid-in and earned surplus of domestic corporations, and on the proportion of issued
capital stock and surplus employed in the state of foreign corporations. The Secretary of State
collects the following sample of fees: articles of incorporation, $100; application for certificate of
authority to transact business for foreign for-profit corporations, for foreign nonprofit
corporations, and for foreign LLCs and LLPs, $225; an annual registration fee for corporations,
LLCs and LLPs, $50; and any other document recording fee, $20.

Mississippi
Every domestic and foreign corporation pays a franchise tax at the rate of $2.50 per $1000 of
capital invested or employed in Mississippi ($25 minimum tax). Each domestic and foreign
corporation pays a $22 filing fee, plus an electronic convenience fee if filed online, that must
accompany each corporation’s annual report. The Secretary of State collects the following sample
of filing fees: articles of incorporation, amendment to articles, restatement of articles, or articles of
merger or share exchange, $50; articles of dissolution, $25; application for certificate of authority,
$500; and application for withdrawal, $25. LLC certificate of formation, amendment or merger,
$50.

Tennessee
Every domestic and foreign corporation pays a franchise tax at the rate of $0.25 per $100 of net
worth ($100 minimum tax). The Secretary of State collects the following fees: Domestic
Corporations - corporation charter and articles of merger or share exchange, $100; application for

certificate of withdrawal, articles of correction, articles of dissolution and amended and restated
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charter, $20. Foreign Corporations — certificate of authority, $600; application for amended

certificate of authority or certificate of withdrawal, $20.
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Cigarette Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-25-1 through 40-25-29 and 40-25-40 through 40-25-47, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Privilege and use tax on the sale, storage, or distribution of cigarettes by wholesalers and retailers, and use
by consumers. Tax is paid at wholesale level by affixing stamps to each individual package. (See also

Tobacco Tax).

Tax Rate:
21.25 mills per cigarette ($.425 per pack of 20 cigarettes). Information on local rates follows Legislative

History.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue on a monthly basis. Privilege (stamp) tax is collected on the 20" of each
month and use tax is collected on the 10th of each month. Wholesalers and jobbers are allowed a 7.5%

discount.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 117,111,988 (2.50)

2012-13 120,110,076 4.72)
2011-12 126,050,951 (3.04)

2010-11 130,004,792 (1.09)

2009-10 131,433,613 (3.15)

Source: For fiscal years 2010 and 2011, Department of Revenue's Tobacco Tax Section. For fiscal years 2012 and after, Department
of Revenue's Revenue Abstract. Collection amount represents net cigarette collections after discounts and refunds.
Distribution:
(A) 38.82% as follows:
(1) 6.06% to the State Public Welfare Trust Fund for general welfare purposes.
(2) 9.09% for:
(@) Maturing bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority.
(b) Balance credited to the "General and Mental Health Fund" and distributed as follows:
(i) 36% to the State Health Officer for expenses incident to general health work.

(i) 58% to the Department of Mental Health for mental health services.
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(iii) 6% to the Alabama Mental Health Board to provide services for people with an intellectual
disability.
(3) 12.12% for:
(@) Acquiring and constructing mental health facilities and paying the principal and interest on
the bonded debt issued by the Alabama Mental Health Finance Authority.
(b) Balance to the "General and Mental Health Fund" and distributed as follows:
(i) 30% to the State Health Officer for expenses incident to general health work.
(i) 70% to the Department of Mental Health to provide mental health services.
4) 6.06% for:
(@) Maturing bonds of the State Parks Development Authority.
(b) Balance to the "State Parks Fund."
(5) 66.67% to the State General Fund.
(B) The remaining 61.18% as follows:
(1) Up to $2 million annually to the various counties levying a cigarette tax to offset administrative
expenses of obtaining local stamps and to provide a discount to wholesalers and jobbers.

(2) Remaining revenues to the State General Fund to be used for Medicaid Services.

Major Exemptions:

A qualified wholesaler or jobber in Alabama may sell non-stamped tobacco products to:
(i) A person outside the state, provided certain criteria defined in Section 40-25-15 Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended is met.
(i) The United States or to any instrumentality thereof for resale to or for use or consumption
by members of the Armed Services of the United States.
(iii) Ships regularly engaged in foreign commerce or coastwise shipping between points in this
state and points outside this state for resale to or for use or consumption upon such ship or

in foreign commerce.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established cigarette tax rate as follows: 1.5 mills on those 3 inches or less; 3 mills over 3 inches and
less than 6 inches; 6 mills on those in excess of 6 inches in length; and provided for the distribution of

revenues to the Special Educational Trust Fund.
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Acts 1945, No. 326, p. 528
Changed the tax rate on cigarettes as follows: 1.5 mills on each cigarette three and two-fifths inches or
less; 3 mills on each cigarette three and two-fifths inches but less than five and one-half inches; and
$.01 on each cigarette five and one-half inches or longer.

Acts 1955, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 73, p- 188
Increased cigarette tax rate to 2 mills on each cigarette three and two-fifths inches or less; 4 mills on
each cigarette three and two-fifths inches and less than five and one-half inches; and $.0133 on
cigarettes five and one-half inches or longer. Also, changed distribution of revenues as follows: one-
fourth to the Public Welfare Trust Fund for old age assistance purposes; and the balance to the Special
Educational Trust Fund.

Acts 1959, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 101, p. 318
Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.02 per pack of 20 or less; $.04 per pack of 21-40; and $.06 per
pack of more than 40; and provided for the distribution of revenues from this additional tax to the
Special Educational Trust Fund.

Acts 1965, No. 654, p. 1177
Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.01 per pack of 20 or less; $.02 per pack of 21-40; and $.03 per
pack of more than 40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed as follows: (a) to pay
principal and interest on bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority; and (b) the
balance to the General Mental Health Fund to be distributed: 60% to the State Health Officer for
general health work; 30% to Alabama state hospitals; and 10% to Partlow State School.

Acts 1967, No. 275, p. 784
Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.02 per pack of 20 or less; $.04 per pack of 21-40; and $.06 per
pack of more than 40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed as follows: (a) for
acquiring and constructing mental health facilities and to pay principal and interest on bonds issued
by the Mental Health Building Authority or the state for mental health facilities; and (b) the balance to
the General Mental Health Fund to be distributed: 30% to the State Health Officer for general health
work; and 70% to the Mental Health Board for mental health purposes.

Acts 1967, No. 309, p. 850
Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.01 per pack of 20 or less; $.02 per pack of 21-40; and $.03 per
pack of more than 40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed as follows: (a) to pay
principal and interest on bonds issued by the State Parks Development Authority; and (b) the balance

to the State Parks Fund.

Cigarette Tax Page 90



Acts 1969, No. 168, p. 453
Changed the distribution of the additional tax levied by Acts 1965, No. 654 to appropriate as much as
necessary for the retirement of additional bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority.
Similar distribution change made by Acts 1971, No. 1402, Acts 1973, No. 1021 and Acts 1975, No.
1175.
Acts 1969, No. 551, p. 1034
Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.02 per pack of 20 or less; $.03 per pack of 21-40; and $.04 per
pack of more than 40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed to the State General Fund.
Acts 1973, No. 819, p. 1285
Changed the distribution of revenue for the cigarette tax that was established by Acts 1955, 2™ Ex.
Sess, No. 73 by changing references to the use of funds distributed to the Public Welfare Trust Fund
for “old age assistance purposes” to “general welfare purposes.”
Acts 1978, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 100, p. 1813
Amended the distribution of revenue to reallocate and appropriate as much as necessary for the
retirement of additional bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority. Similar
distribution change made by Acts 1981, 3™ Ex. Sess., No. 1141 and Acts 1983, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 922.
Acts 1980, No. 701, p. 1411
Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.04 per pack of 20 or less; $.08 per pack of 21-40; and $.10 per
pack of more than 40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed to the State General Fund.
Acts 1984, No. 309, p. 684
Increased tax on cigarettes by $.005 per pack of 20; abolished varying tax rates on cigarettes and
established rate of 8.25 mills/cigarette or $.165 per pack of 20 cigarettes; and changed distribution
formula to allocate the additional $.005 per pack of 20 to retire Industrial Development Bonds with
residue allocated to Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation.
Acts 1987, No. 550, p. 842, and No. 554, p. 857
Increased the debt service paid from cigarette tax receipts on maturing bonds issued by the State
Industrial Development Authority; and decreased the distribution of such tax receipts annually to the
State Health Officer and the Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation.
Acts 1988, No. 475, p. 739
Established the Alabama Mental Health Finance Authority; pledged a portion of the cigarette tax
proceeds, which was distributed to the Alabama Mental Health Building Authority, to the repayment

of bonds issued by the Alabama Mental Health Finance Authority.
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Acts 1988, No. 476, p. 749
Deleted the distribution of revenue derived from the cigarette tax to the Alabama Mental Health
Building Authority and provided for the distribution of 12.12% of the said proceeds to the Alabama
Mental Health Finance Authority. Also, changed references to the Mental Health Board to the
Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation.

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 650, p. 96
Effective January 1, 2001, deleted distribution of privilege/use taxes on cigarettes to the Education
Trust Fund (formerly 30.30%) and increased distribution share to the State General Fund from 36.37%
to 66.67%.

Acts 2004, No. 545, p. 1157
Increased the state cigarette tax rate to current rate and doubled the various taxes on other tobacco
products; provided that no additional local taxes may be levied after the date of passage; provided
that local taxes would be collected through the use of local stamps; and provided the current
distribution of proceeds.

Acts 2006, No. 619, p. 1694
Required each person who makes delivery sales of cigarettes to a consumer located in the state to
comply with state tax laws, license and revenue-stamping requirements, and escrow payment
obligations and to file with the Department of Revenue a statement for each sale with the name and
location of the purchaser, the brand and quantity of cigarettes sold, and an indication of whether or
not the cigarettes bore a tax stamp evidencing payment of cigarette taxes.

Acts 2014, No. 262, p. 827
Separated little cigars from certain filtered cigars and eliminated the retail selling price requirement to
determine the tax rate on cigars. Also, required all wholesalers, jobbers, semijobbers or any other
person selling, receiving or distributing tobacco products in Alabama for resale to file a report of its
activity with the Department.

Note Regarding Local Rates:
The state tax is in lieu of any other or additional local taxes and/or license fees other than those
imposed by an act of the Legislature or an ordinance or resolution by a taxing authority passed or
enacted prior to May 2004. The Department of Revenue maintains a current list of local tax rates on its

website.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Cigarettes are taxed $1.339 per pack of 20. Persons affixing stamps are allowed a 2% discount of the
par value of stamps purchased computed on the basis of a $.24 per pack tax.

Georgia
Cigarettes are taxed at $.37 per pack of 20. Licensed distributors may be allowed discounts of not less
than 2% nor more than 8% of the face value thereof, depending on the volume of cigarettes handled.
Effective July 1, 2010, the discount rate is 4%.

Mississippi
Cigarettes are taxed at $.68 per pack of 20. A 4% discount is allowed to wholesalers with stamp
purchases of $100 or more and to retailers on purchases of $50 or more.

Tennessee
Cigarettes are taxed at $.031 per cigarette or $.62 per pack of 20. Wholesale dealers or manufacturing

distributors and jobbers are allowed up to a 4.15% discount as set by the Commissioner of Revenue.
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Coal Severance Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-13-1 through 40-13-10 and 40-13-30 through 40-13-36, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Privilege tax levied on every person severing coal within Alabama.

Tax Rate:

The state collects two levies, of $.135 and $.20 per ton, which total $.335 per ton. The $.135 per ton levy
terminated on October 1, 2011, but was re-established retroactively to October 1, 2011 by Act 2012-386
until October 1, 2021.

Collections:

The severance tax levies are collected by the Department of Revenue on or before the 20™ of each month.

Fiscal Collections Collections Collections Percent
Year ($.135/ton) ($.20/ton) Total Change
2013-14 2,263,318 3,318,998 5,582,316 (38.94)

2012-13° 4,916,242 4,226,385 9,142,627 164.81

2011-12° 231,040 3,221,519 3,452,559 (46.19)

2010-11 2,601,513 3,814,164 6,415,677 (0.45)

2009-10 2,598,843 3,845,920 6,444,763 3.94

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

(1) Proceeds from the $.135 per ton levy are credited to the Alabama State Docks Bulk Handling Facility
Trust Fund and are available to pay the principal and interest on revenue bonds, if revenues earned by
the State Docks from its coal handling operation are insufficient to pay the principal and interest on
the bonds. Beginning in fiscal year 2014, and for all fiscal years thereafter, the balance of the proceeds
remaining in the Bulk Handling Facility Trust Fund is transferred as follows: the first $300,000 to the
Alabama Mining Academy; $500,000 to the Jefferson County General Fund; 60% to the general fund of
the county of severance based on the ratio of the per ton coal severance tax collections from within
the county to the total coal severance tax collections, except those sent to the Walker County

Economic and Industrial Development Authority; $100,000 to the Community Development
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Foundation, Inc,; $50,000 to the Marion County Community Development Association, Inc.; $50,000 to
the West Alabama Development Association of Fayette County; $100,000 to the West Alabama
Economic Development Association; and $100,000 to the Winston County General Fund. Any
remaining moneys will be distributed to the State General Fund. See Section 40-13-6, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended, for distribution prior to fiscal year 2014.

(2) Proceeds from the $.20 per ton levy are distributed to the cities and counties in which the coal was

severed.

Legislative History:

Acts 1971, No. 2305, p. 3719
Established the coal severance tax of $.135 per ton of coal; provided for its collection and disposition;
and provided that the tax would terminate upon the repayment of Docks facility bonds.

Acts 1971, No. 2306, p. 3724
Amended the act that authorized the issuance of $15 million in bonds for the State Docks and then
levied a special handling charge of $.25 per ton on coal to be used to pay debt service on the bonds
issued by that act. Upon repayment of the bonds the special handling charge was discontinued.

Acts 1977, No. 598, p. 799
Imposed an additional levy of $.20 per ton of coal severed and required that the proceeds be
distributed to the counties and cities where the coal was severed; and prohibited local taxation of coal
or lignite.

Acts 1980, No. 645, p. 1217
Repealed provisions of the $.135 per ton levy which allowed proceeds in excess of the amount
required to pay annual principal and interest on port facility bonds to be refunded to coal producers
to provide that residual proceeds be credited to the State General Fund.

Acts 1985, No. 648, p. 1005
Provided that the Alabama State Docks may receive proceeds from the $.135 per ton coal severance
tax in order to pay for expenses and operating costs of its coal handling facilities and provided that
the $.135 per ton tax would terminate on the later of the redemption and repayment of Docks facility
bonds or their final maturity date.

Acts 1990, No. 562, p. 956
Provided that the $.135 per ton tax would terminate on October 1, 2006, unless extended by the

Legislature.

® Due to processing changes, the following tax collections that would have normally been credited to Fiscal Year 2012 were credited
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Acts 1993, No. 680, p. 1301
Provided further for the distribution of the $.135 per ton levy by transferring the following before any
proceeds are credited to the State General Fund: first $300,000 to the Alabama Mining Academy;
$500,000 to the Tuscaloosa County General Fund; $500,000 to the Jefferson County General Fund; and
$200,000 to the Walker County Economic and Industrial Development Authority.

Acts 1997, No. 615, p. 1078
Provided further for the distribution of the $.135 per ton levy distributed to the Tuscaloosa County
General Fund.

Acts 2006, No. 386, p. 984
Provided further for the distribution of the $.135 per ton levy by transferring additional amounts
beginning with the 2006-07 fiscal year: $100,000 to the Community Development Foundation, Inc,;
$100,000 to the Marion County Community Development Association, Inc.; $100,000 to the West
Alabama Development Association of Fayette County; $100,000 to the Jackson County Economic
Development Association; and $100,000 to the West Alabama Economic Development Association.
Also extended the termination date of the $.135 per ton tax to October 1, 2011.

Act 2012, No. 386, p. 1030
Re-established the $.135 per ton coal severance tax and provided for the current distribution of

proceeds. Also, extended the termination date of the tax to October 1, 2021.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia and Mississippi
No comparable taxes on coal.
Tennessee

$.75 per ton from July 2011 through June 2013 and $1.00 per ton effective July 2013.

to Fiscal Year 2013: $.135/ton tax, $2,272,894; and $.20/ton tax, $490,031.
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Boat Registration Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 33-5-1 through 33-5-20, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
(1) An annual certificate of registration fee on every vessel on the waters of the State of Alabama.
(2) A change of ownership fee.

(3) An inspection fee on all homemade vessels that require a hull identification number.

Tax Rate:
Class 1. Less than 16ft - $18, plus $2 issuance fee
Class 2. 16ft or over and less than 26ft - $23, plus $2 issuance fee
Class 3. 26ft or over and less than 40ft - $73, plus $2 issuance fee
Class 4. 40ft or over - $98, plus $2 issuance fee
The above stated fees also apply to livery boats.
Change of Ownership Fee: $3, plus $2 issuance fee
Duplicate Fee: $3, plus $2 issuance fee
Class 5. Dealer or Manufacturer; temporary license - $23, plus $2 issuance fee
Inspection Fee: $25 for each homemade vessel that requires a hull identification number.
Issuance fees are retained by the probate judge or issuing officer (if on a fee basis) or deposited to the

county treasury.

Collections:
By probate judges or any other official authorized to issue automobile plates, to be remitted to the
Department of Conservation and Natural Resources no later than 10 days after the 1* of each month.

Registrations are issued on a staggered basis like motor vehicle registrations.

Boat Registration Fees

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 6,043,038 (.32)

2012-13 6,062,414 (1.22)
2011-12 6,137,371 .30
2010-11 6,119,036

2009-10 6,177,166
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Boat Ownership Transfer Fees

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 79,340 (2.53)
2012-13 81,396 (5.69)
2011-12 86,311 5.62
2010-11 81,464 1.60
2009-10 80,180 4.23

Source: “"Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
All proceeds (except issuance fees) are deposited to the credit of the State Water Safety Fund to be used

solely for the administration of the registration program.

Major Exemptions:

(1) A vessel operating under valid temporary certificate or number.

(2) A vessel already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to
federal law or a federally approved numbering system of another state; provided that such vessel shall
not have been within this state for period in excess of 90 consecutive days.

(3) A vessel under registry from a country other than the U.S. temporarily using the waters of this state.

(4) A vessel owned by the United States, or a state, county, or municipality.

(5) A ship's lifeboat.

(6) A vessel not propelled by machinery, except sail boats and boats for hire.

Legislative History:
Acts 1959, No. 576, p. 1442

Established the registration of vessels; established a numbering and identifying system in compliance
with the Federal Boating Act of 1958; established exemptions from numbering provisions; and
established license fees on vessels as follows: Class 1-$2; Class 2-$3; Class 3-$6; Class 4-$12; Class 5-
$10 plus a $.25 issuance fee.

Acts 1961, No. 878, p. 1377
Amended Act 59-576 relating to the distribution of proceeds and changed the Class 5 registration fee

to $10 for first license and $1 for each additional license.

Boat Registration Fees Page 99



Acts 1965, No. 787, p. 1473
Provided the fee of $1 for the registration of an ownership change, with an issuance fee of $.25; also
provided for a duplicate of a lost or misplaced registration certificate for $.50.

Acts 1971, No. 2081, p. 3352
Increased the annual license fees for vessel registrations as follows: Class 1-$4; Class 2-$6; Class 3-$12;
Class 4-$24; Class 5 first license-$20 and each additional license-$2. Livery: Class 1-$2; Class 2-$3;
Class 3-$6. Also, increased the issuance fees on registrations to $.50.

Acts 1981, No. 296, p. 377
Increased the annual license fees for vessel registrations as follows: Class 1-$6; Class 2-$10; Class 3-
$20; Class 4-$40; Class 5 first license-$25 and each additional license-$3. Livery: Class 1-$4; Class 2-$6;
Class 3-3%8.

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040
Provided for a statewide fee schedule for the collection of various license fees by probate judges and
increased said fee from $.50 to $1.

Acts 1988, No. 552, p. 868
Established a staggered system for annual vessel registrations (same schedule as for motor vehicle
registration).

Acts 1993, No. 754, p. 1508
Increased the annual license fees for vessel registration as follows: Class 1-$11; Class 2-$15; Class 3-
$30; Class 4-$50. Also provided that the above fees also apply to livery boats.

Acts 2007, No. 420, p. 896
Increased annual license fees for vessel registration, issuance fees, and change of ownership fees to
current rates. Also, established the inspection fee for all homemade boats requiring hull identification

numbers at current rate.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Annual rate schedule for vessels:

Class Al - 12ft or less - $12.25 Class 4 - 65ft up to 109ft - $159.50
Class A2 - 12ft to 15ft - $23.00 Class 5 - 110ft or more - $196.50
Class 1 - 16ft up to 25ft - $35.50 Dealers - $32.25

Class 2 - 26ft up to 39ft - $85.00
Class 3 - 40ft up to 64ft - $134.50
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Georgia
Three-year rate schedule for vessels:
Class A - less than 16ft - $15
Class 1 - 16ft but less than 26ft - $36
Class 2 - 26ft but less than 40ft - $90
Class 3 - 40ft and over - $150
Transfer of ownership - $3
Duplicate Registration - $1
Marine toilet certificate - $5
Mississippi
Three-year rate schedule for vessels:

Original and Renewal

Under 16ft - $10.20

16ft to less than 26ft - $25.20

26ft and over - $47.70
Tennessee

Vessels can be registered for one, two or three years upon the option of the owner.

Size lyr 2yr 3yr
Class A-under 16ft $13 $24 $35
Class 1-16ft to 26ft $25 $48 $71
Class 2-26ft to 40ft $38 $72 $107
Class 3-40ft or more $51 $97 $142
Dealer/Manufacturer Certificate $32 $64 $95
Duplicate and Replacement Certificate $6 N/A N/A
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Freshwater Fishing Licenses

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 272 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.01 of the
Official Recompilation to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (ratified December 13, 1967)
Created the Game and Fish Fund and provided that all monies derived from the sale of hunting and

fishing licenses or permits are to be deposited into said fund.

Statutory Authority:
Sections 9-11-32 through 9-11-43, 9-11-53, 9-11-53.3, 9-11-53.6, 9-11-54 through 9-11-55.1, 9-11-55.3
through 9-11-55.5, 9-11-56, 9-11-56.4, 9-11-65, 9-11-65.2, 9-11-68, and 9-11-71, Code of Alabama 1975,

as amended.

Tax Base:

A fee paid by persons desiring to fish in Alabama waters. Annual licenses are valid from September 1 or
the date of issuance to the next August 31.

Tax Rate: The following rates are valid September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2015. For previous rates,

see Legislative History and www.eregulations.com/alabama.

Resident Licenses License Fee®
Annual Freshwater! $12.85

Lifetime Freshwater Fishing* $162.70 to $270.60 (based on age)
Lifetime Combination Freshwater/Saltwater Fishing* $432.35 to $648.05 (based on age)

$486.30 to $755.85 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Freshwater Fishing®

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Freshwater and Saltwater Fishing® ~ $755.85 to $1,133.30 (based on age)

64 Lifetime License®

Special Totally Disabled Person
Disabled Military Veteran®
Annual Wildlife Heritage®
Lifetime Wildlife Heritage®
Resident Daily State Lake Fishing

Disabled Three - Day Fishing Event

See Notes
$1.00
$3.05
$10.65
$216.65
$6.05

$100 (includes up to 20 disabled
residents and 20 assistants); $5 per
additional disabled persons over the
20 person limit
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. . q 2,3
Nonresident Licenses License Fee

Annual Freshwater $49.40
7-day Freshwater $27.85
Nonresident State Lake Fishing $7.05/day or $12.05/license year

Freshwater Family Fishing 3-day (up to 4 family members added) $27.85

Persons obtaining the resident freshwater fishing license are also entitled to all the privileges of the
wildlife heritage license.

Nonresident license fees for residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee are the
same as license fees charged Alabama residents for similar licenses in those states.

Includes issuance fees. Issuance fees are retained by the probate judge, license commissioner or other
authorized license agent. All fees collected by a probate judge or license commissioner, who is paid a
salary for the performance of his or her duties, are deposited in the county treasury.

A person 64 years of age when procuring an annual freshwater or saltwater license will be issued the
license on a lifetime basis for the same fees that would have been paid for the annual license.

The wildlife heritage license allows a person to: (1) fish in waters under the jurisdiction of the Division
of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries with a hook and line from the bank other than in the person’s
county of residence; (2) fish in public fishing lakes operated by the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater
Fisheries; (3) hunt small game, except waterfowl, on wildlife management areas; and (4) shoot on
Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries shooting ranges.

Note: The license fees and accompanying issuance fees for all licenses, with the exception of the special
totally disabled person license and the disabled three-day fishing event license, are subject to
possible annual adjustment based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI), if

recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’'s Advisory Board.

Collections:
By the probate judges, license commissioners, or other person authorized and designated to issue fishing

licenses remitted to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources on the 1* of each month.

Fiscal Annual License Lifetime License Wildlife Heritage Percent

Year Collections ($)° Collections ($)"* License Collections Totals ($) Change
2013-14 6,238,951 378,674 34,304 6,651,929 3.99

% Includes collections from annual freshwater and trip licenses.
™ Includes receipts from lifetime freshwater licenses only.
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Fiscal Annual License Lifetime License Wildlife Heritage Percent
Year Collections ($)° Collections ($)" License Collections Totals ($) Change
2012-13 6,019,577 338,198 39,189 6,396,964 (2.09)

2011-12 6,177,782 323,932 31,729 6,533,443 (9.26)

2010-11 6,817,890 297,116 23,471 7,138,477 10.16

2009-10 6,158,058 301,096 20,915 6,480,069 (7.93)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:

(1) Resident freshwater fishing license fees - 100% to Game and Fish Fund.

(2) Resident lifetime freshwater fishing license fees and lifetime combination hunting/freshwater fishing
license fees - 100% to Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund within the Game and Fish Fund.

(3) Resident lifetime combination freshwater/saltwater and hunting/freshwater and saltwater - the portion
of the license fee representing the amount of lifetime freshwater or hunting license to the Alabama
Game and Fish Endowment Fund and the balance of the fees charged for each license to the Alabama
Marine Resources Endowment Fund.

(4) 64 lifetime freshwater license - 100% to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund.

(5) Nonresident freshwater fishing license (annual and trip) fees - 100% to Game and Fish Fund.

(6) Wildlife heritage license fees — 100% to the Game and Fish Fund, with the first $500,000 of license
revenue utilized by the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries for the purpose of research on

wildlife and wildlife habitat.

Major Exemptions:

(1) All persons under the age of 16.

(2) Any resident of this state over 65 years of age, provided that said resident has on his person while
fishing, a driver's license (or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and
age).

(3) Florida residents over 65 years of age.

(4) Any person or member of his immediate family who fishes in a private pond on lands owned by him
or any tenant or member of his immediate family who fishes in a private pond on lands leased or
rented by such tenant and who resides on such lands.

(5) Persons fishing from the bank with an ordinary hook and line in his county of residence; provided, that
any person who fishes with hook and line in his own county of residence shall be required to have on

his person, while so fishing, a reasonable proof of said residency in such county.
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(6) Persons fishing at "commercial fee fishing ponds" pursuant to the provisions of Article 17 of Chapter
11 of Title 9.

(7) Members of the U.S. armed forces when the U.S. is engaged in a war.

(8) Residents who have purchased a lifetime fishing license or combination fishing/hunting license are
exempt from purchase of saltwater fishing license if the lifetime license was purchased prior to March
31, 1992.

(9) Residents on leave from active military duty who have proof of his or her status in his or her
possession.

(10) A member of the U.S. military stationed in Alabama on active duty and his or her spouse and their

dependents who reside with them are deemed residents for hunting and fishing license purposes.

Legislative History:

Acts 1923, No. 588, p. 762
Established freshwater fishing license fees for nonresidents for annual fee of $5; created the Fish
Hatchery Fund into which all revenues arising from the sale of fishing licenses and from fines, penalties
and forfeitures were to be deposited; and authorized probate judges to retain $.15 of license fee.

Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632
Provided for nonresident 7-day trip freshwater fishing license fees for fee of $2; provided that receipts
from all hunting and fishing license fees, penalties, forfeitures, etc. to be deposited to Game and Fish
Fund.

Acts 1936-37, Ex. Sess., No. 147, p. 165
Provided a $1 resident fishing license fee for those over the age of 16 while fishing with rod and reel
and fishing with artificial bait.

Acts 1971, No. 1980, p. 3222
Amended the method of obtaining a resident fishing license, requiring that residents between the
ages of 16 and 65 purchase such licenses; provided issuance fees of $.25 for the resident license and
$.15 for persons over the age of 65; and provided exemptions for fishing in a private pond and for
fishing with a hook and line in a resident’s county of residence

Acts 1975, No. 1209, p. 2523
Provided the issuance fee for all licenses sold by the Game and Fish Division of the Department of

Conservation and Natural Resources to be $.25.
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Acts 1977, No. 351, p. 468
Increased the nonresident fishing license fee to $10 and expanded it to include salt and brackish water
(as well as freshwater) and provided for issuance fee of $.25; provided that of the new $10 fee, $7 to
be deposited to Game and Fish Fund and $3 to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; increased
nonresident trip fishing license to $4 and expanded it to include salt and brackish water; and provided
that of the new $4 fee, $3 to be deposited to Game and Fish Fund and $1 to Marine Resources
(Seafoods) Fund.

Acts 1979, No. 803, p. 1481
Increased the cost of resident fishing licenses to $6; and restricted the hook and line license to the
county in which the licensee resides.

Acts 1981, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p- 386
Established a lifetime resident hunting license fee of $200; lifetime resident freshwater fishing license
fee of $100; and a combination lifetime hunting/freshwater fishing license fee of $300 and provided
that such license fees be deposited into a special account known as the Alabama Game and Fish
Endowment Fund within the Game and Fish Fund.

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040
Increased license issuance fee for probate judges to $1 per license.

Acts 1986, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 649. p. 31
Exempted nonresidents under the age of 16 from fishing license requirements; increased nonresident
fishing license fee to $15, except that license fees for residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana,
Mississippi, and Tennessee to be that charged Alabama residents by those states; increased
nonresident 7-day trip license fee to $7 and provided for same reciprocal arrangement with certain
other states as annual license; provided for current distribution of nonresident fishing license fees; and
provided 90% of the above license fees deposited into the Game and Fish Fund and 10% deposited
into Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund.

Acts 1988, Ex. Sess., No. 805, p. 242
Increased the annual resident freshwater fishing license fee to $8.50; provided for a reciprocal
agreement with Florida to exempt residents of Alabama over 65 years of age from the requirement of
procuring a fishing license; and provided for the issuance of a combination hunting/fishing license.

Acts 1989, No. 300, p. 487
Increased the fees for lifetime resident freshwater fishing license to $150; lifetime resident hunting

license to $300; combination lifetime resident hunting/freshwater fishing license to $450; and
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prohibited nonresident Alabama property owners from obtaining lifetime hunting, lifetime fishing or
combination lifetime hunting/fishing licenses.

Acts 1993, No. 322, p. 486
Established the resident 7-day freshwater trip license at $5 and nonresident annual combination
saltwater/freshwater license at $60; decreased the resident annual combination saltwater/freshwater
license to $23.50 and changed distribution; and increased nonresident annual freshwater license to
$30 and nonresident 7-day freshwater license fees to $10.

Acts 1996, No. 667, p. 1129
Increased issuance fee for disabled persons from $.25 to $1; and provided for the issuance of the
licenses to be on a continuous basis during the period of disability.

Acts 2000, No. 735, p. 1604
Established the 64 lifetime licenses at the current rates and distribution; changed the effective date of
Act 99-660, 2" Ex. Sess. from November 29, 2000 to June 1, 2000.

Acts 2000, No. 742, p. 1647
Established the annual resident sportsman’s license at $58.50 and provided distribution of $15 to the
Marine Resources Fund and the balance to the Game and Fish Fund. (See also Hunting Licenses
Legislative History Acts 2000, No. 742 for hunting provisions).

Acts 2004, No. 449, p. 794
Authorized U.S. military personnel stationed in Alabama on active duty to be deemed residents for
hunting and fishing license purposes; exempted Alabama residents that are active members of the
National Guard and certified law enforcement personnel from hunter safety education requirements;
clarified that hunting and fishing licenses are not transferable and authorized residents of the state on
leave from active military duty to hunt or fish without obtaining a license.

Acts 2007, No. 418, p. 874
Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007. Increased the license fees for the following freshwater fishing licenses to
current base amounts before Consumer Price Index (CPI) adjustments: annual resident; annual
nonresident (including issuance fee); nonresident 7-day trip (including issuance fee); lifetime resident
freshwater fishing; lifetime resident hunting/freshwater fishing license; and lifetime resident
hunting/saltwater and freshwater fishing license. Provided that these license fees and accompanying
issuance fees are subject to possible annual adjustment beginning in FY 2011 based on the
percentage increase in the CPI if such adjustment is recommended by the Commissioner and
approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. Also, repealed laws providing for the issuance of

annual resident hunting and fishing licenses on a combination basis, resident 7-day trip freshwater
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fishing license, resident combination freshwater/saltwater license, and the sportsman'’s license.
Established the disabled military veteran license, annual resident wildlife heritage license and lifetime
resident wildlife heritage license. (See also Hunting Licenses, Legislative History, Acts 2007, No. 418 for
hunting provisions).

Acts 2014, No. 340, p. 1262
Established the resident daily state lake fishing license at $5 and the nonresident state lake fishing
license at $5 per day or $10 per year. Both licenses are subject to the cost adjustment provided in
Section 9-11-68, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended in addition to the applicable issuance fee. Also
established the nonresident 3-day family fishing license at the same rate as the nonresident 7-day trip
fishing license for up to 4 additional family members. A disabled 3-day fishing event license was
established at $100 to include up to 20 disabled residents or nonresidents and 20 assistants; an

additional $5 is charged per additional disabled person over the 20 person limit.
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Saltwater Fishing Licenses

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-11-32 through 9-11-43, 9-11-53.1, 9-11-53.3, 9-11-53.5 through 9-11-54, 9-11-55.2 through 9-

11-55.3,9-11-56.3, 9-11-65.2, and 9-11-69, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A fee paid by persons desiring to fish in Alabama waters. Annual licenses are valid from September 1 or

the date of issuance to the next August 31.

Tax Rate: The following rates are valid from September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2015. For previous

rates, see Legislative History and www.eregulations.com/alabama.

Resident Licenses

License Fee'

Annual Saltwater

$22.60

Lifetime Saltwater Fishing

$270.60 to $378.40 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Freshwater/Saltwater Fishing

$432.35 to $648.05 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Saltwater Fishing

$594.05 to $917.65 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Freshwater and
Saltwater Fishing

$755.85 to $1,133.30 (based on age)

64 Lifetime License®

See Notes

Annual Saltwater Pier

$6

Special Totally Disabled Person

$1

7-Day Saltwater

Non Resident Licenses

License Fee?

Annual Saltwater

7-Day Saltwater

Annual Saltwater Pier

Includes issuance fees. Issuance fees are retained by the probate judge, license commissioner or other

authorized license agent. All fees collected by a probate judge or license commissioner, who is paid a

salary for performance of his or her duties, are deposited in the county treasury.

Nonresident license fees for residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee are the

same as license fees charged Alabama residents for similar licenses in those states.
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> Aperson 64 years of age when procuring an annual freshwater or saltwater license will be issued the

license on a lifetime basis for the same fees that would have been paid for the annual license.
NOTE: The license and accompanying issuance fees for annual, lifetime and trip licenses are subject to
possible annual adjustment based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) if

recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board.

Collections:
By the probate judges, license commissioners, or other person authorized and designated to issue fishing

licenses remitted to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources on the 1** of each month.

Annual License Lifetime License Percent
Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Collections ($)" Totals ($) Change
2013-14 2,230,312 128,099 2,358,411 (2.89)

2012-13 2,295,979 132,511 2,428,490 5.98
2011-12 2,185,800 105,588 2,291,388 (.38)

2010-11 2,193,239 106,796 2,300,035 57.97

2009-10 1,367,493 88,511 1,456,004 (28.14)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

(1) Resident saltwater fishing license (annual and trip) fees - 100% to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund.

(2) Resident lifetime saltwater license fees — 100% to the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund.

(3) Resident lifetime combination freshwater/saltwater, hunting/saltwater, and hunting/freshwater and
saltwater — the portion of the license fee representing the amount of lifetime resident freshwater or
hunting license to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund and the balance of the fees charged
for each license to the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund.

(4) 64 lifetime saltwater license - 100% to the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund.

(5) Annual resident and nonresident saltwater pier fishing license fees - 100% Marine Resources
(Seafoods) Fund.

(6) Nonresident saltwater fishing license (annual and trip) fees - 100% to Marine Resources (Seafoods)

Fund.

12 . -
Includes collections from annual saltwater and trip licenses.

1 . . . . . .
? Includes receipts from lifetime saltwater and combination licenses only.

Saltwater Fishing Licenses Page 110



Major Exemptions:

(1) All persons under the age of 16.

(2) Any resident of this state over 65 years of age, provided that said resident has on his person while
fishing, a driver's license (or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and
age).

(3) Florida residents over 65 years of age.

(4) Members of the U.S. armed forces when the U.S. is engaged in a war.

(5) Residents who have purchased a lifetime fishing license or combination fishing/hunting license are
exempt from purchase of saltwater fishing license if the lifetime license was purchased prior to March
31, 1992 on any valid lifetime saltwater fishing license.

(6) Residents on leave from active military duty who have proof of his or her status in his or her
possession.

(7) A member of the U.S. military and his or her spouse and their dependents who reside with them,
stationed in Alabama on active duty are deemed residents for hunting and fishing license purposes.

Legislative History:

Acts 1977, No. 351, p. 468
Increased the nonresident fishing license fee to $10 and expanded it to include salt and brackish water
(as well as freshwater) and provided for issuance fee of $.25; provided that of the new $10 fee, $7 to
be deposited to Game and Fish Fund and $3 to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; increased
nonresident trip fishing license to $4 and expanded it to include salt and brackish water; and provided
that of the new $4 fee, $3 to be deposited to Game and Fish Fund and $1 to Marine Resources
(Seafoods) Fund.

Acts 1986, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 649. p. 31
Exempted nonresidents under the age of 16 from fishing license requirements; increased nonresident
fishing license fee to $15, except that license fees for residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana,
Mississippi, and Tennessee to be that charged Alabama residents by those states; increased
nonresident 7-day trip license fee to $7 and provided for same reciprocal arrangement with certain
other states as annual license; provided for the distribution of nonresident fishing license fees; and
provided 90% of the above license fees deposited into the Game and Fish Fund and 10% deposited
into Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund.

Acts 1992, No. 344, p. 736

Provided for annual resident saltwater fishing license at $15 and a combination annual resident
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saltwater/freshwater license for a fee of $25; provided for the distribution of annual resident saltwater
fishing license fees to the Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; provided for the distribution of the
combination license fees with $15 going to the Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund and $10 going to
the Game and Fish
Fund; repealed the requirement that 10% of resident freshwater fishing licenses be deposited to the
credit of the Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; and expressed legislative intent that the Department
of Conservation and Natural Resources enter into a reciprocal agreement with State of Florida
exempting persons 65 years of age or older from state fishing and hunting license requirements.

Acts 1993, No. 322, p. 486
Provided for the following new license fees and distributions: resident 7-day saltwater trip license at
$15; annual public fishing pier operator license at $1,000; resident annual saltwater pier fishing license
at $5; nonresident annual saltwater fishing license at $30; nonresident 7-day trip saltwater fishing
license at $10; nonresident annual combination saltwater/freshwater license at $60; decreased the
resident annual combination saltwater/freshwater license to $23.50; and changed distribution to $15
to the Marine Resources Fund and $8.50 to the Game and Fish Fund.

Acts 1999, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 660, p- 117
Established the resident lifetime saltwater license at $250; saltwater combination freshwater/saltwater
license at $400; lifetime combination saltwater/hunting license at $550; and lifetime combination
freshwater/saltwater and hunting license at $700; and established the Alabama Marine Resources
Endowment Fund.

Acts 2000, No. 735, p. 1604
Established the 64 lifetime licenses at the current rates and distribution; changed the effective date of
Act 99-660, 2" Ex. Sess. from November 29, 2000 to June 1, 2000.

Acts 2000, No. 742, p. 1647
Established the annual resident sportsman'’s license at $58.50 and provided distribution. (See also
Hunting Licenses, Legislative History, Acts 2000, No. 742 for hunting provisions).

Acts 2004, No. 449, p. 794
Authorized U.S. military personnel stationed in Alabama on active duty to be deemed residents for
hunting and fishing license purposes; clarified that hunting and fishing licenses are not transferable
and authorized residents of the state on leave from active military duty to hunt or fish without

obtaining a license.
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Acts 2007, No. 418, p.874
Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007. In addition to hunting and freshwater fishing provisions, increased the
fees for lifetime saltwater and combination saltwater/freshwater and hunting license fees to current
rates and made the fees subject to possible annual adjustment beginning in FY 2011 based on the
percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Also, repealed laws providing resident annual
combination saltwater/freshwater license, resident annual combination hunting/fishing license, public
pier license and sportsman license.
Acts 2007, No. 419, p. 897
Increased the fees for saltwater fishing licenses to the following base amounts before CPI adjustments:
annual resident to $20; resident 7-day trip to $8; annual nonresident to $44; and nonresident 7-day
trip to $24. Also, made the above fees subject to possible annual increase beginning in FY 2011 based
on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Repealed law providing for public pier
license.
Acts 2008, No. 384, p. 714
Increased fines for various violations of game and fish laws. Also, reestablished the public pier fishing
license at current rate.
Acts 2008, No. 467, p. 1022
Required the Department to promulgate rules and establish and administer a voluntary program to
acquire and retire commercial gill net permits of saltwater commercial fishermen and to provide
economic relief to qualified resident and nonresident saltwater commercial fishermen who
surrendered their license on or before March 1, 2009. Levied a temporary $8 surcharge on each
resident and nonresident saltwater fishing license issued for a period of five years. Receipts from the
surcharge were deposited into the Marine Resources Restoration Fund established by this act and
used to offset the cost of providing the economic relief to the commercial saltwater fishermen and for
research and development. (NOTE: The surcharge is no longer collected by the Department.)
Acts 2010, No. 513, p.846
Established a nonresident saltwater pier fishing license for $10, plus a $1 issuance fee. Also, changed
the expiration date of public pier fishing licenses and resident saltwater pier fishing licenses from July
31 to August 31.
Acts 2014, No. 340, p. 1262
Subjected the public fishing pier license, resident and nonresident annual saltwater pier fishing license,

and applicable issuance fees to possible annual adjustment based on the percentage increase in the
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Consumer Price Index if recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department'’s

Advisory Board.
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Hunting Licenses

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 272 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.01 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (ratified December 13, 1967).
Created the Game and Fish Fund and provided that all monies derived from the sale of hunting and

fishing licenses or permits are deposited into said fund.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-11-32 through 9-11-51, 9-11-53.3, 9-11-65, 9-11-65.2, 9-11-68, 9-11-71, 9-11-417, and 9-11-
430 through 9-11-435, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
A fee paid by persons desiring to hunt in Alabama. Annual licenses are valid from September 1 or the date

of issuance to the next August 31.

Tax Rate:
The fees below are valid from September 1, 2014 through August 31, 2015. For previous rates, see

Legislative History and www.eregulations.com/alabama.

| Resident Licenses License Fee® |

Annual All Game!

$25.75

1
Annual Small Game

$17.15

Lifetime Hunting

$324.50 to $540.10 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Freshwater Fishing®

$486.30 to $755.85 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Saltwater Fishing"

$594.05 to $917.65 (based on age)

Lifetime Combination Hunting/Freshwater and Saltwater
Fishing"

$755.85 to $1,133.30 (based on age)

64 Lifetime License®

See Note

Physically Disabled Military Veteran's Appreciation Hunting
License®

See Note

Wildlife Management Area’

$17.15

Migratory Waterfowl Stamp®

$6

7-Day Commercial Fowl Hunting Preserve’

$10

Annual Wildlife Heritage®

$10.65

Hunting Licenses

Page 115



Resident Licenses

- 3
License Fee

Lifetime Wildlife Heritage® $216.65
100 Percent Disabled Military Veterans’ Appreciation® $3.05
Physically Disabled Military Veterans Appreciation 3-Day See Note

Trip event license’

Nonresident Licenses

- 3
License Fee

Annual All Game $296.40

Annual Small Game $96.85

| Wildlife Management Area” $17.15 ‘
Migratory Waterfowl Stamp? $6

| 10-Day Trip (All Game) $183.10 ‘
10-Day Trip (Small Game) $59.10

| 3-Day Trip (All Game) $129.25 ‘
3-Day Trip (Small Game) $42.95

l 7-Day Commercial Fowl Hunting Preserve’ $10 I

! Persons obtaining the resident all-game hunting license or the resident small game hunting license shall

also be entitled to all the privileges of the wildlife heritage license.

Migratory waterfowl stamps and wildlife management area licenses must be purchased in addition to

obtaining a resident or nonresident hunting license. A 7-Day commercial fowl hunting preserve license

may be purchased in lieu of obtaining a regular resident or nonresident hunting license.

Includes issuance fees. Issuance fees are retained by the probate judge, license commissioner or other

authorized license agent. All fees collected by a probate judge or license commissioner, who is paid a

salary for the performance of his or her duties, are deposited in the county treasury.

A person 64 years of age when procuring an annual hunting license will be issued the license on a

lifetime basis for the same fees that would have been paid for the annual license.

The wildlife heritage license allows a person to: (1) fish in waters under the jurisdiction of the Division of
Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries with a hook and line from the bank other than in a person’s county of
residence; (2) fish in public fishing lakes operated by the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries; (3)
hunt small game, except waterfowl, on wildlife management area; and (4) shoot on Division of Wildlife

and Freshwater Fisheries shooting ranges.
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Military veterans who are certified by the U.S. Veterans' Administration as 50% or more disabled are
entitled to purchase an alternative resident hunting license for one-half of the cost of the annual all-
game hunting license plus the applicable issuance fee.

This license permits up to 10 U.S. military veterans, resident or non-resident, who are certified by the U.S.
Veterans’ Administration as 50% or more physically disabled, to hunt at events sanctioned by the
Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources for a fee equal to the non-resident all game
three-day hunting license, plus the applicable issuance fee.

Effective with the license year beginning September 1, 2014, for disabled veterans showing proof of
100% permanent service-connected disability (see Legislative History, Acts 2014, No. 417).

Note: License fees and accompanying issuance fees for all licenses, with the exception of migratory
waterfowl stamp and commercial fowl preserve license, are subject to annual increases based on
the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) if recommended by the Commissioner

and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board.

Collections:
By the probate judges, license commissioners, or other license agents remitted to the Department of

Conservation and Natural Resources on the 1st of each month.

Annual License  Lifetime License Migratory Waterfowl Percent
Fiscal Year Collections ($)** Collections ($)>*> Stamp Collections ($)  Totals ($) Change
2013-14 10,651,179 528,821 154,779 11,334,779 292

2012-13 10,407,259 468,972 136,955 11,013,186 4.77

2011-12 9,968,274 418,045 125,225 10,511,544 (6.52)

2010-11 10,658,536 414,676 123,905 11,197,117 9.34

2009-10 9,746,025 395,928 99,010 10,240,963 (8.13)

Includes receipts from annual hunting licenses, trip licenses and wildlife management area licenses.
Includes Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund portion of lifetime combination hunting/saltwater
fishing licenses (see Distribution).

? Collections from Wildlife Heritage License are included in Freshwater Fishing Licenses.

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
(1) Lifetime hunting and combination lifetime hunting/freshwater fishing — 100% to the Alabama Game

and Fish Endowment Fund.
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(2) Lifetime combination hunting/saltwater fishing and hunting/freshwater and saltwater fishing - the
portion of the fee representing the amount of the lifetime hunting license or the lifetime hunting and
freshwater fishing license to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund and the balance of the fees
charged for each license to the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund.

(3) 64 Lifetime Hunting license — 100% to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund.

(4) All remaining licenses — 100% to the Game and Fish Fund. All or a portion of the revenues from several
licenses are earmarked for specific purposes, including the procurement, development and
maintenance of wetlands and waterfowl management (migratory waterfowl stamp); and research on

wildlife and wildlife habitat (wildlife heritage).

Major Exemptions:

(1) No person serving as a member of the armed forces of the U.S. shall be required to procure a hunting
license to hunt within the state during any period of time in which the U.S. is engaged in a war.

(2) All persons under the age of 16 years.

(3) Any resident of the state over 65 years of age is exempt, provided that said resident has proof of age
on his person while hunting (or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and
age).

(4) Any person or member of his immediate family who hunts on lands owned by him, or any tenant or
member of his immediate family who hunts on lands leased or rented by such tenant and who resides
on such lands.

(5) Residents of Florida that are 65 years of age or older.

(6) Residents on leave from active military duty who have proof of his or her status in his or her
possession.

(7) A member of the U.S. military stationed in Alabama on active duty and his or her spouse and their
dependents who reside with them are deemed residents for hunting and fishing license purposes.

(8) Patrons of a commercial bird hunting preserve are exempt from individual license requirements, if the
operator of the preserve purchases a commercial bird hunting preserve license for $500, plus a $2

issuance fee (See Legislative History, Acts 2010, No. 398).

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632

Established hunting license fees for residents and nonresidents in Alabama as follows: annual resident,

$3; annual resident county, $1; annual nonresident, $25; and nonresident 7-day trip, $5.
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Acts 1965, No. 751, p. 1365
Provided for new types of and new charges for nonresident hunting licenses as follows: annual small
game, $10.15; annual all game, $25.15; 7-day trip small game, $7.15; and 7-day trip all game, $10.15.

Acts 1965, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 121, p. 169
Levied a special license for hunting deer and wild turkeys on state operated Wildlife Management
Areas of $3; and exempted persons 65 or older.

Acts 1971, No. 1515, p. 2629
Provided for the cost of and established the procedures for residents between the ages of 16 and 65
to obtain an annual resident state hunting license for a fee of $5 and a county license for a fee of
$2.50, both with an issuance fee of $.25.

Acts 1975, No. 1171, p. 2301
Provided for the issuance of permanent lifetime hunting licenses for residents over 65 years of age at
no cost, upon the payment of a $.25 issuance fee.

Acts 1979, No. 545, p. 985
Created the migratory waterfowl hunting license stamp; required that each individual purchasing a
hunting license would need a stamp affixed to the license in order to hunt migratory waterfowl; and
provided that fees collected from said stamp be deposited into the Game and Fish Fund, to be used
for the procurement, development, restoration, maintenance or preservation of wetlands for waterfow!
habitat and for public waterfowl hunting areas.

Acts 1979, No. 804, p. 1482
Increased the fees for the annual resident hunting licenses to $10 and the county licenses to $5.

Acts 1981, No. 720, p. 1226
Increased the fees for nonresident trip licenses as follows: 7-day trip small game, $14.25; and 7-day
trip all game, $35.25.

Acts 1981, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p- 386
Established a lifetime resident hunting license fee of $200, a lifetime resident freshwater fishing license
fee of $100, and provided for a combination lifetime hunting/freshwater fishing license fee of $300;
and provided that the proceeds of such license be deposited into a special account in the Game and
Fish Fund called the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund.

Acts 1982, No. 407, p. 619
Increased the annual all game hunting license fees for nonresidents to $175 and reduced the 7-day

nonresident trip all game license to 5 days at a fee of $75.

Hunting Licenses Page 119



Acts 1982, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 777, p- 279
Extended the period for a nonresident trip all game license to seven days at a fee of $50.

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040
Increased the license issuance fee for probate judges to $1 per license.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 805, p. 242
Increased the fees for annual statewide license to $15 and county license to $7.50. Also, authorized the
issuance of annual hunting and freshwater fishing license on a combination basis.

Acts 1989, No. 300, p. 487
Increased the lifetime resident hunting license fee to $300 and the combination lifetime resident
hunting/freshwater fishing license fee to $450.

Acts 1992, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 702, p. 172
Provided that in lieu of a regular hunting license residents and nonresidents may elect to purchase a
7-day commercial fowl hunting preserve license at current rate and issuance fee. This license allows
the holder to hunt only artificially propagated or pen-raised fowl as designated by the Commissioner
of Conservation and Natural Resources as legal to hunt on a licensed commercial fowl hunting
preserve.

Acts 1994, No. 577, p. 1051
Increased license fees for the following: annual nonresident “small game only,” $40; annual
nonresident “all game,” $200; nonresident “trip small game,” $25; and nonresident “trip all game,” $75;
and established current issuance fees for these licenses.

Acts 1998, No. 615, p. 1355
Increased the issuance fee from $.25 to $1 for migratory waterfowl stamp; and allowed other license
agents authorized by the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to issue migratory
waterfowl stamps, provided such agents prepurchase sheets of stamps for resale at face value plus the
issuance fee.

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 660, p- 117
Established the resident lifetime saltwater license at $250; the lifetime saltwater/hunting combination
license at $550; and the lifetime saltwater/freshwater fishing and hunting combination license at $700
and provided the distribution of revenues from such licenses; and established the Alabama Marine
Resources Endowment Fund.

Acts 2000, No. 735, p. 1604
Established the lifetime Senior 64 licenses at the current rates and distribution; and changed the

effective date of Act 99-660, 2" Ex. Sess. from November 29, 2000 to June 1, 2000.
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Acts 2000, No. 742, p. 1647
Established the annual resident sportsman's license at $58.50, plus a $1 issuance fee and provided
distribution; increased fees for hunting on wildlife management areas to current rate and nonresident
small game to $75 and all game licenses to $250; deleted the provisions for nonresident 7-day trip
licenses; and established the nonresident 3-day license at $30 (small game) and $75 (all game) and the
10-day license at $45 (small game) and $125 (all game).

Acts 2004, No. 449, p. 794
Authorized U.S. military personnel stationed in Alabama on active duty to be deemed residents for
hunting and fishing license purposes; exempted Alabama residents that are active members of the
National Guard and certified law enforcement personnel from hunter safety education requirements;
clarified that hunting and fishing licenses are not transferable and authorized residents of the state on
leave from active military duty to hunt or fish without obtaining a license.

Acts 2007, No. 418, p. 874
Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007. Increased the license fees for the following licenses to current base rates
before CPI adjustments: annual resident all game; annual nonresident all game; annual nonresident
small game; nonresident 10-day trip small game; nonresident 10-day trip all game; nonresident;
nonresident 3-day trip small game; nonresident 3-day trip all game; lifetime resident hunting license;
lifetime resident hunting/freshwater fishing license; lifetime resident hunting/saltwater fishing license;
and lifetime resident hunting/saltwater and freshwater fishing license. Provided that these license fees
and accompanying issuance fees are subject to annual cost adjustment beginning in FY 2011 based on
the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) if such adjustment is recommended by the
Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. Also, repealed laws providing
county hunting licenses, for the issuance of annual hunting and fishing licenses on a combination
basis and the sportsman’s license. Established the annual resident small game license, annual resident
wildlife heritage license and lifetime resident wildlife heritage license at their current rates.

Acts 2010, No. 398, p. 653 (Also, Acts 2010, No. 697)
Authorized the operator of a commercial bird hunting preserve to purchase a license for $500, plus a
$2 issuance fee, which entitles the licensee to operate a commercial bird hunting preserve and
exempts the patrons of the preserve from individual hunting license requirements.

Acts 2013, No. 248, p. 607
Authorized discounted alternative resident and non-resident hunting licenses for qualifying disabled

U.S. military veterans.
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Acts 2014, No. 417, p. 1527
Established effective September 1, 2014 the 100 Percent Disabled Military Veterans’ Appreciation
Hunting License at a rate of $2 plus applicable issuance fees for veterans certified by the U.S. Veterans'
Administration as 100 percent, service-connected, permanently and totally disabled. Both the license
and issuance fee are subject to annual cost adjustment based on the percentage increase in the

Consumer Price Index if such adjustment is made by the Commissioner and approved by the

Department’s Advisory Board.
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Contractors’ Gross Receipts Tax

Statutory Authority:

Section 40-23-50, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Privilege tax on any person or corporation contracting to construct, reconstruct or build any public

highway, road, bridge or street.

Tax Rate:
5% of the gross receipts derived from the performance of such contracts. "Gross Receipts” is defined to

include only those amounts derived and received by the contractor from the performance of contracts.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on the 20" of each month, for the previous months gross receipts.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)14 Percent Change
2013-14 40,438,087 (3.85)

2012-13 42,057,718 12.18
2011-12 37,491,546 8.20

2010-11 34,650,010 2.39

2009-10 33,840,735 (2.63)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
After the cost of administration and collection is deducted, 15% is deposited into the Pensions and

Security Trust Fund and 85% is deposited into the Alabama Special Mental Health Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Gross receipts received from contracts made exclusively with any county or incorporated city or town.
(2) That portion of the gross receipts received by the contractor under contractual escalation provisions

allowing for an increase in the contract price for escalations in construction costs.

14 .
Gross Collections.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1963, No. 308, p. 787

Established 1% contractor's gross receipts tax on all contractors who construct, reconstruct, or build
any public highway road, bridge, or street in the state and provided for proceeds to be credited to the
Pensions and Security Trust Fund.

Acts 1971, No. 1517, p. 2635
Increased the rate from 1% to 5% of the gross receipts to current rate, except for contracts entered
into before October 1, 1971 and provided for the distribution of the proceeds, after deduction of
administrative cost, as 15% to the Pensions and Security Trust Fund and 85% to the Special Mental
Health Fund.

Acts 1981, No. 682, p. 1151
Provided an exemption for gross receipts received for escalations in construction costs.

Acts 1983, No. 723, p. 1177
Deleted the exemption for contracts in which the State is a joint party with a city, town or county and
defined "Gross Receipts."

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable taxes.
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Credit Union Fees

Statutory Authority:

Section 5-17-7, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Annual operating fee for the privilege of operating a credit union, an annual operating assessment, and a

one-time application fee for a certificate of organization.

Tax Rate:

(1) All state chartered and corporate credit unions pay an annual operating fee, the exact amount to be
fixed by the Administrator of the Alabama Credit Union Administration. The fee cannot exceed the fee
calculated according to the following scale or the administrator may authorize payment of the

schedule used by federal credit unions, if deemed appropriate by the administration:

Assets Base Fee Fee per $100 of Assets
$0 to $500,000 None $0.12 ($200 maximum)

$500,000 to $1,000,000 $600 $0.05
$1,000,000 to $5,000,000 $850 $0.035

$5,000,000 to $10,000,000 $2,250 $0.02

$10,0000 to $20,000,000 $3,250 $0.018
$20,000,000 to $50,000,000 $5,050 $0.016
$50,000,000 to $100,000,000 $9,850 $0.013
$100,000,000 or more $16,350 $0.011

(2) The Administrator may fix an annual operating assessment that is approved by the Credit Union Board
to ensure the Alabama Credit Union Administration is not operated in a deficit.
(3) Application fee, not to exceed $1,000, is required whenever application is made for permission to

organize a credit union.

Collections:
By the Credit Union Administration on or before the last day of January of each year, based on the assets

of the credit union as of the end of the previous year.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 1,350,055 (4.66)

2012-13 1,416,068 0.23
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2011-12 1,412,794 14.14

2010-11 1,237,748 8.77

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
All proceeds are deposited into the Alabama Credit Union Administration Special Fund to cover the

expenses of operating the Alabama Credit Union Administration.

Legislative History:
Acts 1957, No. 603, p. 862

Established examination fees for credit unions of $25 per examiner per day for each credit union
examined plus actual expenses of the persons making the examination with graduated maximum
examination fees set according to total assets.
Acts 1967, No. 221, p. 589
Increased examination fees; and levied a $50 application fee for a certificate of organization.
Acts 1975, No. 561, p. 1267
Increased operating fees.
Acts 1981, No. 852, p. 1529
Increased operating fees.
Acts 1985, No. 457, p. 425
Revised the fee schedule and application fee amount; and removed Bureau of Credit Unions from
State Banking Department, creating the Alabama Credit Union Administration.
Acts 1995, No. 315, p. 667
Provided for membership fees of credit unions.

Acts 2014, No. 317, p. 1122

Establishes the current fee schedule. Allows the Administrator to set the annual operating fees using

the federal credit union fee schedule and to set an annual operating fee for corporate credit unions,

not to exceed the maximum annual operating fee schedule for state-chartered credit unions. Increases

the maximum application fee to $1,000.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

State chartered credit unions pay a maximum semiannual fee equal to $500 plus $0.15 for each

$1,000 of total assets. The Department can charge less by rule and currently charges $50 for total
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assets not over $500,000 with increasing charges up to a maximum fee of $126,982.50 plus
.0035% of assets over $2 billion. State chartered credit unions that merge with another credit
union pay a one-time merger fee of $500. Nonrefundable filing fee is $250.

Georgia
Fee charges are the same as for commercial banks which is from .18% of total assets of up to $1.7
million up to a maximum fee of $5,976,529 plus .002% of total assets of more than $180 billion.
Minimum fee is $350. There is no application fee for a certificate of organization. The fees charged
all depository institutions are adjusted at year-end to cover the costs of regulation. This is
accomplished by surcharges or discounts to the above schedule. For FY 12 and FY 13, a 10%
discount was added to the above fees. A fee is charged for the establishment of residential
common bond credit unions at $1,000. Mergers and application fees are $1,000 and up to $20,000
respectively, and both are discretionary fees.

Mississippi
Examination fee is determined by the Commissioner of Banking and Consumer Finance who
assesses the credit union based on the cost of the average daily expenses of the Department of
Banking and Consumer Finance plus other expenses actually incurred. An annual supervision fee
of $.10 per $1,000 of assets (minimum fee of $20 and a maximum of $200) is due by statute. Other
fees, including merger fees, range from $500 to $2,500 and are set by the commissioner.

Tennessee
Credit unions pay annual supervision fees according to a graduated scale that is based on total
assets; such fees can range from a minimum of $125 for total assets less than $25,000 up to a
maximum fee of $28,235 plus $.23 per $1,000 of assets in excess of $100 million. There is an

application fee of $10 for a certificate of organization and a merger fee of $300.
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Interest on State Deposits

Statutory Authority:
Sections 41-14-1 through 41-14-56 and 41-14A-1 through 41-14A-14, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Revenue Source:

"Interest on State Deposits" is the income earned by the state treasurer through the investment of
available cash. The treasurer must keep cash or demand deposits available as necessary to meet the daily
operational needs of the state. State funds were held by designated state depository banks and
collateralized in accordance with the Security for Alabama Funds Enhancement Act, or SAFE. Cash in
excess of this amount may be invested in certain instruments authorized by law, including time deposits,
money market mutual funds, certain government securities and repurchase agreements. At the end of FY
2013-14, the state maintained an invested balance of $1.83 billion. Interest bearing bank demand deposits
accounted for approximately $3.6 million in interest during the fiscal year. For that year, an average of
approximately $898 million was held in such accounts. Investment of state funds in U.S. Treasury and
agency securities accounted for approximately $8.6 million in investment income. For that year, an average
of approximately $1 billion was invested in such instruments. Overall, the average percentage of available

state funds invested and those producing earnings credit, together, was over 99%.

Collections:

Earned interest is received monthly by the treasurer from the respective banks.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 12,416,167 (17.83)

2012-13 15,111,130 (5.47)
2011-12 15,985,993 (13.26)

2010-11 18,430,478 (21.42)

2009-10 23,453,246 (28.66)

Source: “State General Fund Receipts-Comparison of Net Receipts” Report — Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

Interest earned on certain bond proceeds is credited to those proceeds accounts. Generally, however,

1 .
> General Fund collections only.
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interest on state deposits is deposited into the State General Fund.

Legislative History:

Acts 1967, No. 3, p. 336
Granted the general authority of state treasurer to deposit funds in state depositories and to earn
interest on time deposits.

Acts 1975, No. 1, p. 57
Provided that an increased amount of state funds could be deposited in interest-bearing accounts.

Acts 1977, No. 45, p. 1460
Further amended provisions for determining interest to be paid on state funds and specifically allowed
for investment in repurchase agreements.

Acts 1983, No. 80, p. 86
Provided that interest earned on state deposits would be paid monthly to the state treasurer.

Acts 1988, No. 162, p. 256
Allowed the treasurer to enter into agreements with state lending institutions at rates of interest lower
than the prevailing market rate to enable the respective state lending institutions to offer certain
agriculture and business loans at less than the prevailing market rate; and provided that this provision
(plan of linked deposits) would terminate at the end of FY 1990-91. (This termination date was
extended by Acts 1991, No. 720; Acts 1993, No. 351; Acts 1995, No. 257; Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No.
659; Acts 2003, No. 304; and Acts 2006, No. 416). See also Acts 2007, No. 397.

Acts 1989, No. 868, p. 1743
Authorized the treasurer to invest in six month and one year U.S. Treasury obligations.

Acts 1990, No. 638, p. 1172
Eliminated certain requirements related to determination of income from time deposits, funds needed
for projected monthly expenditures and investment of funds in the treasury 30 days or less; and
provided that mortgage-backed securities may be used as security for state money deposited in state
depositories.

Acts 1991, No. 570, p. 1052
Authorized state agencies the administrative option to require the timely electronic remittance of
immediately available funds by any person, corporation or partnership for obligations due to the state
agency of $100,000 or more (effective January 1, 1993, $50,000 or more; and effective January 1, 1994,
$25,000 or more).
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Acts 1992, No. 169, p. 279
Changed the types of financial instruments available to the treasurer for investment of state funds. A
limit of 20% of total state monies is available for investment in bonds, notes, Treasury bills or in
obligations of any agency or instrumentality of the U.S. The limit is also applied to money market
mutual funds solely in securities otherwise authorized by provisions of this section of the Code. The
result was a broadening of investment opportunities for the treasurer.

Acts 1996, No. 764, p. 1349
Authorized the state to pay state depositories for: (1) the transfer or removal of funds; (2) item
handling charges; or (3) other services performed by the depository.

Acts 2000, No. 748, p. 1669
Established the Security of Alabama Funds Enhancement Act (SAFE).

Acts 2003, No. 305, p. 723
Modified the list of securities and instruments that are eligible to be used as collateral for state monies
held in state depositories to include other U.S. states’ direct obligations; clarified the authority given to
the State Treasurer to approve or disapprove any collateral for public deposits, and further clarified
the interrelationship between the provisions of the SAFE Act of 2000, public deposits, and the
requirement of pledged collateral.

Acts 2004, No. 486, p. 904
Amended the statute relating to interest paid on linked deposits so that the rate of interest on a one-
year linked deposit and on a two-year linked deposit is two percent below the most recent weekly
average one-year constant maturity yield and two-year constant maturity yield respectively as
published by the Federal
Reserve but in no event shall the interest rate on either deposit be less than one percent. On one-year
time deposits the rate is based on the weekly average one-year constant maturity yield as published
by the Federal Reserve for the calendar week immediately preceding the contract.

Acts 2007, No. 397, p. 771
Repealed the 1988 Linked Deposit Program and enacted the Linked Deposit Program of 2007.

Acts 2012, No. 208, p. 348
Amended the statute relating to the types of investments the State Treasurer may invest in with

qualified public depositories.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
The Department of Financial Services establishes policy guidelines regarding investment decisions.
Authorized investments include U.S. Government and agency securities, repurchase agreements,
asset-backed securities, including mortgage backed securities, certificates of deposit, commercial
paper, bankers' acceptances, corporate obligations, convertible bonds, and mutual funds. Funds
managed by the state and outside managers totaled $20.3 billion as of July 2013. For FY 2013,
state funds were invested in the following: 8.48% in cash and cash equivalents; 68.20% in U.S.
Government and agency securities; and 23.32% in other authorized securities.

Georgia
The Treasury operates a system of decentralized receipts and disbursements in that agencies
maintain their own bank demand accounts. The Treasury serves as a repository for collected funds
and attempts to maximize interest earned on idle balances until funds are disbursed to the various
agencies. The Treasury maintains two investment custodial accounts — Georgia Fund 1 and the
Georgia Extended Asset Pool. During FY 2010 an estimated 99.9% of the available cash was
invested. As of June 30, 2010, Georgia Fund 1 was invested 45.89% in overnight repurchase
agreements; 5.52% in term repurchase agreements; 1.17% in banker’s acceptances; and 47.42% in
U.S. Government and agency securities. As of June 30, 2010, the Georgia Extended Asset Pool was
invested 87.31% in agency securities; and 12.69% in collateralized bank accounts.

Mississippi
The State Treasurer and the Executive Director of the Department of Finance and Administration
meet on a monthly basis to determine the excess funds that are not needed for meeting the
immediate requirements of the state using a cash flow model provided by the State Treasuer. The
Treasury utilizes depositories statewide, and pays state warrants from three banks in Jackson, one
of which serves as the main clearing bank. The rate earned on time deposits is set at the bond
equivalent yield for U.S. Treasury bills for comparable maturity dates. As of June 30, 2009, an
average of 100% of available funds in the General Fund/Special Fund portfolio was invested as
follows: 8.04% in certificates of deposit; .77% in demand deposits; 67.72% in U.S. government
agency securities; 7.50% in equities and 15.97% in other authorized securities.

Tennessee
As of June 2010, the treasurer has over 80 depository accounts with banks, all of which are interest
bearing accounts. The State Funding Board, consisting of the Governor, Secretary of State,

Comptroller, Treasurer and Commissioner of Finance and Administration approves the Investment
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Policy for the State Pooled Investment Fund. Investment decisions are delegated to the Treasurer,
who vests day to day management in the Chief Investment Officer. As of June 30, 2010, 14.58% of
available funds were invested in collateralized time deposits with in-state financial institutions;
13.11% in a bank sweep account; 57.25% in U.S. Government and agency securities; and 15.06% in
commercial paper. The average yield on Tennessee's portfolio investments for 2011-12 was .12%.
Available cash is 100% invested considering daily conversions of idle cash into the investment
stream and the use of money market demand accounts. The weighted average maturity must be

less than 90 days and no investment can have a maturity greater than 397 days.
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Alabama Trust Fund

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 450 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.02 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 85-79, 1% Ex.
Sess., proclaimed ratified June 4, 1985).

Established the Alabama Trust Fund and provided for distribution of Trust Fund earned income.
Amendment No. 488 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.03 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 88-550,
proclaimed ratified November 23, 1988).

Redefined the investment authority of the Alabama Trust Fund to equate to that of the Teachers' and

State Employees' Retirement Systems.

Amendment No. 543 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.07 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 91-219,
proclaimed ratified February 2, 1993).

Provided for the acquisition, maintenance and protection of unique lands and water areas in the state

(The Forever Wild Land Trust Act). Funding for this purpose was provided from a percentage of the

trust income earned from the Alabama Trust Fund that would have been reinvested in the fund. This

funding would have expired beginning with fiscal year 2013 but the program was extended by

Amendment No. 860. (See Distribution).

Amendment No. 666 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.04 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 2000-491,
proclaimed ratified December 13, 2000).

Provided for the distribution of trust income and capital gains earned by the Alabama Trust Fund;

provided for the distribution of offshore oil and gas lease payments beginning October 1, 2001 (see

Revenue Source and Distribution; see also Lease of Oil and Gas Rights) and authorized the board to

transfer up to 75% of capital gains each fiscal year.

Amendment No. 668 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.05 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 99-393,
proclaimed ratified December 13, 2000).
Placed the distributions to the County Government Capital Improvement Fund and the Municipal
Government Capital Improvement Fund that were previously provided by general law into the

constitution. Similar provisions are also provided in Amendment No. 666.
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Amendment No. 709 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 260.01 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 2001-1066,
proclaimed ratified June 19, 2002).
Provided for the creation of the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account within the Alabama Trust
Fund. Up to 6% of Education Trust Fund appropriations for fiscal year 2002 (approximately $248
million) were credited to the Account to be drawn upon in the event of proration in the Education
Trust Fund. In fiscal year 2003, $179,993,229 was transferred from the Rainy Day Account in the
Alabama Trust Fund to the Education Trust Fund. The Legislature must provide for the payback to the
Rainy Day Account within five years. (See Legislative History for payback legislation).
Amendment No. 803 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 260.02 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 2008-508,
proclaimed ratified December 1, 2008).
Repealed Amendment No. 709, reestablished the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account (ETFRDA)
within the Alabama Trust Fund, and created a General Fund Rainy Day Account (GFRDA) within the
Alabama Trust Fund. The ETFRDA is limited to an amount equal to 6.5% of the immediately preceding
fiscal year's appropriations from the Education Trust Fund. Following the ratification of this
amendment, the initial balance in the ETFRDA was $437,390,828. The entire amount was withdrawn in
fiscal year 2009 in order to reduce proration in the Education Trust Fund. The Legislature must provide
for the payback to the ETFRDA within six years. (See Legislative History for payback legislation.) The
GFRDA is limited to an amount equal to 10% of the immediately preceding fiscal year's appropriations
from the General Fund. Following the ratification of this amendment, the initial balance of the GFRDA
was $188,329,374. In fiscal year 2010, $161,565,874 was withdrawn in order to reduce proration in the
State General Fund. The Legislature must provide for the payback to the GFRDA within ten years.
Amendment No. 856 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.09 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 2012-490,
proclaimed ratified October 9, 2012).
Provided for the transfer of $145,796,943 from the Alabama Trust Fund (ATF) to the State General
Fund for the fiscal years 2013, 2014, and 2015 and revised the method of distributions from the
Alabama Trust Fund beginning with the 2013 fiscal year. (See Legislative History for payback
legislation). Repealed the previous process of distributing annual interest earnings and capital gains in
the ATF and replaced it with a process which bases annual distributions on the amount of royalties

received in the previous fiscal year and the average market value of invested assets in the ATF as of
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the end of the three fiscal years prior to the beginning of the fiscal year for which distributions are
being made.
Amendment No. 860 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.09 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 2011-315,
proclaimed ratified December 13, 2012).
Reauthorized the Forever Wild Land Trust for a 20-year period ending in fiscal year 2032.

Revenue Source:

The Alabama Trust Fund is a perpetual trust which was established in June 1985 with an initial trust capital
of $333,583,680 from cash bonus payments and royalties paid to the state from offshore oil and gas
leases. The trust capital was augmented from time to time by the deposit of proceeds of any offshore oil
and gas payment (including royalty payments) received after August 14, 1984. The lands division of the
Department of Conservation and Natural Resources received 4% of the original lease payment of
$347,483,000 and receives 1% of any payments made subsequent to August 14, 1984. Beginning in fiscal
year 2013, the Alabama Trust Fund receives 32% of the balance of oil and gas capital payments received
by the state; however, this amount will be reduced by an amount necessary to make an additional transfer
to the Capital Improvement Trust Fund to pay debt service on a $50 million bond issue to construct and
renovate National Guard armories pursuant to Amendment No. 887 to the Constitution of Alabama of
1901, as amended, and 33% is distributed pursuant to the annual spending plan. The remaining 35% is
transferred to: (1) the County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Trust Fund (7%); and (2)
the Alabama Capital Improvement Trust Fund (28%). Prior to fiscal year 2013, the Alabama Trust Fund
received 65% of the balance of the oil and gas lease payments received by the state and the remaining
35% was distributed in the same manner as provided above. (See Amendment No. 856). As of September

30, 2014, the trust capital of the Alabama Trust Fund totaled $2.64 billion.

Collections:
Pursuant to the revised spending plan adopted by Amendment No. 856:

Distributions are made quarterly as adopted by the Alabama Trust Fund Board.

Regular Trust Additional Distribution to
Fiscal Year Distributions State General Fund Total

2013-14 150,415,919 145,796,943 296,212,862

2012-13 163,487,385 145,796,943 309,284,328

Source: State Treasurer's Office
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Distributions of trust income and capital gains prior to the adoption of Amendment No. 856:

Earned income was transferred to the Treasurer as it was received by the Alabama Trust Fund Board.

Collections ($)

Fiscal Year Trust Income Percent Change
2011-12 89,371,806 (4.64)
2010-11 93,723,013 (3.51)
2009-10 97,134,530 (24.96)
2008-09 129,450,730 (1.43)

Source: State Treasurer's Office.

Capital Gains

Fiscal Year Distributed ($) Percent Change
2011-12 364,444,645 354.81
2010-11 80,130,411 N/A
2009-10 0 N/A
2008-09 0 (100.00)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
Pursuant to Amendment No. 856, beginning fiscal year 2013, 33% of the royalties received in the previous
fiscal year plus 5% of the average market value of invested assets in the ATF as of the end of the three
fiscal years prior to the beginning of the fiscal year for which distributions are being made:

1% (up to a maximum of $5 million) - Senior Services Trust Fund

10% - County Government Capital Improvement Fund.

10% - Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund.

10% (up to a maximum of $15 million) — Forever Wild Land Trust.

Remainder — State General Fund.
Prior to fiscal year 2013, in any fiscal year in which the trust income exceeded $60 million (which occurred
in every fiscal year from fiscal year 1997 through fiscal year 2012 the trust income was distributed):

10% - County Government Capital Improvement Fund.

10% - Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund.

10% (up to a maximum of $15 million) — Forever Wild Land Trust.

16 Fiscal year 2012 collections include $346,121,293 to correct an error in the calculation of gains for fiscal years 2003 through 2007

as a result of Attorney General's Opinion 2010-098 and 2011-025.
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In the fiscal year following the first fiscal year Forever Wild received $15 million, .25% (and increasing
by .25% per year thereafter to a maximum of $5 million) — Senior Services Trust Fund (distributions
began in fiscal year 2008).
Remainder - State General Fund.
Also, within 30 days following the end of any fiscal year, the Board of Trustees was authorized to transfer
up to 75% of realized or unrealized capital gains on equity investments for the just completed fiscal year.

Any amount transferred by the Board was distributed the same as trust income.

Legislative History:

Acts 1986, No. 206, p. 269
Created the County Government Capital Improvement Fund and provided that 10% of the Alabama
Trust Fund income shall be appropriated to this fund when such income exceeds $60 million. (The
income exceeded $60 million for the first time in FY 1997).

Acts 1986, No. 234, p. 345
Created the Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund and provided that 10% of the Alabama
Trust Fund income shall be appropriated to this fund when such income exceeds $60 million. (The
income exceeded $60 million for the first time in FY 1997).

Acts 1998, No. 499, p. 1075
Effective October 1998, changed the distribution date for the appropriation of trust income to the
County Government Capital Improvement Fund and the Municipal Government Capital Improvement
Fund from January 2 to April 15.

Acts 2003, No. 438, p. 1516
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2004 provided for a conditional appropriation of
$36 million to make the first installment on the repayment to the Rainy Day Account. The conditional
appropriation was released.

Acts 2004, No. 456, p. 810
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2005 provided for a conditional appropriation of
$36 million to make the second installment on the repayment to the Rainy Day Account. The
conditional appropriation was released.

Acts 2005, No. 173, p. 295
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2006 provided for an appropriation of $36 million

to make the third installment on the repayment to the Rainy Day Account.
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Acts 2006, No. 282, p. 519
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2007 provided for an appropriation of $71,993,229
to make repayment in full to the Rainy Day Account.

Acts 2010, No. 555, p. 1124
Proposed an amendment to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 to appropriate $100 million from the
Alabama Trust Fund for each of the fiscal years 2011 through 2020 for state and local transportation
purposes. (The proposed amendment was defeated at the 2010 General Election).

Acts 2011, No. 3, p. 90
The Education Trust Fund Rolling Reserve Act. Provided that on or before November 15 of each fiscal
year, any excess of revenues in the preceding fiscal year above the preceeding fiscal year's
appropriation cap shall be transferred to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account until repaid in
full. Based on the revenues and appropriation cap in FY 2013, a repayment of $260,388,971 was made
in the beginning of FY 2014.

Acts 2011, No. 655, p. 1675
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2012 provided for a repayment to the Education
Trust Fund Rainy Day Account of 50% of any ending balance of the Education Trust Fund. The
Education Trust Fund ending balance in FY 2012 was $28,825,968 which equated to an Education Trust
Fund Rainy Day Account repayment of $14,412,984.

Acts 2013, No. 6, p. 17
The People’s Trust Act. Requires the Legislature to provide for the repayment of the $437,390,829 in
additional transfers from the Alabama Trust Fund to the State General Fund authorized by Amendment
No. 856 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 by not later than September 30, 2026.

Acts 2013, No. 264, p. 827
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2014 provided an absolute appropriation of
$35,000,000 and a first priority conditional appropriation of $65,000,000 to the Education Trust Fund
Rainy Day Account. Only $35,000,000 of the first-priority conditional appropriation was released in FY

2014 resulting in a total repayment of $70,000,000 to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account in
FY 2014.

Acts 2014, No. 456, p. 1690
The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2015 provided an absolute appropriation of
$35,088,873 and a conditional appropriation from the Gross Sales Tax Account to repay the remaining

outstanding balance owed to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account which equates to

$57,500,000.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable revenue source.
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Driver’s License Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 13A-12-294, 32-6-1 through 32-6-21, and 32-6-49.1 through 32-6-49.24, Code of Alabama 1975,

as amended.

Tax Base:

Privilege tax upon the operator of a motor vehicle using the highways of Alabama.

Tax Rate:

Regular (Class D) License:
Examination fee of $5, plus $23.50 for (1) a 4-year driver's license, (2) an 8-year nondriver's
identification card issued to persons who are less than 62 years of age and who are not mentally or
physically disabled or legally blind, or (3) a learner's license. A learner's license converts to a driver's
license for the duration of the four years when the driver's examination is passed. $5 for a permanent
nondriver's identification card for a person age 62 or older who is not mentally or physically disabled
or legally blind. $1.50 for a permanent nondriver's identification card for a person who is mentally or
physically disabled or legally blind. $18.50 for each duplicate license. $275 for first application for
reinstatement for a canceled, suspended or revoked license due to a drug or alcohol related offense;
$175 for first application for reinstatement of a revoked license due to a non-drug or alcohol related
offense; and $100 for first application for reinstatement of a canceled or suspended license due to a
non-drug or alcohol related offense; and $5 for second and subsequent applications for
reinstatement. An additional reinstatement fee of $25 is charged if the license was suspended
pursuant to Section 13A-12-294, which requires suspension of a driver's license for an additional 6
months upon conviction of certain drug related crimes.

Commercial License:
Application fee of $25 for a commercial driver's license (CDL) learner permit, plus $23.50 for a CDL
learner’s permit. Application fee of $25, plus $53.50 (Class A license), $43.50 (Class B license) or $23.50
(Class C license or school bus license) for a 4-year CDL, plus $25 for each endorsement. There is also a
$15 retest fee for the written portion of the test, a $20 fee for the skills portion of the license test, and
a hazardous materials endorsement fee, which shall not exceed the cost of conducting a background
check. The holder of a valid commercial license may drive all vehicles for which that license is issued,
and all lesser classes of vehicles including Class D (vehicles for which only a regular operator's license

is required), except motorcycles (Class M).
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Class A license
Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 Ibs. or more, provided the weight of
the vehicle(s) being towed is more than 10,000 lbs.

Class B license
Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 Ibs. or more, and any such vehicle towing a
vehicle with a gross weight not in excess of 10,000 Ibs.

Class C license
Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of less than 26,001 Ibs. or any such vehicle towing a
vehicle with a gross vehicle weight not in excess of 10,000 Ibs. if those vehicles are (a) designed to
transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or (b) used in the transportation of hazardous
materials which require the vehicle to be placarded.

Collections:

License fees are collected by the probate judges or license commissioners of each county who remit the

state share each month to the state treasurer. License duplicate, reinstatement and examination fees are

collected by the Department of Public Safety.

Fiscal Year Licenses($)"’ Reinstatements($) Examinations($)
2013-14 14,585,917 6,393,270 858,620

2012-13 14,658,781 6,647,373 783,112
2011-12 16,110,976 7,007,605 829,829

2010-11 15,061,672 7,309,030 828,813

2009-10 13,890,608 8,037,876 927,294

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:

Each probate judge and/or county retains a total of $1.50 for each license or identification card issued and
the balance is deposited into the State General Fund to be appropriated for public safety use. However, $8
of the $23.50 license fee for (1) a regular (Class D) license, (2) a nondriver's identification card for which
there is a fee of $23.50, or (3) a learner’s license is deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund for the
Department of Public Safety and $.50 is allocated and appropriated to the Alabama Veterans Living Legacy

Trust Fund. The additional $25 reinstatement levied pursuant to Section 13A-12-294 for conviction of

17 State General Fund amounts only (excludes portion of fees retained by county or deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund).
Includes Class D drivers' and learners' licenses, commercial driver licenses, nondrivers' identification cards, and duplicate cards.
Deposits to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund for FY 2014, FY 2013, FY 2012, FY 2011, and FY 2010 from driver licenses were
$10,729,131, $10,663,140, $11,011,460, $10,455,532, and $10,096,305, respectively.
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certain drug related crimes is deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund for the Department of Public
Safety. Examination fees are deposited to the State General Fund, and fees for reinstatement of canceled,
revoked or suspended licenses are deposited to the State General Fund and the Public Safety Highway
Traffic Safety Fund. Fees for a duplicate of a lost or destroyed license are credited to the Highway Traffic
Safety Fund for the Department of Public Safety rather than to the State General Fund except for $1.50 of
each document issued retained by the county and $.50 of each document issued which is collected and
appropriated to the Alabama Veterans Living Legacy Trust Fund. Also, $.75 of each commercial driver
license application fee is distributed to the Peace Officers’ Annuity and Benefit Fund, and the hazardous

materials endorsement fee is distributed to the Automated Fingerprint Identification System Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Any employee of the federal government while driving an official motor vehicle in the service of their
employer.

(2) Any person while driving any road machine or farm tractor that is temporarily moved on a highway.

(3) Any 16 year old or older nonresident who has a valid driver's license from his home state or country.

(4) Any 16 year old or older nonresident whose home state or country does not require a driver's license
is exempt for a 90-day period if the motor vehicle driven is registered in their home state or country.

(5) Any active duty military or National Guard personnel operating government vehicles, farmers
operating certain commercial motor vehicles, firefighters and operators of emergency equipment
exempt from licensing provisions of the federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (Title XII
of Pub. Law 99-570), and drivers of vehicles used for personal use, such as recreational vehicles, are

exempt from the commercial driver's license requirement.

Legislative History:

Acts 1939, No. 181, p. 300
Established the regulation of motor vehicles on public highways and established the license fee at
$1.10 ($.10 of which was retained by the probate judges) for a 2-year license and $.25 for duplicate
license or temporary instruction permit; provided that driver’s license receipts be deposited to a
separate fund in the state treasury — the Highway Patrol Fund.

Acts 1951, No. 485, p. 868
Increased driver's license fee to $2.25 ($.25 of which was retained by the probate judges and the
counties).

Acts 1951, No. 880, p. 1519

Increased temporary instruction permit fee to $.35.
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Acts 1959, No. 346, p. 935
Provided for issuance of learner's permits to 15 year olds and established $.50 fee for such permits.

Acts 1963, No. 193, p. 582
Increased license fee to $4.25 for a 2-year license ($.25 of which was retained by the probate judges
and the counties); and changed distribution of driver license receipts to provide that they be
deposited to the State General Fund, to be appropriated to the Department of Public Safety for
salaries and other expenses of traffic and motor vehicle enforcement personnel.

Acts 1971, No. 1597, p. 2743
Provided for $25 application fee for reinstatement of canceled, suspended or revoked license, to be
deposited to the State General Fund.

Acts 1971, No. 1933, p. 3121
Increased fee for duplicate license to $1 and $4 for subsequent duplicates.

Acts 1973, No. 1289, p. 2201
Increased temporary instruction permit fee for persons 16 years of age or older to $.50.

Acts 1973, No. 1290, p. 2203
Increased fee for first duplicate license to $1.50.

Acts 1975, No. 539, p. 1192
Required photograph on license and changed fee to $9 for a 4-year license ($.50 of which was
retained by the probate judges and the counties) and provided for $9, 4-year nondriver identification
cards; and changed use of driver license receipts appropriated from the State General Fund to “Public
Safety use.”

Acts 1979, No. 203, p. 311
Increased the fee from $9 to $10 for a 4-year license or nondriver identification card with the
additional $1 for a total of $1.50 to be retained by the probate judges and/or the counties.

Acts 1980, No. 510, p. 789
Increased the fee for a 4-year driver’s license or nondriver identification card to $15.

Acts 1980, No. 530, p. 829
Provided for an examination fee of $5 prior to testing for driver's license, temporary instruction and
learner's permits and motor driven cycle operator’s license.

Acts 1983, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 825, p. 41

Provided that nondriver identification cards do not require renewal.
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Acts 1984, No. 305, p. 678
Authorized the Department of Public Safety to levy an additional fee (not to exceed $.10 over actual
costs of materials) to recover the cost of obtaining photo driver's licenses and nondriver’s
identification cards. The Department implemented this act effective January 7, 2002, at which time fees
were increased by $3, with the additional $3 deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Acts 1984, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 815, p. 248
Provided for special 8-year nondriver identification cards for intellectually disabled persons for a fee of
$2 and allowed the counties to retain $.25 for each card issued.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 728, p. 125
Increased the cost of duplicate license from $1.50 to $5 and the cost of subsequent duplicates from $4
to $15.

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 729, p. 125
Increased the cost of temporary instruction and 15 year olds' learner’s permit to $15 and extended
validity of such permits to four years (converts to operator's license for duration if driver's examination
passed during that time).

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 731, p. 134
Increased the cost of an application for reinstatement of a canceled, suspended or revoked license to
$50; established additional fee of $50 if canceled, suspended or revoked license not surrendered
within 30 days.

Acts 1989, No. 878, p. 1759
Uniform Commercial Driver License Act. Effective October 1, 1990, persons driving a commercial motor
vehicle must hold a commercial driver's license valid for the vehicle being driven (or must hold a valid
automobile license and be accompanied by the holder of a commercial driver's license valid for said
vehicle). Provided for an application fee of $5 (not assessed against existing bus drivers); $45 for a
Class A CDL; $35 for a Class B CDL; and $15 for a Class C CDL.

Acts 1990, No. 577, p. 982
Provided for $15 fee for school bus driver's commercial driver’s license.

Acts 1993, No. 352, p. 546
Levied an additional $25 fee for reinstatement of drivers’ licenses suspended pursuant to this act for
conviction of certain drug related crimes. The additional fee is deposited to the Public Safety Drug

Offender Reinstatement Fund, for use of the Department of Public Safety.

Driver's License Fees Page 145



Acts 1993, No. 769, p. 1538
Increased the fee for a 4-year regular driver's license, nondriver identification card or learner’s license
from $15 to $20; created the Public Safety Law Enforcement Fund into which the additional $5 is
deposited, to be appropriated and expended for law enforcement purposes.
Acts 1995, No. 522, p. 1057
Changed nondriver's identification card for mentally handicapped persons from $2 fee and 8-year
renewal requirement to $1.50 fee for permanent card; changed nondriver's identification card for
physically disabled or legally blind persons from $20 fee for permanent card to $1.50 fee for
permanent card; changed nondriver's identification card for persons age 62 and over from $20 fee for
permanent card to the cost to the Department of Public Safety and the county issuance fee (total of $5
- $3.50 Department cost and $1.50 issuance fee). Fee for nondriver’s identification card for persons
less than age 62 who are not mentally or physically disabled or legally blind remained $20, however 8-
year renewal required (formerly card was permanent).
Acts 2000, No. 800, p. 1901
Created the Highway Traffic Safety Fund for the Department of Public Safety to replace the Drug
Offender Reinstatement Fund and the Public Safety Law Enforcement Fund; increased the fee from $5
to $15 for issuance of the first duplicate; and provided that all receipts from fees for duplicate of a lost
or destroyed license shall be deposited in the Highway Traffic Safety Fund rather than to the State
General Fund, effective October 1, 2000.
Acts 2001, No. 471, p. 627
Increased certain fees (also see Motor Vehicle Accident Report Fee), effective August 1, 2001, imposed
by the Department of Public Safety. The fee for reinstatement of a driver’s license increased as follows:
e from $50 to $275 for a license canceled, suspended or revoked as a result of a drug or alcohol
related offense, of which $200 shall be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund and $75 to
the State General Fund (a $25 increase to the General Fund);
e from $50 to $175 for a license revoked as a result of an offense not related to drugs or alcohol, of
which $100 shall be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund and $75 to the State General
Fund (a $25 increase to the General Fund); and
e from $50 to $100 for a license canceled or suspended as a result of an offense not related to
drugs or alcohol, of which $25 shall be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund and $75 to
the State General Fund (a $25 increase to the General Fund).
This act also exempted from reinstatement fees anyone whose driver’s license has been suspended for

medical reasons.
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Acts 2004, No. 521, p. 1060

Amended certain sections of the Alabama Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, including

provisions to increase or add certain commercial driver license fees as follows:

Increased the application fee for a Commercial Driver License (CDL) from $5 to $25, with $19.25 of
the additional $20 to be deposited to the State General Fund and $.75 to the Peace Officers’
Annuity and Benefit Fund.

Increased the application for an endorsement fee from $5 to $25, with the additional $20 to be
distributed to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Increased the retest fee from $5 to $15, with the additional $10 to be deposited to the Highway
Traffic Safety Fund.

Established an application fee of $25 for the CDL learner’s permit, with $24.25 to be deposited to
the State General Fund and $.75 to the Peace Officers’ Annuity and Benefit Fund; a skills portion of
the license test fee of $20, to be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund; and a hazardous
materials endorsement fee, which shall not exceed the actual cost of conducting a background
check, to be deposited to the Automated Fingerprint Identification System Fund.

Increased by $5 the fee for the issuance of a CDL, with the additional $5 to be deposited to the
Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Provided for the issuance of a CDL learner's permit, valid for one year, for a fee of $20, to be

deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Acts 2006, No. 554, p. 1274

Provided that all driver license and nondriver identification card fees remain the same including the

$1.50 fee that goes to the county. However, prior to enactment of this act in counties in which the

judge of probate was compensated by fees (Marion and Winston), 40% of each $1.50 was retained by

the judge and the remaining 60% was paid into the public highway and traffic fund of the county and

in counties in which the judge is not compensated by fees, the entire amount ($1.50) was paid into the

public highway and traffic fund of the county. This act provides that the $1.50 be remitted to the

county general fund, rather than the public highway and traffic fund of the county and, in Marion and

Winston Counties, the judge of probate (fund).

Acts 2009, No. 762, p. 2308

Changed the list of items to be considered in determining the actual cost of obtaining a photo driver's

license and nondriver identification card and imposed an additional $.50 for each driver’s license and

Driver's License Fees Page 147



photo nondriver identification card issued, with the additional receipts allocated and appropriated to

the Alabama Veterans Living Legacy Trust Fund.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$48 original regular license and $48 renewal license fee for eight years; $48 learner's license for 15,
16 and 17 year olds (may be converted to operator’s license after one year or upon 18" birthday);
$25 nondriver's identification card for eight years for persons 15 years or older and four years for
persons five through 14 years old ($25 renewal fee); $75 for 8-year commercial driver license.
Commercial driver licenses endorsed with hazardous materials are valid for four years. Commercial
driver license endorsements and motorcycle endorsement are $7 for each endorsement (more for
hazardous material endorsement). All licenses for customers age 80 or older are valid for six years.

Georgia
$32 for 8-year regular license; $20 for 5-year regular license; $10 provisional license for up to five
years; $10 for graduated license for up to two years (16 and 17 year olds); $20 for 5-year
commercial license plus $5 for each endorsement added; $32 for 8-year nondriver’s identification
card; $20 for 5-year nondriver's identification card. If renewed using online services, the person
receives a $5 discount.

Mississippi
$24 for 4-year regular license for persons 18 and older; $51 for 8-year regular license for persons
18 and older; $9 for 1-year license for 16 and 17 year olds (must have educational form showing
still enrolled in school or diploma to obtain or renew license); $17 for 4-year nondriver’s
identification card; $7 for 2-year temporary permit; $11 for intermediate license (must be 16 and
have for 6 months); $29 for Class D commercial license; $25 one-time application fee for
commercial license for vehicles over 26,000 Ibs. and those which carry hazardous waste or 16 or
more passengers, plus $44 for 4-year commercial license, plus $5 for each endorsement; $16
learner's permit for commercial vehicles over 26,000 Ibs. (valid 6 months).

Tennessee
$19.50 for a 5-year Class D license, $5.50 for one-year learner’s permit for ages 18 and older;
$10.50 for one year leaner’s permit for ages under 18; $9.50 for nondriver's identification card
valid for 5 years (if under age 18, $5 and valid for 2 years); and $24.50 for 5-year Class D

intermediate restricted license (graduated driver license); $2 for 1 year Class D intermediate
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unrestricted license (graduated driver license); $10 to graduate to Class D (until age 21); $46 for a

Class A or $41 for a Class B or C license, valid for 5 years, plus $2.50 for each endorsement.
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Driver Record Report Fee

Statutory Authority:

Sections 32-2-8, 32-6-49.15 and 32-7-4, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A fee paid by persons who request a motor vehicle operator’s driver record abstract.

Tax Rate:

$5.75 for a five-year driver record history and $15 for a lifetime driver record history.

Collections:

By the Department of Public Safety.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 10,786,884 (1.14)

2012-13 10,910,922 2.24
2011-12 10,671,710 (0.51)

2010-11 10,726,439 444

2009-10 10,270,543 (3.28)

Source: “"Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds for a five-year driver record history are deposited into the State General Fund. For a lifetime
driver record history, $10 is deposited into the State General Fund and $5 is deposited into the Highway
Traffic Safety Fund. FY 2014 receipts include $12,090 deposited into the Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Legislative History:

Acts 1951, No. 704, p. 1224
Established a fee of $.50 for a motor vehicle operator's record certified abstract.
Acts 1961, No. 707, p. 999
Provided that the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record certified abstract may be no less than $.50
but no more than $1, to be determined by the Director of the Department of Public Safety.
Acts 1971, No. 1598, p. 2743
Increased the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record abstract to $2.
Acts 1983, No. 722, p. 1177

Increased the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record abstract to $4.
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Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sp. Sess., No. 721, p. 112
Increased the fee charged for a copy of any record in the files of the Department of Public Safety to
$5.

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 909, p. 486
Increased the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record abstract to the current rate.

Acts 1989, No. 878, p. 1759
Provided for the Alabama Uniform Commercial Drivers License Act, a provision of which is that driving
record information will be provided to employers or prospective employers and businesses upon
request and payment of a fee of $5.75.

Acts 2001, No. 471, p. 627
To comply with the federal commercial driver's license provisions, the Department of Public Safety
began providing a lifetime driver record history to employers and prospective employers of the CDL
holder and charging $15 per record. The fee was based on this act which increased the maximum fee
for a copy of a record or report to $15. Ten dollars of the fee is paid into the State General Fund (an
increase of $5 to the General Fund) and the remaining $5 is deposited into the Department of Public

Safety Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

$8 for a three-year driver record history; $10 for a seven-year history.
Georgia

$6 for a three-year driver record history; $8 for a seven-year history.
Mississippi

$11 for a three-year driver record history (plus a convenience fee).
Tennessee

$5 for a three-year driver record history.
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Dry Cleaning Facility Registration Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 22-30D-1 through 22-30D-12, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A voluntary annual registration fee paid by each owner or operator of a dry cleaning facility located in the

state and each wholesale distributor selling to dry cleaning facilities in the state electing to be covered by

the Alabama Dry Cleaning Environmental Response Trust Fund, a self-insurance program for the dry

cleaning industry.

Tax Rate:

D

@)

3)

)

(5)

(6)

Existing owner or operator of a dry cleaning facility — 2% of the gross receipts earned in the state
during the prior calendar year, not to exceed a total registration fee of $25,000, regardless of the
number of facilities owned.

Each new owner or operator coming into existence after May 24, 2000, acquiring an existing dry
cleaning facility after May 24, 2000 — for the first year, 2% of the gross receipts earned in the state by
the prior owner during the prior calendar year less any registration fee paid by the prior owner for the
same year.

Each new owner or operator coming into existence after May 24, 2000 — a one-time registration fee
equal to $5,000 for the first year of operation, and for the second year a registration fee equal to the
greater of $5,000 or 2% of the gross receipts earned by the new owner or operator during the first
year of operation. Thereafter, the new owner or operator pays the normal annual registration fee.
Wholesale distributors selling dry cleaning agents to dry cleaning facilities in the state — a registration
fee of $5,000.

Any person, other than an owner or operator or wholesale distributor who elects not to be covered,
owning any abandoned dry cleaning facility who suspects contamination or any impacted third party
who has reported contamination on its property to the Alabama Department of Environmental
Management (ADEM), prior to receipt of any payment from the Fund, must pay a registration fee
equal to $5,000 per site as a self-insurance premium for coverage under the Fund until the site is
subject to no further action by ADEM.

If the unobligated principal of the Fund equals or exceeds $8 million on April 1 of any year, the

registration fees will not be collected on or after the next July 1 until April 1 of the following year.
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Thereafter, if the unobligated balance of the Fund equals $4 million or less, the registration fees will

again be collected on and after the next July 1.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on a quarterly basis for each owner or operator of a dry cleaning facility
electing to be covered, one-fourth each on April 1, July 1, October 1, and January 1, to be delinquent on
the 20" of each such month. The registration fee paid annually by each wholesale distributor electing to
be covered must be paid annually to the Department of Revenue on April 1 and shall become delinquent

on the 20" day of April.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 292,462 (32.55)

2012-13 433,583 9.19
2011-12 397,098 4.83

2010-11 378,786 (9.08)

2009-10 416,619 114

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

(1) As a first charge against revenues, to offset the costs in administering such collections, the
Department of Revenue receives $50,000 each fiscal year.

(2) ADEM receives $75,000 each fiscal year. In addition, ADEM is entitled to be paid its actual cost of
rulemaking and oversight.

(3) After the payment of the above distributions the balance of the revenues is deposited into the
Alabama Dry Cleaning Environmental Trust Fund to be used by the Board as a dry cleaning industry
self-insurance program for the payment of costs to covered owners or operators, persons owning any
abandoned dry cleaning facility, wholesale distributors, impacted third parties, or adjacent landowners
for each of the following:

(@) Investigation and assessment of contamination or suspected contamination; and
(b) Remediation, if necessary, of contamination pursuant to a remediation plan, which may consist of

clean-up of affected soil and water.

Major Exemptions:

(1) A “stand alone” coin-operated laundry or coin-operated dry cleaning facility.
(2) A facility located on a United States military base or owned by the United States or a department or

agency thereof.
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(3) A facility owned or leased by the state, any county, city, town, or public or quasi-public organization of
the state, any public subdivision thereof, or any agency or department thereof, or any corporate body
or system of the state under the management or administration of a board of control or governing
board established by the state.

(4) A facility primarily engaged in uniform service or linen supply.

(5) Prisons, hotels, motels, industrial laundries or dry cleaners not providing services to the general public,
hospitals or nursing homes.

(6) Any facility owned or leased by any owner or operator who elects not to be covered.

(7) An adjacent landowner seeking payment from the Fund is not required to pay a one-time registration

fee.

Legislative History:

Acts 2000, No. 740, p. 1624
Alabama Dry Cleaning Environmental Trust Fund Act. Established the self-insurance program; created
the Alabama Dry Cleaning Environmental Response Trust Fund Advisory Board; and established the

elective registration fees at current rates and distribution.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
An initial registration fee of $30 is due from all new drycleaners and wholesale supply businesses.
A gross receipts tax is levied on each dry cleaning facility at a rate of 2% of all charges. A tax of $5
per gallon is levied on the sale of perchbroethylene to a dry cleaning facility. An annual
registration fee of $30 is due from all operating drycleaning facilities and wholesale supply
facilities that have registered.

Georgia
Georgia Hazardous Site Response Act (HSRA) of 1992 — Dry cleaners who generate and ship their
harzardous waste off-site for treatment, storage, disposal, incineration, or recycling are required to
pay harzardous waste fees based upon the amount of harzardous waste generated each year.
Conditionally exempt small quantity generators (produce less than or equal to 220 pounds in any
month of the year) do not have to pay any harzardous waste fees. Small quantity generators
(produce more than 220 pounds and less than 2,200 pounds in any month of the year) are
required to pay an annual fee of $100. Large quantity generators (produce greater than to 2,200

pounds in any month of the year) must pay fees on a per ton rate (see table below).
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Fee Per Ton of
Method of Handling Waste Off-site

Harzardous Waste

Harzardous waste sent to a company permitted to dispose of it $20.00

Harzardous waste sent to a company permitted to treat or store it $16.00

Harzardous waste sent to a company permitted to burn it for energy recovery $ 9.00

Harzardous waste sent to a company permitted to recycle or reuse it $ 2.00
Mississippi

No comparable tax.

Tennessee
All active dry cleaning facilities must pay an annual registration fee based on the type and amount of
solvent used.

Facilities using light non-aqueous petroleum solvent.

Gallons
0-35

351-559

56.0 - 165
165.1 - 440.0
>440.0

Facilities using dense non-aqueous petroleum solvent.

Gallons
0-20

20.1-40.0
40.1 -60.0

60.1 -1344

>1344

The annual fee for an abandoned drycleaning facility is $2,500. The annual registration fee for an
Instate Wholesale Distribution Facility IWDF) is $5,500 per facility.

Effective January 1, 2011 the solvent surcharge fees are as follows: $15 for each gallon of dense non-
aqueous solvent or product purchased by a drycleaning facility; and $1.50 for each gallon of light non-

aqueous solvent or product purchased by a drycleaning facility.
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The fees and surcharges are deposited into the Dry Cleaner Environmental Response Fund, an
environmental insurance policy used for the reimbursement of expenditures for investigation and

remediation of sites impacted by a release of dry cleaning solvent.
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Hazardous Waste Disposal and Monitoring Fees

Statutory Authority:
Sections 22-30-1 through 22-30B-20, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
A fee levied on operators of commercial hazardous waste disposal facilities for the disposal of waste at

those facilities.

Tax Rate:

(1) Effective June 1, 2013, a base fee of $5.50 per ton on all hazardous waste that is disposed of at a
commercial site for the disposal of hazardous waste and hazardous substances. For previous base fee
rates, see Legislative History.

(2) A monitoring fee of $1.00 per ton on all waste received for disposal at a site for the disposal of
hazardous waste and hazardous substances.

(3) A fee of $1.00 per ton on all wastes or substances disposed of at a commercial site, to be deposited

and allocated specifically to the Alabama Hazardous Substances Cleanup Fund.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue by the 30™ day of the month following receipt by commercial hazardous

waste disposal facilities of hazardous waste.

Hazardous Waste Fee
Collections ($)
Fiscal Year (State Only'®) Percent Change
2013-14 604,878 (54.70)

2012-13 1,335,372 32.49
2011-12 1,007,888 (42.37)

2010-11 1,748,747 2.05

2009-10 1,713,650 (12.68)

Fiscal Year 2010 through June of Fiscal Year 2013 collections were at the base fee prior to the current base
fee provided for in Act 2013-174. Due to processing changes, $249,710 in tax collections that would have
normally been credited to Fiscal Year 2012 were credited to Fiscal Year 2013.

Source: Department of Revenue'’s "Revenue Abstract.”

18 Excludes county fees and the $1/ton ADEM monitoring fee.
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Hazardous Waste
Monitoring Fee to ADEM*®
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 754,449 57.89

2012-13 477,818 (0.92)

2011-12 482,232 2.04
2010-11 472,590 5.24
2009-10 449,080 20.85

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:
See Tax Rate. Distribution to the State General Fund of the state share may be reduced by:

(1) The amount necessary to pay to all counties which have commercial hazardous waste disposal
facilities, and which have a population of less than 25,000, 2.5% of the difference in the fees
generated and those in effect on October 1, 1989.

(2) The amount necessary to ensure that counties identified in (1) above receive from hazardous
waste disposal fees annually the lesser of $4.2 million or 100% of total hazardous waste disposal
fees paid to the state. In determining whether the county is entitled to receive all or a portion of
the guaranteed minimum, there is charged against this amount all receipts received from the state
fees and any other applicable local act.

Note: The above distributions to counties take priority over the following distributions to ALERT and

the State General Fund.

(3) If available, $500,000 annually is deposited into the Alabama Legacy for Environmental Research
Trust Fund (ALERT) to be granted to Alabama public institutions of higher education with
programs in environmental research and service. Also, see Distribution on following page
regarding further reductions in total State General Fund amounts.

(4) Revenues generated from the base fee on the disposal of hazardous wastes are distributed as
follows: (1) 25% to each county having a commercial site for the disposal of hazardous waste or
hazardous substances and (2) 75% to the State General Fund, with the first $450,000 being

earmarked for appropriation to the Alabama Department of Environmental Management.

Y Includes fees provided by Act 83-480, as amended (county fee), Act 84-447 ($1/ton ADEM monitoring fee), and a permit fee
(imposed by administrative action) of $400 initially with a $400 renewal fee every two years for certification of each waste stream
going to commercial hazardous waste disposal facilities in the state. The $400 permit fee was increased from $200, effective
August 1, 2013.
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(5) Up to $4.5 million annually pledged to pay the principal, premiums and interest of any bonds
which may be issued by the Alabama Public Health Finance Authority under the provisions of Act
90-598.

(Note: The fees are not currently used for this purpose).

(6) Cost of collection as provided by Section 22-30B-3, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Major Exemptions:

The cap of 600,000 tons imposed by Act 92-658 does not apply to nonhazardous waste that cannot
be disposed of at subtitle D landfills (industrial waste). In addition, the cap can be lifted if it is
determined that such action is in the best interest of public health or the environment of the state, or
if the Governor determines the cap is an impediment to compliance with other applicable state or

federal laws.

Legislative History:

Acts 1981, No. 229, p. 307
Local act which levied $5 per ton (or $2 per barrel) fee on all waste disposed of at Chemical Waste
disposal site in Sumter County. Said fee deposited to Sumter County General Fund, for use as specified
in the act, less 15% ($0.75 per ton) to the state treasurer — 5% for deposit in the State Hazardous
Waste Management Fund and 10% for deposit in a special account to be used for the state’s
perpetual care responsibilities under the Hazardous Waste Act of 1978 (Act 78-129).

Acts 1981, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 916, p. 51
Amended Act 81-229 regarding to the distribution of the Sumter County share of the $5 per ton (or
$2 per barrel) fee on all waste disposed of at the Chemical Waste disposal facility in Sumter County;
and also reduced the percentage remitted to the state treasurer from 15% to 10% (5% for deposit in
the State Hazardous Waste Management Fund and 5% for deposit in the special account for the
state’s perpetual care responsibilities under the Hazardous Waste Act of 1978 (Act 78-129)).

Acts 1983, No. 480, p. 672
Amended Act 81-229 to alter the distribution of the Sumter County share of the $5 per ton fee (or $2
per barrel) on all waste disposed of at the Chemical Waste disposal facility in Sumter County to include

$100,000 annually to ADEM; and eliminated the 10% formerly remitted to the state treasurer.
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Acts 1984, No. 447, p. 1056

Levied a fee of $1 per ton on all hazardous waste received at commercial hazardous waste disposal
sites receiving off-site waste for disposal to be used by ADEM to finance a three member monitoring
team to monitor the operations of such sites.

Acts 1985, No. 751, p. 1244
Clarified that the $1 per ton disposal fee authorized by Act 84-447 is to be paid by the operators of
hazardous waste disposal facilities.

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 872, p. 392
Effective November 1, 1988, established the state hazardous waste disposal fee at $7.60 per ton (to
the State General Fund, less collection costs of the Department of Revenue not to exceed 10% of
collections). County fee increased by $.40 (to $5.40) said increase designated to the county general
fund to be expended for health purposes.

Acts 1989, No. 786, p. 1570

Provided that the tax levied on the disposal of hazardous waste generated outside the State of
Alabama to impose a fee on such waste at the higher of: (1) fee imposed on the disposal of such
waste in the state where the waste was generated; or (2) fee imposed on the disposal of hazardous
waste generated and disposed of in Alabama. The fees were effective October 1, 1989.

Acts 1989, No. 787, p. 1571

Increased hazardous waste disposal fees by a total of $16 per ton to be implemented as follows:

Distribution
Effective Date Fee Increase ($) (per ton) SGF ($) Co. GF ($)
10-1-89 8 7.00 1.00
10-1-90 4 3.50 .50
10-1-91 4 3.50 .50

Further specified that State General Fund revenues from this act were not to be appropriated until
FY 1991.
Acts 1990, No. 326, p. 448

Increased the state fees for disposal of hazardous waste to:

Distribution
Date Total Fee ($) (per ton) ADEM (%) SGF ($) Co. GF ($)
Through
7-14-90 22.00 1 14.60 6.40
7-15-90:
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Date Total Fee ($) (per ton) ADEM ($) SGF ($) Co. GF ($)
In-state 40.00 1 32.60 6.40
Out-of-state 112.00 1 104.60 6.40
10-1-90:

In-state 40.50 1 32.60 6.90
Out-of-state 112.50 1 104.60 6.90
10-1-91

In-state 41.00 1 32.60 7.40
Out-of-state 113.00 1 104.60 7.40

Distribution

Provided for county receipts and pledging of receipts for Public Health facility bonds, as described in
DISTRIBUTION. (County increases provided by Act 89-787).
Note : On June 1, 1992 the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the differential fee established by this act
was unconstitutional, so that beginning May 1, 1992 all waste was assessed at the in-state rate.

Acts 1992, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 658, p. 32
Provided a base fee for hazardous/PCB waste and an additional fee for “P" waste and "U” waste; and
established fee for nonhazardous waste. These fees are the same for in-state and out-of-state
generated waste. Established fee of $1 per ton for the Hazardous Substance Clean-up Fund. Provided
for a cap of 600,000 tons on waste disposed of at commercial sites. Exceptions to this cap are given in
the act (see Exemptions). Established a trust fund, ALERT, to be used to make matching grants to
higher education institutions in Alabama with programs of “service and research.”

Acts 1999, No. 195, p. 231
Amended the distribution of the fees levied by Act 83-480 by reducing the distribution to ADEM to
$50,000 effective October 1999, and redirecting the funds elsewhere.

Acts 2006, No. 306, p. 644
Exempted from the base fee of $41.60/ton the disposal of dust/sludge from the primary production of
steel in electric arc furnaces (KO61) and hazardous waste that will be de-characterized and rendered
non hazardous and subjected such disposal to a fee of $11.60/ton. The act also provided for the
distribution of half of the revenues generated from such waste to counties having a commercial site
for the disposal of hazardous waste and half to the State General Fund with the first $400,000 each

year earmarked for appropriation to the Department of Environmental Management.
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Acts 2007, No. 594, p. 1204
Reduced the base fee for disposal of hazardous waste at the commercial disposal facility located in
Emelle, Alabama from $41.60 to $21.60 per ton. This facility is currently the only commercial disposal
facility for hazardous waste in the state.

Acts 2013, No. 174, p. 325
Provided for a $5.50 base fee on the disposal of all hazardous wastes at commercial sites for the
disposal of hazardous waste and hazardous substances. Prohibits a county from levying additional
local fees. Removes dust/sludge disposal fee receipts distribution. Removes distinctive fee schedule for
Emelle Facility in Sumter County.

Acts 2014, No. 418, p. 1529
Changed the distribution of revenues generated from the base fee on the disposal of hazardous
wastes as follows: (1) 25% to each county having a commercial site for the disposal of hazardous
waste or hazardous substances and (2) 75% to the State General Fund, with the first $450,000 being

earmarked for appropriation to the Alabama Department of Environmental Management.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
3% tax levied on annual gross receipts of a privately owned, permitted, commercial hazardous
waste transfer, storage, treatment or disposal facility.

Georgia

Off-site Treatment — Every large quantity generator must pay an annual fee of $23 per ton for

incineration/disposal; $18.40 per ton for treatment/storage; $10.35 per ton for treatment by being
burned for energy recovery, up to a maximum of $75,000 per year.

On-site Treatment — Every large quantity generator must pay an annual fee of $11.50 per ton for

incineration/disposal; $4.60 per ton for treatment/storage; $2.90 per ton for treatment by burning
for energy recovery, up to a maximum of $75,000 per year. Per year payments for large quantity
generators that treat wastewater may not exceed $7,500.
For commercial facilities which receive waste from out-of-state, the following fees are assessed:
$23 per ton for incineration/disposal; $18.40 per ton for treatment/storage; $10.35 per ton for
treatment by burning for energy recovery, up to a maximum of $75,000 per year.

Mississippi
Large and small quantity generators of certain regulated hazardous wastes and operators of

certain facilities are subject to a pollution prevention fee which ranges from $250 per year to
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$50,000 per year, dependent upon the amount of waste generated or chemicals released. In

addition, the owners or operators of commercial hazardous waste management facilities must pay

a waste disposal fee equal to:

(1) $10 per ton for waste generated and disposed of in Mississippi by means of land disposal and
for waste generated and stored for one year or more in Mississippi.

(2) $2 per ton for waste generated and treated in Mississippi and for waste generated and stored
for less than one year in Mississippi.

(3) $1 per ton for waste generated and recovered in Mississippi.

(4) For all hazardous waste generated outside of Mississippi and received at a Mississippi
commercial management facility during the preceding year, the facility owner/operator must
pay the higher of (1) an amount equal to the fee imposed on the management of such waste
by the state from which the waste originated or (2) the fees imposed for hazardous waste
disposed of in Mississippi.

Tennessee

The annual fees for the management and generation of hazardous waste of 1,200 kilograms or

greater is based on the amount of waste generated the prior year as follows:

$.26 per kg.

($865 minimum; $28,500 maximum)

Generators who ship hazardous waste off-site pay an additional $19 per ton. A single generator

will not pay more than $65,000 for shipping waste off-site.
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Scrap Tire Environmental Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 22-40A-1 through 22-40A-24, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A fee on replacement tires, whether or not the tires are mounted on a rim or wheel.

Tax Rate:

$1 per replacement and retreaded casing replacement tire when sold to a consumer.

Collections:

By the tire dealer from the consumer and paid monthly to the Department of Revenue by the 20" day of

the following month. The tire dealers may retain 7% of the fees collected for each timely report filed.
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2013-14 4,034,102 6.45

2012-13 3,789,494 (1.69)

2011-12 3,854,815 (.75)

2010-11 3,884,030 3.45

2009-10 3,754,407 2.54

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

Proceeds are deposited into the Scrap Tire Fund and distributed as follows:

(1) Between 45% to 75% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to
pay the costs of remediation, abatement, removal, or other remedial action related to tire stockpiles
throughout the state.

(2) Up to 20% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to pay the
Department of Environmental Management for the costs associated with the development and
enforcement of regulation.

(3) From zero to 20% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to
administer a program, managed by the Department of Environmental Management, directed at
promoting and developing markets as an alternative to the landfill disposal of scrap tires or processed

tire material as an end use.
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(4) Up to 10% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to fund
programs delegated to counties for enforcement of regulations.

(5) Up to 7% to pay the tire dealer for collection and accounting costs associated with collection of the
fee.

(6) Up to 2% to pay the costs of administration of the Department of Revenue.

The actual distribution percentages are established by the Scrap Tire Commission.

Major Exemptions:

All government organizations, whether federal, state or other local governing bodies are exempt from the

payment of fees.

Legislative History:

Acts 2003, No. 332, p. 823
Alabama Scrap Tire Environmental Quality Act. Levied a $1 scrap tire environmental fee on each
replacement tire sold in the state and provided for the distribution of revenues; authorized the
Department of Environmental Management to administer and enforce the program and establish
permit fees for processors; reestablished the Scrap Tire Commission; and repealed the scrap tire
license statute effective October 1, 2004.

Acts 2009, No. 779, p. 2433
Clarified that scrap tire dealers that collect and remit the scrap tire disposal fee are not also subject to
the solid waste disposal fee established under the Solid Waste and Recyclable Materials Act; increased
the amount of tire disposal fees retained by tire dealers from 5% to 7%; and transferred
responsibilities associated with the development and management of an end use market development
program for alternatives to landfill disposal of scrap tires from the Department of Economic and

Community Affairs to the Department of Environmental Management.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$1 per new tire sold for use on a motor vehicle including those sold to government entities, if the
sale is made within the state of Florida. The fee excludes tires sold for resale and tires for use on
vehicles track driven or used on a farm.

Georgia

$1 per new tire sold for use on a motor vehicle.
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Mississippi
$1 for each new motor vehicle tire with a diameter of less than 24 inches and $2 for each tire with
a diameter of 24 inches or more.

Tennessee
$1.35 fee on new tires sold at retail. The fee includes all tires for vehicles that travel on the roads

and those from farm tractors and equipment.

Scrap Tire Environmental Fees Page 167



Solid Waste Disposal Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 22-27-1 through 22-27-18 and Section 22-40A-6, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
Tax Base:
A solid waste disposal fee levied on generators of solid waste who dispose of solid waste at solid waste

management facilities permitted by the Department of Environmental Management.

Tax Rate:

(1) $1 per ton for all waste disposed of in a municipal solid waste landfill; regulated solid wastes that may
be approved by the Department of Environmental Management as alternate cover materials in
landfills; and regulated solid waste received from out-of-state for disposal at permitted public solid
waste facilities.

(2) $1 perton or $.25 per cubic yard for waste disposed of in public industrial landfills, construction and
demolition landfills, non-municipal solid waste incinerators, or composting facilities which receive
waste not generated by the permittee; and regulated solid wastes that may be approved by the
Department of Environmental Management as alternate cover materials in landfills.

(3) $.25 per cubic yard for all waste disposed of in a private solid waste management facility, not to
exceed $1,000 per calendar year.

Collections:

The disposal fee is collected by the operator of the permitted solid waste disposal facility and remitted to

the Department of Revenue on a quarterly basis not later than the 20" day of January, April, July, and

October. Owners and operators collecting the solid waste fees may retain 4% of the total solid waste fees

collected at their facility as an administrative collection allowance. The Department of Revenue may retain

1% of the solid waste fees collected as an administrative collection allowance.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)*° Percent Change
2013-14 6,150,885 (1.31)

2012-13 6,232,339 (5.48)

2011-12 6,593,557 (14.75)

2010-11 7,734,188 (8.64)

2009-10 8,466,039 89.42

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

20 Excludes the administrative allowance retained by the owners and operators of solid waste facilities.
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Distribution:

D
)

3)

4)

©)

1% as an administrative collection allowance to the Department of Revenue.

4% as an administrative collection allowance to owners and operators of solid waste disposal
facilities collecting the solid waste disposal fees.

25% to the Alabama Recycling Fund and used by the Department of Environmental Management
exclusively to provide grants to local governments, authorities, and nonprofit organizations for
use in developing, implementing, and enhancing local recycling, reuse and waste minimization
projects and programs.

25% to the Solid Waste Fund and used by the Department of Environmental Management to pay
the cost of remediation, abatement, removal, or other actions related to the closure of
unauthorized dumps and landfills, including, but not limited to, equipment, labor, supplies,
materials, and professional services.

45% to the Department of Environmental Management and used exclusively to pay the costs of
performing its duties under the Solid Wastes and Recyclable Materials Management Act and to
fund educational programs administered by the Department on solid waste management, waste

minimization, and recycling.

Major Exemptions:

D

)

©)

4)

Operators of industrial boilers, furnaces, and other processing equipment that burn solid waste
generated on-site for the purpose of fuel replacement or energy recovery and which are
permitted by the Department of Environmental Management or by a local air pollution control
agency.

Operators of composting facilities which are owned by the Department of Corrections and which
receive only waste generated by Department of Corrections facilities and institutions or those
composting facilities otherwise exempt from permitting as provided in rules promulgated by the
Department of Environmental Management.

Operators of industrial boilers, furnaces, and other processing equipment that burn scrap tires for
the purpose of fuel replacement or energy recovery and are registered with the Department of
Environmental Management as provided in rules promulgated by the Department.

Scrap tire processors who receive and process scrap tires and who are permitted by or registered
with the Department of Environmental Management as provided in rules promulgated by the
Department, except that a solid waste disposal facility permitted as a scrap tire processor shall

collect the fee on all waste disposed of in its landfill.
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(5) Retail tire dealers, retreaders, and used tire dealers registered with the Department of
Environmental Management and collecting and remitting scrap tire environmental fees are not
subject to the solid waste disposal fees for only scrap tires delivered to permitted landfills for

disposal (Per Section 22-40A-6 Code).

Legislative History:

Acts 2008, No. 151, p. 244
Enacted the Solid Wastes and Recyclable Materials Management Act. Levied statewide solid waste
disposal fees on generators of solid waste who dispose of solid waste at a solid waste management

facility at the current rates; and provided for the distribution of revenues.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida and Tennessee
No comparable tax.

Georgia
Effective July 1, 2008 through July 1, 2013, owners and operators of any solid waste disposal
facility other than an inert waste landfill or private industry solid waste disposal facility must assess
and collect from each disposer a surcharge of $.75 per ton.

Mississippi
Owners and operators of every nonhazardous solid waste facility in the state pay an amount equal
to the greater of the per ton fee imposed on the management of out-of-state nonhazardous solid
waste by the state from which it originated or the per ton fee, if any, imposed on the management

of in-state nonhazardous solid waste.
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Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Regulatory Fees

Statutory Authority:
Sections 22-35-1 through 22-35-13 and 22-36-1 through 22-36-6, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

(1) An Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund fee levied on certain defined owners of
underground or aboveground storage tanks (including pipes connected thereto) used for the
storage, use or dispensing of motor fuels. (See Tax Rate).

(2) An Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund fuel fee on those ordering the first
withdrawal from bulk.

(3) A tank regulation fee levied on certain defined owners or operators of underground storage tanks.

Tax Rate:

(1) The tank fee of up to $150 per year per regulated tank. (Note: This fee has not been collected since
1993 due to sufficient funds to operate the program being provided by the other fees.)

(2) The Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund fuel fee is imposed on the first
withdrawal from bulk in this state and is an amount based on invoiced gallons of no less than $.003
per gallon and no more than $.02 per gallon as annually recommended by the Underground and
Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund Management Board beginning October 1, 2009. Effective April
1, 2012, the fee is $.01 per gallon. From January 1, 2010 until March 31, 2012, the fee was $.0125 per
gallon. From October 1, 2004 until December 31, 2009, the fee was $.01 per gallon.

(3) The underground tank regulation fee is $30 per tank.

Collections:

The $150 tank fee (if charged) and the $30 tank regulation fee are collected by the Alabama Department
of Environmental Management. The fuel fee is collected by the operator of the bulk facility and remitted
by the 20" of the month, following the month for which fees are due, to the Department of Revenue.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 36,281,423 1.08

2012-13 35,892,627 (10.93)

2011-12 40,295,123 (12.18)

2010-11 45,885,239 6.16

2 Includes collections from both the tank fuel fee and regulatory fee.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2009-10 43,224,547 20.22

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

(1) As a first charge against revenues collected from the per gallon tank fuel fee, there is appropriated to

the Department of Revenue the amount of money necessary to pay its cost of administration, not to

exceed $150,000 annually. The remaining receipts are deposited into the Alabama Underground and

Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund and the unobligated balance of the Fund is invested by the

Retirement Systems of Alabama for the benefit of the Fund. Monies in the Fund are used for the

following purposes:

(a)

(b)

(@]

To pay the administration costs of all the provisions of the program, including the expenses
certified by the Board as proper and necessary incurred in the discharge of its duties. The
Department of Environmental Management's actual cost of administering the program may not
exceed 8% of the total fees and charges collected annually or a maximum of $705,000 per year,
whichever is less. In no event will the Department’s allocation for this purpose be less than
$400,000 in any given year. Provided, however, the Legislature may make additional
appropriations to the Department from the Fund upon showing of need for such additional
amounts in the administration of the Fund. Any additional appropriations may not exceed in any
year 5% of the total fees and charges collected annually.

To pay third parties who bring suit and obtain final judgment against the Fund and the owner or
operator of an underground or aboveground motor fuel storage tank who is in substantial
compliance with the Fund

To pay response action contractors as approved by the Department for remedial action or clean-

up work.

(2) The tank regulation fee is used by the Alabama Department of Environmental Management for

administrative costs in the underground tank regulatory program and to provide the 10% state match

required by the federal Leaking Underground Storage Tank Program.

Major Exemptions:

1

)
3)

Farm or residential tank of 1,100 gallons or less capacity used for storing motor fuel for

noncommercial purposes.

Tank used for storing heating oil for consumptive use on the premises where stored.

Septic tank.
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(4) Pipeline facility (including gathering lines) regulated under:
(@) The Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968;
(b) The Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Act of 1979; and
(c) An intrastate pipeline facility regulated under state laws comparable to provisions (a) or (b)

above.

(5) Surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon.

(6) Stormwater or wastewater collection system.

(7) Flow-through process tank.

(8) Liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related to oil or gas production and gathering
operations.

(9) Storage tank situated in an underground area (such as a basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or
tunnel) if the storage tank is situated upon or above the surface of the floor.

(10) Other underground tanks exempted by the administrator of the federal Environmental Protection
Agency.

(11) Piping connected to any of the above exemptions.

(12) Pipeline terminals, refinery terminals, rail and barge terminals and tanks associated with each.

(13) The Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund charge does not apply to any

withdrawal from bulk of fuel oil to be used in the generation of electricity.

Legislative History:
Acts 1988, No. 378, p. 557

Created the Alabama Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund, and provided for the tank fee to be
credited to the Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund; and provided for third party claims and
disbursements to be paid from the Fund.

Acts 1988, No. 537, p. 823
Provided for the regulatory program for underground storage tanks and a tank regulation fee to be
used by the Department of Environmental Management.

Acts 1993, No. 628, p. 1062
Made the tank fee applicable to underground and aboveground storage tanks; authorized the
assessment of an Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund charge and renamed the
existing Trust Fund accordingly; and provided that this charge would be the primary funding
mechanism for the Alabama Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund and included

certain aboveground motor fuels storage tanks in the provisions of the statute.

Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Regulatory Fees Page 173



Acts 1993, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 891, p. 165
Established the Underground and Aboveground Tank Trust Fund charge as a flat fee based on
invoiced gallons ranging from $1.50 to $27. A portion of the Underground and Aboveground Storage
Tank Trust Fund was appropriated retroactively for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1994 and
each subsequent fiscal year to the Department of Environmental Management for administrative costs
related to the provisions of this act.

Acts 2003, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 483, p- 1486
Created the new nine member Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund Management
Board to, among other things, annually recommend to the Environmental Management Commission a
fuel fee based on invoiced gallons of not less than $.003 per gallon nor more than $.01 to replace the
flat fee schedule; established the initial fuel fee of $.005 per gallon beginning January 1, 2004;
authorized the Legislature to make additional appropriations above statutory limits from the Fund to
the Department of Environmental Management for administrative expenses not to exceed 5% of the
total fees collected; and removed the previous $10 million cap on tank fee charges, which allows the
fees to be collected continuously.

Acts 2009, No. 589, p. 1734
Clarified that motor fuel blends (biodiesel and ethanol) are subject to the fuel fee and receive the
same financial protection from the Fund as other motor fuels; increased the maximum fuel fee that
may be charged from $.01 per gallon to $.02 per gallon, based on the annual recommendation from

the Trust Fund Management Board, beginning October 1, 2009.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
A tank registration fee of $50 initially (with the exception of a replacement tank, which is $25) and
$25 for annual renewal on underground tanks up to a 250,000 gallons capacity and $1 thereafter
for each additional 10,000 gallons. The maximum is $1,000 per tank or $2,500 per facility.
Georgia
In order to participate in the reimbursement benefits of the Underground Storage Tank Trust
Fund, a potential claimant must pay an environmental assurance fee on petroleum products
imported into the state of up to $0.005 per gallon. No other fees or permits are required. The fee

is only applicable to underground tanks.
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Mississippi
Environmental protection fee to fund the Groundwater Protection Trust Fund of $.004 per gallon
and an annual facility fee of $100 per tank.

Tennessee
Annual environmental assurance fee of $250 for each compartment per tank.
On May 23, 2012, the Tennessee Underground Storage Tank (UST) Board voted to reduce the tank
fee from $250 per compartment per year to $125 per compartment per year. Formal rulemaking

of this change by the UST Board, public comment, and review by the Tennessee House and Senate

is required before the charge is effective.
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Estate Tax and Generation Skipping Transfer Tax

Constitutional Provisions:

Article XI, Section 219 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.
Authorized the Legislature to levy a tax of not more than 2.5% of the value of all estates, real and
personal, money and public and private securities passing from any person who may die to any other
person except if the estate is for the use of the father, mother, husband, wife, brothers, sisters,
children, or lineal descendants of the grantor.
Amendment No. 23 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219 of the Official
Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.
Annulled the previous section of the Constitution relating to Estate Taxes and authorized the
Legislature to provide for the assessment, levy and collection of a tax upon inheritances and for the
levying of estate taxes not to exceed the amount to be credited against or deducted from any similar
tax levied upon inheritances or estates levied by the U.S. Government. The state tax on inheritances
and estates may be levied only so long as the federal tax is enforced and only to the extent of

absorbing any credit allowed under the federal tax.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-15-1 through 40-15-19 and 40-15A-1 through 40-15A-14, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:
Estate tax on all net estates passing by will, devise or under intestate laws of Alabama. Generation-
skipping transfer tax on any real property of a transferor located in Alabama and any tangible or

intangible personal property of a transferor located in the State of Alabama.

Tax Rate:

The estate tax and the generation-skipping transfer tax is an amount equal to the tax credit allowable
under the federal estate tax and federal generation-skipping transfer tax laws. The tax on nonresident
estates is imposed on the proportionate share of the net estate which Alabama property bears to the

entire estate.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue within nine months after death. The amounts below represent Estate Tax

collections. To date, no Generation-Skipping Tax has been received by the state.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2013-14 7,653 (58.54)
2012-13 18,460 (93.90)
2011-12 302,790 645.55
2010-11 40,613 (57.66)
2009-10 95,921 (67.11)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
After the cost of collection is deducted, all proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund. The entire

proceeds of the generation-skipping transfer tax are to be deposited in the State General Fund.

Status of the Federal and State Estate Tax:

The Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act (EGTRRA) of 2001, made major changes in the

federal Estate Tax and the Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax. These tax changes were phased-in as follows:

Estate/Generation-Skipping
Calendar Year Transfer Tax Exemption Highest Tax Rate

2002 $1,000,000 50%
2003 $1,000,000 49%
2004 $1,500,000 48%
2005 $1,500,000 47%
2006 $2,000,000 46%
2007 $2,000,000 45%
2008 $2,000,000 45%
2009 $3,500,000 45%
2010 taxes repealed -

2011 $5,000,000 35%
2012 $5,120,000 35%
2013 $5,250,000 40%

The American Taxpayer Relief Act permanently provided for a maximum federal estate tax rate of 40%
effective January 1, 2013 and retained the exemption indexed for inflation ($5.12 million in 2012). Under

the previous federal law, Alabama estates were given a credit for estate taxes paid to the state. The
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amount of that credit was based on a graduated rate schedule. The 2001 tax relief act reduced this state

tax credit as follows:

Calendar Year Credit Reduction
2002 25%
2003 50%
2004 75%
2005 Repealed

Because Section 219 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 allows for the
collection of an estate tax in Alabama only as long as a credit may be absorbed under a federal tax, and
due to the fact that no state credit has been provided for in any federal estate tax legislation since
December 31, 2004, no estate tax has been collected in Alabama on estates with a date of death after
December 31, 2004. It is the opinion of the Alabama Department of Revenue that should a state credit be

authorized in a future federal estate tax, Alabama would once again be able to levy a tax.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established the inheritance tax.
Acts 1939, No. 593, p. 965
Addressed the issue of taxation of certain intangible personal property (such as money, credit or
securities) held in a trust, so as to levy the tax on such property unless the property is subject to
taxation in another state; the other state must also provide a reciprocal tax exemption for similar
Alabama property.
Acts 1951, No. 939, p. 1606
Provided for cost of collection for the Department of Revenue.
Acts 1983, No. 740, p. 1208
Changed the due dates of estate taxes following the decedent’s death from fifteen months to nine
months; and altered the interest rate for delinquent payments (one-time windfall for General Fund).
Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 837, p. 307
Levied a "generation-skipping transfer" tax, allowing Alabama to collect an amount equal to the tax
credit allowable on the federal generation-skipping tax collected in Alabama.
Acts 1992, No. 186, p. 349
The Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Act amended the provisions of this tax relating to interest charged on late

payments, methods of commencing actions for recovery of charges, and by repealing sections of the
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Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, so that the administration of this tax is in line with new provisions
of the law relating to taxpayers rights.

Acts 2001, No. 468, p. 622
Allowed the executor of any estate to file an affidavit which shall be sufficient authority to carry on the
business of the estate; and provided for a personal liability provision to apply to the personal
representative for any tax later determined to be due.

Acts 2002, No. 516, p. 1330
Provided for removal of the requirement that the affidavit filed by the personal representative contain
the value of the estate and the acknowledgment by the personal representative of the personal

liability for any tax later determined to be due.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
The tax on estates was the amount by which the maximum allowable federal estate tax credit for
state death taxes paid to the various states exceeded all estate and inheritance taxes paid to the
states (other than Florida). Florida is one of the states tied to the federal tax law. Since the Florida
estate tax was based solely on the federal credit, estates with a date of death that occurred after
December 31, 2004 were not taxed. In addition, a generation-skipping transfer tax is imposed in
an amount equal to the amount allowable as a credit for state legacy taxes under IRS rules to the
extent that the credit exceeds the aggregate amount of all constitutionally valid taxes on the same
transfer actually paid in states other than Florida. The tax was also nullified after December 31,
2004. A representative of the Florida Department of Revenue stated that if the EGTRRA tax cuts
were reinstated the tax would automatically be levied again in Florida.

Georgia
Imposed an estate tax of an amount equal to the maximum credit allowable under the federal
estate tax laws. Georgia is one of the states tied to the federal tax law. The estate tax does not
apply to any estate with a date of death that occurred in a year for which the IRS does not allow a
credit for state death taxes (after December 31, 2004). There is no generation-skipping tax in
Georgia. A representative of the Georgia Department of Revenue stated that if the EGTRRA tax
cuts were reinstated the tax would automatically be levied again in Georgia.

Mississippi
The estate tax was equal to the maximum amount of state death tax credit allowed by the federal

estate tax laws. Mississippi is one of the states tied to the federal tax law. Since the Mississippi
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estate tax was based solely on the federal credit, estates with a date of death that occurred after
December 31, 2004 were not taxed. There is no generation-skipping tax in Mississippi. A
representative of the Mississippi Department of Revenue stated that if the EGTRRA tax cuts were
reinstated the tax would automatically be levied again in Mississippi.

Tennessee
Beginning in 2013, the exemption amount from estate taxes is $1,250,000. This amount increases
annually until 2015 when it is $5,000,000 and then will not be levied at all beginning in 2016.
Beginning January 1, 2012 the Tennessee gift tax was repealed. A Generation-Skipping Tax is
imposed similar to the Alabama tax. Tennessee is one of the states with an inheritance tax
independent of the federal estate tax. An estate tax is also levied and is meant to pick up the
difference between the state inheritance tax and the maximum credit allowed by federal law.
Because of the lack of a federal credit the state inheritance tax, discussed above, is the sole tax

levied on estates.
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Financial Institution Excise Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-16-1 through 40-16-8, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Excise tax on net income of any credit union, bank, banking association, trust company, loan company or

association, or person or institution coming into competition with the business of national banks.

Tax Rate:

6.5% of taxable net income.

Collections:
By Department of Revenue; annual returns are filed by institutions by April 15, and tax is deposited into
the state treasury to be distributed each September 1.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2013-14 35,570,330 (3.52)

2012-13 36,867,708 (5.52)

2011-12% 39,023,639 51.82

2010-11 25,703,680 17.74

2009-10 21,830,582 (60.84)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

After the cost of collection is deducted by the Department of Revenue, the amount of revenue generated
by the additional .5% tax rate added by Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 664, is distributed to the State General
Fund. The remaining proceeds are distributed as follows: 25% to the State General Fund; 25% to the
counties in which institutions are located; and 50% to the cities in which the institutions are located.

Revenue from taxpayers with no physical presence in the state is distributed to the State General Fund.

Exemptions and Credits:

Moneyed capital employed in the business and the shares of all financial institutions are exempted from
ad valorem taxation. Financial institutions are allowed dollar-for-dollar credits against their excise tax

liabilities for amounts paid in other taxes levied, including but not limited to sales and use taxes, utility

22 FY 2012 includes $1,250,000 audit payment.
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taxes, and portions of certain local license taxes. The following tax credits may be claimed against this tax:
Capital Tax Credit, the Alabama New Markets Development Act Tax Credit, the Full Employment Act of
2011 Credit, the "Heroes for Hire" Tax Credit Act of 2012, Employee Credit, and the Rehabilitation,

Preservation, and Development Credit.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established financial institution excise tax at 6%.

Acts 1965, No. 276, p. 390
Provided that production credit associations were to be subject to the excise tax.

Acts 1978, No. 840, p. 1247
Provided that bank holding companies were to be recognized as financial institutions for excise tax
purposes and were therefore exempted from state income taxation.

Acts 1991, No. 478, p. 866
Permitted incorporated municipalities to levy license taxes, but not in excess of those authorized by
Section 11-51-130, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended. This tax may be credited against the tax levied
by Section 40-16-4.

Acts 1993, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 852, p. 95
Expanded deductions from gross income to include the amount of aid or assistance provided to the
State Industrial Development Authority.

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 664, p. 124
Increased the tax rate to 6.5% for all tax years beginning after December 31, 2000; and provided that
all revenue generated from the increased tax rate be deposited to the State General Fund. The rate
increase was contingent upon the ratification of the constitutional amendment proposed by Act 99-
600. The amendment was ratified as Amendment No. 662 on June 19, 2000.

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 665, p. 131
Directed the Department of Revenue to adopt regulations to prescribe the method of allocating and
apportioning net income of financial institutions that do business in more than one state; provided
that businesses issuing credit cards to Alabama residents are subject to the tax; and provided that all
revenue generated from taxpayers with no physical presence of the state is to be distributed to the

State General Fund.
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Acts 2006, No. 114, p. 173
Conformed Alabama tax law to federal law regarding the taxation of trusts and estates. Known as
“Subchapter J and Business Trust Conformity Act.”

Acts 2014, No.452, p. 1679
Alabama Rehabilitation, Preservation, and Development Credit to be transferred once.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
5.5% of federal taxable income apportioned to Florida with adjustments (under corporate income
tax). There is also a Florida alternative minimum tax requirement.

Georgia
A state occupation tax is imposed on depository financial institutions at the rate of 0.25% of the
gross receipts. Also, corporate income tax of 6% of taxable net income.

Mississippi
Corporate income tax rates of 3% on first $5,000 of taxable income, 4% on next $5,000, and 5% on
all in excess of $10,000.

Tennessee
Corporate income tax of 6.5% on net earnings (if the sum of the assets and the absolute value of

its deposits attributable to sources within the state is $5 million or more).
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Fireworks and Explosives Permit Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 8-17-210 through 8-17-226 and 8-17-240 through 8-17-256, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:

(1) Permit required prior to engaging in the manufacture or sale within the state, or shipment into the

state, of any fireworks. A permit is required for each location at which fireworks are to be offered for

sale. Permits expire each December 31.

(2) Certification required prior to detonating explosive materials or supervising the conduct of a blasting

operation. Blasting contractor license required prior to engaging in blasting or other use of explosives

for commercial purposes. Certification and licenses expire one year following the date of issuance.

Tax Rate:
Fireworks:

Manufacturer

Distributor

Wholesaler

Retailer

Seasonal Retailer

Seasonal Retailer after July 10

Public Display

Close Proximate Audience Display

Explosives:

Certification
Blasting contractor license

Variation request application

Municipal explosives use permit

$2,000
$2,000
$700
$200
$200
$100

$50
($100 if application received less than 10 days prior to display)

$100 plus $50 for each subsequent event on the same calendar
day ($200 plus $100 for each subsequent event if application
received less than 10 days prior to display)

$100
$2,000

Up to $50 per applicant
(fee established by Fire Marshal's Office)

$25 per applicant

Fireworks and Explosives Permit Fees
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Collections:

By State Fire Marshal.

Fireworks Explosives

Fiscal Year Collections ($) % Change Collections ($) % Change
2013-14 253,200 1.75 101,500 6.51

2012-13 248,850 (5.11) 95,300 0.85
2011-12 262,255 (9.52) 94,500 (16.59)
2010-11 289,850 5.54 113,300 3.84

2009-10 274,622 2.04 109,100 (13.68)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

Fire Marshal Revolving Fund, except municipal explosives use permit which is retained by the municipality.

Exemptions:

(1) A distributor's permit is not required for resale of special fireworks (those classified as Class B
explosives by the U.S. Department of Transportation) for public display at The Alabama June Jam.

(2) Public displays of fireworks in accordance with regulations governed by Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco
and Firearms.

(3) U.S. and state military or naval forces or peace officers.

(4) Section 8-17-220 lists items that are not to be considered "fireworks" for permitting purposes
including model rockets, certain toy pistol caps, emergency flares, and blank cartridges.

(5) Sections 8-17-254 and 8-17-242(b) list exceptions to explosives certification and licensing

requirements, including surface coal mining operations and public utilities.

Legislative History:

Acts 1981, No. 409, p. 638

Established fireworks permit fees at following rates:

Manufacturer $750
Distributor $750
Wholesaler $250
Retailer $25
Display $1
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Provided for deposit of permit fees to Fire Marshal Fund.

Acts 1987, No. 563, p. 876

Increased fireworks permit fees to following rates:

Manufacturer
Distributor
Wholesaler
Retailer

Seasonal Retailer

Seasonal Retailer after July 10

Display

Acts 1993, No. 713, p. 1390

$1,000
$1,000
$350
$100
$100
$50
$25

Alabama Explosives Safety Act of 1993. Established explosives certification and blasting contractor

license fees at following rates and provided for deposit of those fees to Fire Marshal Fund.

Certification

Blasting Contractor License

Acts 2003, No. 378, p. 1068

$50
$1,000

Increased fireworks permit fees and explosives certification and blasting contractor license fees to

current rates; and established fee at current rates for use of pyrotechnics before a proximate audience.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Annual fireworks permit fees are set by the State Fire Marshal not to exceed the following:

manufacturer, $1,000; distributor, $1,000; wholesaler, $1,000; retailer, $15 per location; seasonal

retailer, $200. Annual explosives fees are as follows: manufacturer and distributor, $650; dealer,

$450; user of explosives license, $125; explosives/blasters permit, $50.

Georgia

Georgia provides for an annual fireworks manufacturers, storage, or transport license fee of

$1,500. Fireworks display permits may be issued by county probate judges at varying fees. Annual

explosives permit fees are $75 for up to 500 Ibs. of explosives and $150 if more than 500 Ibs.;

manufacturing fee for explosives, $150; plan review fee of $100 for explosive storage of more than

500 pounds.
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Mississippi
The State Fire Marshal does not license wholesalers or retail dealers that disburse fireworks.
Counties and municipalities handle regulations and the local permit fees vary. Persons bringing
certain specified explosives into the state must report his/her identity, destination and provide an
inventory to the sheriff of the county of original entry and pay a $3 registration fee.

Tennessee
Annual fireworks permit fees are as follows: manufacturer, $1,000; distributor, $1,000; wholesaler,
$1,000; annual retailer, $1,000; seasonal retailer (valid for two 2-week seasonal periods), $100;
exhibitor, $1000; display, $50/day not to exceed $400 per location. Annual fees for explosives are
as follows: firm (company), $765; blaster, $315; handler, $115; limited blaster, $215. Renewal fees
are $15 less than the initial fee. Biennial fireworks operator certification fees are set by the fire
marshall not to exceed the following amounts: fireworks display operator, $150; proximate

pyrotechnic display operator, $150; and flame effect display operator, $150.
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Forest Products Severance Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-13-80 through 9-13-108, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Tax on the severing of timber or any other forest product from the soil for sale, profit or commercial use

and on every processor or manufacturer (in-state or out-of-state) using such forest products.

Tax Rate:

Pine Lumber

Pine Logs

Hardwood Lumber
Hardwood Logs
Pulpwood, chemical wood,
bolts

Crossties

Switch ties

Mine ties and coal mine props
Pine ore mine props
Hardwood ore mine props
Piling and Poles
Turpentine (crude gum)
Stumpwood (tarwood)

Pulpwood chips

$.50/1000' board measure

$.75/1000' log scale (Doyle rule) or $0.10 per ton
$.30/1000' board measure

$.50/1000' log scale (Doyle rule) or $0.065 per ton
$.25/cord of 128 cubic feet or $0.10 per ton

$.015/piece or $0.15 per ton

$.025/piece or $0.17 per ton

$.125/100 pieces or $0.15 per ton

$.75/1000' log scale (Doyle rule) or $3.125/1000’ lineal or $0.15 per ton
$.50/1000' log scale (Doyle rule) or $3.125/1000’ lineal or $0.15 per ton
$1.875/1000 board feet (Doyle scale) or $0.205 per ton

$.15/400 pound barrel

$.125/ton

$.25/190 cubic feet or $0.10 per ton

There is also a privilege tax of 50% of the severance tax above against processors of forest products and

manufacturers using forest products.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue, remitted to state treasury quarterly.

Fiscal Year
2013-14

2012-13

2011-12

Collections ($) Percent Change
5,460,225 3.23

5,289,363 4.00

5,085,903 29

Forest Products Severance Tax
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2010-11 5,071,271 1.08

2009-10 5,016,858 6.21

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
After cost of collection is deducted, proceeds are deposited into the Special State Forestry Fund. Not less
than 85% must be expended for forest protection and no portion of the Fund reverts to the State General

Fund at the end of any fiscal year.

Major Exemptions:
Individual owners who occasionally sever timber from their own premises for the construction or repair of

their own buildings, home consumption, or use in processing their farm products.

Legislative History:

Acts 1945, No. 169, p. 285
Established forest products severance tax (see act for various rates).

Acts 1967, No. 763, p. 1619
Increased the tax rates as follows: $.30 per 1000’ for pine lumber sold as logs; $.12 per 1000’ for
hardwood and others; $.10 per cord for pulpwood.

Acts 1973, No. 500, p. 738
Levied a privilege tax against the processor or manufacturer of forest products in the amount of 50%
of the tax on the severer.

Acts 1985, No. 700, p. 1141
Increased the tax rates (see act for various rates).

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 842, p. 315
Increased forest products severance tax rates to present rates; and prohibited the levy of any local tax
on severing, processing or manufacturing of forest products.

Acts 1993, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 888, p. 158
Provided the option to pay forest products severance tax based on either volume (existing law) or

weight (new law).

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia and Tennessee

No comparable tax.
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Mississippi
Timber severance tax of $1 per 1000 board feet, or $.12 per ton for pine and soft woods; $.75 per
1000 board feet, or $.08 per ton for hardwoods; $.225 per cord for pulpwood, except pine; $.30
per cord of pine pulpwood; $.75 per 1000 board feet for lumber including crossties; $.30 per
barrel of 400 Ibs. for turpentine crude gum; $3.60 per 100 cubic feet for poles, piling, posts,
stanchions and the like; $.25 per ton for stumpwood, lightwood or other distillate; and $.75 per
1000 board feet or $.375 per standard cord for all other timber products. For timber products
purchased by cubic feet, other than poles, piling, posts and stanchions, $.55 per 100 cubic feet for

pine or soft woods; and $.41 per 100 cubic feet for hardwoods.
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Freight Line Equipment Companies Tax

Statutory Authority:

Section 40-21-52, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, as limited by the federal Railroad Revitalization and

Regulatory Reform Act.

Tax Base:
Privilege tax on any person or firm operating, renting or leasing private railroad cars for transportation of

freight.

Tax Rate:

3.5% of 20% of the market value of the number of cars within the state for the preceding fiscal year.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue; company reports are filed each March 1, and payments are due within 30

days of prescribed date.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 3,101,959 (9.24)

2012-13 3,417,879 (4.69)

2011-12 3,586,112 1.23

2010-11 3,542,668 (2.81)

2009-10 3,645,232 8.21

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Legislative History:
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established tax at 2% of 60% of the value of the average number of cars.
Acts 1971, No. 1413, p. 2408
Changed the tax rate to 3.5% of 30% of the value of the average number of railroad cars.
Public Law 94-210, 90 Stat. 54, February 5, 1976
Limited the assessment rate of railroad transportation equipment, for purposes of state and local
taxation, to the rate that applied to all other commercial and industrial property, and thereby reduced

the assessment rate of the freight line equipment tax to 20% (current rate).
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Department of Revenue determines the assessed value of the average number of cars in Florida
and certifies the same to the local taxing jurisdiction based on the number of track miles in the
jurisdiction. The local taxing jurisdiction then applies the appropriate millage and bills the railroad
and private car lines.

Georgia
Railroad equipment company cars are taxed at the regular rate imposed upon property in the
state on a valuation based on the proportion of the entire value of the cars that the car wheel
mileage made in Georgia to the entire car-wheel mileage of cars in the country. Additionally, cars
are taxed at the regular rate imposed upon property in each local taxing jurisdiction on a valuation
based on the proportion of the entire value of the cars that the track mileage in the local taxing
jurisdiction bears to the entire track mileage of the state.

Mississippi
No comparable tax based on number of cars.

Tennessee

No comparable tax based on number of cars. The Tennessee Comptroller of the Treasury assesses
railroads' equipment and property at 40% of value for real property and 30% for personal

property. The local taxing jurisdiction then applies the appropriate tax rate.
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Gasoline Tax (and Gasoline Portion of the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax)

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 93 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 354, now

appearing as Section 111.06 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as

amended.
Amendment No. 93 (proclaimed ratified November 19, 1952) provided that no monies derived from
any fee, excise or license tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of
vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose
other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways and
bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of traffic regulation,
and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Amendment No. 354 (proclaimed
ratified November 10, 1976) expanded upon Amendment No. 93 to allow for the distribution of
proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the
Legislature.
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities
pursuant to authority granted by the state.

*The following provisions were enacted in 2011 by Acts 2011, No. 565, effective October 1, 2012.

For previous provisions, see the 2012 Tax Guide on our website (www.Ifo.state.al.us).

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-17-320 through 40-17-363 (Gasoline Tax); and Sections 40-17-140 through 40-17-155 (Motor
Carrier Fuel Tax), Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Excise tax on the removal, import, sale/transfer in the bulk transfer/terminal system and blending of motor
fuel (Gasoline Tax). Excise tax upon motor carriers who operate or cause to be operated motor vehicles on

any highway in Alabama (Motor Carrier Fuel Tax).

Tax Rate:
The State of Alabama collects three levies, of $.07, $.05 and $.04, for a total of $.16 per gallon. (See also
Agricultural Fees-Petroleum Commodities Inspection.) Excise tax on motor carrier fuel is at the same rate

as in effect for gasoline.
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Note Regarding Local Rates:

Counties may levy a county gasoline tax if the legislature has passed a local act authorizing the county
commission to do so. The local act usually sets the parameters of the tax and specifies use of the funds.
The local act may provide for a credit of municipal gas taxes paid within that county against the county tax
owed or may exempt payment of a portion of the county tax in municipalities which levy a gasoline tax.
Municipalities may levy a municipal gasoline tax by city ordinance. One-half of the amount levied in the
municipality may be levied in the police jurisdiction. The ability of municipalities to levy a city gasoline tax
may be limited by a legislative act which levies a county gasoline tax - i.e., cities within the county may be

prohibited from levying a municipal gasoline tax, but be given a share of the county tax.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue each month (gasoline tax), and before the last day of April, July, October

and January (motor carrier fuel tax).

Fiscal Year $.07 $.04 $.05 Total®® % Change

2013-14
2012-13
2011-12
2010-11
2009-10

174,570,962
173,774,194
175,689,401
177,664,858
179,073,792

99,754,836
99,299,539
100,393,944
101,522,776
102,327,881

124,693,545
124,124,425
125,492,429
126,903,470
127,909,851

Source: State of Alabama, Department of Revenue, Motor Fuels Section.

399,019,343
397,198,158
401,575,774
406,091,104
409,311,524

0.46
(1.09)

(1.11)

(.79)
lel

Note - Above collections for fiscal years 2010 through 2012 reflect the law as it existed prior to

October 1, 2012.

Distribution:

A total of 1.23% of the $.07 and $.05 per gallon levied is distributed to the Department of Conservation

and Natural Resources and allocated as follows:

(1) 35% of 1% is allocated on a 60/40 basis to the State Water Safety Fund of the Marine Police

Division (will transfer to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency on January 1, 2015) and the

Seafood Fund of the Marine Resources Division, respectively.

(2) 70% of 1% is allocated to the Game and Fish Fund of the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater

Fisheries.

2 The figures are net (after deduction of refunds). Figures shown are prior to deduction of Department of Revenue administrative
expenses. Includes gasoline excise taxes and gasoline portion of the motor carrier fuel taxes.
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(3) An additional 18% of 1% is allocated on a 60/40 basis to the State Water Safety Fund of the
Marine Police Division (will transfer to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency on January 1, 2015)
and the Seafood Fund of the Marine Resources Division, respectively.

Note: The allocations in (2) and (3) come from the gasoline tax receipts allocated to the Public Road and
Bridge Fund.

(4) The remaining proceeds from the $.07 per gallon levy, the entire proceeds from the $.04 per
gallon levy and 40% of the remaining proceeds from the $.05 per gallon levy are distributed: 45%
to the Department of Transportation’s Public Road and Bridge Fund; 55% to the 67 counties and
the municipal governing bodies located therein. Of the 55%, 45.4545% is distributed equally
among all 67 counties and 54.5454% is distributed among all 67 counties on basis of population.
10% of each county's portion of the tax proceeds is shared with the municipal governing bodies
located therein on the ratio of the population of each municipality to the total population of all
municipalities in the county.

(5) 60% of the net proceeds from the $.05 per gallon levy are distributed to the Public Road and
Bridge Fund. Of that amount, $500,000 each fiscal year is used for the construction, maintenance

and repair of public roads in the state parks system.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Motor fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal

issued destination state shipping document that is:

(@) Exported by a supplier who is licensed in the destination state or

(b) Sold by a supplier to a licensed exporter for immediate export to a state for which the applicable
destination state motor fuel excise tax has been collected by the supplier who is licensed to remit
the tax to the destination state.

(2) K-1 kerosene or aviation jet fuel that is produced at a refinery in Alabama and is either exported
directly by the operator of the refinery or sold for immediate export by the operator to a licensed
exporter with proper documentation.

(3) Sales of dyed diesel fuel

(4) Gasoline blendstocks when sold to:

(@) Licensed supplier or
(b) Person who will not be using blendstocks in the manufacture of gasoline or as a motor fuel (with

exemption certificate).
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(5) Motor fuel sold by licensed supplier or licensed permissive supplier to an exempt agency under
Section 40-17-332 (United States government or agency thereof, any county governing body of state,
any incorporated municipal governing body of state, city and county boards of education of state,
Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind and Alabama Department of Youth Services school district,
and private and church school systems as defined in Section 16-28-1, Code of Alabama 1975, as
amended).

(6) Motor fuel delivered by a licensed supplier from one terminal to another terminal when ownership in
the motor fuel has not changed or by a licensed supplier from a terminal to a refinery operated by the
licensed supplier.

(7) From the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax:

(@) Any department, board, bureau, commission or taxing area or other agency of the federal
government, State of Alabama, or any political subdivision thereof.

(b) Any school bus operated by the State of Alabama, any political subdivision thereof, or any private
or privately operated school or schools.

Refund Eligibility:

(1) Licensed distributor — on monthly basis on taxes paid on gallons sold by that distributor to
licensed exempt agencies (as defined above)

(2) Exporter — on monthly basis on taxes paid to the state on gallons exported by exporter (with
proof)

(3) Exempt entities (as defined above) — on quarterly basis for any purchases of motor fuel (or issuer
of card if charged to credit card issued to the exempt entity)

(4) End users who first pay tax on gallons of gasoline blendstocks not used in manufacture of
gasoline or as motor fuel — on quarterly basis

(5) Tax paid on motor fuel that is lost or destroyed as direct result of sudden and unexpected casualty
or becomes unsalable or unusable as highway fuel due to such things as contamination by dye or
mixture of gasoline and diesel

(6) Tax paid on transmix not used as motor fuel or that is delivered to refinery for further processing -
on quarterly basis

(7) Tax paid on motor fuel within the bulk transfer system with sufficient proof that a second tax had
been paid pursuant to Section 40-17-325 or the fuel was exported to another state or country -

on monthly basis.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1923, No. 62, p. 36

Established the excise tax on gasoline at $.02 per gallon.

Acts 1927, No. 340, p. 326
Increased tax to $.04 per gallon.

Acts 1931, No. 743, p. 859
Increased tax to $.05 per gallon.

Acts 1932, No. 324, p. 314
Increased tax to $.06 per gallon.

Acts 1955, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 44, p. 73
Increased tax to $.07 per gallon.

Acts 1961, No. 674, p. 925
Provided further for the taxation of gasoline and/or motor fuel sold to or withdrawn from storage or
used in the state by motor carriers by establishing a separate excise tax on motor carrier fuel.

Acts 1980, No. 427, p. 590
Levied an additional excise tax of $.04 per gallon on gasoline, motor fuel and lubricating oil.

Acts 1987, No. 675, p. 1205
Authorized municipalities to use proceeds from the $.04 tax on gasoline, motor fuel and lubricating oil
for new road construction.

Acts 1992, No. 203, p. 486
Levied an additional excise tax of $.05 per gallon on gasoline and provided for its distribution.
Proportionately increased refund on gasoline for agricultural use and static testing of engines.

Acts 2000, No. 736, p. 1608
Provided additional allocations from the gross $.07 and $.05 receipts of 70% of 1% to the Game and
Fish Fund and 18% of 1% (60% to State Water Safety Fund and 40% to Seafood Fund.) These
allocations are deducted from the portion of gasoline tax revenues otherwise credited to the Public
Road and Bridge Fund.

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084
Effective October 1, 2012, amended, repealed, and reenacted the state gasoline and motor fuel taxes
at the same rates as the taxes were previously levied. Changed the point of collection of the taxes
from the distributor to the supplier. Expanded the administrative discounts allowed to distributors and

suppliers for the collection of fuel taxes. Appropriated $150,000 from the revenues collected to the
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Department of Revenue for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2012. Each fiscal year thereafter, an
amount of revenue will be appropriated to the Department to offset its cost of administering the act.
Acts 2013, No. 402, p. 1541
Allowed the proceeds of the four cent excise tax on gasoline and oil distributed to the counties to be
used for vegetation management.
Acts 2014, No. 105, p. 169
Amended current law relating to bonds and notes of the Alabama Federal Aid Highway Finance
Authority to provide that so much of the state’s share of net gasoline tax proceeds as shall be
necessary shall be pledged and appropriated for the purpose of providing funds to enable the

Authority to pay principal and interest of obligations.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Excise tax on gasoline of $.04 per gallon. An additional fuel sales tax is levied at a rate adjusted
annually based on the change in the Consumer Price Index. For 2013, the total rate is $.278 per
gallon (does not include all local taxes). In addition, gasoline is subject to the 6% sales tax. The
motor carrier tax is at a rate that includes the motor and special fuel tax rates, the state
comprehensive enhanced transportation system tax rate, the sales tax rate, and the minimum local
special fuels rates.
Georgia
Excise tax on gasoline of $.075 per gallon plus an additional prepaid state sales tax of 3% (state,
counties, and municipalities) or 4% (all others). Local taxes may also apply. The motor carrier fuel
rate is equivalent to the taxes imposed by the motor fuels tax (using 3% prepaid sales tax rate).
Mississippi
Excise tax on gasoline of $.18 per gallon, and an additional $.004 for environmental protection.
The motor carrier privilege tax is imposed at the prevailing excise tax rates for motor fuels.
Tennessee
Tax on gasoline of $.20 per gallon, an additional $.004 environmental assurance fee, plus a $.01

per gallon special tax. Motor carriers are subject to a highway user fuel tax.
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Hospital and Health Care Facility Review of Plans and Inspection Fee

Statutory Authority:
Sections 22-21-40 through 22-21-46, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
A review and inspection fee for new construction, additions or alterations of hospitals or health care

facilities as defined in Section 22-21-20 and rules of the State Board of Health.

Tax Rate:

The estimated fee is based on the architect’s estimated cost of construction, at the following rates:

Construction Cost Fee (% of construction cost)
Up to $100,000 Greater of $500 or 1.2%
$100,001 - $1,000,000 Greater of $1,200 or 0.5%
$1,000,001 - $5,000,000 Greater of $5,000 or 0.2%
$5,000,001 - $15,000,000 Greater of $10,000 or 0.1%
Over $15,000,000 $15,000

Initial fee of $500, to be paid upon submission of the first drawing for each project. Upon written approval
of the final stage drawings, 75% of the estimated fee, less the initial $500 payment, is paid. At the final

building inspection, the remainder of the fee, based on the actual cost of construction, is due. If more than
four plan reviews and one final inspection visit are required an additional fee, equal to 15% of the total fee

above, shall be paid for each additional submittal or inspection.

Collections:

By the State Board of Health.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 409,599 (21.85)

2012-13 524,146 11.53
2011-12 469,956 9.89
2010-11 427,644 15.11

2009-10 371,495 (11.63)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report - Comptroller's Office.
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Distribution:
To the Department of Public Health Plan Review Fund.

Major Exemptions:

Alabama Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation, facilities operated by the federal
government, local health departments and private offices of physicians and dentists.

Legislative History:

Acts 2000, No. 686, p. 1393
Established the review and inspection fees at the current rate and the Department of Public Health
Plan Review Fund.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
An application fee of $2,000 for review of plans and construction on all health care facility
projects, no part of which is refundable. In addition, the state may collect a fee not to exceed 1%
of the estimated construction cost or the actual cost of review whichever is less, for the portion of
the review which encompasses initial review through initial construction document review. The
state may also collect its actual cost on all subsequent reviews and construction inspections. All of
the review, including construction surveys, will be at $100 per hour and/or based upon the actual
cost of the review (including travel expenses) for the remaining portion of the plan reviews and
construction surveys.

Georgia
No comparable fee identified.

Mississippi
The reviewing of architectural plans in all steps of building or renovating a hospital and other
health care facilities is required. The fee for the review is a minimum of $50 up to a maximum fee
of $5,000.

Tennessee

Fee schedule for review of plans and specifications for construction:

Total Construction Cost Fee
$0.00 to $1,000,000.00 $2.50 per thousand or fraction thereof (a minimum of
$250,00)

$1,000,000.01 or more $2,500 for first $1,000,000.01 plus $2.00 for each additional
thousand or fraction thereof

$100.00 For letter stating plans are not required to be reviewed.
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Total Construction Cost

Fee schedule for review of plans and specifications for construction:

Fee

$300.00 Fee for review of plans and specifications for minor
renovations, locking hardware, hood and duct suppression

$300.00 Fee for review of plans and specifications for Home for
Aged licensed for six (6) beds or less
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Hospital and Nursing Home License Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 22-21-20 through 22-21-34, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A license fee imposed on those operating a hospital as defined in Section 22-21-20 of the Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended, including long term care facilities, hospices, domiciliary care facilities,
abortion or reproductive health centers, independent clinical laboratories, assisted living facilities, and
other health care institutions.

Tax Rate:

For a hospital other than an assisted living facility or specialty care assisted living facility the initial fee is
$200, plus $5 per bed for each bed over 10 beds. Increase in a hospital's bed capacity during the calendar
year is assessed at the standard fee of $200 plus $5 each for the net gain in beds. For an assisted living
facility or specialty care assisted living facility the initial fee is $200, plus $15 for each bed. All licenses

expire December 31.

Collections:

By the State Board of Health.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 736,337 2.09

2012-13 721,242 74

2011-12 715,977 (7.02)

2010-11 769,958 3.30
2009-10 745,364 3.63

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
To the State Board of Health for expenditure by the State Department of Public Health for the operation of

the hospital licensure and regulation program.

Major Exemptions:

Hospitals operated by the federal government, mental hospitals under the supervision of the board of
trustees of the Alabama state hospitals, local health departments and private offices of physicians and

dentists.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1949, No. 530, p. 835

Established the regulation and licensure of hospitals and other health care facilities by the State Board
of Health. Licensure fee set at $30 for facilities having less than 50 beds and $50 if more than 50 beds;
provided that the operation of a hospital without a license is a misdemeanor; and provided the
penalties and fines associated with this act.

Acts 1962, Ex. Sess., No. 122, p. 157
Included domiciliary institutions and other health care institutions in definition of "hospital" for
purposes of this tax.

Acts 1975, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 140, p- 382
Further defined "hospital" for purposes of this tax and set fee for licensure at $60 plus $1 per bed plus
an additional $60 fee plus $1 each for the net gain in beds during the calendar year.

Acts 1980, No. 642, p. 1213
Application fee set at $100 plus $3 per bed plus an additional $100 fee plus $3 each for the net gain in
beds during the calendar year.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 902, p. 470
Application fee set at $200 plus $5 per bed plus a $200 fee plus $5 each for the net gain in beds
during the calendar year.

Acts 1991, No. 548, p. 1010
Included hospices in definition of “hospital” for purposes of this tax.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1058, p. 1044
Provided further for licensing and regulation of assisted living facilities; provided for license fees (for
an assisted living facility at $200 plus $15 for each bed) and penalties of $250 or 100% of the renewal

fee whichever is greater for failure to renew licenses of assisted living facilities at current rates.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
(1) Hospitals — License fee — $31 per bed; the minimum fee is $1,542 (biennial).
(2) Nursing Homes — Biennial license fee required of a facility is $112.50 per bed.
(3) Assisted Living Facility — $382 application fee plus $64 per bed fee. In addition each licensed
facility must pay a biennial fee of $538 for extended congregate care services plus $10 per
resident based on total licensed resident capacity of the facility and $318 limited nursing

service application fee and a $10 per bed fee on total resident capacity.
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(4)

(5)

(6)

7)

8)

©)

Home Health Agency - License fee - $1,705 plus $58.25 for FBI background screening if
applicable.

Companion/Homemaker Services - Registration fee - $50 plus $55.50 for FBI background
screening if applicable.

Adult Day Care Center - License fee — $170 (biennial) plus $55.50 for FBI background
screening if applicable.

Hospice - License fee - $1,200 per license (biennial) plus $55.50 for FBI background screening
if applicable.

Health Care Clinic Licensure - $2,000 (biennial) plus $55.50 for FBI background screening if
applicable.

Intermediate Care Facilities for Developmentally Disabled Persons — License fee - $259 per bed
plus $55.50 for FBI background screening if applicable. Background screening is required

every five years.

(10) Multiphasic Health Testing Center - $643 biennial licensure fee plus $55.50 for a background

check if applicable.

(11) Home for Special Services - $86 per bed not to exceed $1,098 biennially plus $55.50 for

background screening if applicable.

(12) Adult Family Care Home - $225 biennial licensure fee plus $55.50 for background screening if

applicable.

(13) Ambulatory Surgical Center - $1,655 biennial licensure fee.

Georgia

Annual licenses:

1)
)
3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
)

Adult Day Care - $250 (social), $350 (medical)
Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Centers - $750
Birthing Centers - $250
Clinical Laboratories - $500
Community Living Arrangements - $350
Drug Abuse Treatment Programs - $500
End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD)Centers
a. 1-12 stations - $600
b. 13-24 stations - $1,000
c. 25 or more stations - $1,100

d. Stand alone ESRD facilities offering Peritoneal Dialysis only - $800
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(8) Eye Banks - $250
(9) HMOs - $2,000
(10) Home Health Agencies - $1,000
(11) Hospices - $1,000
(12) Hospitals
a. Lessthan 25 beds - $250
b. 25 to 50 beds - $750
c.  More than 50 beds - $1,500
(13)Imaging Centers - $3,000
(14)Infirmaries - $250
(15)ICF/MR (private) - $250
(16) Narcotic Treatment Programs - $1,500
(17) Nursing Homes
a. 1to99 beds - $500
b. More than 99 beds - $750
(18) Personal Care Homes
a. Lessthan 25 beds - $350
b. 25 to 50 beds - $750
¢c. More than 50 beds - $1,500
(19) Private Home Care Providers
a. Companion Sitter- Less than 50 FTEs - $200; 50 or more FTEs - $400
b. Nursing Services Only - Less than 50 FTEs - $500; 50 or more FTEs - $750
¢.  Nursing Services and Companion Sitter - Less than 50 FTEs - $750; 50 or more FTEs -
$1,000
(20) Traumatic Brain Injury Facilities - $250
(21) X-Ray Facilities - $300 annually
Mississippi
Annual fees are as follows: hospitals, $20 per bed at a minimum of $500 and a maximum of
$5,000; Home Health Agencies, $1,000; ambulatory surgical facilities, $3,000; birthing centers,
$3,000; nursing homes, $20 per bed at a minimum of $200 (county or state facilities exempt);
abortion clinics, $3,000; Hospices, $1,000 per location; personal care homes, $15 per bed and a

$100 initial application fee, inpatient facilities, $18 per bed.
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Tennessee

(1) Hospitals, nursing homes, assisted-care living facilities, residential hospice and HIV supportive

living facility.
Bed Capacity Annual Fee

Less than 25 $ 800

25 through 49 $1,000

50 through 74 $1,200

75 through 99 $1,400

100 through 124 $1,600

125 through 149 $1,800

150 through 174 $2,000

175 through 199 $2,200

Facilities with 200 beds or more pay a flat rate of $2,400 + $200 for each additional 25 beds or
fraction thereof.

(2) Ambulatory surgical treatment centers, home health agencies, birthing centers, hospice
agencies, end stage renal disease facilities, outpatient diagnostic centers, and prescribed child
care centers - $1,080.

(3) Residential homes for aged.

Bed Capacity Annual Fee

Less than 25 $ 800
25 through 49 $1,000
50 through 74 $1,200
75 through 99 $1,400
100 through 124 $1,600
125 through 149 $1,800
150 through 174 $2,000
175 through 199 $2,200

Facilities with 200 beds or more pay a flat rate of $2,400 + $200 for each additional 25 beds or
fraction thereof.
(4) Professional Support Services is $270 if one of the following apply:
(@) The facility is licensed by the Department of Mental Health and Developmental
Disabilities.
(b) Applicant is a therapist who is licensed as an occupational and/or physical therapist or

as a Speech Language Pathologist and Audiologists.

Hospital and Nursing Home License Fees Page 206



(c) Applicant is a home care organization owned or controlled by another home care
organization. The fee is $1,080 for a home care organization authorized to provide

professional support services only.
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Hydroelectric Kilowatt Hour Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-1-31 and 40-21-56, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Privilege tax levied on each person, firm, corporation, agent or officer engaged in the manufacture and

sale of hydroelectric power within Alabama.

Tax Rate:
2/5 mill (.04%) per kilowatt-hour of hydroelectric power manufactured and sold during the preceding

calendar year.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue; payable in advance, due on or before September 25 of each year, based
on power manufactured and sold during the preceding calendar year.
Fiscal Year Collections ($)24 Percent Change
2013-14 791,335 (99.42)
2012-13 5,516 (99.42)

2011-12 945,615 (14.91)

2010-11 1,111,283 (35.62)
2009-10 1,726,092 50.76

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
After deducting the cost of collection, 42% is deposited into the Education Trust Fund and 58% is

deposited into the Special Mental Health Fund.

Legislative History:
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established present tax rate of 2/5 mill per kilowatt-hour and provided that it be distributed to the
Special Educational Trust Fund.
Acts 1957, No. 551, p. 772

Changed due date from October 1 to September 25 of each year.

2% Gross collections (prior to deduction of cost of collection).
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Acts 1971, No. 1414, p. 2410

Changed distribution of tax from Special Educational Trust Fund to present distribution.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable tax. See UTILITY TAXES.
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Illegal Drug Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-17A-1 through 40-17A-16, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Excise tax on illegal possession, distribution, sale, importation, transfer or use of marijuana or other

controlled substance(s).

Tax Rate:
Each gram of marijuana, or each portion thereof - $3.50; each gram of controlled substance, or each
portion thereof - $200; each 50 dosage units of a controlled substance not sold by weight, or portion

thereof - $2,000. Penalty for nonpayment is 100% of the tax in addition to the tax imposed.

Collections:
Stamps are to be purchased immediately from the Department of Revenue when a dealer purchases,
acquires, transports, or imports into Alabama the illegal drug. The Department may make a jeopardy

assessment or collection of the taxes due.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 531 (88.50)

2012-13 4,615 72411
2011-12 560 3.90

2010-11 539 (57.10)

2009-10 1,257 99.52

Source: “"Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:
After deduction of administrative and enforcement expenses, all proceeds received or collected are

deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

Persons registered to manufacture, distribute, or dispense controlled substances or persons otherwise

lawfully in possession of marijuana or a controlled substance.

Legislative History:
Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 785, p. 218

Established the tax at the current rates and provided for the distribution of proceeds.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida and Mississippi

No comparable tax.

Georgia

Marijuana and controlled substances used, possessed, consumed, stored or transferred in the

state are subject to a tax equal to $3.50 on each gram, or portion thereof, of marijuana, and $200

per gram, or portion thereof, of a controlled substance. The tax on each ten dosage units, or

portion thereof, of a substance that is not sold by weight is $400.

Tennessee

An excise tax is levied on unauthorized substances possessed, either actually or constructively, by

dealers at the following rates:

D

)

©)

4)
(5)

(6)

()

8)

©)

Forty cents ($.40) for each gram, or fraction thereof, of harvested marijuana stems and stalks
that have been separated from and are not mixed with any other parts of the marijuana plant.
Three dollars and fifty cents ($3.50) for each gram, or fraction thereof, of marijuana, other than
separated stems and stalks taxed under (1) above or (3) below.

Three hundred fifty ($350) per plant, whether growing or detached from the soil, on each
marijuana plant with foliation.

Fifty dollars ($50) for each gram, or fraction thereof, of cocaine.

Two hundred dollars ($200) for each gram, or fraction thereof, of any other controlled
substance, controlled substance analogue or low-street-value drug that is sold by weight.
Fifty dollars ($50) for each ten dosage units, or fraction thereof, of any low-street-value drug
that is not sold by weight.

Two hundred dollars ($200) for each ten dosage units, or fraction thereof, of any other
controlled substance or controlled substance analogue that is not sold by weight.

Thirty-one dollars and seventy cents ($31.70) for each gallon, or fraction thereof, of illicit
alcoholic beverages sold by the drink.

Twelve dollars eighty cents ($12.80) for each gallon, or fraction thereof, of illicit alcoholic

beverage not sold by the drink.
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Income Tax

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 25 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 211.01 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proclaimed ratified August 2,
1933).
Authorized the Legislature to levy and collect taxes on net income at a rate not to exceed 5% (3% on
corporations). Provided minimum exemptions from net income of $1,500 for single taxpayers, $3,000
for married couples and $300 per dependent under age 18.
Amendment No. 61 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 211.02 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proclaimed ratified September
11, 1947).
Provided for distribution of income tax receipts to (1) replace revenue lost to the funds affected by the
state homestead exemption; and (2) the Education Trust Fund to be used only for the payment of
public school teachers' salaries.
Amendment No. 212 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 211.03 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proclaimed ratified December
18, 1963).
Increased allowable maximum corporate income tax rate to 5%, with deduction allowed for all federal
income taxes paid. Taxes due by foreign corporations are to be based on income derived from sources
within Alabama. (Further amended by Amendment No. 662).
Amendment No. 225 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 211.04 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proclaimed ratified December
13, 1965).
Provided deduction for federal income taxes paid by individual taxpayers.
Amendment No. 662 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 211.03 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proclaimed ratified June 19,
2000).

Increased the corporate income tax rate to 6.5% beginning in calendar year 2001.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-18-1 through 40-18-363, 40-27-1, 40-27-1.1, 40-30-1 through 40-30-6, and 40-31-1 through
40-31-4, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
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Tax Base:
A tax on the entire net income of every individual residing in Alabama, of every nonresident deriving
income from within Alabama, and of every corporation domiciled in Alabama or deriving income from

sources within Alabama.

Tax Rate:

Individual Income Tax

Household

Single Persons, Head of Family, and Married Persons Filing Separate
Returns

First $500 of taxable income 2%

Next $2,500 of taxable income 4%

All taxable income over $3,000 5%

Married Persons Filing Joint Return

First $1,000 of taxable income

Next $5,000 of taxable income

All taxable income over $6,000

Corporate Income Tax
e Rate: 6.5% of taxable income

e Corporations that do business in more than one state must determine the income apportioned to
Alabama by a four-part formula set forth in Section 40-27-1, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue.

(1) Individuals: Taxpayers that expect to owe $500 or more must file and pay estimated tax quarterly and
remit one-fourth of the estimated amount due on the 15" of April, June, September and January.
Returns are due annually by April 15, except if on the fiscal year basis, which is due 105 days after
close of fiscal year. If balance is due after credits for payments on an estimate and withheld tax, it must
be remitted when the return is filed.

(2) Corporations: Corporations with anticipated tax liability of $500 or more must file and pay estimates
on a quarterly basis by April 15, or by the 15" day of the fourth month of the fiscal year. The other
quarterly payments are due on the 15™ day of the sixth, ninth and twelfth months of the fiscal year.

The balance of the tax owed after credits for taxes paid through estimates is due and payable on
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March 15 following the close of the calendar year or, if on a fiscal year basis, then on the 15th day of

the third month following the close of the fiscal year. Any corporation filing as a federal S Corporation

must file as an Alabama S Corporation and remit any tax due on or before the 15" day of the third

month following the close of the accounting period.

Year
2013-14

2012-13
2011-12
2010-11
2009-10

Year
2013-14

2012-13
2011-12
2010-11
2009-10

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

After deducting cost of collection and current year refunds:

Income Tax - Individuals

Gross Collections

3,752,015,058
3,753,387,566
3,537,164,104
3,378,120,521
3,214,256,073

Refunds
545,431,933

550,867,831
519,727,240
582,217,019
625,006,862

Net Collections

3,206,583,125
3,202,519,735
3,017,436,864
2,795,903,502
2,589,249,211

Income Tax - Corporations

Gross Collections
469,220,261

450,521,057
422,668,391
369,377,543
463,617,151

Refunds
91,407,983

101,222,489
43,365,571
78,574,771
51,700,541

Net Collections
377,812,278

349,298,568
379,302,820
290,802,772
411,916,610

Percent Change
13

6.13

7.92

7.98
(2.76)

Percent Change
8.16

(7.91)
3043
(29.40)

(8.17)

(1) That portion of revenues necessary to reimburse the Property Tax Relief Fund for state homestead

ad valorem tax exemptions is deposited into the State General Fund, the State Soldiers' Relief

Fund, and the Public School Fund.

(2) The balance is deposited into the Education Trust Fund solely for the payment of public school

teachers' salaries.

Major Exemptions/Credits/Deductions:

For a listing of exemptions, credits and deductions, see Sections 16-6D-8, 16-6D-9, 16-60-351, 40-18-2.1,

40-18-3, 40-18-14, 40-18-14.1, 40-18-15, 40-18-15.2, 40-18-15.3, 40-18,15.4, 40-18-15.5, 40-18-16, 40-18-

19, 40-18-19.1, 40-18-19.2, 40-18-20, 40-18-21, 40-18-32, 40-18-35, 40-18-35.1, 40-18-132, 40-18-136,

40-18-190 through 40-18-203, 40-18-205 through 40-18-215, 40-18-220, 40-18-240 through 40-18-250,

40-18-270 through 40-18-272, 40-18-290 through 40-18-293, 40-18-310 through 40-18-313, 40-18-320
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through 40-18-324, 40-18-340 through 40-18-344, and 40-18-360 through 40-18-363, Code of Alabama
1975, as amended.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established income tax at present rates for individuals and at 3% for corporations.

Acts 1951, No. 208, p. 470
Allowed for an optional standard deduction of 7% or $500, whichever is less.

Acts 1951, No. 842, p. 1473
Provided for appropriation from income tax receipts to the Property Tax Relief Fund to replace
revenue losses which result from the homestead exemption.

Acts 1963, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 104, p. 284
Increased the corporation tax rate to 5% of net income.

Acts 1965, No. 748, p. 1354
Raised the standard deduction to 10% of adjusted gross income or $1,000, whichever is less.

Acts 1979, No. 618, p. 1088
Increased the religious, charitable, scientific or educational deduction allowed to individuals for state
income tax purposes from 15% to 20% of the taxpayer's net income.

Acts 1983, No. 741, p. 1214
Required filing and declarations of estimated income tax by corporations. (One-time windfall for
Education Trust Fund.)

Acts 1985, No. 515, p. 517
Adopted federal rules on computing gain or loss on gift or trust property; adopted federal rules on
itemized deductions in computing an individual net operating loss; removed sales requirement on S
corporations; removed the sunset provision for corporate net operating loss; plus other federal law
conformity changes.

Acts 1988, No. 952, p. 575
Provided for the withholding of wager winnings at pari-mutuel tracks.

Acts 1988, No. 954, p. 669
Conformed Alabama law to federal income tax law regarding interest deductions from income.
Changes phased out deductions for consumer (personal) interest which increased income tax receipts.
The resulting net gain to the Education Trust Fund from this act was offset by a percentage diversion

of lodgings tax receipts and leasing or rental of tangible property tax receipts from the Education
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Trust Fund to the State General Fund. (See Lodgings Tax and Leasing or Renting of Tangible Personal
Property.)

Acts 1990, No. 554, p. 912
Provided a deduction for individuals for certain adoption expenses.

Acts 1990, No. 583, p. 988
Conformed Alabama law to federal income tax law regarding determination of basis, recognition of
gain (or loss), inventory methods, accounting methods, items included in gross income and allowable
deductions of individuals, certain deductions for corporations and the reporting of gains on the
installment basis.

Acts 1990, No. 596, p. 1041
Extended the existing income tax exemptions on firefighters' and peace officers' retirement income to
their beneficiaries; exempted all retirement income of firefighters and peace officers and their
beneficiaries effective for the taxable year beginning January 1, 1991; exempted retirement income of
U.S. Government retirees, private defined benefit plan beneficiaries (effective January 1, 1991) and
military retirees and their beneficiaries (effective January 1, 1989); and clarified the elimination of state
and local tax payments as a deduction from state taxable income.

Acts 1991, No. 480, p. 869
Extended the retirement income exemption to all "defined benefit" plans. Prior to this change only
"private defined benefit" plans were exempt.

Acts 1993, No. 313, p. 470
Provided an income tax credit of $5,000 for a period not to exceed five consecutive years to qualifying
rural physicians

Acts 1993, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 852, p. 95
Allowed for deductions from taxable income for the amount of any aid or assistance provided to the
State Industrial Development Authority in order to induce an approved company to undertake a major
project in the state.

Acts 1993, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 907, p. 204
Provided for a tax credit for employers of 20% of the costs of an approved basic skills education

program.
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Acts 1995, No. 187, p. 250
Repealed tax incentives available to companies through State Industrial Development Authority (Acts
93-851 and 94-370); and provided for a corporate income tax credit to qualified companies that
expand or locate in the state. Available for maximum of 20 years.

Acts 1995, No. 239, p. 403
Allowed a credit against corporate income tax for coal produced in the state. ($1 per ton for increased
production over previous year’'s production.)

Acts 1995, No. 591, p. 1251
Amended corporate income tax law to allow foreign corporations the option of classifying dividends
from subsidiaries not doing business in the state as either: (1) apportionable business income or (2)
nonbusiness income allocable to the state of the corporation’s commercial domicile. Applicable only
to dividends paid or deemed paid prior to July 31, 1995.

Acts 1995, No. 738, p. 1578
Allowed for an income tax deduction for the amount of premiums paid pursuant to a qualifying
insurance contract for qualified long-term care coverage.

Acts 1996, No. 526, p. 683
Provided that private and public deferred compensation plans shall receive same tax deferred
treatment for state tax purposes as is allowed for federal tax purposes. (Effective January 1, 1997.)

Acts 1997, No. 446, p. 765
Amended the capital credit (Act 95-187) to allow costs paid by public development authorities to be
included in the calculation of capital costs and made other changes to the credit law.

Acts 1997, No. 547, p. 957
Exempted tuition benefits paid from the Prepaid Affordable College Tuition (PACT) Program from state
income taxation.

Acts 1997, No. 625, p. 1098
Enactment of numerous changes to the state income tax statutes which conformed Alabama'’s
treatment of partnerships, limited liability companies, sub-chapter S corporations and certain trusts to
the treatment allowed for federal income tax purposes; and removed the requirement that individual
business owners who do business in more than one state allocate and apportion income in
accordance with the multistate compact.

Acts 1997, No. 705, p. 1456
Exempted from state income tax an amount up to $25,000 received as severance, unemployment

compensation or termination pay as a result of administrative downsizing.
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Acts 1998, No. 468, p. 903
Increased the threshold for filing individual income tax returns (from $1,500 to $1,875 for single filers
and from $3,000 to $3,750 for joint filers); and eliminated withholding tax from certain workers who
incurred no tax liability in the previous year or expect no liability in the current year.

Acts 1998, No. 502, p. 1083
Enacted numerous changes to state income tax law, many of which conform to federal law including
adoption of federal tax treatment of “Roth IRA’s” and “Education IRA’s.” Allowed corporations to elect
to file consolidated returns; and increased the threshold for filing individual income tax returns (same
as Act 98-468).

Acts 1999, No. 314, p. 423
Clarified pre-existing law relative to the definition of S Corporation; and conformed definition to
Federal law.

Acts 1999, No. 664, p. 124
Increased corporate income tax rate to 6.5% beginning January 1, 2001; and enacted several technical
changes to conform to federal law and changed depletion allowances for oil and gas wells. Contingent
upon ratification of Constitutional Amendment No. 662 (see Constitutional Provisions).

Acts 2000, No. 702, p. 1425
Enacted several technical changes to the state corporate income tax, none of which materially affected
corporate income tax receipts. (Further clarified changes made in Acts 99-664).

Acts 2001, No. 503, p. 886
Created a credit for certain investments in the Alabama State Port Authority infrastructure in new
qualifying projects until December 31, 2005.

Acts 2001, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 965, p. 854
Amended the capital credit program (Acts 95-187 and 97-446) to lower the number of new employees
that must be hired and the minimum investment that must be made to qualify for the credit in a
favored geographical area as defined by the act.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1088, p. 1095
Disallowed certain intangible and interest expense deductions between related entities; clarified the
calculation of the federal income tax deduction and the nonbusiness interest expense deduction for
corporations; disallowed net operating loss deductions for corporations for tax years beginning in
2001; conformed estimated payment rules to federal law; clarified that interest accrues on the entire
amount of the final assessment; and allowed the Commissioner of Revenue to reallocate tax return

items of related entities in certain circumstances.
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Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1089, p- 1113
Limited the use of consolidated returns by corporations; and required corporations that elected to file
consolidated returns to accelerate their December 15, 2002 estimated tax payment to September 15,
2002.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1105, p- 1169
Allowed subchapter K entities to make composite payments and returns on behalf of nonresident
owners; required composite payments in the event that nonresident owners fail to consent to file
returns and pay tax due; and required composite payments for tax years beginning during 2001.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1113, p- 1178
Defined business income for purposes of the Multistate Tax Compact.

Acts 2005, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 269, p. 485
Continued the tax credit authorized by Acts 2001, No. 503 from December 31, 2005 until
December 31, 2010.

Acts 2005, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 270, p. 486
Continued the tax credit authorized by Acts 2001, No. 503 from December 31, 2005 until
December 31, 2010.

Acts 2006, No. 62, p. 75
Exempted from Alabama income tax all income, interest, dividends, gains, or benefits of any kind
received from Alabama Higher Education 529 Fund accounts.

Acts 2006, No. 114, p. 173
“The Subchapter J and Business Trust Conformity Act.” Generally, this act conformed Alabama law to
the federal income tax rules for the taxation of trusts, estates and their beneficiaries. This act applies to
entities taxed under the income tax law as well as entities taxed as financial institutions under the
financial institution excise tax law.

Acts 2006, No. 352, p. 927
Increased the individual income tax threshold by increasing the standard deduction for taxpayers with
adjusted gross income of $30,000 or less and by increasing the dependent exemption for taxpayers
with adjusted gross income of $100,000 or less.

Acts 2006, No. 424, p. 1050
Exempted from Alabama income tax certain death benefit payments made to the designated

beneficiary of any peace officer or fireman killed in the line of duty.
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Acts 2006, No. 503, p. 1145
Consolidated income tax check-off provisions under Section 40-18-140, Code of Alabama 1975, as
amended, and provided for new check-offs for the Alabama Organ Center Donor Awareness Fund and
the Alabama National Guard Foundation.

Acts 2008, No. 275, p. 402
Expanded the income tax capital credit program to include credits for companies that produce
electricity from alternative energy sources.

Acts 2008, No. 377, p. 691
Allowed a deduction for up to $5,000 of contributions made to the Prepaid Affordable College Tuition
program or the Alabama College Education Savings program.

Acts 2008, No. 504, p. 1114
Required income tax withholding on certain sales of real property by nonresidents of Alabama.

Acts 2008, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 543, p. 1175
Disallowed the use of “Captive REITS" to reduce Alabama income tax liability; modified the “add-back”
law (Section 40-18-35); provided that these changes are effective January 1, 2007; and required the
Department of Revenue to waive any penalties otherwise resulting from this act.

Acts 2008, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 549, p. 1192
Exempted rebates provided by the federal Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 from income tax and
decoupled Alabama income tax law from all other provisions of the federal act, including bonus
depreciation and additional Section 179 expensing.

Acts 2008, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 559, p. 1282
Allowed a deduction for an additional 50% of the health insurance premiums paid by qualified
employers and employees.

Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268
Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Provided income tax credits to qualified production
companies for production expenditures equal to 25% of state certified production expenditures,
excluding payroll paid to Alabama residents, plus 35% of all payroll paid to Alabama residents
provided the total production expenditures for a project equal or exceed at least $500,000 but not
more than $10,000,000. Provided similar credits for projects limited only to the production of
soundtracks used in a motion picture if the project expenditures equal or exceed at least $50,000 but
not more than $300,000. Capped the aggregate amount of incentives granted under the act for all
qualified production companies at $5,000,000 for FY 2009; $7,500,000 for FY 2010; and $10,000,000

for FY 2011 and all subsequent fiscal years thereafter.
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Acts 2009, No. 722, p. 2143
Expanded the income tax capital credit program to include credits for certain types of service
industries; increased the base wage requirement for qualifying projects; and imposed penalties on new
qualifying projects that subsequently fail to meet employment or wage requirements.

Acts 2010, No. 254, p. 445
Provided a six month transition for qualifying projects, that were in the developmental stages under
the law existing prior to Act 2009-722, to be approved for tax incentives using the previous base wage
requirements if a letter of intent was provided to the Department of Revenue for the approval of
incentives before November 21, 20009.

Acts 2010, No. 557, p. 1132
Reemployment Act of 2010. Allowed a one-time income tax deduction for employers that create new

jobs for unemployed persons of up to 50% of the gross wages paid to each person hired by an
employer who, at the time of employment, was drawing unemployment compensation or whose
unemployment benefits had expired. The deduction may not be claimed until the employee has been
continuously employed for 12 months following the hire date.

Acts 2010, No. 568, p. 1150
For tax years beginning after December 31, 2009, tied Alabama estimated income tax payment

requirements to the requirements under federal law. As a result, corporations and individuals will be
required to make estimated tax payments if their income tax liability (on income not subject to
withholding) is $500 or more.
Acts 2011, No. 155, p. 285
For tax years beginning after December 31, 2010, increased the additional income tax deduction from
50% to 100% of health insurance premiums paid by employees that:
(1) Have wages of $50,000 or less;
(2) Have adjusted gross income on their Alabama income tax returns of $75,000 or less ($150,000
or less if they are married filing a joint return); and
(3) Work for an employer who has less than 25 employees and that has an employer provided
health insurance plan.
Also increased the additional income tax deduction from 50% to 100% of health insurance premiums
paid on behalf of employees who meet the criteria listed above by employers who have less than 25

employees and who have an employer provided health insurance plan.
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Acts 2011, No. 551, p. 1017
Full Employment Act of 2011. Allows small businesses (50 or fewer employees) to claim a
nonrefundable income or financial institution excise tax credit effective for tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2011 equal to $1,000 for each new job created paying more than $10 per hour. The
credit is available in the tax year during which the employee completes 12 months of consecutive
employment and may only be claimed for employees hired following the date the act was signed by
the Governor.
Acts 2011, No. 616, p. 1394
Amended Section 40-27-1, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, regarding the Multistate Tax Compact
and multistate taxpayers (corporations, partnerships, or other persons acting as a business entity in
more than one state) for all tax years beginning on or after December 31, 2010 to:
(1) Change the sourcing rules for sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, to provide
that sales are sourced to Alabama if the market for the sale is in Alabama.
(2) Double-weight the sales factor in the apportionment of business income.
Acts 2011, No. 644, p. 1640
Allowed homeowners to receive a personal income tax deduction of up to $3,000 for the costs incurred
to retrofit their homes so that the home is more resistant to hurricanes, flooding and catastrophic
windstorm events.
Acts 2011, No. 648, p. 1651
Tariff Credit Act of 2011. Provided income tax and financial institution excise tax credits based on tariffs
paid by qualifying projects with a minimum capital investment of $100 million and 100 new jobs
required. The tariff credit would be $20 million or 25% of the capital costs of the qualifying project,
whichever is less. The total tariff credit to any taxpayer is limited to $50 million. No new tariff credits
may be granted after December 31, 2015, unless a joint resolution continuing the credit is passed by
the Legislature.
Acts 2011, No. 689, p. 2105
Neighborhood Infrastructure Incentive Plan Act of 2011. Authorized homeowners and/or business
owners to establish three to five-member local neighborhood infrastructure authorities to manage,
coordinate, and collect voluntary assessments from homeowners and business owners in the
boundaries of the authorities to participate in infrastructure projects (resurfacing streets, sewer
installation, domestic water service, sidewalks, etc.) in their respective neighborhoods. Each homeowner
and business that pays an assessment to an authority will be eligible for an income tax credit of 10% of

the amount of assessment paid beginning with the 2012 tax year. The credit may not exceed $1,000 in
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any tax year, for a period not exceeding 10 successive tax years. The provisions of this act will
automatically expire December 31, 2015 unless specifically extended by an act of the Legislature;
however, all authorities in existence as of December 31, 2015, will continue in existence until all projects
of the authority are completed and the authority seeks dissolution.
Acts 2011, No. 695, p. 2123
Amended the Entertainment Industry Act of 2009 by redefining criteria used to provide income tax
rebates for qualified production companies as follows:
(1) A single episode in a television series or miniseries may be considered a single production project
with a rebate allowed for the total production expenditures of a single season or multiple seasons, if
they are filmed in twelve consecutive months.
(2) A rebate is allowed for the production of a single commercial or a series of commercials if they:
pertain to the same subject, are filmed in twelve consecutive months, and were planned as a series at
the time the production company applied for incentives.
(3) Expanded the rebate for soundtracks to include documentaries and music videos if the production
expenditures are between $50,000 and $200,000.
(4) Rebates have to be applied to the tax year in which production concludes and if the rebate exceeds
the production company’s tax liability, the excess is no longer rebated back to the production
company.
Acts 2012, No. 54, p. 76
Added companies primarily engaged in the coal mining industry to the list of businesses qualifying for
sales, use, mortgage, deed, and non-educational property tax abatements under the state’'s 1992
abatement law as well as provisions of the state's income tax capital credit; however, the abatement of
state taxes and capital credits for these companies is limited to 50% of the state taxes that would
otherwise be due and 50% of the capital costs, excluding the costs of acquiring land, surveying,
engineering or other incidental costs. The abatements and capital credits allowed by this act will not
be available for projects two years following the effective date of the act, unless the Legislature, by
joint resolution, votes to continue or reinstate the abatements and capital credits.
Acts 2012, No. 168, p. 254
Enacted for the "Heroes for Hire” Tax Credit Act as follows:
(1) In addition to the $1,000 tax credit allowed for employers in the Alabama Full Employment Act of
2011, this act allows for either an additional $1,000 income tax credit or an additional $1,000
financial institution excise tax credit for employers creating new jobs for “recently deployed

unemployed veterans.”
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(2) Allowed for a new tax credit up to $2,000 for “recently deployed unemployed veterans” for
“expenses associated with a start-up business” in which the veteran holds at least 50-percent
ownership.

(3) Limited to only one of the above tax credits per veteran.

Acts 2012, No. 210, p. 351

Enacted the Alabama Data Processing Center Economic Incentive Enhancement Act of 2012. Reduced

the minimum number of new jobs required to be created for a data processing center to qualify for

sales, use, mortgage, deed and noneducational property tax abatements under the state’'s 1992

abatement law as well as the state’s income tax capital credit from 50 jobs to 20 jobs; however, the act

requires a data processing center to have average total compensation, including benefits, of not less
than $40,000 to qualify for the tax abatements. The act also added certain companies classified as
warehousing and storage facilities to the list of businesses qualifying for both tax abatements and
capital credits. The incentives provided in the act will not be available to any company filing an
application after December 31, 2018, unless the act is reauthorized by legislation in that year and once
every five years succeeding the 2019 reauthorization.

Acts 2012, No. 212, p. 378

Amended the Entertainment Industry Act of 2009 to:

(1) Increase the production expenditures cap to $20 million for a state certified production.

(2) Increase the aggregate annual cap on entertainment incentives from $10 million to (1) $15

million for fiscal years 2013 and 2014; and (2) $20 million in subsequent fiscal years.
Acts 2012, No. 385, p. 1025

Allowed businesses qualifying for capital credits that create at least 100 new jobs and have capital

costs of at least $100 million to carry forward the capital credit for a maximum of four years. The act

also allowed those businesses to delay the initial utilization of the capital credit for up to three years
after the project is placed into service. These provisions will be effective for all qualifying projects for
which a project agreement has been entered into prior to December 31, 2011, but which have not
been placed into service as of December 31, 2011, and for all projects for which a project agreement is

entered into after December 31, 2011.

Acts 2012, No. 391, p. 1049

Provided an income tax credit for the purchase, installation, and fuel conversion costs of qualified

irrigation equipment. The credit is equal to 20% of the accrued cost of qualified irrigation equipment

and the cost of constructing a qualified reservoir and any fuel conversion costs, not to exceed $10,000

in any tax year. The credit cannot exceed the taxpayer’'s Alabama income tax liability computed
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without regard to the credit. The credit is effective for the 2012 tax years and subsequent tax years,

and is limited to one per taxpayer.

Acts 2012, No. 413, p. 1123

Provided an income tax deduction for amounts contributed to a catastrophe savings account as

follows:

oY

)

©)

(4)

)

Provides limits for amounts that may be contributed based on the taxpayer’s deductible. If the
taxpayer contributes more than the limit, the excess amount must be withdrawn from the account
and included in income in the year of withdrawal.

A distribution from the account must be included in the taxpayer’'s income unless it is used to
cover qualified catastrophe expenses.

No amount is included in income if the qualified catastrophe expenses during the taxable year are
greater than the aggregate distributions during the taxable year.

If aggregate distributions exceed qualified catastrophe expenses, the amount otherwise included
in income must be reduced by the amount of the distributions for qualified expenses.

Tax paid pursuant to a taxable distribution must be increased by 2.5% of the amount included in
income. However, the additional tax does not apply if the taxpayer no longer owns a residence
which qualifies or the distribution is from a self-insured’s account and is made on or after the date

on which the taxpayer reaches 70 years of age.

Acts 2012, No. 427, p. 1163

Amended Sections 40-18-14 and 40-18-21, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, regarding individual

income taxes to:

@

)

©)

(4)

Provide that a resident’s gross income for income tax purposes includes the resident’s
proportionate share of any income arising from a pass-through entity regardless of whether the
income is earned within or outside Alabama.

Allow an individual owner a credit for their proportionate share of any tax based in whole or in
part on the entity's net income, net profits, or gross profits.

In no event will the credit for taxes paid to another state exceed the amount of tax that would be
due on the same taxable income using the applicable Alabama income tax rates.

Expand the income tax credit for foreign taxes paid by pass-through entities beyond the mineral
extraction and transportation industries currently listed in the statute such that the credits would
apply to 50% of the proportionate share of the income taxes paid to a foreign country on any

type of business or investment income.
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Acts 2012, No. 436, p. 1215
Enacted the Alabama Tourism Destination Attraction Incentive Act. Added tourism destination
attractions to the list of entities qualifying for sales, use, mortgage, deed and noneducational
property tax abatements under the state’s 1992 abatement law as well as the state’s income tax
capital credit. In order to qualify for the capital credit, a tourism destination attraction must have:
(1) capital cost of $20 million with at least 50 new jobs created within one year after the project is
placed into service, if the project is not located in a favored geographic area; or (2) capital cost of
$5 million with at least 20 new jobs created within one year after the project is placed into service,
if the project is located in a favored geographic area.

Acts 2012, No. 483, p. 1340
Established the Alabama New Markets Development Act. The act provides income tax and/or
financial institutions excise tax and/or insurance premium tax credits of up to $20 million annually
combined beginning in 2013 to taxpayers that make capital or equity investments in or loans to,
certain qualified active low-income community businesses. The businesses must be located in a
low-income community as defined for a similar federal tax credit program. The credit provided to
the investor will be 50% of the purchase price of the investment claimed over a seven-year period.
The amount of investment that may be made in any one qualified active low-income community
business is limited to $10 million. Credits may be carried forward to any of the taxpayer’s
subsequent tax years but are not transferable.

Acts 2012, No. 486, p. 1399
Exempted spouses of United States Armed Forces members who are killed in action from Alabama
income tax for the year in which the Armed Forces member was killed. If income tax has already
been paid on any exempt income under the provisions of this act, the Department of Revenue
must refund such money.

Acts 2013, No. 34, p. 57
Allowed qualified production companies to receive a rebate for the amount of their available
rebate that exceeds the Alabama income tax liability.

Acts 2013, No. 64, p. 112
The Alabama Accountability Act of 2013. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2013,
made refundable income tax credits available to the parents of students enrolled in a failing
school to help offset the cost of transferring the student to a nonfailing public school or
nonpublic school. The tax credit is equal to 80% of the average cost of attendance for a public K-

12 student during the applicable tax year or the actual cost of attending a nonfailing public school
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or nonpublic school, whichever is less. Also, provided income tax credits for taxpayers that make
contributions to scholarship granting organizations equal to the total contributions made for
educational scholarships during the tax year up to 50% of the tax liability of the taxpayer, not to
exceed $7,500. The cumulative annual cap on tax credits for contributions to scholarship granting
organizations is $25 million.

Acts 2013, No. 66, p. 129
Allows the excess, if any, of the irrigation tax credit established by Act 2012-391 to be carried
forward for five years from the taxable year the irrigation equipment was placed into service.

Acts 2013, No. 241, p. 579
Established tax credits of up to $20 million annually beginning in 2014 for qualified rehabilitation
expenditures of certified historic structures or non-historic structures built before 1936. The credits
will be available for up to three years following the effective date.

Acts 2013, No. 265, p. 894
Amended the Alabama Accountability Act of 2013 (Act 2013-64) to clarify provisions regarding
the calculation of the cost to attend a nonfailing public school. Increased the tax credit that may
be claimed by a corporate taxpayer for contributions to a scholarship granting organization from

50% to 100% of total contributions.

Acts 2014, No. 147, p. 422
Provided income tax credits to individuals and businesses that make contributions for qualifying
educational expenses for the Alabama Community College System’s Career-Technical Dual
Enrollment Program beginning in the 2015 tax year. The amount of credit that may be claimed by
a taxpayer is limited to 50% of the total contributions made, but not more than 50% of the
taxpayer's total Alabama income tax liability and not more than $500,000 for any tax year. The
total annual amount of credits that may be provided is limited to $5 million annually.

Acts 2014, No. 157, p. 440
Facilitating Business Rapid Response to Declared Disasters Act of 2014. Provided that an out-of-
state employee that is performing disaster or emergency related work on infrastructure owned or
operated by a registered business, municipality, county or public corporation in state would not
be considered to have established a presence that would require the person or his or her
employer to pay income taxes, be subject to tax withholdings on file, or pay any other state or

local tax or fee.
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Acts 2014, No. 406, p. 1498
Allowed married taxpayers living apart for the entire year and filing separate tax returns to claim
either the optional standard deduction or itemized deductions.

Acts 2014, No. 413, p. 1517
Allowed a one-time refundable income tax credit of $1,000 per child adopted through private
intrastate adoption or qualified foster child to be claimed in the year the adoption becomes final,
effective for the 2014 tax year and subsequent tax years.

Acts 2014, No. 452, p. 1679
Amended the law authorizing tax credits for the rehabilitation of historic structures to allow the
tax credits to be transferable or assignable until claimed on an Alabama tax return by any
taxpayer. These provisions apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Corporations, banks and savings associations are taxed at 5.5% of federal taxable income
apportioned to Florida with adjustments ($5,000 of net income exempt; January 1, 2012, $25,000
exempt). Florida also has an alternative minimum tax provision for corporations, banks and
savings associations. No personal income tax is collected.

Georgia
Corporation tax of 6% of federal taxable income. The personal income tax rates are as follows:

Single Persons:

1% of first $750 of net income 4% of next $1,500
2% of next $1,500 5% of next $1,750
3% of next $1,500 6% of income over $7,000

Married Persons Filing Separately:

1% of first $500 of net income 4% of next $1,000
2% of next $1,000 5% of next $1,500
3% of next $1,000 6% of income over $5,000

Married Persons Filing Jointly and Heads of Households:

1% of first $1,000 of net income 4% of the next $2,000
2% of the next $2,000 5% of the next $3,000
3% of the next $2,000 6% of income over $10,000
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Mississippi
Tax rate for corporations and individuals of 3% for the first $5,000 of net income, 4% on next
$5,000 of net income, and 5% on all net income in excess of $10,000.

Tennessee
Excise tax of 6.5% of net earnings on all corporations, LLCs, registered limited liability partnerships,
cooperatives, joint stock associations, and business trusts; resident individuals, associations, trusts,
and estates pay 6% on dividends from stock and interest from bonds, with certain exceptions.

Earned income (salaries and wages) is not subject to the income tax.
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Insurance Company Licenses and Premium Tax

Statutory

Authority:

Sections 27-2-39, 27-3-29, 27-4-2, 27-4-8, 27-4-11, 27-4A-1 through 27-4A-7, 27-8A-9, 27-10-31, 27-10-

34, 27-10-35, 27-12A-41, 27-21-4, 27-21A-28, 27-22A-7, 27-25-4.7, 27-31A-10, 27-31B-4, 27-31B-16, 27-

34-42, 27-52-3, 27-52-6, 10A-20-6.16, and 40-14B-1 through 40-14B-22, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:

A premium tax is imposed on the amount of premiums written by an insurer. Fees for the privilege of

providing

Tax Rate:

insurance within the state.

(1) Insurance Premium Tax

Insurance Type Rate
Life insurance: 2.3%
e individual life insurance policies greater than $5,000 and less than 1.0%
$25,000, excluding group life insurance policies
e individual life insurance policies less than $5,000, excluding group 0.5%
life insurance policies
Health and accident insurance: 1.6%
e premiums for hospital, medical, surgical or other health care 0.5%
benefits provided pursuant to any employer sponsored plan for
groups with less than 50 insured participants
Property and casualty insurance: 3.6%
e property and multi-peril insurance written in fire protection classes 1.0%
9 and 10
e mobile homes, mobile homeowners, homeowners and low value 1.0%
dwelling policies in a face amount of $40,000 or less
e medical liability insurance 1.6%
Surplus line brokers: 6.0%
Independently procured (i.e. not procured through a surplus line 4.0%
broker) unauthorized insurance, other than life or disability insurance
Captive Insurers:
Direct Premiums:
o On the first $20 million 0.04%
o On the next $20 million 0.03%
o On each dollar thereafter 0.0075%
Assumed reinsurance premiums:
o On the first $20 million 0.225%
o On the next $20 million 0.150%
o On the next $20 million 0.050%
o On each dollar thereafter 0.025%
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Insurance Type Rate I

e The minimum total premium tax paid by captive insurers is $5,000
annually.

Retaliatory Taxation on Foreign Insurers: Varies, no

set rate

Purchasing group, as defined in Section 27-31A-2(10), are at the same
rate as that on premiums paid for similar coverage from a similar
insurance source by other insured.

Major Credits:

Credit
Insurance Offices Facilities Credit®: For each office in Alabama used for insurance operations,
a credit of up to .01%,; total credit not to exceed 1%, based on the following:

Number of Full-Time Employees in Office: Credit as a % of Premiums Taxable:
1-3 0.0025%
4-10 0.0050%
11-50 0.0075%
51 or more 0.0100%
Real Property Investment Credit®:
For each $1 million of real property investments in Alabama a credit of 0.1%, up to 1% total
credit
Certified Capital Company program (CAPCO)
Alabama New Market Tax Credit
Coastal Premium (Wind Pool) Tax Credit

Major Deductions:

Deduction Type

Ad valorem taxes paid by an insurer on property below:
1. any building and real estate in Alabama which is owned and occupied, in whole or in
part, by the insurer for the full period of the tax year as its principal office in Alabama;
2. any other real estate and improvements thereon in Alabama which is owned and at
least 50% occupied by the insurer for the full period of the tax year; and
3. the insurer's offices in Alabama, whether such taxes are paid directly by the insurer or
in the form of rent to a third-party landlord.
All license fees and taxes paid to any county in Alabama during the calendar year for the
privilege of engaging in the business of insurance within the county (although a credit
allowed for such taxes is irrelevant due to the prohibition against such taxes found in Section
27-4A-5, Code of Alabama, as amended)
All expenses of examination of the insurer by the commissioner
60% of all franchise or business privilege taxes paid by the insurer to the state
All assessments to the Alabama Life and Disability Insurance Guaranty Association, the
Alabama Insurance Guaranty Association or assessments for any other guaranty fund or pool
now or hereafter created by statute
Insurers participating in the Alabama Health Insurance Plan may offset any premium taxes

% These credits are available only to insurers other than life, health, and accident.
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Deduction Type
otherwise payable on health insurance premiums paid to them by the full amount of any
assessments paid in the same calendar year as the assessment

(Plan ceased operation June 2014)

Any losses suffered as a result of operation under the Alabama Health Care Plan (in the event
such a plan is implemented) may be deducted from premium taxes payable but total loss
deduction may not exceed 50% of the tax normally payable

(2) Advance fees, licenses, and miscellaneous changes:

(@) Certificate of authority:
(i) Initial application for original certificate of authority, including the filing
with the commissioner of all documents incidental thereto ...
(i) Issuance of original certificate Of QUINOIITY ..ot
@{ii)  Annual coNtiNUAtioN OF FTENEWAI TEE.........o. ettt ettt ettt s

(IV)  REINSTATEMENT TEE......o. oottt as s a s sassass s sans s sesanees

(b) Charter documents, filing with the commissioner amendment to articles of incorporation
or of association, or of other charter documents or tO DY-lawWs ...
() Solicitation permit, filing application and ISSUANCE ...t seeesses st senes
(d) Annual statement of insurer, except when filed as part of application for original
certificate Of @UNOTILY, filING c..u vttt sttt
(e) Producer licenses (resident or nonresident):
() Individuals:
a. Application fee (for filing of initial application for liCENSE)......ccowrcrmrrrnrrrnrirnrinereeessesseieenns
b. License fee (for issuance of original license and each biennial renewal) .........cooocoerrrennrinecnnne.
(i) Business entities:
a. Application fee (for filing of initial application for liCENSE) ..o
b. License fee (for original license and each biennial renewal) ...,
(iii) Examination fees (for producer examination or reexamination, each
ClasSification Of @XAMUNATION) ...ttt ettt saees
(f) Producer appointment fee:
(i)  Filing NOtICE Of APPOINTMENT ....ooviereie sttt sttt sttt ses
(i)  Annual continuation Of APPOINTMENT ...ttt st
(g) Reinsurance intermediary license:

(1) Filing @PPlICAtioN fOI HCENSE......cieeereeeeeeecee ettt ettt sttt

(i) ISSUANCE OF INILIAI HICENSE oottt sas s s s s as s snees
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(1i))  ANNUAL CONTINUATION OF TICENSE ...ttt ettt s st s st sssens $100

(h) Managing general agent license:

(i) Application fee (for filing of initial application for license), each iNSUrer ...........ccocoervrmrvcrervnnrrnnrrnnnnns $30
(i) Issuance of initial lICENSE, EACKH INSUTEN ...ttt sanes $125
(i) Annual continUation Of [ICENSE, AT INSUTET ...ttt ee st ese s ss s sas s esseens $75

(i)  Service representative's license:
(i) Application fee (for filing of initial application for license), each iNSUrer ...........cooccoervcrervrnrrnnrrernenenn. $20
(i) Appointment fee, property and casualty, each insurer (for original
appointMent, Paid DY PrOAUCETS) ...ttt sttt sttt sttt st st st sssssssssnses $30
() Surplus line broker:
(i) Application fee (for filing of initial application fOr ICENSE) ... $20
(ii) License fee (for original license and each annual renewal):
3. INAIVIAUAI TICENSEES.......eeee ettt sss st sss sttt $200
D, BUSINESS ENILY ICEBNSEES ..ottt sttt ss sttt st $500
(k) Adjusters (resident or nonresident)
(i) Application fee (for filing of initial application for license; individuals and business entities)......... $20

(i) License (for original license and each biennial renewal):

A, INAIVIAUAI ICENSEES. ...ttt ettt $80
D.  BUSINESS ENTILY lICENSES......eiii e ettt $200
(iii) Examination fee, an amount set by the Commissioner Not 10 eXCEEd ........covvrrenrrernrrernrrernrrernrrererienn. $100

() Captive Insurers:
(i) License application filiNG fEE ...ttt sttt $200
(i) License fee (initial license and each annNUal FENEWAN)............oou oo eeseen $300
(m) Portable Electronics Limited Lines (biennial licenses, fees set by commissioner not to exceed the
following amounts):
(i) Vendors with more than 10 locations in the state:
A INTHIAL HCONSE ettt ettt e e e ettt e e e e e e e een e $1,000
. RENEWAL ..ot ete ettt ettt $500
(i) Vendors with 10 or less locations in state:
A, INPtial AN FENEWAL. ...t esss st $100
(n) Title insurance agents:
(i) Licenses

a. Individuals:
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1. Application fee (for filing of initial application for liCENSE) ........coovveervrnrirnrrernrirnsirnssnees s $20
2. License fee (for issuance of original license and each biennial renewal) .........cccoooonronnrcrnrionnrnnne. $40

b. Business entities:

1. Application fee (for filing of initial application for ICENSE).......c..covcuceemeeernreerrecrnecrneceirecerneeens $20
2. License fee (for original license and each biennial renewal) ........c..ccooooerveerienrrrnrirnsrnnsrnsssesnenenn. $100
¢. Examination fee, an amount set by the commissioner not to exceed..........cccccceveerrrrnenee $100

d. Late renewal fee, to be paid by each title insurance agent failing to
Make a timely reNEWal Of lICENSE ...ttt st et esse $50
(i)  Appointment fee:
a.  Filing Notice Of @PPOINTMENT.....cciiieieie ettt sttt enstees $30
b. Annual continuation of aPPOINTMENT.........ccciviiieiiiiieeee e eeen $10
(iii) Prelicensing course provider fee (for filing initial application for authority and annual
renewal) an amount set by the commissioner NOt t0 EXCEEM.........cvrerrerrinrernirseseessseseseenes $100

(0) Insurance Fraud UNit @SSESSIMENT ...ttt ses st sassassassassases $200 per year

(p) Continuing Education:

(i) License renewal fee in connection with biennial application for license renewal by

producers and SErVICE rEPIrESENTALIVES ......c.covveveriieeieeierie sttt tsssssssssssss sttt sssssss st ssssssssssssssenns $40
() LB @ ettt e e e eeeee e e se s s s st s e et et et et st ese et st st et eeeese st st st et ese s se st rees e $50
(iii)  Provider authority initial filiNG fEE ...ttt see et $300
(iv)  Provider authority @anNUal rENEWAL ...ttt sttt sttt sttt sessees $100
(V) CoUrse apProVal filliNG OO ... ettt sttt $50

(g) Miscellaneous services:

(i) For copies of documents, records on file in insurance department, per page.........ccccceceeeereenen. $1
(i) For each certificate of the commissioner under his seal, other than licenses............cccooovveveveiennn. $5

(r) The commissioner collects a fee of $50 when, in acting as agent for service of process for any
insurance company, fraternal benefit society, mutual aid association, nonresident producer,
nonresident independent adjuster or nonresident surplus line broker, he or she accepts the service

of legal process.

Collections:
(1) The Insurance Premium Tax is collected quarterly by the Department of Insurance. Due May 15,
August 15, November 15 and March 1. The May payment may be based, at the option of the insurer,

on 25% of actual business done in the state during the preceding calendar year or on actual business
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done in the state by the insurer during the preceding complete quarter. The August payment may be

based, at the option of the insurer, on 45% of actual business done in the state during the preceding

calendar year or on 180% of actual business done in the state by the insurer during the preceding

complete quarter. The November payment may be based, at the option of the insurer, on 25% of

actual business done in the state during the preceding calendar year or on actual business done in

the state by the insurer during the preceding complete quarter. The March 1 payment reflects any

reconciliation between taxes paid and taxes due, said taxes due to be based on actual premiums

written during the calendar year preceding the March 1 payment.

(2) Surplus line and captive insurance taxes are due on or before March 1. Taxes on independently

procured unauthorized insurance are due 90 days after the date the insurance was procured.

Fiscal Year
2013-14°°

2012-13%
2011-12
2010-11%
2009-10

Collections($)

303,059,413
293,900,266
276,945,557
273,020,710
256,785,345

Percent Change
3.12

6.12
1.44
6.32
(4.39)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

The chart below indicates premium tax receipts, by insurance line, for FY 13 and FY 14 prior to refunds.

Taxes
Domestic Life

Domestic P & C
Blue Cross
Foreign Life

Foreign Property

Foreign Casualty

Retaliatory
Surplus Lines
Company Fees:

Applications

FY 2012-13
2,091,560

11,563,446
21,526,167
43,589,341
56,585,772
112,055,248
1,269,517
30,048,971

21,105

% Includes a $12,000,000 transfer from the Insurance Guaranty Fund.
27 Includes a $15,000,000 transfer from the Insurance Guaranty Fund.
2 Includes a $10,000,000 transfer from the Insurance Guaranty Fund.

FY2013-14
2,546,725

11,572,294
26,918,349
45,128,280
54,884,363
118,346,911
1,145,211
30,515,000

19,095
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Taxes FY 2012-13 FY2013-14

Amendments 4,625 4,700
Licenses 1,123,110 1,141,275
Statements 33,365 33,765
Motor Clubs 7,905 8,160
Other 157,894 165,596
GRAND TOTAL 280,078,026 292,429,724

Source: Alabama Department of Insurance.

(3) Producer fees and fees for miscellaneous services are collected by the Alabama Department of

Insurance.
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 15,851,635 3.52
2012-13 15,312,112 9.54
2011-12 13,978,099 1.76
2010-11 13,736,369 3.70
2009-10 13,245,853 5.65

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
(1) Insurance Premium Tax:
(@) Education Trust Fund — $30,993,296
(b) Special Mental Health Fund — $4,525,338
(c) State General Fund — all other premium tax collected, except the amounts set by Section 27-4A-
3(d)(4) to be distributed to the ETF and SMHF.

(2) Company fees, producer fees, retaliatory taxes and fees for miscellaneous services collections is 50%
to the Insurance Department Fund and 50% to the State General Fund, except for the following which
are wholly deposited into the Insurance Department Fund:

(@) License renewal fees for producer licenses

(b) Renewal fees for service representatives’ licenses
(c) Continuing education fees

(d) Title insurance fees

(e) Insurance Fraud Unit assessments
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(3) Distribution of Retaliatory Taxes is 50% to the State General Fund and 50% to the Insurance

Department Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Premium or annuity considerations for health care benefits supplementary to Medicare and Medicaid
or provided to an employer-sponsored plan for governmental employees.

(2) Non-profit life insurers are exempt from paying a premium tax on premiums or annuity
considerations from non-profit educational and scientific institutions. In lieu of the tax, such company
pays an annual license fee of $5,000.

(3) Premiums collected under the provisions of the Alabama Health Care Plan (in the event such plan is
implemented).

(4) Annuity considerations.

(5) Fraternal benefit societies.

(6) Self-insurance programs utilizing a trust fund or similar entity providing workers’' compensation,
health, and other insurance-like coverage.

(7) The Alabama Health Insurance Plan.

(8) Surplus line wet marine and transportation insurance.

(9) Counties, municipalities, municipal corporations, political subdivisions of the state; instrumentalities of
counties, municipalities, municipal corporations, or the State of Alabama; or corporations or
associations owned solely by counties, municipalities or the State of Alabama. Including the Alabama

Municipal Insurance Corporation (AMIC), as it is a mutual insurer owned by member municipalities.

Legislative History:
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established an insurance premium tax of $1.50 on each $100 of premiums of foreign fire or marine
insurance companies, $2.50 on each $100 of premiums for other foreign insurance companies, and $1
on each $100 of premiums for domestic insurance companies; and established a $200 annual filing
fee.

Acts 1945, No. 156, p. 196
Equalized rate of premium tax paid by foreign and domestic insurance companies by increasing the
domestic rates.

Acts 1955, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 77, p- 193
Amended rates as follows: $2.50 on each $100 for foreign life or marine insurance, 1% on annuities

and 3% on premiums for other foreign insurance companies, .5% on annuities and premiums of
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domestic insurance companies; provided for reduction of tax rates for foreign insurers based on
percentage of company's admitted assets invested in Alabama investments; and provided that all
premium tax receipts be deposited to the State General Fund.
Acts 1957, No. 598, p. 848
Established agents examination fee of $5. ($3 for re-examination.)
Acts 1963, No. 521, p. 1112
Unauthorized Insurers Act. Provided for licensing of surplus line brokers and tax on surplus line
brokers at rate of 4% on the direct premiums, less return premiums and exclusive of sums collected to
cover state or federal taxes, on surplus line insurance transacted by the broker during the preceding
calendar year; provided that the tax be paid on March 1 each year and deposited to the State General
Fund; and exempted surplus line wet marine and transportation insurance and certain other surplus
line insurance.
Acts 1969, Ex. Sess., No. 28, p. 74
Increased rates as follows: 4% of premiums for foreign insurance other than life; 1% of annuities and
3% of premiums for foreign life insurance; 1% of annuities and premiums for domestic life; and 2% of
premiums on other domestic insurance companies, including certain non-profit health care
organizations.
Changed distribution to:
(1) Education Trust Fund
(@ 37.5% of premium tax on foreign fire, marine and fire and marine insurers.
(b) 25% of premium tax on foreign casualty insurers.
(c) 50% of premium tax on domestic life insurers.
(d) 75% of premium tax on domestic property and casualty insurers.
(e) 100% of premium tax on certain non-profit health care organizations.
(2) State General Fund
(@) 100% of premium tax on foreign life insurers.
(b) 62.5% of premium tax on foreign fire, marine and fire and marine insurers.
() 75% of premium tax on foreign casualty insurers.
(d) 50% of premium tax on domestic life insurers.
(e) 25% of premium tax on domestic property and casualty insurers.

Exempted domestic insurers from premium tax on Medicare or Medicaid supplement policies.
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Acts 1971, No. 407, p. 707
Provided for retaliatory tax; established company and agents' and brokers' filing, license and
miscellaneous fees (and provided they be deposited to the State General Fund); and established wet
marine and transportation insurance tax at rate of 0.75% of gross underwriting profit.

Acts 1971, No. 2106, p. 3375
Decreased rate on domestic insurance companies (property and casualty, but not life) and certain non-
profit health care organizations to 1% of premiums.

Acts 1971, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 3, p. 4113
Changed the distribution of premium tax proceeds from certain non-profit corporations (Blue
Cross/Blue Shield) from the Education Trust Fund to the Special Mental Health Fund.

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v Ward, 105 S.Ct. 1676 (1985)

The U. S. Supreme Court ruled in a 5-4 vote that two of the seventeen purposes the state presented to
justify the disparate premium tax rates charged foreign and domestic insurers violated the equal

protection clause of the U.S. Constitution. This reversed an Alabama Supreme Court opinion and

remanded the case to Montgomery Circuit Court for retrial. The case was dismissed by order of the
court dated September 29, 1993.

Acts 1980, No. 774, p. 1608
Authorized the Commissioner of Insurance to examine surplus line brokers in the same manner as an
insurer; and allowed surplus line brokers to offset from their insurance premium taxes the cost of such
examinations in the same manner allowed for domestic insurers.

Acts 1987, No. 333, p. 466
Changed the due dates for payment of premium taxes from annual to quarterly basis, resulting in
receipt of six quarters worth of taxes in FY 1987-88.

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 875, p. 410
Increased fees for licenses and certificates issued by Insurance Department. (See Insurance Premium
Tax (pages 182-184) in January 2003 “A Legislator's Guide to Alabama’s Taxes.”)

Acts 1993, No. 679, p. 1291
Insurance Premium Tax Reform Act of 1993. Provided for phase-in of equalization of domestic and
foreign insurance premium tax rates (See Insurance Premium Tax in January 2003 "A Legislator's Guide
to Alabama’s Taxes" or Section 27-4A-3 Code of Alabama 1975) beginning in FY 1995; provided for
economic development credits to reduce tax rate of property and casualty insurers, increased tax rate
of surplus line brokers from 4% to 6%; altered tax payment schedule from 25% quarterly to 25% in

May, 45% in August, 5% in November, with the remainder to be paid in March; limited deposits to
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Education Trust Fund and Special Mental Health Fund from insurance premium tax receipts beginning
FY 1995 to no more than was deposited in FY 1992; provided that, beginning with first tax payment
made on premiums received on or after January 1, 1995 (May 15, 1995 payment) 100% of premium
taxes paid by health maintenance organizations will be deposited to the State General Fund
(previously 50% of domestic HMO premium taxes deposited to ETF); and provided that wet marine
and transportation insurance written by Alabama admitted insurers be taxed as is other insurance
(surplus lines wet marine and transportation insurance is exempt).

Acts 1993, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 847, p. 67
Provided for special rate of 1.6%, effective January 1, 1995, for premium tax on medical liability
insurance (rather than the rate of 3.6% established by Act 93-679).

Acts 1995, No. 738, p. 1578
Provided that all premium taxes paid on long-term care coverage shall be deposited to the Education
Trust Fund.

Acts 1996, No. 343, p. 423
Established continuing education requirements for insurance agents, service representatives and
brokers; provided for new fees related to continuing education and provided that these fees, as well as
certain existing fees for agent licenses and appointments and certain existing fees for service
representatives’ licenses, be deposited to the Insurance Agents and Brokers Continuing Education
Fund which was created in this act. (See Acts 2001, No. 702.)

Acts 1996, No. 692, p. 1161
Created the Insurance Department Fund, to be used for the operation of the Department of Insurance;
provided that at the end of any fiscal year any unencumbered and unexpended balance in the Fund,
up to 25% of the amount appropriated for that fiscal year, shall remain in the Fund and not revert to
the State General Fund; provided that 50% of retaliatory taxes, license fees (except those deposited to
the Insurance Agents and Brokers Continuing Education Fund pursuant to Act 96-343) and certain
other charges shall be deposited to the Insurance Department Fund. (See Acts 2001, No. 702.)

Acts 1998, No. 498, p. 1069
Altered tax payment schedule from schedule shown in Acts 1993, No. 679 (above) to current schedule
(see Collections).

Alabama Municipal Insurance Corporation, et. al. v. State of Alabama 730 So. 2d 107 (1998)

In March 1995 eight domestic property and casualty companies filed suit in Montgomery County
Circuit Court challenging the constitutionality of the Insurance Premium Tax Reform Act of 1993 (see

Acts 1993, No. 679 above). This suit alleged that the economic development credits which allow
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property and casualty insurers to reduce their tax rate by an amount dependent upon (1) the number
of offices in the state and the persons employed within each of those offices and (2) the value of real
property investments made in the state discriminates in favor of large companies and is, therefore,
unconstitutional. In June, 1997 the Circuit Court ruled for the plaintiffs on the basis that the challenged
tax credits violate the equal protection provisions of the Alabama Constitution, and declared the
premium tax as it applied to all property and casualty companies void. However, on May 22, 1998 the
Alabama Supreme Court reversed the Circuit Court judgment and remanded the case to the trial court
for further proceedings or an order consistent with the Supreme Court opinion. The Alabama Supreme
Court denied a rehearing on February 19, 1999. On October 4, 1999 the U.S. Supreme Court denied
the taxpayers’ petition for a writ of certiorari and let stand the ruling of the Alabama Supreme Court.

Acts 1999, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 665, p. 131
Reduced the credit for franchise or privilege taxes paid to the state from 100% of the amount paid to
60% of the amount paid, effective for all taxable years beginning after December 31, 1999.

Acts 2001, No. 702, p. 1509
Established the current company and producer (formerly agent/broker) licensing fee structure (Section
27-4-2) and the current continuing education fee structure (Section 27-8A-9); and provided that
producer and service representative annual license renewal fees, continuing education compliance
form late filing fees, continuing education course provider initial and annual renewal fees, and
continuing education course approval filing fees be deposited to the Insurance Department Fund,
rather than to the Insurance Agents and Brokers Continuing Education Fund (which was eliminated by
this act).

Acts 2002, No. 429, p. 1108
Provided a credit against the insurance premium tax for investments by insurance companies in
certified capital companies, as defined in Section 40-14B-1(4) Code of Alabama 1975. The credits
against the premium tax cannot begin until Calendar Year 2004 and cannot exceed $12.5 million per
year or $100 million in total for the life of the program.

Acts 2006, No. 299, p. 614
Provided for the biennial (instead of annual) renewal of licenses for insurance producers, service
representatives and adjusters; doubled the license renewal fees for such licenses; required individuals
to complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education for each major line of authority before qualifying to
take the insurance producer examination for those lines of authority; required insurance producers
and service representatives to complete 24 hours of continuing education on a biennial bases, with a

certain number of the hours to be on producer ethics or business practices (formerly 12 hours
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annually with no ethics class requirement); authorized the commissioner to promulgate annual to
biennial license transition rules; and provided for an adjustment of licensing fees as necessary to
accommodate biennial licensing.

Acts 2006, No. 509, p. 1153
Provided for the regulation, licensure, taxation, and operation of captive insurance companies.

Acts 2007, No. 472, p. 993
Extended the insurance premium tax credits for investments by insurance companies in certified
capital companies to provide additional credits to insurers that provide venture capital to a certified
capital company. The credits issued cannot exceed $100 million for all years in which the premium tax
credits are allowed. Additionally, the amount of credits issued may not exceed 5% of the certified
investor’s vested premium tax credit for any tax year until 2014, at which time 17.5% of the vested
credit may be taken.

Acts 2008, No. 391, p. 742
Alabama Coastal Captive Insurance Company Act. Removed the prohibition of captive insurers from
providing homeowners insurances. Provides for licensure and regulation of coastal captive insurance
companies.

Acts 2009, No. 500, p. 924
Established an insurance premium discount or insurance rate reduction for homeowners who build,
rebuild, or retrofit and insurable property to resist hurricane or other catastrophic windstorm events.

Acts 2011, No. 537, p. 949
Surplus Lines Insurance Mulit-State Compliance Act. Enacted a 6% tax on the direct premiums of
surplus line insurance, less return premiums and taxes collected.

Acts 2011, No. 556, p. 1039
Provided for title insurers to issue closing or settlement protection, includes Insurance Commissioner's
approval of forms, fees, notice to real estate purchasers (Section 27-3-6.1).

Acts 2011, No. 637, p. 1544
Provided for the licensing of independent insurance adjusters, apprentice independent adjusters, and
emergency independent adjusters. Granted Insurance Commissioner authority to regulate
independent adjusters. Amended fee schedule for adjusters.

Acts 2011, No. 643, p. 1638
Established the Strengthen Alabama Homes Program. Provided for the application for and
distribution of grant funds to homeowners and nonprofits for retrofitting property against loss due to

hurricane, tornado, or other catastrophic windstorm events.
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Acts 2012, No. 312, p. 685
Eliminated the insurance producer lines of authority for automobile and industrial fire and provide a
transition for existing producer licenses. Added travel, crop, and portable electronics insurance as
limited lines insurance. Required fingerprinting and background checks for applicants. Provided for
portable electronics insurance policy licensure and fees as a limited lines insurance producer.

Acts 2012, No. 374, p. 934
Established an insurance premium tax credit for insurers providing wind and hail coverage to coastal
areas of Alabama. Insurers may claim 20-35% of insurance premium tax due for coastal property
owners with the credit varying by zone.

Acts 2012, No. 397, p. 1078
Provided for the licensure of title insurance agents and repealed previous certification requirements.

Acts 2012, No. 429, p. 1170
Insurance Fraud Investigation Unit and Crime Prevention Act. Authorized the Department of Insurance
to investigate insurance fraud. Created the Insurance Fraud Unit within the department, as well as the
Insurance Fraud Unit Fund. Levied an annual $200 assessment on each insurer in the state to be used
for purposes of the act. Subjects health maintenance organizations to regulations adopted by the
Commissioner of Insurance.

Acts 2013, No. 213, p. 489
Further provided for the regulation and licensure of travel insurance (Section 27-7-5.2), added travel
insurance to the definition of limited line insurance (Section 27-7-1), and changed the definition of
travel to reference Section 27-7-5.2 (Section 27-7-14.1).

Acts 2014, No. 219, p. 690
Provide for the dissolution of the Alabama Health Insurance Plan.

Acts 2014, No. 420, p. 1535
Amends the Alabama Wind Pool Plan to revise zones referenced in the Plan, to limit the amount of
insurance premium tax credits claimable annually to $50,000 total, provides for reservation of tax
credits, and eliminates the requirement than premiums must be at least 12% less than the premium in
the Wind Pool Plan to receive tax credit.

Note Regarding Local Rates:
Counties may not impose premium, license or privilege taxes on insurance companies (Section 27-4A-
5). Municipalities may impose a tax on fire and marine insurance companies not to exceed 4% per
$100 of the gross premiums, less return premiums, on policies on property located in the municipality

(Section 11-51-120).
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Gross premium (less reinsurance and return premiums or assessments) tax on foreign insurers at
the following rates: 1% for annuities (with certain exceptions); 0.75% of gross underwriting profit
for wet marine and transportation insurers; 1.6% for the multiple-employer welfare arrangement,
the commercial self-insurance fund, professional liability risk management trust fund, and medical
malpractice self-insurance fund; and 1.75% for all others (property and casualty, life and health,
including Blue Cross/Blue Shield). Domestic insurers maintaining their home office in Florida are
exempt. Insurers are also subject to the Florida corporate income tax. Every insurer authorized to
transact insurance for commercial property in Florida must collect, in addition to the applicable
premium charge, an annual surcharge from each holder of a policy for fire, allied lines, or multi-
peril insurance. The surcharge is imposed at a rate of 0.1% on the gross direct premium written on
commercial property located in Florida. The insurer remits the surcharge to the Department of
Revenue. There is also a $2 per policy annual surcharge on homeowner’s, mobile homeowner's,
tenant homeowner'’s, and condominium unit owner’s policies and a $4 annual surcharge on
commercial fire, commercial multi-peril, and business owner’s property insurance policies. The
State Department of Insurance also collects a fire marshal's assessment of 1% of gross premiums
from fire insurance on property in Florida and a surplus lines tax of 5%. Insurers are allowed a
credit against the premium tax for intangibles taxes, corporate income taxes and emergency
excise taxes paid, and a credit equal to 15% of the salaries (excluding commissions) paid to non-
licensed employees within Florida. The total credit, exclusive of intangibles taxes, may not exceed
65% of the premium tax liability. Insurers are allowed credit against tax due for 100% eligible
contribution to an eligible nonprofit scholarship funding organization. Through June 30, 2015, a
credit is allowed for 50% of community contributions for projects in enterprise zones undertaken
by an eligible sponsor that is designed to construct, improve or substantially rehabilitate housing
or commercial, industrial or public resources and facilities or to improve entrepreneurial and job-
development opportunities for low-income persons. No insurer can receive more than $200,000 in
annual credits for all approved community contributions made in any one year. Unused credit may
be carried forward for up to five years. The total amount of tax credits allowable is $12 million.
Florida also allows certified capital company investment credits. Foreign companies, other than

those with a regional home office in Florida, are subject to retaliatory provisions.
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Georgia
A gross premium tax (less return premiums) of 2.25% on domestic and foreign insurers (including
Blue Cross/Blue Shield and annuity considerations); surplus line brokers and independently
procured coverage pay 4%. However, if 25% of a firm's qualifying total assets are invested in
bonds of the state or its municipal governing bodies, Georgia property, or loans secured by liens
on such property, the premium tax is 1.25% and, if the amounts so invested equal 75% of total
qualifying assets, the tax rate is .5%. There is an additional county tax of 1% on life policies on
residents of county unincorporated areas and up to 2.5% on other lines for counties and
municipalities (with the 1% life deductible from state premium tax due). Georgia allows credits for
investment in a certified capital company, effective March 1, 2003. Foreign companies are subject
to retaliatory taxes. Captive insurers are taxed in the same manner as other domestic insurance
companies.

Mississippi
The tax for domestic and foreign companies is 3% of gross premiums, less premiums received for
reinsurance, return premiums, cash dividends and cancellations. Surplus lines are taxed at 4%.
There is no tax on annuities. Mississippi has a voluntary basic health insurance coverage program
designed to provide health insurance coverage to persons under age 65 who are accepted by an
approved carrier and who have been without private health insurance coverage for at least one
year or whose family income does not exceed 150% of the federal poverty level. Contracts of such
insurance coverage offered by approved carriers are exempt from the insurance premiums tax on
domestic and foreign insurance companies. A fire marshal tax of 1% is levied based on property
insured in Mississippi. The gross premium tax on foreign and domestic companies is reduced by
the net percentage of total assets invested in Mississippi up to a maximum of 50%. Foreign
companies are subject to retaliatory taxes.

Tennessee
All applications for admission have a $675 fee; new certificate of authority, $440. Gross premium
tax on all foreign and domestic property and casualty insurance companies is 2.5% ($150
minimum) general rate plus an additional tax of .75% on fire insurance companies on that portion
of the premium applicable to the fire risk (but property and casualty rates may be reduced by up
to 75% based on percentage of total assets invested in Tennessee); annuity, pension, or profit-
sharing plans exempt from federal income tax, or qualifying for certain income tax advantages,
pay no tax (nonqualified annuities pay at the life insurance rate). Domestic and foreign life and

health insurance companies, including Blue Cross/Blue Shield, pay 1.75% ($150 minimum) of gross
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premiums; captive insurance company direct premiums are taxed at 0.4% of the first $20 million
and 0.3% for each dollar thereafter. Also captive insurance companies are taxed on assumed
reinsurance at 0.225% of the first $20 million, 0.15% of the next $20 million, 0.050% of the next
$20 million, 0.025% for premium above $60 million. Minimum of $5,000 to maximum of $100,000
aggregate tax; and title insurance companies are taxed at 2.5%. Health maintenance organizations,
including limited health service organizations, are taxed at 5.5% of gross dollar amount collected.

Foreign companies are subject to retaliatory taxes. Surplus lines are taxed at 5%.
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Judicial Fees and Fines

Constitutional Provisions:

Section 96 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901
Prohibits the Legislature from enacting any law that does not apply to all counties, which regulates
costs and charges of courts. However, there are numerous constitutional amendments authorizing

local court costs by methods other than a constitutional amendment.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-11-7, 11-25-9, 11-47-7.1, 12-14-14, 12-14-18, 12-19-20 through 12-19-182, 12-19-250 through
12-19-254, 12-19-310 through 12-19-315, 15-23-17, 30-3-61, 32-5-313, 33-5-33, 36-18-7, 36-18-32, 36-
18-32.1, and 36-21-67, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Distribution:

Title 12, Chapter 19, Article 2, Code of Alabama 1975, governs the amount and manner of distribution of
docket fees which shall be assessed and collected in district and circuit courts throughout the state. The
docket fees are uniform throughout the state, except in those counties where additional court costs are
authorized by local act. Information regarding local court costs may be obtained by accessing the various
county websites or at www judicial.alabama.gov. This chart outlines the docket fees and other fees and
monies authorized by statute to be collected. The distribution of the fees as required by statute is set forth
beside each fee.

Source: Unified Judicial System (UJS) - adapted from Form C-56.

DISTRICT COURT DISTRIBUTED TO:
Peace/ Peace
Fair Police Officers' Crime Advanced State
Trial State County Officers' | Stand & State Victims Tech. Judicial
Tax General | General DA Annuity | Training | Drivers' Comp DNA Citizenship & Data Administration
Type Case and Fee Amount Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Trust Fund Fund****
Small Claims (up to $1,500)
Docket Fee $45 $17 $13 $5 $10
Small Claims
($1,501 - $3,000) $119 $21 $75 88 85 $10
Civil Docket Fee
($3,001 - $10,000) $230 $21 $159.50 $12.50 $2 85 $30
Juvenile CHINS,
Dependency & Other
Non-Criminal $90 $21 $49 $10 $5 $5
Juvenile Traffic
Infraction $92 $21 $49 $10 $5 §2 $5
Juvenile
Misdemeanor
Violation $100 $21 $49 $10 $5 $10 $5
Juvenile Felony $105 | $21 $49 $10 $5 $15 $5

Judicial Fees and Fines

Page 247




DISTRICT COURT (contd) DISTRIBUTED TO
Peace/ Peace
Fair Police Officers' Crime Advanced State
Trial State County Officers' Stand & State Victims Tech. Judicial
Tax General General DA Annuity Training Drivers' Comp DNA Citizenship & Data Administration
Type Case and Fee Amount Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Trust Fund Fund****
Traffic Infraction
Docket Fee; Arrest
by State Officer
($30 criminal history fee if DUI) $129 $21 $54 $3 $2.50 $5 $8.50 $2 $11 $1 $5 $16
Traffic Infraction
Docket Fee; Arrest
by County Officer
($30 criminal history fee if DUI) $129 $21 $49 $8 $2.50 $5 $8.50 $2 $11 $1 $5 $16
Violation Misdemeanor
Docket Fee; Arrest
by State Officer
($30 criminal history fee) $170.66 $21 $69 $5 $10 $7 $5 $10 $11 $1 $5 $26.66
Violation Misdemeanor
Docket Fee; Arrest
by County Officer
($30 criminal history fee) $170.66 $21 $64 $10 $10 $7 $5 $10 $11 $1 $5 $26.66
Felony Guilty Plea
Docket Fee; Arrest
by State Officer
($30 criminal history fee) $243.66 $21 $109 $5 $30 $10 $10 $15 $11 $1 $5 $26.66
Felony Guilty Plea
Docket Fee; Arrest
by County Officer
($30 criminal history fee) $243.66 $21 $104 $10 $30 $10 $10 $15 $11 $1 $5 $26.66
Preliminary Hearing $30 $30
Bond Forfeiture $82 $21 $39 $5 $11 $1 $5
Alias writ $32 $18 $2 $11 $1
Conservation
Docket Fee; Arrest
by state/county officer $7
($7 arrest & bond fee to arrest
Dept. of Conservation, fee
if state officer) $167.66 $21 $64 $5 $10* $7 $10 $11 $1 $5 $26.66

*Section 33-5-33 provides that if a defendant pleads guilty and no appeal is taken, this amount is not
collected in Water Safety Cases.
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CIRCUIT COURT

DISTRIBUTED TO:

Type Case and Fee Amount

Fair
Trial
Tax
Fund

State
General
Fund

County
General
Fund

DA
Fund

Peace/
Police
Officers'
Annuity
Fund

Peace
Officers'
Stand. &
Training

Fund

Crime
Victims
Comp
Fund

DNA
Fund

Citizenship
Trust
(where
applicable)

Advanced
Tech.
& Data
Fund

State
Judicial
Admn.
Fund****

Civil Docket Fee

(up to $50,000)

(except domestic relations and

workers’ compensation cases) $229

$25

$153.50

$13.50

$2

$5

$30

Civil Docket Fee

(more than $50,000)

(except domestic relations and

workers' compensation cases) $329

$25

$246.75

$20.25

$2

$5

$30

Jury Demand $100

$10

$86.50

$3.50

Civil Docket Fee

(counterclaim, crossclaim,

3rd party complaint or motion,

declaratory judgment, inter-

venor or 3rd party plaintiff) $327

$25

$236.75

$30.25

$5

$30

Domestic Relations
(original filing) $177

$25

§105

$10

$2

$5

$30

Domestic Relations
(modification/enforcement) $280

$25

§201

$17

$2

$5

$30

Workers' Compensation
Docket Fee $177

$21

§109

$10

$2

$5

$30

Violation/Misdemeanor
Docket Fee($30 criminal history fee) $170.66

$21

$64

$10

$10

§7

$5

$10

$11

$5

$26.66

Traffic Infraction
Docket Fee
($30 criminal history fee if DUI) $149

$21

$64

$10

$10

$9

§2

$11

$1

$5

$16

Municipal Ordinance

Docket Fee

(non-traffic)

$8.70 to municipality*

($30 criminal history fee) $170.66

$21

$64

$1.30

$10

§7

$5

$10

$11

$1

$5

$26.66

Municipal Ordinance

Traffic Infraction

Appeal Docket Fee

$7.40 to municipality**

($30 criminal history fee if DUI) $149

$21

$64

$2.60

$10

$9

§2

$11

$1

$5

$16

Conservation

Docket Fee $172.66

$21

$71

$10

$10

§7

$10

$11

$1

$5

$26.66

*kk

Felony Docket Fee
Arrest by
State Officer $243.66

$21

§109

$5

$30

$10

$10

$15

$1

$1

$5

$26.66

*kk

Felony Docket Fee
Arrest by
County Officer $243.66

$21

$104

$10

$30

$10

$10

$15

$1

$1

$5

$26.66

Bond Forfeiture $82

$21

$39

$5

$11

$5

Alias writ $42

$25

$5

$11

$1
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Criminal History Processing Fee — Section 12-19-180, Code of Alabama 1975, amended by Act 97-945, effective December 1,
1997, provides for an additional $30 fee on all DUl and non-traffic cases to be distributed as follows:

$10 for Public Safety Automated Fingerprint Identification System Fund

$ 5 for Court Automation Fund

$10 for Criminal Justice Information System Automation Fund

$ 5 for Department of Forensic Sciences Services Fund

* The amount to the municipality is determined by Section 12-19-154, which provides that the
municipalities shall receive 10% of the docket fee in municipal ordinance cases in district and in
circuit court and that the municipal share would come from that part of the docket fee allocated
to the county general fund. In 1987, Act 87-405 was enacted and mandated a new section 12-19-
155, which prohibits the increase in docket fees from resulting in an increase in the municipal
share of the docket fee. Thus, the municipal 10% share is based on the $87 docket fee.

** Act 83-744, Act 87-405, Act 92-227 and Act 94-804 prohibit an increase in the municipal share of
docket fees collected in municipal ordinance cases in circuit court thus resulting in a smaller

share of the overall docket fee being distributed to the municipalities.

*** If preliminary hearing was requested in district court, also collect and disburse fee in circuit court.

MUNICIPAL ORDINANCE/
DISTRICT COURT DISTRIBUTED TO:
Advanced
Fair Crime Citizenship | Tech. & State
Trial County Peace/Police Peace Off. State Victim Trust Data Judicial
Tax State General General DA | Officers’ Annuity | Stand. & Driver's Comp. DNA | (where [ Exchange |Administration
Type Case and Fee Amount Fund Fund Fund Fund Fund Train. Fund Fund Fund Fund | applicable) Fund Fund****
Traffic infraction
Docket fee
$3 to municipality
($30 criminal
history fee if DUI) $129| $21 $54 $2.50 $5 $8.50 $2 $11 $1 $5 $16
Violation/non-
traffic
docket fee
$5 to municipality
($30 criminal
history fee) $170.66| $21 $69 $10 $7 $5 $10 $11 $1 $5 $26.66
Bond Forfeiture
$4.50 to
municipality $82| $21 $39 $0.50 $11 $1 $5

***xAct 2012-535 provided for a $15 increase in docket fees in small claim cases, $45 increase in civil
cases, $40 increase in criminal cases, and $26 increase in traffic cases. $2 of the increase in traffic
cases goes to the Peace Officers’ Annuity Fund. Two-thirds of the increase goes to the State Judicial
Administration Fund, while the remainder is distributed within the judicial circuit.
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GENERAL

DISTRIBUTED TO:

State General

County General

State Judicial
Administration

Type Case and Fee Amount Fund Fund DNA Fund Other Fund****
Small Claims
Additional Plaintiff
(up to $500 max fee) $50.00 $46.50 $3.50
District Civil
Additional Plaintiff
(up to $500 max fee) $50.00 $45.00 $5.00
Circuit Civil (except DR)
Additional Plaintiff
(up to $1,000 max fee) $100.00 $93.00 $7.00
Dispositive Motions:
Judgment on the Pleadings (Rule
12c); Default Judgment (Rule 55b);
Summary Judgment (Rule 56)
(except small claims cases) $50.00 $45.00 $5.00
Service Fee-each
additional defendant $10.00 $7.00 $3.00
Service Fee:
third party plaintiff $10.00 $7.00 $3.00
Service Fee:
non-resident defendant $10.00 $7.00 $3.00
Income withholding order (criminal) $15.00 $12.00 $3.00
Income withholding order (civil) $28.00 $22.75 $5.25
Witness subpoena fees (all courts)
civil $12.00 $4.50 $7.50
Witness subpoena fees
(district/circuit) criminal $8.00 $3.00 $5.00
Attachment fee (all courts) civil $30.00 $22.75 $5.25 $2.00
Attachment fee (all courts) criminal $17.00 $12.00 $3.00 $2.00
Garnishment fee (all courts) $30.00 $22.75 $5.25 $2.00
Execution fee (all courts) civil $30.00 $21.40 $6.60 $2.00
Execution fee (all courts) criminal $9.00 $5.00 $2.00 $2.00
Administrative fee on
periodic payments $1.00 $1.00

1% of sales

Fee on Judicial Sales price

Section 32-6-18 provides that, in addition to the above fees, an additional assessment of $50 shall be

added in all courts upon conviction of driving while license is suspended, cancelled or revoked or
without a license. The fee is deposited $25 to the Traffic Safety Trust Fund and $25 to the Peace

Officers’ Standards & Training Commission Fund.
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Distribution Schedule of Costs, Fees and Fines in Municipal Courts

(Adapted from UJS Form MC-17)°

Traffic Violations in Municipal Courts:

$17
$16
$5

$2
$21
$8.50
$12
$10
$9.34
$2.33
$2.33
$108.50
$16
Add

Add

Add

General Fund of Municipality*
Fair Trial Tax Fund’
Alabama Peace Officers’ Annuity & Benefit Fund

Crime Victims Compensation Fund

State General Fund

State Drivers’ Fund

Alabama DNA Database Fund and Citizenship Trust®
Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund

State Judicial Administration Fund

Presiding Circuit Judge's Judicial Administration Fund
Circuit Clerk’s Judicial Administration Fund

Total Traffic Court Costs (Excluding DUI cases)

Solicitor's Fee®

$50 for driving while license is suspended, cancelled or
revoked or without a license-$25 to ADECA Traffic Safety Trust
Fund and $25 to the Alabama Peace Officer's Standards &
Training Commission

Municipal Corrections Fund, if any’

(Determined by Municipal Ordinance)

Other local costs set by local legislative acts

DUI Cases (in addition to the traffic costs shown above): *

$10
$5
$10
$5

$100
$95
$5
$150
$400
$900

Criminal History Processing Fee-Automated Fingerprint
Criminal History Processing Fee-Court Automation
Criminal History Processing Fee-CJIS Automation Fund
Criminal History Processing Fee-Forensic Sciences/Forensic
Services Fund

Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Fund
Impaired Drivers Trust Fund

General Fund of Municipality

State General Fund-DUI Fines 1*' offense

State General Fund-DUI Fines 2" offense

State General Fund-DUI Fines 3™ offense

Section 12-14-14, 12-19-172(d)
Sections 12-19-250, 12-19-172(d)
Act 2012-535, Sections 36-21-67
and 12-14-14

Section 15-23-17

Section 12-14-14, 12-19-172(d)
Section 12-14-14

Section 36-18-32(h)

Act 2012 - 535

Act 2012 - 535

Act 2012 - 535

Act 2012 - 535

Section 32-6-18

Section 11-47-7.1

Section 12-19-180
Section 12-19-180
Section 12-19-180
Section 12-19-180

Section 32-5A-191
Section 32-5A-191
Section 32-5A-191
Section 32-5A-191
Section 32-5A-191
Section 32-5A-191

*Distribution amounts to the SGF apply if paid in full at one time. If paid in full, but on an
installment basis, the SGF would receive an additional $100 for each case. Fines due to the State
General Fund further increase if the DUI offense occurred and a child under the age of 14 was
present and/or the blood alcohol content was 0.15 percent or more. Additional fees are added for
ignition interlock costs and pretrial diversion program completion and subsequent DUI dismissal.
Non-Traffic Violations in Municipal Courts:

$17
$16

$7
$10
$21

General Fund of Municipality, if any"
Fair Trial Tax Fund, if any2

Alabama Peace Officers’ Annuity & Benefit Fund
Crime Victims Compensation Fund
State General Fund

Section 12-14-14, 12-19-172(d)
Sections 12-19-250, 12-19-
172(d)

Sections 36-21-67, 12-14-14
Section 15-23-17

Section 12-14-14, 12-19-172(d)
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$10
$5
$10
$5

$12
$10
$20
$5
$5
$156
$16
Add

Add

Criminal History Processing Fee-Automated Fingerprint
Criminal History Processing Fee-Court Automation
Criminal History Processing Fee-CJIS Automation Fund
Criminal History Processing Fee-Forensic Sciences/Services
Fund

Alabama DNA Database Fund and Citizenship Trust®
Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund

State Judicial Administration Fund

Presiding Circuit Judge's Judicial Administration Fund
Circuit Clerk’s Judicial Administration Fund

Total Non-Traffic Court Costs

Solicitor's Fee®

Municipal Corrections Fund, if any’

(Determined by Municipal Ordinance)

Other local costs determined by local legislative acts

Section 12-19-180
Section 12-19-180
Section 12-19-180
Section 12-19-180

Section 36-18-32(h)
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535

Section 11-47-7.1

Drug-Related Cases (collect the following in addition to the non-traffic costs shown above):

$99
$1

Bail Bond
$3.50
$15.75

$15.75
$35.00

Alabama Forensic Services Trust Fund
Municipal General Fund-Administrative Cost

“Filing Fee” (June 21, 20127)

Municipal General Fund

Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund
Solicitor's Fund

Total Bail Bond “Filing Fee”

Bail Bond Fee (August 1, 2012%)
Where $100 Bail Bond Fee is collected:

$21.50
$31.40
$35.32
$3.93
$7.85

Municipal General Fund

Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund
Solicitor’s Fund

State General Fund

Alabama Forensic Services Trust Fund

Where $25 Bail Bond Fee is collected:

$21.50
$1.40
$1.57
$0.18
$0.35

Municipal General Fund

Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund
Solicitor’s Fund

State General Fund

Alabama Forensic Services Trust Fund

Bond Forfeitures in Municipal Courts:

$12

Alabama DNA Database Fund and Citizenship Trust >

Alias and Capias Warrants:

$12

Alabama DNA Database Fund and Citizenship Trust

Section 36-18-7
Section 36-18-7

Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535

Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535

Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535
Act 2012 - 535

Section 36-18-32(h)

Section 36-18-32(h)
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! The amount of $17 for the General Fund of the municipality assumes that the municipality has, by
ordinance, adopted the maximum amount of $10 pursuant to Section 12-14-14. If a municipality’s
ordinance sets a cost of less than $10 for the municipal general fund, the $17 local cost should be
reduced to the total of the amount set by ordinance plus $5.

% Section 12-19-251.1 provides that these funds may be retained in the General Fund of the municipality
to defray the cost of providing representation for indigent defendants in municipal court. Any excess
over such costs is remitted to the treasury of the State of Alabama to the credit of the Fair Trial Tax
Fund.

3 Thefee is distributed to the Alabama DNA Database Fund (currently $11) and the Citizenship Trust
(currently $1) as specified in Act 2009-768, with one-half of the receipts distributed to the Trust being
allocated to the David Mathews Center for Civic Life.

* Pursuant to Act 2010-438, the Solicitor's Fee is distributed as follows: (1) $3 of the fee imposed will be

retained by the clerk of the circuit court and used for operation of the clerk’s office; and (2) the

remainder will be deposited into the Solicitor's Fund or District Attorney’s Fund in the county where the
case is heard or to the fund that may be hereafter prescribed by law for the solicitor’s fee. This act does
not supersede local laws enacted on or after the effective date of this act. Upon repeal of a local act
establishing a solicitor's fee, the county shall collect the fee pursuant to this act.

Section 11-47-7.1 authorizes any municipal governing body, by majority vote, to levy and assess

additional court costs and fees up to an amount not to exceed court costs and fees in the district court

of the county for a similar case. These funds must be paid into a special municipal fund, known as the

“Corrections Fund,” and used exclusively for the purchase of land for, and the construction, equipment,

operation, and maintenance of a municipal jail, other correctional facility, if any, court complex or any

juvenile detention center.

Act 2012-535, effective June 21, 2012, increased municipal court costs as follows:

For Non-Traffic Misdemeanor/Municipal Ordinance cases, assessed an additional $40 court cost: $10 to

the "Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund”; $20 to the “State Judicial Administration Fund”; $5 to

the "Presiding Circuit Judge's Judicial Administration Fund”; and $5 to the “Circuit Clerk’s Judicial

Administration Fund.”

For Traffic cases (excluding “parking”, “seat belt” and “open container”), assessed an additional $26: $2
to the "Alabama Peace Officers’ Annuity and Benefit Fund”; $10 to the "Municipal Court Judicial

Administration Fund”; $9.34 to the “State Judicial Administration Fund”; $2.33 to the “Presiding Circuit

Judge's Judicial Administration Fund”; and $2.33 to the “Circuit Clerk’s Judicial Administration Fund.”
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7 Act 2012-535, effective June 21, 2012, created the “Bail Fond Filing Fee.” $35 on each executed bond
(applies to all misdemeanor cases and “Serious Traffic Offenses”) distributed as follows: $3.50 to the
“Municipal General Fund”; $15.75 to the “Municipal Court Judicial Administration Fund”; and $15.75 to
the “Solicitor's Fund” in the county. Where multiple charges arise out of the same incident, the filing fee
shall be assessed only on one charge. In addition to the $35 “Bail Bond Filing Fee”, a “Bail Bond Fee"” of
3.5% of the total face value of the bail bond or $100, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $450 is
assessed at adjudication. This new fee applies to all misdemeanor cases and “Serious Traffic Offenses.”
Since $1,000 is the maximum bail range for Municipal Courts pursuant to the Bail Schedule provided in
Rule 7.2 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure, $100 will almost always be the amount of the “Bail
Bond Fee,” since 3.5% of $1,000 is only $35. Where a person is released on a recognizance or signature
bond, including uniform non-traffic cases cited pursuant to Rule 20, Alabama Rules of Judicial

Administration (ARJA), the “Bail Bond Fee” will be $25.

Pursuant to Section 12-19-152, fines collected in misdemeanor and felony cases in district and circuit
courts are remitted to the State General Fund unless otherwise provided. (See Sections 33-5-32, 33-5-51,
33-5-61, 33-5-62 and 33-5-66 for disposition of fines for violation of provisions regarding the
registration and operation of vessels; Section 9-11-6 for disposition of fines for violation of provisions of
game and fish laws; Section 9-13-65 for disposition of fines for violation of certain laws regarding forest
and forest products; Section 32-5A-191 for disposition of fines for DUI; Section 32-5A-191.3 for
disposition of fines for operation of a vessel while DUI; and Section 32-6-233.1 for disposition of fines
for unauthorized use of a handicapped parking place.) Pursuant to Section 12-19-154, fines and
forfeitures collected in municipal ordinance cases in district and circuit courts are remitted 90% to the
municipality and 10% to the State General Fund, except fines collected for violation of Section 32-5A-
191 (DUI) pursuant to a municipal ordinance are remitted as provided in Section 32-5A-191(m). Section

11-45-9 limits fines in municipal courts to $500, except as otherwise provided.

Collections:
The Administrative Director of Courts prescribes procedures for collection and distribution of court fees

and fines.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 64,790,000 (7.28)

2012-13 69,875,553 (9.52)

* State General Fund collections only. Includes receipts from fines and commissions from judicial sales as well as docket (court cost
or filing) fees.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2011-12 77,226,989 (6.22)
2010-11 82,352,336 (7.45)
2009-10 88,977,865 (2.89)

Source: "Comparison of Net Receipts" Report — Comptroller's Office.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632

Provided that fines and forfeitures collected by the district courts upon conviction of violation of game
and fish laws or rules and regulations promulgated there under shall be deposited to the Game and
Fish Fund; and provided for a solicitor’s fee of $5 upon conviction of violation of game and fish laws
and imposition of a fine or penalty. (See Act 45-449 and Act 95-544).

Acts 1945, No. 449, p. 687
Eliminated $5 solicitor's fee provided by Act 35-240. (See Act 95-544).

Acts 1964, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 244, p. 335
Provided for additional penalty of $1 upon conviction in any state or city court of moving traffic
violation, to be credited to Driver Education and Training Fund, 90% to be used by the Department of
Education for driver education and 10% to be for administrative expenses of State Safety Coordinating
Committee.

Acts 1965, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 60, p- 85
Provided for “fair trial tax” of $1 on all criminal cases docketed in any court except the Supreme Court,
Court of Appeals, or cases in the mayor's, recorders, or municipal courts if the offense charged was a
violation of a municipal ordinance; provided that the tax be remitted to the Fair Trial Tax Fund, to be
expended for indigent defense; and provided that any unexpended balance in the Fair Trial Tax Fund
at the end of a fiscal year shall revert to the State General Fund.

Acts 1969, No. 999, p. 1855
Provided for additional court cost of $1 for each moving traffic violation, $5 for each misdemeanor
and $10 for each felony conviction, to be deposited to the Alabama Peace Officers’ Annuity and
Benefit Fund; and excluded Conservation law violations.

Acts 1971, No. 1210, p. 2104
Deleted language in Act 69-999 which excluded Conservation law violations from the provisions of the

act.
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Acts 1971, No. 2101, p. 3371
Specifically included Conservation law violations in additional court costs designated for Peace
Officers' Annuity and Benefit Fund (see Acts 69-999 and 71-1210).

Acts 1971, No. 2421, p. 3853
Amended Act 65-60 to provide that (1) the fair trial tax levied by that act shall also be levied in suits at
law or in equity; (2) the fair trial tax be increased from $1 to $2; (3) the fair trial tax shall be levied in all
courts except cases in the mayor’s, recorders, or municipal courts when the offense charged is a
violation of a municipal ordinance - except, however, if cases in such courts involve an offense which is
also a violation of state law; (4) in counties with a public defender a portion of the fair trial tax
collected in that county shall be expended for support of that office; and (5) any unexpended balance
remaining in the Fair Trial Tax Fund at the end of a fiscal year shall not revert to the State General
Fund.

Acts 1975, No. 1205, p. 2384
Implemented new Judicial Article of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 (Amendment No. 328) by
establishing Unified Judicial System for the state, including uniform court costs (see act for fee
schedule). Prior to 1975, the various court fees and fines were collected and distributed within the
counties.

Acts 1976, No. 564, p. 763
Provided for $35 fee for report of sales of abandoned automobiles, to be paid to the circuit court.

Acts 1978, No. 617, p. 877
Provided that municipal court clerks, instead of remitting receipts from the fair trial tax to the State
General Fund, shall pay those receipts into the general fund of the municipality, to be expended by
that municipality for defense of indigents in that municipality’s courts, with any fines not expended for
that purpose to revert to the state treasury.

Acts 1979, No. 751, p. 1336
Established organizational options for existing and future county law libraries. For those existing
libraries opting to come under the provisions of this act and for new libraries organized under the
provisions of this act, a library fee of $2 shall be paid in all cases and causes wherein a docket or filing
fee is paid in the district and circuit courts of the various counties wherein this act is in effect.

Acts 1980, No. 634, p. 1198
Provided for a distinct, uniform $25 docket fee for juvenile cases and provided for distribution thereof;

and eliminated distinction between moving and non-moving traffic violations for docket fee purposes.
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Acts 1980, No. 635, p. 1201
Provided for a sliding scale fee to be collected from the proceeds of all judicial sales and remitted to
State General Fund.

Acts 1981, No. 675, p. 1099
Clarified that the fee on judicial sales provided by Act 80-635 does not apply to judicial sales in
probate courts.

Acts 1981, No. 716, p. 1203
Provided for a $5 increase in docket fees in every criminal and civil action docketed in the municipal,
district and circuit courts, to be distributed to Fair Trial Tax Fund (resulted in increase of from $2 to $7
of total docket fee designated for Fair Trial Tax Fund).

Acts 1981, No. 864, p. 1654
Provided for increase of $5 for misdemeanors and violations, $10 for felonies and $5 for juvenile cases
in district and circuit court costs, to be distributed to the Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Fund
for law enforcement training.

Acts 1983, No. 724, p. 1179
Provided for an increase from $1 to $1.50 in court costs provided by Act 64-244 for traffic violations to
fund courses of instruction in the driving of trucks.

Acts 1983, No. 744, p. 1225
Provided for the following increases in court costs for civil cases: $5 for small claims cases, $8 for other
district court cases, and $15 for circuit court cases; increased by $10 juvenile, traffic, ordinance
violation and criminal cases in district and circuit courts and increased associated service fees
(generally by $2); and provided that the increased docket fees be deposited to the State General Fund.

Acts 1984, No. 658, p. 1308
Provided for increases in court costs of $2 for traffic violations, $10 for misdemeanor violations and
$15 for felony violations to fund the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission.

Acts 1984, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 732, p. 68
Provided that fee collected from proceeds of judicial sales (see Act 80-635) be levelized at 1%; and
provided that $1 of each periodic payment made through the courts for alimony, child support or
court-related restitution be remitted to the State General Fund.

Acts 1987, No. 405, p. 575
Increased court fees and costs as follows: civil cases in district court from $38 to $59; civil cases in
circuit court from $55 to $95; jury demand from $15 to $50; traffic infractions in district court from

$37.50 to $38; misdemeanors and ordinance violations from $55 to $60; felonies from $102 to $130;
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also increased associated service fees; provided for distribution of the increased fees to the State
General Fund and county general funds; and provided for the appropriation of the fee increases from
the State General Fund to the judiciary and district attorneys for FY 1988.

Acts 1987, No. 638, p. 1142
Provided for an increase in court costs for traffic violations from $1.50 to $2. Of this increase: $.10 was
designated for driver education by the Department of Education (for a total of $1); $.10 was
designated for the payment of administrative expenses of the State Safety Coordinating Committee
(for a total of $.20); and the remaining $.30 increase, plus $.15 formerly designated for truck driver
education, was designated to the Alabama Traffic Safety Center Fund to be used by institutions under
the control of the State Board of Education to conduct programs in traffic, motorcycle and boating
safety (the new distribution resulted in $.35 for truck driver education).

Acts 1988, No. 658, p. 1055
Provided that the portion of the $2 court costs for traffic violations, designated by Act 87-638 for the
use of the Alabama Traffic Safety Center, would not be controlled by the State Department of
Education or by any institution under its control.

Acts 1991, No. 433, p. 769
Increased court costs for traffic violations from $2 to $7 and provided for distribution of that $7. Due
to a change in the Administrative Office of Courts' interpretation of statutes affected by this act
following its passage, Act 91-824 was enacted to achieve the effect intended by this act.

Acts 1991, No. 438, p. 778
Increased docket fees as follows: traffic infraction in district courts from $38 to $40; misdemeanors and
municipal ordinance violations in district and circuit courts from $60 to $62; provided that the $2
increase be deposited to the Police Officers' Annuity and Benefit Fund.

Acts 1991, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 824, p. 224
Increased docket fees for traffic infractions in district court from $40 to $47 and levied a docket fee of
$8.50 for traffic offenses in municipal courts, with the increase to be distributed to the Drivers' Fund.
Repealed the $2 levied in Section 32-5-313 and added the overall $7 increase to the existing $1.50
designated for the Drivers' Fund, for a total of $8.50 ($6.50 net increase) to the Fund. Provided that of
the $8.50 deposited to the Drivers' Fund, $1.50 will go to the Department of Public Safety for
implementation of the Commercial Driver's License program, with the remaining $7 distributed as
follows: 21% to the State Department of Education for driver education; 36% to the State Department

of Postsecondary Education (to be distributed to certain technical colleges for truck driver training);
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3% to the State Safety Coordinating Committee; 30% to the Catastrophic Trust Fund for Special
Education; and 10% to the Alabama Traffic Safety Center Fund.

Acts 1992, No. 227, p. 562
Increased docket fees as follows: small claims cases filed in district court from $20 to $25; civil cases
filed in district court from $59 to $74; civil cases filed in circuit court from $95 to $110; civil case jury
demand fees from $50 to $51; traffic infractions in district court from $47 to $62; misdemeanors and
municipal ordinance violations in district and circuit courts from $62 to $87; felonies in district and
circuit courts from $130 to $155; juvenile cases from $40 to $55. Provided that all increased fees be
deposited to the State General Fund except the additional $1 jury demand fee (which was directed to
the Department of Youth Services for the payment of juvenile probation officers' salaries). Provided for
the amendatory fees provided by this act to terminate during FY 1992 and FY 1993 when the amounts
appropriated from the State General Fund to the judiciary by this act for those fiscal years was
collected from said amendatory fees. Further provided that the amendatory fees terminate on
September 30, 1994. (See Act 93-133).

Acts 1992, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 677, p. 58
Levied a criminal history processing fee (additional court cost) of $10 on any person convicted of a
crime in municipal, district or circuit court, excluding traffic cases that do not involve driving under the
influence of alcohol or controlled substances, and conservation and juvenile cases. $7 of each $10 fee
is to be deposited to the Public Safety Automated Fingerprint Identification System Fund and the
remaining $3 is to be deposited to the Court Automation Fund. (See Act 93-255 and Act 93-641 for
further provisions regarding expenditure of monies deposited to the Court Automation Fund).

Acts 1993, No. 133, p. 189
Amended Act 92-227 to provide that fees generated by that act would be deposited in the State
General Fund and the increase in court fees provided by that act would not terminate as provided in
that act but would, instead, be effective until October 1, 1995.

Acts 1994, No. 694, p. 1334
Provided that, in addition to any other court costs and fees authorized, any municipal governing body
may, by majority vote, levy additional court costs and fees up to an amount not to exceed the county
court costs and fees on each case filed in municipal court. Any such additional court cost or fee is to
be paid into a special municipal fund, the Corrections Fund, to be expended exclusively for the
operation and maintenance of the municipal jail, other correctional facilities, juvenile detention center

or court complex. (See Act 95-401).
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Acts 1994, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 804, p. 109
Levied an additional fee (court cost) of $2 in municipal cases and in district and circuit court criminal
and civil cases (excluding parking violations and small claims cases), in bond forfeiture proceedings,
upon initiation of attachment, garnishment or execution proceedings and upon the issuance of any
alias or capias warrant of arrest. The fee is to be deposited to the Alabama DNA Database Fund, to be
used by the Director of the Alabama Department of Forensic Sciences for the exclusive purposes of
Act 94-804.

Acts 1995, No. 401, p. 835
Amended Act 94-694 to clarify that “county court costs and fees” referenced in that act means court
costs and fees in the district court of the county.

Acts 1995, No. 509, p. 1018
Amended Act 93-133 to remove the October 1, 1995 termination date.

Acts 1995, No. 544, p. 1142
Provided for district attorney’s fee upon conviction of violation of game and fish laws, in the same
manner as taxed in other cases involving criminal violations in the district court. (See Act 35-240 and
Act 45-449,)

Acts 1995, No. 733, p. 1567
Levied an additional fee of $100 upon conviction in any state or municipal court of certain drug
offenses, with the additional fee to be deposited, after deduction of a 1% administrative fee, in the
Alabama Forensic Services Trust Fund, a revolving fund created by this act, to be expended by the
Alabama Department of Forensic Sciences.

Acts 1996, No. 752, p. 1323
Increased the jurisdictional limits of small claims courts from $1,500 to $3,000 effective July 1, 1996,
but provided that docket fees for cases in small claims court in which the matter in controversy
exceeds $1,500 would be the same as the docket fees for cases in the district court that are not small
claims cases.

Acts 1997, No. 945, p. 515
Increased from $10 to $30 the criminal history processing fee levied by Act 92-677 (see above) and
provided that the additional $20 fee be distributed as follows: (1) $3 to the Public Safety Automated
Fingerprint Identification (AFIS) Fund; (2) $2 to the Court Automation Fund of the Unified Judicial
System; (3) $10 to the Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) Automation Fund (which was created

in this act); and (4) $5 to the Forensic Services Fund.
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Acts 1998, No. 671, p. 1475
Provided that court clerks remit fines collected for driving while license is suspended, cancelled or
revoked or without a license directly to the State Comptroller (rather than to the Director of Public
Safety), that the $50 penalty levied in such cases be automatic (need not be specifically assessed by
the judge), and that the fee be collected in municipal court cases.

Acts 1999, No. 427, p. 759
Increased docket fees as follows: small claims cases filed in district court from $25 to $35; civil cases
filed in district court from $74 to $109; civil cases filed in circuit court from $110 to $145; traffic
infractions in district court from $62 to $97; misdemeanors and municipal ordinance violations in
district and circuit courts from $87 to $122; felonies in district and circuit courts from $155 to $190;
juvenile cases from $55 to $90; bond forfeiture in district and circuit courts from $35 to $70. The
amounts above included the additional $5 increase which became effective October 1, 2000. The initial
increase (the current fee amount minus $5 for each case type) was effective June 10, 1999. Except for
small claims cases filed in district court and civil cases filed in circuit court, the act provided that the
immediate increases be deposited as follows: $9 to the Fair Trial Tax Fund; $16 to the State General
Fund; $5 to the Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund (which was created by this act); and
effective October 1, 2000, that the additional $5 be deposited into the Fair Trail Tax Fund. In small
claims cases, the $5 increase, effective June 10, 1999, and the additional $5 increase which became
effective October 1, 2000, are deposited into the Fair Trial Tax Fund. The increased fees in civil cases in
circuit court are distributed as follows: $13 to the Fair Trial Tax Fund; $12 to the State General Fund; $5
to the Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund and effective October 1, 2000, an additional $5
to the Fair Trial Tax Fund. The act also increased by $30 costs assessed in municipal courts upon
conviction of a municipal violation. Costs for a traffic violation increased from $42.50 to $72.50 and
costs for a non-traffic violation from $76 to $106. The cost increase is distributed as follows: $9 to the
Fair Trial Tax Fund; $2 to the municipal general fund; $3 to the Advanced Technology and Data
Exchange Fund; and $16 to the State General Fund.

Acts 2000, No. 746, p. 1667
Provided that court costs assessed against persons convicted of game and fish violations would not
exceed the fine for the violation, except for convictions for night hunting or hunting on the lands of
another. Does not apply where court costs are by constitutional amendment or where such costs are

pledged for the repayment of bonds.
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Acts 2000, No. 800, p. 1901
Provided that the $1.50 to the Department of Public Safety for implementation of the Commerecial
Driver's License program, of the total of $8.50 deposited to the Drivers' Fund (pursuant to Act 1991-
824), would, effective October 1, 2000, instead be transferred to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund for
law enforcement purposes.
Acts 2003, No. 402, p. 1170
Provided that the $35 fee for report of sales of abandoned automobiles (see Act 1976-564) does not
apply if the funds paid for such sales are equal to or less than $35.
Acts 2004, No. 636, p. 1452
Increased docket fees as follows:
- Civil cases filed in district court in which the amount of controversy exceeds $3,000 but does not
exceed $10,000 from $109 to $198
- Civil cases, other than domestic relations and cases in which the matter of controversy does not
exceed $50,000, filed in circuit court from $145 to $297
- Civil cases in circuit court in which the matter of controversy exceeds $50,000 from $145 to $197
- Modification or enforcement of an existing domestic relations court order from $145 to $248
- Jury demand fee from $51 to $100
- Witness subpoena from $8 to $12
- Attachment from $15 to $28
- Garnishment from $15 to $28
- Execution from $7 to $28
Added fees as follows:
- $50 for each additional plaintiff (not more than $500 regardless of the number of additional
plaintiffs) for civil cases in district court
- $297 for a counterclaim, cross claim, third party complaint, third party motion or an action for a
declaratory judgment filed in a civil action in circuit court
- $297 for a motion or complaint to appear as an intervener or a third party plaintiff in a civil action
in circuit court other than cases filed on a domestic relations docket
- $100 for each additional plaintiff (not more than $1,000 regardless of the number of additional
plaintiffs) for civil cases (other than domestic relations) in circuit court
- $50 for a dispositive motion
The fee increases or additions were distributed to the following funds:

- State General Fund
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- Fair Trial Tax Fund
- Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund
- County General Fund
- DNA Database Fund

Acts 2006, No. 414, p. 1027
Repealed Section 12-19-76, which provided for a circuit court fee for the filing of a report of the sale
of an abandoned motor vehicle, if applicable. (See Act 1976-564 and Act 2003-402).

Acts 2009, No. 768, p. 2355
Increased the DNA database fee from $2 to $12 for: (1) all criminal municipal, district and circuit court
cases; (2) bond forfeiture proceedings; and (3) certain other court proceedings. Based on the
Administrative Office of Courts’ interpretation of the act, effective August 1, 2009, the $2 DNA
database fee is no longer imposed in juvenile cases. The fee is distributed to the Alabama DNA
Database Fund, and the Citizenship Trust according to the schedule specified in the act, with one-half
of the receipts distributed to the Trust being allocated to the David Mathews Center for Civic Life.

Acts 2010, No. 438, p. 704
Established a solicitor's fee to be imposed in juvenile, traffic, criminal, and quasi-criminal cases in
juvenile, district, and municipal courts statewide. The solicitor’s fee, which is in addition to other court
costs, will be equal to the Fair Trial Tax Fund fee (currently $21 in state courts and $16 in municipal
courts) imposed in each case and will be distributed as follows: (1) $3 of the fee imposed will be
retained by the clerk of the circuit court and used for operation of the clerk’s office; and (2) the
remainder will be deposited into the Solicitor's Fund or the District Attorney’s Fund in the county
where the case is heard or to the fund that may be hereafter prescribed by law for the solicitor's fee.
The solicitor's fee may be expended by the district attorney for payment of any legitimate law
enforcement purpose. The act does not supersede local laws enacted on or after the effective date of
this bill. Upon repeal of a local act establishing a solicitor's fee, the county shall collect the fee
pursuant to this act.

Acts 2011, No. 621, p. 1429
Doubles the penalty for a person convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) if that person has a
blood alcohol content of at least 0.15 percent within four hours of operating a motor vehicle. The
penalty for a person convicted of DUI if a child under the age of 14 was present in the vehicle must be

at least double the penalty otherwise applicable.
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Acts 2012, No. 266, p. 514
Authorizes the appointment of former or retired judges to serve as private judges in certain district
and circuit court cases (domestic relations, contract, or tort cases) and requires a $100 filing fee for a
petition to appoint a private judge, with $50 going to the Administrative Office of Courts and $50
going to the office of the clerk in the county in which the case is pending.

Acts 2012, No. 535, p. 1582
Provided for an increase in docket fees in certain civil and criminal cases in circuit, district, and
municipal courts, a bail bond filing fee, and a bail bond fee. $45 increase in civil cases; $15 increase in
small claims cases; $40 increase in criminal cases; and $26 increase in traffic cases. $35 filing fee on
each bond executed. Bail bond fee varies.

Acts 2013, No. 193, p. 360
Eliminated an existing conflict of law by raising the contempt fine for failure to pay the bail bond filing
fee in municipal court to a maximum of $500, as provided in Act 2012-535, and extended the
provisions of Act 2012-353 beyond September 30, 2015.

Acts 2013, No. 353, p. 1265
Allows municipalities to establish pretrial diversion programs.

Acts 2013, No. 361, p. 1290
Established a statewide pretrial diversion program.

Acts 2014, No. 166, p. 472
Amended law relating to the Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund and court payments to
provide that court clerks may accept charge cards, in addition to credit and debit cards, for court
payments. Provides that court clerks shall impose a fee on payments made with such cards in an
amount not exceeding the sum of: (1) the transaction fee or discount charged by the card issuer or
processor and (2) any cost or fee charged pursuant to agreement between the Administrative Office of
Courts and a contracting entity providing services in connection with the acceptance of payments with
such cards.

Acts 2014, No. 350, p. 1299
Provided that the juvenile court shall have exclusive original jurisdiction over termination of parental
rights proceedings. Included legislative intent that specifies that the original intent in the adoption of
the Alabama Juvenile Justice Act was for the juvenile court to exercise exclusive original jurisdiction in
all termination of parental rights proceedings. Amendatory language in this act applies retroactively to
cases filed in juvenile court on or after January 1, 2009 and before this act for the purpose of ratifying

and confirming the exercise of original jurisdiction of the juvenile court in such cases.
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Acts 2014, No. 455, p. 1688
Provided that, civil actions, a justice or judge shall recuse himself or herself from hearing a case based
on a substantial campaign contribution or electioneering communication made to or on behalf of the
justice or judge by a party to the case if: (1) a reasonable person would perceive that the judge's
ability to carry out his or her responsibilities with impartiality is impaired or (2) there is a serious,

objective probability of actual bias due to acceptance of the campaign contribution.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Court costs are deposited into the General Revenue Fund, the State Courts Revenue Trust Fund,
the Clerks of the Court Trust Fund, the Administrative Trust Fund, and the Court Education Trust
Fund. Additionally, on the local level, the counties retain a portion of the court costs they receive.
State courts are funded through appropriations on the state level, while other courts are funded
partially through the state and partially through the counties.

Georgia
Georgia's judicial system is not a unified system. The state appropriates funds to operate the
appellate courts and provides a portion of the funds required to operate the general jurisdiction
trial courts (Superior Courts) and juvenile courts. Limited jurisdiction courts are funded entirely by
city or county governments.

Mississippi
Court costs are collected by the lower courts are forwarded to the Clerk of the Supreme Court on
the state level. These costs are deposited into the State General Fund and into the Judicial System
Operation Fund, which is used for the operation of the judicial system (subject to appropriation by
the Legislature). At the local level, the clerk retains a majority of the court costs, although in some
cases a portion goes to the Judicial System Operation Fund.

Tennessee
Appellate court clerks collect court fees which are deposited into the state treasury and
designated for the operation of the state court system. The fines and fees from the lower courts
accrue to the state and the counties depending on the nature of the case. The general rule, with
exceptions, is that fines collected in felony cases go to the state, while fines collected from

misdemeanor cases go to the counties. Litigation taxes may also apply.
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Leasing or Renting of Tangible Personal Property

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-12-220 through 40-12-227 and 40-9-30, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Privilege tax on persons engaging in leasing or renting tangible personal property.

Tax Rate:

4% of gross proceeds from leasing or renting tangible personal property; 1.5% of gross proceeds from
renting or leasing automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers; 2% of gross proceeds
from renting or leasing linens and garments. Gross proceeds on which the tax is calculated includes any of

the tax passed on to a lessee by a lessor.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on the 20" of each month.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)*° Percent Change
2013-14" 73,968,154 17.94

2012-13 62,715,288 2.60
2011-12 61,127,902 (1.57)
2010-11 62,104,332 (0.61)

2009-10 62,486,140 (5.99)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
Proceeds remaining after payment of the expenses of administration and enforcement are distributed to

the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Any leasing or rental, as lessor, by the state or any municipality or county in the state or any public
corporation organized under state law.
(2) The renting or leasing of oxygen or durable medical equipment to a recipient of benefits under the

Medicare or Medicaid program. The renting or leasing of any items used to treat an illness or injury or

%0 Gross collections.

31 Y 2014 collections include $7,733,694 from a remittance error of funds to use tax.

Leasing or Renting of Tangible Personal Property Page 267



to replace all or part of a limb or internal body part under Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit
plan. (Section 40-9-30 of the Code of Alabama 1975).
A listing of additional exemptions is found in Section 40-12-223, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Legislative History:

Acts 1971, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 96, p. 166
Established tax at current rates; provided that all proceeds of the tax be deposited to the Education
Trust Fund.

Acts 1988, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 955, p. 680
Changed distribution of tax to 60% to the State General Fund and 40% to the Education Trust Fund.
Note: This act was contingent upon enactment of HB 45, which amended Alabama state income tax
law to conform to federal income tax regarding interest deductions and deductions for entertainment,
meals and travel, resulting in increased receipts to the Education Trust Fund. The conformity bill
became Act 88-954.

Acts 1999, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 650, p- 96
Changed the distribution of tax to current distribution effective January 1, 2001.
Note: This act was contingent upon enactment of a bill to substantially conform state income tax law
to federal law relating to the determination of taxable income for corporations and the ratification of a
Constitutional Amendment to increase the income tax on corporations to 6.5%. The conformity bill
became Act 99-664 and the amendment was ratified and designated Amendment No. 662, now
appearing as Section 211.03 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended.

Acts 2001, No. 636, p. 1242
Clarified that the tax may be passed on to the lessee by adding the tax to the leasing price, but if the
tax is added it must be included in the gross proceeds subject to the tax. Retroactive to January 1,
1988.

Acts 2014, No. 453, p. 1685
Amended Section 40-9-30, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to exemption from taxation and licenses,
to exempt any times used for the treatment of iliness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or
internal body part purchased by or on behalf of an individual pursuant to a valid prescription and
covered by and billed to Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit place from state, county, and

municipal sales, use and rental and leasing taxes. Repealed Section 40-9-39.1, Code of Alabama 1975,
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which provided a sales and use tax exemption for certain durable medical equipment, prosthetics,
orthotics devices, and medical supplies.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Annual sales tax rate of 6% applies to rental and leasing of tangible personal property.

Georgia
General sales tax rate of 4% applies to rental and leasing of tangible personal property.

Mississippi
Income from renting or leasing tangible personal property used within the state is taxed at same
rate as sales of the same property (1%-7%).

Tennessee
General state sales tax rate of 7% and a local option tax of 2.75% imposed by city and/or county
governments applies to rental and leasing of tangible personal property. Generally, the local
option tax is required only on the first $1,600 of the income from the rental of statutorily defined
single articles of tangible personal property. A state single article tax of 2.75% is levied on the
amount in excess of $1,600 but less than or equal to $3,200 of income from the rental of a single

article.
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Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Permit Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-17-100 through 9-17-110, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Any person engaging or continuing in the business of (1) selling, distributing, storing or transporting
liquefied petroleum gases; (2) installing, servicing, repairing, removing or adjusting liquefied petroleum
gas containers, tanks or systems; (3) performing magnetic, hydrostatic, visual or X-ray inspections of
liquefied petroleum gas storage containers, cargo tanks, motor fuel containers, and cylinders; or (4)
repairing and calibrating liquefied petroleum gas meter equipment in the State of Alabama must obtain at

least one of ten types of permits.

Tax Rate:
Permits Initial Fee Renewal Fee
(1) Permit A-Retail businesses $300 $200

(2) Permit B-Wholesale businesses or retail sales of 5,000
gallons or more $300 $200

(3) Permit Bl-Individual branch or division or agent of

Class A permit holder $100 $100
(4) Permit C-Installation, service and repair businesses $50 $50
(5) Permit C1-Repair of LP carburetion equipment $50 $50
(6) Permit C2-Inspections $100 $100

(7) Permit D-Service and repair businesses for bulk
storage systems of 5,000 gallons or more $250 $250

(8) Permit E-Calibration and repair of meters $50 $50

(9) Permit F-Retail Filling LP gas cylinders and/or motor
fuel containers of less than 351 pounds water capacity $100 $100

(10) Permit F1-Selling, filling or transporting welding or
cutting gases, LP gas cylinder, or LP gas motor fuel $100 $100
containers
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Other Charges:

D

)

©)

Class A and B1 permit holders pay a LP Gas fee established by the Board not to exceed $.005 per
gallon, which is paid only once per gallon. Effective August 2014, the fee is $.003 per gallon.
Storage plant approval fees of $200 plus an additional $50 for each inspection trip to the site of
storage.

Penalty fees for late renewal of permits.

Collections:

Fiscal Year Collections ($)32 Percent Change
2013-14 1,264,443 31.79

2012-13 959,429 8.66

2011-12 882,978 (4.36)

2010-11 923,235 10.46
2009-10 835,834 19.88

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Fund. All balances in the LP Gas Board Fund in excess of $200,000 at the

end of each fiscal year are transferred to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Research and Education Fund.

Legislative History:
Acts 1965, No. 220, p. 305

Established the Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board; provided that applicants in the business of
selling liquefied petroleum gases pay a permit fee of $.35 per thousand gallons on the first million
gallons sold in the state and $.25 per thousand gallons on all amounts over one million gallons sold;
provided for a minimum permit and renewal fee of $200 and a maximum fee of $3,000; and provided

all fees collected be deposited to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Fund.

Acts 1979, No. 435, p. 690

Provided for Permits A, B, C, D, and E. (See Tax Rate).

Acts 1984, No. 293, p. 555

Added Permit F. (See Tax Rate).

2 . . . . . .
3 Includes permit fees, LP gas fees, rules and regulations fees, construction plan review fees, reproduction fees, and witness fees.
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Acts 1986, No. 531, p. 1029
Increased fees for permit holders not otherwise covered under this act from .2% of the cost of the sale
to .4% of the cost of the sale.

Acts 1989, No. 535, p. 1097
Added Permit B1. (See Tax Rate).

Acts 1992, No. 123, p. 213
Increased the limit on balances which may be retained in the LP Gas Board Fund to $200,000.

Acts 1993, No. 632, p. 1079
Created the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Research and Education Fund; and provided that all balances in
excess of $200,000 in the LP Gas Board Fund at the end of each fiscal year shall be transferred to the
LP Gas Research and Education Fund.

Acts 1994, No. 211, p. 283
Established Permits C1 and C2 and created the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Recovery Fund. (See Tax Rate).

Acts 1997, No 685, p. 1361
Established Permit F1; and provided further for use of funds in the LP Gas Research and Education
Fund. Money in this fund could now be used for grants and contracts to fund research and education
programs and to provide rebates for promoting use of LP gas. (See Tax Rate).

Acts 2004, No. 87, p. 111
Continued the existence and functioning of the Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board pursuant to
the Alabama Sunset Law. Increased the membership of the board by adding a consumer member,
permit ex officio members of the board to appoint designees to represent the members at board
meetings, and to eliminate the credit or refund provides to Class A or B-1 permit holders who sell
liquefied petroleum gas to end users located outside of this state.

Acts 2004, No. 489, p. 914
Provided for the LP Gas fee to be established by the Board and not to exceed $.005 per gallon,
assessed only once per gallon.

Acts 2006, No. 286, p. 444
Required a consumer to notify and provide an opportunity for his or her regular LP-gas dealer to
provide the service before employing another person to install, repair, maintain, adjust, or service an
LP-gas appliance and limit legal action against the dealer if notice and opportunity are not provided.
Also required dealers to document and maintain notices for five years and exempts dealers from

awards of punitive and exemplary damages under certain circumstances.
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Acts 2008, No. 128, p. 174

Continues the existence and functioning of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board pursuant to the

Alabama Sunset Law. Also requires applicants for licensure to be United States citizens or legally

present in the state.

Acts 2014, No 145, p. 353

Required existing retail, off-premise cylinder filling stations of a Class A or B-1 permit holder to obtain

a Permit F to continue operations. Abolished the Liquefied Petroleum (LP) Gas Recovery Fund and

transferred its balance to the LP Gas Board in fiscal year 2015. Eliminated obsolete LP Gas Board

Personal Bond Fund.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

License Category

(a) Category I LP gas dealer
(b) Category II LP gas dispenser

(c) Category III LP gas cylinder exchange
operator (original fee is per location;
renewal fee is for first 30 locations; over
30 locations is $50 for each remaining
location)

(d) Category IV LP gas dispenser and
recreation vehicle servicer

(e) Category V LP gas dealer for industrial
uses only

(f) Installer and specialty installer

(g) Dealer in appliances and equipment for
use of LP gas

(h) Manufacturer of LP gas appliances and
equipment/requalifier of cylinders/
repairer and retester of cargo tanks

(i) Examination fees of $20 for licenses in
(a), (b), (d), (e) and (h), above

Original Application Fee

Annual Renewal Fee

$525
$525

$100

$525

$300

$300

$50

$525

$425
$375

$65

$375

$200

$200

$45

$375
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Georgia
License fees
(@) 2,000 gallons or less - $150.
(b) more than 2,000 gallons - $600.
Mississippi
$.0025 per gallon distributor tax; and $.001 per gallon sold up to $.005 per gallon sold to fund a

propane education program. No permit fees.

Tennessee
Annual Fee

Class I May engage in any phase of LP gas business and bulk storage

(minimum 30,000 water gallon storage) $150
Class II Filling cylinders (minimum 500 water gallon storage or approved

vehicle mounted 500 water gallon container) $35
ClassIII  Service station operators (refrigeration and/or motor fuel)

(Must have a Class II license to receive a license in this class) $35
ClassIV  LP gas refiner: jobber or wholesaler $150
Class V LP gas container manufacturer, wholesaler or dealer $100
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Lodgings (Transient Occupancy) Tax

Statutory Authority:
Sections 34-27-65 and 40-26-1 through 40-26-21, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Privilege tax upon every person or firm that rents or furnishes lodgings or accommodations to transients

for a period of less than 180 days for a fee.

Tax Rate:

(1) 5% of the charges for accommodations in the counties comprising the Alabama mountain lakes
geographic area: Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale,
Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston.

(2) 4% of the charges for accommodations in all other Alabama counties.

(3) Information on local rates follows Legislative History.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on the 20" of the month succeeding the month the tax accrues. Vendors
who file tax returns on time are entitled to a discount of 5% on the first $100 of tax and 2% on all tax over
$100. Penalty charges, plus interest, may also be imposed on vendors who file deficient or delinquent tax

returns.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 56,838,576 542

2012-13 53,916,980 4.08
2011-12 51,801,586 4.24
2010-11 49,694,469 14.73

2009-10 43,314,319 (.89)

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

(1) 20% of the 5% levy collected in Alabama mountain lakes area counties, after deduction of cost for
collection, is distributed as follows:
(@) 50% to the Alabama Mountain Lakes Association for the promotion of tourism and travel.

(b) 50% to the respective counties for the promotion of tourism, recreation, and conventions.
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3)

The balance of the tax collected in mountain lakes area counties, as well as the entire proceeds from
the 4% levy, except as provided below, collected in all other Alabama counties, is distributed as
follows:

(@) 75% to the State General Fund.

(b) 25% to the Bureau of Tourism and Travel for state travel advertising and travel promotion. Of
this amount, not more than $10,000 per fiscal biennium may be expended for the Department of
Transportation to construct and erect directional markers designating major tourist attractions
(Section 23-1-7).

An amount not to exceed $3 million appropriated annually as the Legislature deems necessary and

desirable to the Alabama Convention Facilities Fund for state assistance payments under the Alabama

Convention Facilities Act (Section 11-100-4(g)).

Major Exemptions:

@

)
©)

4)
()

(6)

Any rentals or services taxed under the sales tax provisions (Sections 40-23-1 through 40-23-38, Code
of Alabama 1975, as amended).

Rooms, lodgings or accommodations supplied for 180 or more continuous days.

Municipal privilege license taxes levied and collected on gross sales or gross receipts from sales and
passed on directly by the seller to the purchaser shall be excluded from gross sales or gross receipts
in the computation of this tax.

Proceeds from the sale or resale of any vacation time-sharing lease plan.

Nonprofit or privately operated camps, conference centers, or similar facilities that provide lodging
and recreational or educational programs exclusively for the benefit of children, students, or members
or guests of nonprofit organizations.

Rooms, lodgings, or accommodations supplied in connection with the production of an approved

motion picture project. (See Legislative History).

Legislative History:
Acts 1955, No. 248, p. 586

Established lodgings tax at 3% and provided that all receipts be deposited in the Education Trust Fund

for teachers' salaries.

Acts 1956, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 96, p. 142

Provided that the Governor by Executive Order could authorize the Department of Revenue to allow
persons subject to the tax, a discount not to exceed 5% of first $100 of tax levied and 2% of the tax

levied over $100.
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Acts 1963, No. 269, p. 715
Increased lodgings tax to 4% and established the distribution of proceeds: 75% to the Education Trust
Fund for payment of teachers' salaries and 25% to the Bureau of Tourism and Travel for state travel
advertising and travel promotion.

Acts 1979, No. 604, p. 1068
Increased the lodgings tax rate from 4% to 5% in 16 North Alabama counties which comprise the
Alabama mountain lakes area and provided for the distribution of the additional tax proceeds.

Acts 1988, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 956, p. 681
Changed distribution of the tax proceeds from the Education Trust Fund, for payment of teachers'
salaries, to the State General Fund.

Acts 1996, No. 498, p. 629
To the exemptions from the tax, added non-profit camps and conference centers and film projects
approved by the Alabama Film Commission that met specified requirements.

Acts 2001, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 968, p- 865
Extended the number of continuous days, in order to qualify for the lodging exemption, to more than
180 days.

Acts 2001, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 975, p. 908
Excluded those working in connection with the production of an approved motion picture project
certified by the Alabama Film Office until September 30, 2005.

Acts 2005, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 305, p. 610
Amended Act 2001-975 to extend the lodgings tax exemption for motion picture projects approved
by the Alabama Film Commission to September 30, 2006.

Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268
Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Exempted qualified production companies from the
state’s portion of sales and use taxes and from all state and local lodgings taxes if a production
company spends in the aggregate at least $150,000 in the state within a 12 consecutive month period.

Acts 2011, No. 695, p. 2123
Amended the Entertainment Industry Act of 2009; both expanded and redefined criteria used to
determine rebates and exemptions; clarified that sales, use and lodgings tax exemptions applied to the
state only portion of the taxes; capped sales use and lodgings exemptions when production

expenditures reach $10 million.
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Acts 2012, No. 212, p. 378
Amended the Entertainment Industry Act of 2009 to increase aggregate annual cap on incentives from
$10 million to: (1) $15 million for fiscal years 2013 and 2014; and (2) $20 million in subsequent fiscal
years.

Note Regarding Local Levies:

Several counties and municipalities levy local lodgings taxes. Counties may levy a lodging tax by local
legislative act. Municipalities may levy a lodgings tax by local ordinance (per Section 11-51-90 of the

Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
General sales tax rate of 6% applies to lodgings. Individual counties and certain municipalities may
levy additional occupancy taxes and a tourist development tax on accommodations of either 1%
or 2%.
Georgia
General sales tax at a rate of 4% applies to lodgings. Counties and municipalities may impose an
excise tax of up to 6% for accommodations.
Mississippi
General sales tax rate of 7% applies to lodgings. Counties and municipalities may, by special
statute, impose an additional occupancy tax. These taxes are administered by the state.
Tennessee
General sales tax rate of 7% applies to lodgings. Counties and municipalities in general may

impose a local occupancy tax.
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Manufactured Home Registration Fee

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-7-1, 40-8-1, 40-11-1(b)(15) and (c)(2) and 40-12-255, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Registration fee in lieu of ad valorem taxes on manufactured homes which are rented or leased or located
on land owned by someone other than the owner of the manufactured home. An owner-occupied

manufactured home located on land owned by the occupant is subject to ad valorem taxes.

Tax Rate:

Owner-occupied: $24 single wide/$48 double wide or larger registration fee.

Others: $48 commercial single wide/$96 commercial double wide or larger registration fee.
Manufactured homes 10-19 years of age are 75% of those above.

Manufactured homes 20 years old or older are 50% of those above.

Issuance (decal) fee: $5.

Collections:
By the county official responsible for collection of ad valorem taxes in the county in which the

manufactured home is customarily kept, on October 1 of each year.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 553,600 (1.90)

2012-13 564,321 (1.45)
2011-12 572,608 (6.70)
2010-11 613,745 (4.19)

2009-10 640,605 (3.87)

Source: "Comparison of Net Receipts" Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:
(1) Registration Fee:
(@) 25%-State General Fund.
(b) 25%-County General Fund.
(c) 25%-County School Board-unless home is located in city school district, in which case

this percentage goes to the city school board.

33 General Fund collections only.
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(d) 25%-Municipality in which the home is located-unless the home is not located in a
municipality, in which case this percentage goes to the County General Fund.
(2) Issuance (decal) Fee:
(@) $4 to County General Fund if the issuing official is on salary, or to the issuing official if
compensated by a fee system.
(b) $1 to County treasury for use by the issuing official only for the performance of his or her official

duties.

Exemptions:

(1) Manufactured homes considered part of the inventory of a dealer or manufacturer.

(2) Owner occupied manufactured home owned by any person over age 65 or who is totally disabled
(issuance (decal) fee must be paid).

(3) Manufactured homes owned by the U.S. Government, the State of Alabama, and county or municipal

corporations are exempt from the registration fee.

Legislative History:

Acts 1961, Ex. Sess., No. 44, p. 1897
Provided for a license tax of $3 and that house trailers would be assessed in the same manner as
motor vehicles for ad valorem tax purposes.

Acts 1988, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 824, p. 265
Removed mobile homes from motor vehicle registration requirements and classified them as
residences for ad valorem tax purposes.

Acts 1991, No. 694, p. 1340
Provided for registration fee at current rates in lieu of ad valorem taxes on certain manufactured
homes.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1098, p- 1152
Provided that the portion of the issuance fee dedicated for use by the issuing official may be used by

the issuing official for performance of his or her official duties.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Manufactured homes are taxed as a residence if the land upon which it is located is also owned by the
owner of the home. If the manufactured home is on land owned by another, there is an annual
registration fee, paid to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, based on the length of
the manufactured home, ranging from $30.35 (up to 35" to $90.35 (66" and up).
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Georgia
Manufactured homes are taxed as a residence. Taxes are charged against the owner of the property.
Mississippi
Manufactured homes are taxed as personal property if the occupant/owner does not own the land on
which the home is located. If the occupant/owner owns the land he has the option of treating the
manufactured home as personal property or as a homestead for tax purposes. If classified as real
property, a $12 fee.
Tennessee
Mobile homes are assessed as real property improvements to land. For mobile homes located in

mobile home parks, the owner of the mobile homes is responsible for tax.
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Marriage License Fee

Statutory Authority:

Sections 12-19-90(b)(32) and 30-6-6 through 30-6-11, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A fee for a marriage license.

Tax Rate:

$30, plus an additional issuance and recording fee of $10.

Collections:

By probate judges.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)34 Percent Change
2013-14 1,157,490 (0.82)

2012-13 1,167,050 (4.88)
2011-12 1,226,948 (0.64)
2010-11 1,234,853 7.66

2009-10 1,146,949 (9.45)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

The issuance and recording fee is paid into the county treasury (or to the probate judge if authorized or
required by law). The license fee is remitted by probate judges to the state treasury to be distributed,
based upon population, by the Office of Prosecution Services to domestic violence facilities designated by
the district attorneys (however, in one circuit the Office of Prosecution Services sends the circuit's share to
the district attorney who, in turn, distributes it to the domestic violence facility.) The Office of Prosecution
Services may not expend in excess of 10% of the $30 for implementation. The Office retains 60% of the
10% administrative fee or $80,000, whichever is greater, and the remainder is distributed to the Alabama

Coalition Against Domestic Violence upon receipt of the report on the status of domestic violence.

Legislative History:
Acts 1911, No. 196, p. 154

Fee for issuance and recording of marriage license set at $1.50.

3* Includes only the $30 that funds domestic violence facilities. Collections shown are prior to the 10% Office of Prosecution Services
administrative fee deduction.
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Acts 1975, No. 556, p. 1259
Increased fee for issuance and recording of marriage license from $1.50 to $5.
Acts 1981, No. 813, p. 1452
Established an additional marriage license fee of $5 for support of domestic violence facilities and
provided for the distribution.
Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040
Increased the fee for issuance and recording of marriage license from $5 to $10.
Acts 1987, No. 596, p. 1035
Increased the additional marriage license fee for support of domestic violence facilities from $5 to $15.
Acts 1999, No. 589, p. 1344
Increased the additional marriage license fee for support of domestic violence facilities from $15 to

the current rate of $30.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$93.50 fee distributed as follows: $32 to county (clerk of court) and $61.50 to State. Of the state share,
$25 is deposited to the Domestic Violence Trust Fund to be expended by the Department of Children
and Family Services for the funding of domestic violence centers; $25 is deposited to the General
Revenue Fund; $7.50 is deposited to the Displaced Homemaker Trust Fund; and $4 is for the
Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics. The marriage license fee is reduced by $32.50 for
couples completing a 4-hour premarital preparation course within the past year.

Georgia
$56 fee distributed as follows: $40 statutory fee for application (with certification of premarital
counseling within the past year this fee is waived); $15 statutory amount to Children’s Trust Fund of
Georgia; $1 vital records recording fee; plus other fees as established by the county.

Mississippi
$21 fee distributed as follows: $14 to Victims of Domestic Violence Fund; $6 to Circuit Clerk; and $1 to
the State of Mississippi (State Board of Health).

Tennessee
Fee varies by county. $60 of the total fee may be waived if the couple has gone through four hours of
marriage counseling within the past year or if not state residents (in some counties). If the $60 is not
waived, it is distributed as follows: $7 to the Administrative Office of Courts for funding parenting plan

requirements; $15 to the Department of Children’s Services for child abuse prevention; $7.50 to the
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Office of Criminal Justice programs for domestic violence services; $20.50 to the Tennessee Disability
Coalition for families and children with disabilities; $3 to the Tennessee Court Appointed Special
Advocates Association; $4 to the Department of Education for grants to Boys and Girls Clubs; and $3
to the Tennessee Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers to strengthen services to
families and children. Also, of the remaining fee, $15 (less 5% commission for collection) goes to

family violence shelters and services and $5 privilege tax goes to the county for school purposes.
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Medicaid Provider Taxes

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-26B-1 through 40-26B-27 and Section 40-26B-70 through 40-26B-88, Code of Alabama 1975,

as amended.

Tax Base:

A privilege tax levied on all providers of pharmaceutical services, nursing home care and hospitals.

Tax Rate:

(1) Pharmaceutical Services - $0.10 per prescription on all prescriptions when filled or refilled for an
Alabama citizen.

(2) Nursing Home Facilities - $1,899.96 per year per bed, plus a supplemental tax of $1,603.08 per year
per bed effective October 1, 2011 through August 31, 2015 per Acts 2013, No. 240. A monthly
surcharge of $131.25 per month effective May 2012, through September 2012, and effective October
2012, through August 2015, a $43.75 per month surcharge ($525 annually per bed). See Legislative
History.

(3) Hospital Facilities — Privately operated hospitals must pay 5.5% of their net patient revenue for fiscal
years 2014 through 2016 per Acts 2013, No. 246. (For FY 2012 and FY 2013, this amount was 5.14% of
their net patient revenue and for FY 2010 and FY 2011, this amount was 5.38% of their net patient

revenue.) See Legislative History.

Collections:

Remitted to the Department of Revenue by pharmaceutical providers by the twentieth of each month for
the preceding month (except a quarterly return may be authorized for those providers whose total tax
liability does not exceed $10 for any month); by nursing home facilities by the tenth of each month; and by

hospitals by the first day of each fiscal quarter.

Fiscal Total

Year Pharmaceutical Nursing Homes Hospitals Collections % Change

2013-14
2012-13
2011-12
2010-11
2009-10

9,325,762
9,383,552
9,427,878
9,116,802

8,816,129

102,919,684
103,309,279
106,108,091
77,967,957
49,569,460

261,287,051
241,930,276
226,276,143
215,521,701
211,241,579

373,532,496
354,623,107
341,812,112
302,606,460
269,627,168

Source: “"Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

533
3.75
12.96
12.23
358.46
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Distribution:

After deducting the costs of collection, taxes on prescriptions, nursing facilities and hospitals are credited
to the Alabama Health Care Trust Fund and used only by the Alabama Medicaid Agency for matching
federal funds available under Title XIX of the Social Security Act (Medicaid) for the Medicaid Program in
Alabama. Act 00-772 created the Medicaid Trust Fund, effective October 1, 2000, into which any funds
appropriated to the Alabama Medicaid Agency from any source which, at the end of any fiscal year, have
not been expended or encumbered may be transferred upon approval of the Director of Finance and the

Governor.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Nursing facilities/institutions/pharmacies/hospitals owned or operated by the state or agency of the
state or pharmacies serving hospital inpatients.

(2) Facilities providing care to physically or mentally disabled persons who are 18 years of age or less.

Legislative History:

Acts 1987, No. 707, p. 1245
Created the Alabama Mothers and Babies Indigent Care Trust Fund and the Alabama Mothers and
Babies Indigent Care Trust Board to administer the fund; and provided that funds from the trust are to
be transferred to the Alabama Medicaid Agency to implement the Medicaid program in Alabama. The
source of funds to the trust include appropriations, grants, contributions, and donations and transfers
from the two state teaching hospitals.

Acts 1991, No. 124, p. 148
Provided for a privilege tax of $.10 per prescription with a retail price of $3 or more on all providers of
pharmaceutical services and provided for the distribution of such funds to the Alabama Health Care
Trust Fund to be used for indigent health care and operation and maintenance expenses of the
Alabama Medicaid Agency. (See Note following Act 91-127).

Acts 1991, No. 125, p. 152
Created the Alabama Health Care Trust Fund as a revolving fund into which Medicaid Provider Taxes
are to be deposited. (See Note following Act 91-127).

Acts 1991, No. 126, p. 153
Imposed an annual privilege tax of $999.96 per bed on nursing facilities which have an agreement to

participate in the Alabama Medicaid Program. (See Note following Act 91-127).
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Acts 1991, No. 127, p. 158
Defined a disproportionate share hospital and levied a privilege tax on them at the rate of 65% of their
Medicaid occupancy, with the annual tax due to be determined by the Alabama Medicaid Agency; and
provided for the Medicaid Agency to develop methodology for reimbursement to disproportionate
share hospitals. The act had a "hold harmless provision" (subsequently disallowed by the federal
government and eliminated in Act 92-440) providing a reserve from which hospitals were to be
assured a disproportionate share reimbursement not less than the taxes paid each fiscal year.
Note: Pursuant to PL 102-234, the provider specific taxes levied in 1991 and described above were
disallowed by the federal Health Care Financing Administration as an approved method of
financing the state share of financial participation in the Medicaid program. Broad-based taxes (a
uniform tax on those in the same provider class) were given federal approval and were
subsequently enacted in the 1992 Regular Session.
Acts 1992, No. 418, p. 849
Defined a public hospital and provided for a monthly transfer of funds, in lieu of a tax, to be made by
all public hospitals to the Alabama Medicaid Agency, in an amount to be determined by the Medicaid
Agency, to be credited to the Alabama Mothers and Babies Indigent Care Trust Fund. Effective January
10, 1993 through September 30, 1995.

Acts 1992, No. 440, p. 871
Amended the provider tax on nursing homes to provide that the tax shall be on all such facilities;
levied a tax on all nonpublic hospitals; excluded public hospitals, state-owned teaching hospitals, and
certain rehabilitation facilities; and provided for the Alabama Medicaid Agency to make an annual
determination regarding the methodology of disproportionate share reimbursement to hospitals and
guaranteed that such amount would never be less than the 1992 level. Effective January 10, 1993
through September 30, 1995.

Acts 1993, No. 314, p. 471
Repealed the hospital tax and provided for a refund to those nonpublic hospitals which were paying
the tax under Act 92-440, for the month of April 1993 and thereafter; repealed the criteria for a
disproportionate share hospital (DSH); established that the Medicaid Agency will, at the beginning of
each fiscal year, promulgate regulations regarding disproportionate share reimbursements to
disproportionate share hospitals (criteria for defining these DSH hospitals will also be developed by
the Medicaid Agency, in accordance with federal guidelines); and provided that DSH payments to
hospitals would not be less than the DSH cap established by the federal Health Care Financing

Administration ($147 million), which was the 1992 level.
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Note: Effective October 1, 1995, federal rules limited DSH payments to the cost of uncompensated care,
with the exception of "high” DSH hospitals which can be paid a greater amount.

Acts 1997, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 901, p. 277
Levied a supplemental privilege tax of an additional $200.04 per bed annually, effective until
December 31, 1999, on every nursing facility in the state. (Act 99-409 deleted the expiration date).
Authorized the Department of Revenue, upon the advice of the Alabama Medicaid Agency, to reduce
this supplemental privilege tax if such reduction is required to ensure that the total revenues from the
aggregate of this supplemental privilege tax and the privilege tax during the fiscal year are less than or
equal to 6% of the total revenues received by the nursing facilities subject to the tax.

Acts 1999, No. 409, p. 729
Deleted the provision in Act 97-901 which provided that the privilege tax on nursing facilities would
expire on December 31, 1999.

Acts 2002, No. 414, p. 1058
Effective July 1, 2002, provided that Alabama citizens would pay a privilege tax of $.10 on all
prescriptions filled in the state. Removed the prescription cost $3.00 or more.

Acts 2004, No. 532, p. 1120
Increased the supplemental privilege tax for each bed in a nursing home facility from $200.04 per bed
to $900 per bed making the total annual privilege tax $1,899.96 per bed in a nursing facility; and
increased the nursing facility provider's cap on reportable cost per patient from cost plus 10% to cost
plus 11%.

Acts 2009, No. 549, p. 1454
Levied a hospital assessment on privately owned hospitals of 5.38% of net patient revenue for fiscal
years 2010 and 2011.

Acts 2010, No. 520, p. 879
Increased the supplemental tax on nursing home facilities to $1,063.08 per bed effective September 1,
2010 through August 31, 2011.

Acts 2011, No. 614, p. 1376
Increased the supplemental tax on nursing home facilities to $1,603.08 per bed effective October 1,
2011 through September 30, 2013. It also made the inflation factor that is applied zero.

Acts 2011, No. 615, p. 1383
Extended the hospital assessment on privately owned hospitals and increased it to 5.14% of net

patient revenue for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.
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Acts 2012, No.536, p. 1589
Adds a surcharge of $131.25 to each licensed bed in a nursing facility for the period May 20, 2012
through September 20, 2012 at which time the surcharge will be reduced to $43.74 per licensed
nursing facility bed per month and will remain in effect until August 31, 2013.

Acts 2013, No. 240, p. 577
Extends the current supplemental privilege assessment and monthly surcharge on nursing home beds
by two years through August 31, 2015.

Acts 2013, No. 246, p. 595
Extends for three years the 5.5 percent assessment on net patient revenue that is currently being
levied on all private hospitals through August 2016. If approved by the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services, this act would also extend the use of Certified Public Expenditures (CPE) for
outpatient services provided by Disproportionate Share Hospitals and discontinue use of CPEs for all
other inpatient and outpatient hospital services and provides that beginning in FY2014, inpatient and
outpatient services provided to Medicaid recipients by public and state owned hospitals shall be

funded using intergovernmental transfers.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
A levy of 1.5% of the annual net operating revenue for inpatient services and 1% of the annual net
operating revenue for outpatient services for each hospital and other health care providers
including ambulatory surgical centers, clinical labs, freestanding radiation therapy centers, and
diagnostic imaging centers. Nursing facilities are responsible for an assessment which is calculated
monthly on a per resident basis, excluding Medicare resident days. The rate is based upon volume.
For nursing homes that have over 53,000 Medicaid bed days per year the rate is $3.13 per patient
bed day and for those under 53,000 Medicaid bed days the rate is $27.38 per patient bed.
Georgia
A hospital provides payment of 1.45% of net payment revenue.
Mississippi
ICF/MR-DD and Nursing home facilities are assessed $14.08 per occupied patient bed per day.
Tennessee
Provider taxes in Tennessee specifically designated for Medicaid; however, Health Maintenance
Organizations are assessed 2% of enrollee revenue; and Preferred Provider Organizations are

assessed 2% of enrollee revenue. Hospitals pay an assessment fee of 3.52% of revenues. Nursing
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home facilities are assessed $2,225 per licensed bed annually. All revenues from assessments are

credited to the state's general fund.
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Mineral Documentary Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-20-30 through 40-20-37, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Tax levied upon: (1) the filing and recording of every lease creating a leasehold interest in and to any non-
producing oil, gas, or other minerals in, on, or under land situated in Alabama or whereby any interest is
extended beyond the term fixed by the original instrument; and (2) upon every deed, instrument, transfer,

or evidence of sale conveying interest in or right to receive royalties from such property.

Tax Rate:
$.05 per acre conveyed for terms of 10 years or less; $.10 per acre for terms of 10 years and one day to 20

years; and $.15 per acre for terms of 20 years and one day or more; $1 minimum tax.

Collections:
By the probate judge of the county where the lands are situated upon the filing of such instrument for

record.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)** Percent Change
2013-14 30,592 (29.64)

2012-13 43,477 126.37
2011-12 19,206 (74.26)
2010-11 74,628 121.68

2009-10 33,665 (7.21)

Source: "Comparison of Net Receipts" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
After deducting 5% for cost of collection, the Mineral Documentary Tax proceeds are distributed as
follows: 30% to the State General Fund; 35% to the County General Fund of the county in which the

interest is located; and 35% to the County Public School Fund.

Major Exemptions:

This tax is in lieu of ad valorem taxes and does not apply to any mortgage or instrument creating a lien

upon such interest, nor to sale under foreclosure.

35 State General Fund collections only.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1957, No. 261, p. 332

Established the Mineral Documentary Tax at current rates and distribution.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia and Tennessee
No comparable taxes.
Mississippi
$.03 per acre conveyed for 10 years or less; $.06 per acre conveyed for 10 years and one day to 20

years; $.08 per acre conveyed for more than 20 years; $1 minimum tax.

Mineral Documentary Tax Page 292



Motor Carrier Mileage Tax

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 93 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 354, now
appearing as Section 111.06 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended.
Amendment No. 93 (proclaimed ratified November 19, 1952) provided that no monies derived from
any fee, excise or license tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of
vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose
other than administration of said laws, cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of
public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost
of traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Amendment
No. 354 (proclaimed ratified November 10, 1976) provided that the Legislature may provide for the
manufacture, distribution and use of personalized license plates and also require payment of an
additional fee to be used in such manner as prescribed by the Legislature.
NOTE: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities

pursuant to authority granted by the state.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-19-1 through 40-19-17, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Mileage tax levied on every motor carrier for hire that is used in transportation of persons along the

highways of Alabama.

Tax Rate:

Seating Capacity of Vehicle: Tax Rate:

Not less than 9 nor more than 16 $.0025 per mile
17to 21 $.005 per mile
22to 25 $.0075 per mile
Greater than 25 $.01 per mile
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Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on or before the 15" of each month.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 45,575 347
2012-13 44,048 417
2011-12 42,284 28.84
2010-11 32,820 (8.17)
2009-10 35,740 (10.48)

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
Proceeds are deposited into the Motor Carrier Fund. After costs of collection of the Department of
Revenue and the Public Service Commission are deducted, the remaining proceeds are then transferred

into the State Public Road and Bridge Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Tour buses.
(2) "Chartered party” vehicles used in support of a “charter party” contract in compliance with

International Registration Plan requirements.

Legislative History:
Acts 1931, No. 273, p. 303

Established motor carrier mileage tax at the following rates: 16 passengers or less, $.0025 per mile; 17
to 20, $.005 per mile; 21 to 25, $.0075 per mile; 26 or more, $.01 per mile.
Acts 1939, No. 664, p. 1050
Tax on passenger capacity changed to the following rates: to 16 or less, $.0025 per mile; 17 to 21,
$.005 per mile; 22 to 25, $.0075 per mile; 26 or more, $.01 per mile.
Acts 1961, No. 673, p. 923
Eliminated the mileage tax on motor vehicles transporting property for hire and changed the $.0025
per mile rate from the previous capacity of 16 passengers or less, to a capacity of 9 to 16 passengers.
Acts 1992, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 710, p. 205

Exempted tour buses and “chartered party” vehicles.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable taxes.
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Motor Fuels (Diesel) Tax (and Motor Carrier Fuel Tax)

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 93 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 354, now

appearing as Section 111.06 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as

amended.
Amendment No. 93 (proclaimed ratified November 19, 1952) provided that no monies derived from
any fee, excise or license tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of
vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose
other than administration of said laws, cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of
public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost
of traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Amendment
No. 354 (proclaimed ratified November 10, 1976) expanded upon Amendment No. 93 to allow for the
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed
by the Legislature.
NOTE: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities
pursuant to authority granted by the state.

*The following provisions were enacted in 2011 by Acts 2011, No. 565, effective October 1, 2012.

For previous provisions, see the 2012 Tax Guide on our website (www.lfo.alabama.gov).

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-17-320 through 40-17-363 (Motor Fuel (diesel)); and Sections 40-17-140 through 40-17-155
(Motor Carrier Fuel), Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Excise tax on the removal, import, sale/transfer in the bulk transfer/terminal system, and blending of motor
fuel (Motor Fuel (diesel) Tax). "Diesel Fuels” include fuel oils, kerosene, special fuels, and blended fuels
which contain diesel fuel. Excise tax upon motor carriers who operate or cause to be operated motor

vehicles on any highway in Alabama (Motor Carrier Fuel Tax).

Tax Rate:

The State of Alabama collects two separate levies of $.13 and $.06 which total $.19 per gallon. Excise tax
on motor carriers is the same rate per gallon as currently in effect for motor fuel ($.19 per gallon). Motor
carriers liable for payment of the motor carrier fuel tax also pay an annual fee per vehicle for a motor

vehicle identification marker (decal) paid January 1 or a fee for a 7-day trip permit. The annual decal fee
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and the 7-day trip permit fee are set by the Commissioner of Revenue based on the costs of administering
the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). The 7-day trip permit fee is $20, and the IFTA decal is $17

annually.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue each month (motor fuel tax), before the last day of April, July, October and

January (motor carrier fuel tax).

Fiscal

Year $.13 $.06 Truck Decals Total® % Change
2013-14 97,964,239 45,214,390 665,317 143,843,946 240
2012-13 95,674,575 44,157,497 647,530 140,479,602 1.03
2011-12 94,708,688 43,711,703 632,179 139,052,570 (1.00)
2010-11 95,678,959 44,159,520 622,438 140,460,916 2.74
2009-10 93,134,489 42,985,149 592,909 136,712,547 2.37

Source: State of Alabama, Department of Revenue, Motor Fuels and Motor Vehicles Sections.
Note: Above collections for fiscal years 2010 through 2012 reflect the law as it existed prior to

October 1, 2012.

Distribution:
After deduction of the cost of collection, proceeds are distributed as follows:
$.13 tax:
(1) For the repayment of Highway Authority Bonds and other bonds.
(2) For the construction and maintenance of public roads and bridges.
$.06 tax:
(1) 4.69% distributed equally among each of the 67 counties for public road and bridge purposes.
(2) .93% allocated among incorporated municipalities for public road and bridge purposes as follows:
a. 45.45% of the municipalities’ share is allocated equally among the counties.
b. 54.55% of the municipalities’ share is allocated among the 67 counties on the basis of
population.
¢. The amount allocated to each county is distributed among the municipalities within the
county on the basis of population.

(3) The balance is credited to the Department of Transportation for highway purposes.

38 The figures are net (after deduction of motor fuels and IFTA tax refunds). Figures shown are prior to deduction of Department of
Revenue administrative expenses. Includes motor fuel excise taxes, IFTA taxes, and truck decals.
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Major Exemptions:

D

)

3)

(4)

)

(6)

)

Motor fuel exported from this state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal

issued destination state shipping document that is:

(a) Exported by a supplier who is licensed in the destination state or

(b) Sold by a supplier to a licensed exporter for immediate export to a state for which the applicable
destination state motor fuel excise tax has been collected by the supplier who is licensed to remit
the tax to the destination state.

K-1 kerosene or aviation jet fuel that is produced at a refinery in Alabama and is either exported

directly by the operator of the refinery or sold for immediate export by the operator to a licensed

exporter with proper documentation.

Sales of dyed diesel fuel.

Gasoline blendstocks or cellulosic biofuel when sold to:

(@) Licensed supplier or

(b) Person who will not be using blendstocks in the manufacture of gasoline or as a motor fuel (with
exemption certificate).

Motor fuel sold by licensed supplier or licensed permissive supplier to an exempt agency under

Section 40-17-332 (United States government or agency thereof, any county governing body of state,

any incorporated municipal governing body of state, city and county boards of education of state,

Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind and Alabama Department of Youth Services school district,

and private church school systems as defined in Section 16-28-1).

Motor fuel delivered by licensed supplier from one terminal to another terminal when ownership in

the motor fuel has not changed or by a licensed supplier from a terminal to a refinery operated by the

licensed supplier.

From the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax:

(@) Any department, board, bureau, commission or taxing area or other agency of the federal
government, of the State of Alabama or any political subdivision thereof.

(b) Any school bus operated by the State of Alabama, any political subdivision thereof, or any private
or privately operated school or schools.

Refund Eligibility:

(1) Licensed distributor — on monthly basis on taxes paid on gallons sold by that distributor to
licensed exempt agencies (as defined above.)

(2) Exporter — on monthly basis on taxes paid to the state on gallons exported by exporter (with

proof).
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(3) Exempt entities (as defined above) — on quarterly basis for any purchases of motor fuel (or issuer
of card if charged to credit card issued to the exempt entity).

(4) End users who first pay tax on gallons of diesel fuel used in designated off-road vehicles, other
off-road equipment, or for other off-road use on quarterly basis.

(5) Tax paid on motor fuel that is lost or destroyed as direct result of sudden and unexpected casualty
or becomes unsalable or unusable as highway fuel due to such things as contamination by dye or
mixture of gasoline and diesel.

(6) Tax paid on transmix not used as motor fuel or that is delivered to refinery for further processing -
on quarterly basis.

(7) Tax paid on motor fuel within the bulk transfer system with sufficient proof that a second tax had
been paid pursuant to Section 40-17-325 or the fuel was exported to another state or country -

on monthly basis.

Legislative History:

Acts 1939, No. 590, p. 958
Established motor fuels tax at $.06 per gallon.
Acts 1955, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 42, p. 64
Increased motor fuels tax rate to $.07 per gallon.
Acts 1961, No. 674, p. 925
Provided further for the taxation of gasoline and/or motor fuel, sold to or withdrawn from storage or
used in the state by motor carriers by establishing a separate excise tax on motor carrier fuel; and
provided for a one-time $1 registration fee for motor carriers liable for the tax.
Acts 1971, No. 1408, p. 2403
Increased registration fee for motor carriers liable for the motor carrier fuel tax to current rate.
Acts 1971, No. 1727, p. 2889
Increased motor fuels tax rate to $.08 per gallon.
Acts 1980, No. 427, p. 590
Levied an additional excise tax of $.04 per gallon on gasoline, motor fuel and lubricating oil.
Acts 1992, No. 205, p. 503
Levied an additional excise tax of $.05 per gallon on motor fuel (diesel).
Acts 1994, No. 586, p. 1078
Changed the fee for annual and 7-day trip permits from $12 to an amount to be set by the

Commissioner of Revenue. (See Tax Rate).
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Acts 2004, No. 546, p. 1164
Exempted diesel fuel subject to state excise taxes from the $.02 per gallon inspection fee; levied an
additional $.02 per gallon excise tax on motor fuel; and further provided for the distribution of
revenues from the inspection fees and excise taxes on motor fuels.

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084
Effective October 1, 2012, amends, repeals, and reenacts the state gasoline and motor fuel taxes at the
same rates as the taxes were previously levied. Changed the point of collection of the taxes from the
distributor to the supplier. Expanded the administrative discounts allowed to the distributors and
suppliers for the collection of fuels taxes. Established new license fees for persons in the gasoline and
motor fuel business to be deposited in the Public Road and Bridge Fund. Appropriated $150,000 from
the revenues collected pursuant to this act to the Department of Revenue for the fiscal year ending
September 30, 2012. Each fiscal year thereafter, an amount of revenue will be appropriated to the
Department to offset its cost of administering the act. Authorized the Department of Transportation to
employ law enforcement officers to enforce and investigate the commission or suspected commission
of transportation, public safety, and revenue offenses, including offenses regarding gasoline tax and

tax on motor fuels.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
An excise tax on motor fuel of $.04 per gallon. An additional fuel sales tax is imposed at a rate
adjusted annually based on the Consumer Price Index. For 2013, the total rate is $.278 per gallon
(does not include all local taxes). For 2013, the total rate is $.310 per gallon for undyed diesel.
Georgia
Motor fuel tax rate is $.075 per gallon plus 4% prepaid sales tax on the per gallon retail price (3%
for state, counties and municipalities).
Mississippi
Motor fuel tax is $.18 per gallon, plus an additional $.004 for environmental protection.
Tennessee
Motor fuel tax is $.17 per gallon, with an additional $.004 environmental issuance fee plus $.01

special privilege tax.
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Motor Vehicle Accident Report Fee

Statutory Authority:

Section 32-2-8, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Fee for copy of motor vehicle accident report.

Tax Rate:

$15 for each copy.

Collections:

By the Department of Public Safety.

Fiscal Year SGF Collections ($) Percent Change HTSF ($) Percent Change
2013-14 586,425 19.85 293,235 19.71

2012-13 489,295 10.52 244,950 10.58
2011-12 442,710 16.45 221,515 16.54
2010-11 380,160 11.19 190,080 11.04

2009-10 341,916 9.93 171,178 10.09

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

Of each $15 fee, $10 to the State General Fund (SGF) and the remaining $5 to the Department of Public
Safety Highway Traffic Safety Fund (HTSF). The collections above do not include accident report fees
collected by the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources and deposited into the State Water
Safety Fund. The amounts deposited are as follows: $130 in FY 2014; $205 in FY 2013; $330 in FY 2012;
$580 in FY 2011; and $470 in FY 2010.

Legislative History:

Acts 1971, No. 959, p. 1717
Established fee, not to exceed $3, for copy of any record or report in the Department of Public Safety's
files unless a different fee is otherwise prescribed by law. The fee is to be paid into the state treasury
to be credited to the State General Fund.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 721, p. 112

Increased the maximum fee for a copy of a record or report to $5.
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Acts 2001, No. 471, p. 627
Increased the maximum fee for a copy of a record or report to $15. Ten dollars of the fee shall be paid
to the State General Fund (an increase of $5 to the General Fund) and the remaining $5 shall be

deposited to the Department of Public Safety Highway Traffic Safety Fund.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

$10 ($16 online).
Georgia

$5 (online varies).
Mississippi

$15 ($20 online).
Tennessee

$4.
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Motor Vehicle Carrier Permit Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 37-3-1 through 37-3-34, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Registration and application fee for any individual transporting passengers or property by motor vehicle in

Alabama according to a lease, contract, or other arrangement for compensation.

Tax Rate:

(1) $100 application fee for a certificate of public convenience or permit.

(2) $100 application fee for an amendment of a certificate or permit.

(3) $25 application fee for transfer of a certificate or permit.

(4) $10 application fee for approval of a lease of a certificate for a period of more than six months.

(5) $6 registration fee for every motor vehicle to be used by a motor carrier on a state highway.

Collections:
By the Alabama Public Service Commission upon application by the motor carrier. Tour bus operators may

make payment to the Department of Tourism and Travel.

Fiscal Year PSC Fund Motor Carrier Fund®’ Total % Change
2013-14 2,820,724 520,130 3,340,854 15.69

2012-13 2,445,543 442,319 2,887,862 (8.51)
2011-12 2,645,335 511,207 3,156,542 17.24
2010-11 2,278,931 413,537 2,692,468 (7.55)

2009-10 2,411,006 501,501 2,912,507 (14.02)

Source: Public Service Commission and “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Distribution:

$1 of each registration fee and all application fees are deposited into the Motor Carrier Fund (a
component of the Public Road and Bridge Fund). The remaining $5 of the registration fee is deposited to
the Public Service Commission's Operating Fund. The above revenues are federal funds as per the ICC

Termination Act of 1995 and must be used exclusively for enforcement of safety and insurance programs.

Major Exemptions:

A complete listing of exemptions is found in Section 37-3-4 Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

%7 Includes application fees and $1 of the $6 registration fees.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1939, No. 669, p. 1064

Established the following motor vehicle carrier fees: $10 application for certificate of public
convenience and necessity or permit; $10 amendment to application; $25 transfer of certificate of
convenience and necessity or permit; $10 application fee for approval of lease in excess of six months;
and $1 registration fee for every motor vehicle to be used by a motor carrier on a state highway.
Acts 1969, No. 477, p. 933
Changed fees as follows: $100 application for certificate of necessity and convenience and $100
application fee for amendment to certificate. The application fee for transfer of a certificate or permit
remained at $25; the application fee for approval of a lease of a certificate for more than six months at
$10; and the registration fee remained at $1.
Acts 1985, No. 653, p. 1022
Increased the motor carrier registration fee to $4 and further provided for the distribution of this fee.
Acts 1985, No. 688, p. 1103
Exempted wrecker services from PSC regulation.
Acts 1991, No. 730, p. 1422
Increased the motor carrier registration fee from $4 to $6 and further provided for the distribution of
this fee.
Acts 1992, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 710, p. 205
Provided that operators of tour buses may pay the fee to the Department of Tourism and Travel.
Acts 2001, No. 370, p. 474
Provided for the issuance of a certificate of authority to a household goods carrier, without the
necessity of a hearing.
Public Law 109-59, 119 stat. 1144, August 10, 2005
Replaced the existing, outdated Single State Registration System for interstate motor carrier entities
with the Uniform Carrier Registration (UCR) Act of 2005. Under the UCR Act, registration fees are
capped at the amount received by the state in the 2004 registration year.
Acts 2006, No. 517, p. 1191
Designated the Public Service Commission as the agency responsible for the implementation and
administration of the federal Unified Carrier Registration Act of 2005 which became effective January

1, 2007; repealed the federal Single State Registration system.

Motor Vehicle Carrier Permit Fees Page 304



Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Motor vehicles for hire: $17 plus $1.50 per 100 lbs, if less than nine passengers; $17 plus $2 per
100 Ibs. if more than nine passengers.

Georgia
The application fee for a certificate of convenience and necessity varies from $75 to $200,
depending on the number of vehicles operated. A $75 fee is charged for transfer of certificate, and
$50 for intrastate emergency temporary authority.

Mississippi
The application fee for a certificate of convenience and necessity is $50. The fee for transfer, sale,
assignment or lease of certificate is also $50. The application fee for permit as a contract carrier is
$50. The fee for a duplicate certificate or permit is $2. Carriers who have not paid the annual
privilege taxes must secure a temporary trip permit for $25 plus $.05 per 1,000 Ibs. for excess
weight above the licensed standard for each mile traveled. Excess size permits may be issued for
an annual fee of $100 per carrier or $10 per trip.

Tennessee
A $50 application fee is required of common carriers and contract haulers applying for certificates
of convenience and necessity, a fee of $10 per month limited to a consecutive seven day period is
required for a restricted use fuel permit or a $30 fee for a temporary fuel use permit for freight
motor vehicles operating occasionally or infrequently. On or before January 31, every holder of a

certificate or permit must pay a fee of $8 per vehicle.
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Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title Fee

Statutory Authority:

Sections 32-8-1 through 32-8-49, 32-8-64.2, 32-8-87, and 32-20-1 through 32-20-48 (Manufactured
Homes), Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Registration fee required of owner(s) of a motor vehicle designated a 1975 model or later and
manufactured homes and travel trailers designated a 1990 model or later (and not more than 20 years old
if manufactured home). If a manufactured home is affixed to a parcel of real property and the ownership
of the manufactured home and real property are identical, the owner(s) may obtain a cancellation of title

from the Department of Revenue.

Tax Rate:
(@) Each application for certificate of title. $15
(2) Each application for replacement or corrected certificate. $15
(3) Each application for certificate of title after transfer. $15
4 Each notice of security interest. $15
(5) Each assignment by lienholder. $15
(6) Each application for ordinary certificate of title upon surrender of a

distinctive certificate. The fee is not applicable under the manufactured $15

home chapter.

(7) Each application for the title history on a vehicle. $15
(8) Each application for a salvage certificate of title. $15
9) Each application for cancellation of a certificate of title or certificate of $15

origin (applies to manufactured homes only).

(10) Each application for information on the status of a title for manufactured $15
homes only
(11) Each application for any motor vehicle record provided electronically or a $5

print out of an electronic record other than the title history.

(12) The Department is authorized to charge an additional fee for up to $5 for
motor vehicle records obtained from the national motor vehicle title
information system.

(13) Each electronically filed submittal verifying the status of a motor vehicle to $5
be scrapped (or annual fee of $500 per unlimited status verifications) paid
by automotive dismantlers and parts and metals recyclers.
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In addition to the above applicable fee(s), the probate judge, license commissioner or other authorized

license agent collects and retains a processing fee of $1.50 plus an additional commission fee of $1.50,

and for manufactured homes, for each transaction a fee of $5 is added for the non-profit Alabama

Housing Foundation.

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue, by probate judges and county license commissioners, and by motor

vehicle dealers and financial institutions that are designated agents of the Department of Revenue.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)38 Percent Change
2013-14 22,488,252 (0.20)

2012-13 22,532,368 7.45
2011-12 20,969,890 1.36
2010-11 20,689,261 438
2009-10 19,821,482 278

Source: "State General Fund Receipts-Comparison of Net Receipts" Report — Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund, except title fees collected by the Department on

salvage vehicles affected by Acts 2010, No. 748 remain with the Department. One-half of the $5 fee levied

for any motor vehicle record other than title history will remain with the Department. The verification fees

collected under Act 2011-633 are retained by the Department for training and technological and

processing improvements (See Legislative History).

Major Exemptions:

@

)

3)
4)
(5)
(6)

Vehicles owned by a U.S. agency, a dealer, or a nonresident who is not required by law to register a
vehicle in this state.

Vehicles for which the Alabama license plate official has verified that both the current owner and
operator is recorded as the owner and operator on a current certificate of title issued by another state
and the title is being held by a recorded lienholder.

Vehicles moved solely by animal power.

Implements of husbandry.

Special mobile equipment.

Pole trailers.

% State General Fund receipts only.
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(7) Manufactured homes as defined in Section 32-20-2, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended and travel
trailers designated 1989 and earlier models.

(8) A new manufactured home placed on the owner’s land when classified as real property.

(9) Utility trailers other than moving collapsible and folding campers designated 1990 and subsequent
year models.

(10) A vehicle designated a 1974 year model or prior year model.

(11) Motor vehicles to be scrapped by the owner or the authorized agent of owner that do not have titles
for vehicles to be scrapped may avoid obtaining a title by verifying the vehicle is worth $1,000 or less
and is at least 12 model years old. The verification may only be used to transfer the vehicle to an
automotive dismantler and parts recycler.

(12) A mini-truck as deferred by Section 40-12-240, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

(13) Any other vehicles prescribed by the Department.

Legislative History:

Acts 1973, No. 765, p. 1147

Established original auto title law and fees.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 730, p. 127
Increased and standardized motor vehicle title transaction fee schedule and commissions and fees for
services rendered by designated agents to current rates; and clarified inspection procedures for
obtaining titles for rebuilt vehicles.

Acts 1989, No. 918, p. 1817
Provided for the titling of mobile homes and travel trailers designated a 1990 model or later, except
for those mobile homes affixed to a parcel of property for whom a cancellation of title is obtained;
and provided that $5 from each mobile home title fee be credited to the Alabama Manufactured
Housing Commission Fund for FY 1989-90.

Acts 2003, No. 345, p. 870
Exempted new manufactured homes that are placed on the owner’s land and classified as real
property from the requirement to be titled; and exempted utility trailers not exceeding 16 ft. in length
from the requirement to be titled.

Acts 2005, No. 322, p. 784
Allowed for title-related fees to be collected “in a manner prescribed” by the Department of Revenue

(DOR) (allowing for the possibility of title fees to be submitted to DOR electronically).
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Acts 2006, No. 213, p. 312
Created the designation “flood vehicle” and required such designation to be placed on the title of
flood vehicle-designated motor vehicles.
Acts 2009, No. 281, p. 472
Revised the exemption for vehicles transporting interstate persons or property; amended the
exemption for certain travel trailers; and allowed the Department of Revenue to process titles
electronically.
Acts 2009, No. 746, p. 2236
Moved the certificate of title statutes of manufactured homes to Chapter 20 under Title 32; established
a new fee for cancellation of title of a manufactured home; added a new fee on each title transaction
for manufactured homes earmarked for a non-profit housing foundation; and allowed electronic filing
of titles; changed the exemption for interstate vehicles and utility trailers. The act became effective
January 1, 2010.
Acts 2010, No. 579, p. 1283
Allowed the Department to charge a fee of $5 for any motor vehicle record requested, except a title
history, which is either provided electronically or a printed version of an electronic record; the charge for
a title history only remained at $15; one-half of the new $5 fee is distributed to the State General Fund
and one-half remains with the Department; allowed the Department to charge an additional fee up to
$5 retained by the Department for motor vehicle records obtained through the national motor vehicle
title information system; and allowed the Department to prescribe other exempt vehicles from titling.
Acts 2010, No. 748, p. 1892
Exempted under certain circumstances owners of legally rebuilt motor vehicles from having to obtain a
rebuilder’s license before the Department’s inspection prior to issuing a certificate of title; and allowed
the Department to keep the titling fees in these circumstances rather than depositing the fees into the
State General Fund.
Acts 2011, No. 633, p. 1507
Effective January 1, 2012, required automotive dismantlers, and parts and metals recyclers to file
electronically the title cancellation notice required before crushing, dismantling or recycling a motor
vehicle into scrap; allowed for the transfer of motor vehicles without a title to automotive dismantlers,
and parts and metals recyclers only and only if the vehicle is worth $1,000 or less and is at least 12 model
years old; required the department to maintain an electronic lien verification system and to further verify
whether the vehicle to be scrapped has been stolen; allowed the department to charge a fee for use of

the verification system; allowed sharing of system information to local law enforcement authorities;
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provided that any lien or security interest shall be satisfied and release shall not be required after five
years from date of security agreement for vehicles which are 12 or more model years old except by
application for a new certificate of title.

Acts 2011, No. 645, p. 1643
Provided for a title to be issued by the Department of Revenue in the name of an insurance company on

a vehicle reported as stolen when a settlement has been reached between the insurer and the insured.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$70 for each original and duplicate certificate of title; motor vehicles for hire charged $49; $2 for
each salvage title; and $3 for each assignment by a lienholder. There are also various service
charges and special fees.

Georgia
$18 Certificate of Title (original or transfer) and $8 for replacement. An additional fee not to
exceed $18 is charged for special handling of applications.

Mississippi
$9 certificate of title and $9 for replacement; plus $1 designated agent fee.

Tennessee
Certificate of title and replacement of lost title, both $11 with $5.50 collected by the state and

$5.50 collected by the county.
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Motor Vehicle Dealers, Rebuilders and Wholesalers License

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-12-390 through 40-12-400 and 40-12-29, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Privilege license on every person engaged in business as a new or used motor vehicle dealer, motor
vehicle rebuilder or motor vehicle wholesaler. This license is a prerequisite to licensing as an automobile

dealer under Section 40-12-51.

Tax Rate:

$25 annually; $5 annually for each additional place of business.

Collections:
On October 1 by designated agents of the Department of Revenue after satisfactory proof of liability
insurance on business and inventory vehicles is presented by the motor vehicle dealer, motor vehicle

rebuilder or motor vehicle wholesaler.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 110,675 (23.45)

2012-13 144,585 (5.43)
2011-12 152,892 26.61
2010-11 120,762 (2.38)

2009-10 123,702 (3.10)

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

None.

Legislative History:

Acts 1978, No. 539, p. 597
Established privilege license at current rate.
Acts 1991, No. 321, p. 595
Provided an additional penalty of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 be paid in addition to any

criminal penalties for a person operating without a license.
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Acts 1995, No. 727, p. 1553
Required new motor vehicle dealers franchised in other states and doing business in Alabama to be
licensed in this state.

Acts 2000, No. 554, p. 1005
Required that effective January 1, 2001, proof of liability insurance for business and inventory vehicles
must be filed with the application for license, and the application for license will be denied if such
proof is not provided.

Acts 2004, No. 534, p. 1126
Provided that dealers of new and used motor vehicles may conduct sales from locations off-site of
their permanent location if certain conditions are met; and increased fines for violations of this article.

Acts 2010, No. 748, p. 1892
Among other provisions relating to titling of rebuilt vehicles, the act exempted under certain
circumstances owners of legally rebuilt motor vehicles from having to obtain a rebuilder’s license
before the department inspects the vehicle and issues a certificate of title.

Acts 2012, No. 561, p. 1660
Added credit unions and licensees of the State Banking Department to the list of entities exempted
from the definition of “Used Motor Vehicle” dealers.

Acts 2014, No. 158, p. 445
Established uniform motor vehicle dealer licenses. Removed the definition of “motor vehicle
reconditioner” and increased the annual license fee from $10 to $25. Required licensees to be assessed
a civil penalty of up to $5,000 for failure to maintain a blanket motor vehicle liability insurance policy
during the licensing period (may be assessed against the licensee’s surety bond). Standardized the

surety bond at $25,000 for all licensees.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$300 license fee the first year and $75 annual renewal; $50 for additional locations and $50
renewal.

Georgia
No comparable state license tax for dealers of new motor vehicles except new motor vehicle
dealers at a temporary site pay a $100 filing fee per site. A state license fee of $170 renewable in

even years for dealers of used motor vehicles; renewal fee $150.
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Mississippi
$100 permit fee annually.
Tennessee

$400 license fee biennially for both franchise dealer (per line make) and used motor vehicle dealer.
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Motor Vehicle, LP and Natural Gas Fueled Fees

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 93 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 354, now
appearing as Section 111.06 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended.
Amendment No. 93 (ratified November 19, 1952) provided that no monies derived from any fee,
excise or license tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2)
fuels used for propelling vehicles except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than
administration of said laws, cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public
highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Amendment No.
354 (ratified November 10, 1976) provided that the Legislature may provide for the manufacture,
distribution and use of personalized license plates and also require the payment of an additional fee
to be used in such manner as prescribed by the Legislature.
NOTE: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities

pursuant to authority granted by the state.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-17-160 through 40-17-167, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
An annual flat fee on certain classes of vehicles which require a motor vehicle license to operate and are
fueled by liquefied petroleum gas or natural gas. Payment of this fee is in lieu of an excise tax on liquefied

petroleum gas and natural gas used to propel motor vehicles.

Tax Rate:

(1) $75 - passenger automobiles, vans, trucks and pickups under one ton.

(2) 485 - recreational vehicles and vans and trucks one ton or over but with a rear axle carrying capacity
of less than 14,000 Ibs.

(3) $150 - bobtail trucks and equivalent vehicles (any other vehicle having the capacity of carrying a
loaded rear axle weight of 14,000 Ibs. or more).

(4) $175 - tractor/trailer units.

In addition to the above fees there is an annual issuance fee of $5 for the decal which indicates that the

above fee(s) have been paid.
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Collections:

By the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board upon application by the owner/operator of the vehicle.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 68,619 (22.59)
2012-13 88,640 12.47
2011-12 78,814 (18.13)
2010-11 96,271 243
2009-10 93,990 (2.92)

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
Proceeds of the flat fee are deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund. Proceeds of the decal issuance

fee are deposited to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Any vehicles owned by the state, county, or any incorporated municipality or agency, or
instrumentality thereof.

(2) Any vehicle not requiring a license plate or motor vehicle license (including but not limited to forklift
trucks and agricultural vehicles).

(3) Owners of out-of-state vehicles who purchase fuel from a propane or natural gas dealer or supplier in
Alabama may pay to the dealer, in lieu of this fee, an amount equal to the Alabama motor fuel
(diesel) tax then in effect. Said payments are remitted to the Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board

prior to the 20" day of the following month.

Legislative History:
Acts 1980, No. 739, p. 1503

Established a flat fee at present rate on certain vehicles using liquefied petroleum gas a fuel, in lieu of
an excise tax on such fuel; provided for issuance of annual decal and established fee therefore at
present rate; and provided exemption from annual permit and decal fees established by this act for
liquefied petroleum gas fueled vehicles owned and operated by the state or any incorporated

municipality and vehicles not requiring a license plate or motor vehicle license.

* Includes only the flat fee deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund. The decal issuance fee (deposited to the LP Gas Board
Fund) is not included. Under Act 2014-408, collections of the decal fee and motor fuel tax were suspended on April 9, 2014.
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Acts 1981, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 1136, p- 409
Provided that owners of vehicles fueled by natural gas are liable for payment of the annual permit and
decal fees and defined classes of vehicles subject to the fees; provided for purchase of decal and
payment of permit fee by owners of newly converted vehicles; provided for decals to be placed on
such vebhicles to identify them as being “Powered by Liquefied Petroleum Gas”; and extended
exemption from the permit and decal fees to counties and to agencies and instrumentalities of
municipalities.

Acts 2014, No. 408, p. 1506
Suspended the requirement to obtain a decal from the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board, as well as the
requirement to collect the motor fuel tax prescribed in Article 3A of Chapter 14 of Title 40, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended from April 9, 2014 until October 1, 2016. If no comprehensive approach
for regulating and taxing natural gas used as fuel for motor vehicles has been established by October
1, 2016, beginning on that date, each 5.66 pounds of compressed natural gas that is taxable as motor
fuel shall be taxed as one gallon of gasoline, and each 6.06 pounds of liquefied natural gas that is
taxable as motor fuel shall be taxed as one gallon of diesel fuel (if standards are established for
converting compressed natural gas to a gallon of gasoline and for converting liquefied natural gas to
a gallon of diesel fuel, such standard conversions shall be used). Compressed natural gas and liquefied
natural gas may be sold in gallon equivalents as established above until October 1, 2016. In the event
that no comprehensive approach for regulating and taxing natural gas used as fuel for motor vehicles
has been established at that time, compressed natural gas and liquefied natural gas shall be sold in

gallon equivalents as established above.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
An annual decal fee in lieu of excise tax and the State Comprehensive Enhanced Transportation
System Tax. State and local fees are:
$199.10 Class A: motorcycles, passenger automobiles and trucks, net weight not over 5,000
Ibs.
$271.50 Class B: motor vehicles equipped with machinery and used exclusively for well drilling,
excavation and construction, school buses, wreckers, and ambulances.

$380.10 Class C: trucks and truck tractors, net weight over 5,000 Ibs.; trucks used to haul
forestry products.
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Georgia
Distributors who sell or use motor fuel, including special fuels, are subject to an excise tax of
$0.075 per gallon (or equivalent).

Mississippi
Distributor of compressed natural gas and liquefied natural gas for use in a motor vehicle, $.18 per
100 cubic feet ($.144 per 100 cubic feet beginning on the first day of the month following the
date that specific highway programs have been completed). An annual privilege tax of $195 for
vehicles weighing 10,000 Ibs. or less; ($165 after the completion of certain highway projects); $.17
per gallon on compressed gas in vehicles weighing more than 10,000 Ibs. ($.134 per gallon after
the completion of certain highway projects), except on compressed natural gas and liquefied
natural gas, which is $.18 per 100 cubic feet ($.144 per 100 cubic feet after the completion of
certain highway projects).

Tennessee
A $.14 per gallon tax is imposed on liquefied gas used for the propulsion of motor vehicles on
public highways of Tennessee. In addition, a user of liquefied gas for the propulsion of a motor

vehicle or public highway shall pay an annual vehicle tax according to the following:

Passenger Car $70
Less than 16,000 Ibs. $84
16,000 to 26,000 lbs. $100
Over 26,000 lbs. $114

A $.13 per gallon tax is imposed on compressed natural gas for the propulsion of motor vehicles
on public highways of Tennessee. Dealers for both types of gas must have a permit issued by the

Commissioner of Revenue.
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Motor Vehicle Registrations

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 93 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 354, now
appearing as Section 111.06 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended.
Amendment No. 93 (proclaimed ratified November 19, 1952) provided that no monies derived from
any fee, excise or license tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of
vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose
other than administration of said laws, cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of
public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost
of traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Amendment
No. 354 (ratified November 10, 1976) provided that the Legislature may provide for the manufacture,
distribution and use of personalized license plates and also require the payment of an additional fee
to be used in such manner as prescribed by the Legislature.
NOTE: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities

pursuant to authority granted by the state.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 32-6-51 through 32-6-680 and Sections 40-12-240 through 40-12-302, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:

License tax or registration fee on each motor vehicle operated on the public highways of Alabama. Ad
valorem taxes are assessed and collected forward on a current basis. Motor carriers operating in interstate
commerce pay proportional registration fees derived from mileage traveled in member jurisdictions
(registrants receive an apportioned license plate and a cab card), although motor carriers based outside
Alabama may, in lieu of a full or apportioned registration, purchase a temporary trip permit for $20 (valid

for 7 days).

Tax Rate:

$13 annually for each private passenger car and pick-up truck plus $10 additional annual fee. (See NOTE
below regarding distinctive tags). $7 annually for each motorcycle plus $8 additional annual fee; $47.50 to
$210 annually for each motor bus on basis of seating capacity; $13 to $890 annually for each commercial

car, truck, or truck-tractor, dependent on weight. The registration of trucks includes the payment of a base
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amount ranging from $10.70 to $445.00, and additional amounts ranging from $2.30 to $445.00. For
trucks and truck-tractors used for the purpose of agriculture with a gross weight of up to and including
80,001, there is a maximum fee of $250. A farmer is entitled to pay this reduced fee for only one vehicle.
For motor homes the base amount ranges from $10.70 to $250, with additional amounts ranging from
$2.30 to $250. Motor vehicle and motorcycle dealers and manufacturers can obtain dealer tags for the
same fee as private passenger tags, plus an additional issuance fee of $1.75 to be retained by the county
for operations of the issuing officials’ offices. Trucks and motor homes with a gross weight of 8,000 Ibs. or
less pay an additional fee of $10; taxicabs $21 to $40 annually; hearses and ambulances $15 to $55
annually (based on city population); commercial trailers $20 annually; private utility trailers $12 annually;

rental utility trailers $15 annually; and permanent trailers $60 per plate.

Note Regarding Distinctive Tags Rates:

The Code of Alabama 1975, as amended provides for distinctive tags to be issued for various organizations
upon the payment of the standard fee plus any required additional fees (see Section 32-6-68). The
Department of Revenue’s motor vehicle division website

(www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/indes.html) contains a list of currently available distinctive tags.

Collections:

Fiscal Year IRP $ M.V.Registration $ Total $* % Change
2013-14 31,096,652 187,736,506 218,833,158 (0.80)

2012-13 33,031,453 187,559,829 220,591,282 2.36
2011-12 32,119,512 183,391,703 215,511,215 0.27
2010-11 31,823,337 183,109,074 214932411 0.72
2009-10 31,019,079 182,362,784 213,381,863 4.57

Source: Department of Revenue - Motor Vehicle Division.

Distribution:

(1) The $10 additional fee paid on private passenger automobiles and trucks with a gross weight of 8,000
pounds or less ($8 additional for motorcycles) is deposited in the General Fund to be used by the
Department of Public Safety.

(2) Additional amounts paid on the regular registration of heavy trucks are distributed as follows:

(a) 64.75% to the Public Road and Bridge Fund

0 Gross collections. Includes: probate judges, license commissioner or other authorized license agent fees; revenue department
administrative share; local governments' shares; State General Fund and Public Road and Bridge Fund shares; college shares; and
Environmental Fund shares (from personalized tags).
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(b) 35.25% to the counties (42.16% allocated equally, 57.84% allocated on the basis of population.)

Remaining proceeds ("base" fees) are distributed as follows, after deduction of (a) 2-1/2% for

administrative costs of probate judge, license commissioner or other authorized license agent

(deposited to county general fund if probate judge, license commissioner or other authorized license

agent not on fee system) and (b) 5% (deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund, with as much as

required to be appropriated by the Legislature to the Department of Revenue for administrative
expenses related to this tax and tag costs and the remainder to be used for any purpose for which
monies in the Fund may be lawfully used):

(@) 72% is deposited into the Public Road and Bridge Fund.

(b) 21% is remitted by each probate judge to the municipality wherein the owner of the vehicle
resides or where the vehicle was registered. If not in an incorporated municipality, the proceeds
go to the county wherein the license tax was paid.

(c) 7% is apportioned by the state treasurer to the 67 counties on basis of vehicle registrations. 10%
of each county's apportionment is subsequently distributed to the municipalities therein on a

population basis.

Major Exemptions:

D

)
3)

(4)

Active members of Alabama National Guard or retired member of Air National Guard with 20 years or
more service - 1 free distinctive tag (ad valorem tax is paid), with additional distinctive tags available
upon payment of the regular fee (Sections 40-12-244(1) and 31-2-12 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as
amended).

Active Military Reservists - 1 tag (Section 40-12-244(2) of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).
Service-connected disabled veterans. A disabled veteran may qualify for multiple exemptions resulting
from three separate exemption laws - Section 40-12-244(1) of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended,
which allows veterans with a service-connected disability to get 1 tag which is exempt from payment
of the $23 fee, Section 32-6-130 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, which allows a veteran
who is 50% or more disabled to receive an unlimited number of tags for payment of $5 rather than
$23, and Section 40-12-254 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, which allows a disabled
veteran a tag exempt from all fees and taxes for a vehicle purchased or specially equipped (all or
partly) for the veteran by the U.S. Veterans' Administration (this is done only for veterans who are
essentially 100% disabled).

Members of volunteer rescue squads - 1 tag (Section 40-12-244(3) of the Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended).
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(5) Members of the Civil Air Patrol - 1 tag and all vehicles owned by the Civil Air Patrol national
headquarters and Alabama Wing of the Civil Air Patrol (Section 40-12-244(4) of the Code of Alabama
1975, as amended).

(6) Medal of Honor or Purple Heart recipients, POWSs and their surviving spouses - 1 permanent, tax and
fee exempt distinctive tag (except that Purple Heart recipients or their surviving spouses must pay ad
valorem taxes on vehicles for which such tags are issued) (Sections 32-6-250 through 32-6-255 of the
Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

(7) Consuls and Honorary consuls of foreign countries - 1 distinctive tag (must pay an issuance fee of
$.50) (Section 40-12-243 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

(8) Motor vehicles owned and used by the state, counties, municipalities or municipal corporations or
boards, and volunteer fire departments (must pay an amount as determined by the Department of
Revenue that does not exceed the fees for standard passenger plates) (Section 40-12-250 of the Code
of Alabama 1975, as amended).

(9) Motor vehicles owned by volunteer rescue squads (Section 32-11-2 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as
amended).

(10) Vintage vehicles (more than 35 years old) — one time registration fee of $10 for permanent distinctive
tag (Section 40-12-290 through 40-12-297 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

(11)Vehicles owned by Industrial Development Boards (see Ad Valorem Tax - Major Exemptions for Code
of Alabama 1975, as amended cites).

(12) Vehicles owned by nonresident military servicemen in Alabama by virtue of military orders if the
vehicle is registered in the home state (Soldiers and Sailors Relief Act).

(13)Vehicles owned by various organizations as identified in Sections 40-9-1 through 40-9-39 of the Code
of Alabama 1975, as amended.

(14)Volunteer fire fighters — 1 distinctive tag (Sections 40-12-244 (5) of the Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended).

Legislative History: (excludes acts dealing with special tags or exemptions):

Acts 1911, No. 452, p. 634
Provided for the registration, licensing, and identification of motor vehicles operated on the public
highways of the state; established the license tax or registration fee based on horsepower; and
required that 40% of said proceeds be distributed to the city (or county) where the owner or licensee

resided.
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Acts 1926-27, No. 347, p. 353
Required that the net revenue derived from the registration of motor vehicles, trailers, and tractors be
used to finance the operations of the State Highway Department.

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Amended the provisions for the licensing and registration of private cars, buses, and motor trucks by
basing such fees on vehicle weight.

Acts 1971, No. 1206, p. 2092
Provided for an increase in the license or registration fee above the established base amount for trucks
and truck-tractors.

Acts 1979, No. 797, p. 1455
Established a staggered system for registering motor vehicles and provided for the annual issuance of
motor vehicle plates. Also, provided that the amount charged by the Board of Corrections for the
manufacture of revalidation devices would not be less than that charged for the manufacture of
license plates. Effective October 1, 1980.

Acts 1984, No. 186, p. 286
Modified the registration weight ranges for trucks and truck-tractors; provided one schedule for heavy
trucks; and provided various increases to truck tag fees.

Acts 1984, No. 240, p. 363
Provided for the payment of an additional $10 on the registration of each passenger automobile, or
truck with a gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less and $8 additional fee for motorcycle. Said funds
would be used by the Department of Public Safety for traffic regulation and expense of enforcing state
traffic and motor vehicle laws.

Acts 1986, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 687, p. 83
Provided further for the weight classification and license cost of certain farm and forest product trucks
and truck-tractors.

Acts 1987, No. 763, p. 1484
Amended Section 40-12-262, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, relating to trip permits, by
requiring cab cards of international registration plan vehicles to be present in the vehicle and provided
for temporary trip permits.

Acts 1987, No. 764, p. 1486
Provided a limitation on the total cost of license plates, taxes and license fees for motorized

recreational vehicles (to return the taxation of such vehicles to the rates, weights and amounts that
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existed prior to 1984); and exempted motorized recreational vehicles from the provisions of Section
40-12-248 Code of Alabama 1975.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 824, p. 265
Removed mobile homes from motor vehicle registration requirements and classified them as
residences for ad valorem tax purposes.

Acts 1988, No. 946, p. 1859
Established a base and additional amount fee structure for motor homes distinct from that of trucks or
truck tractors.

Acts 1988, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 980, p- 701
Authorized a five-year registration option for truck trailers, tractor-trailers and semitrailers.

Acts 1991, No. 694, p. 1340
Increased annual registration fee for privately owned utility trailers from $3 to $12 and included travel
trailers; and increased annual registration fee for leased or rented utility trailers from $8 to $15.

Acts 1994, No. 584, p. 1071
Increased the fee for Dealer Tags to $10 and provided for the number available; and created the
Manufacturer's Tag for a fee of $25.

Acts 1996, No. 746, p. 1307
Provided that license plates, except vintage, will follow the owner; required proof of ownership be
retained in vehicle effective January 1, 1998; increased the penalty to $10 for failure to register vehicle
within 10 days; provided for two-year dealer tags; and increased the maximum dealer plates to three
per full-time salesperson.

Acts 1996, No. 818, p. 1520
Replaced Alabama'’s antique tag with “vintage” tag category and clearly defined qualifications for
obtaining the "vintage” tag. Owners were required to meet new requirements and exchange their
antique tags for “vintage” tags between October 1, 1996, and September 30, 1997. On October 1,
1997, the antique tag expired and was no longer a valid tag.

Acts 1997, No. 633, p. 1148
Revised the process for the issuance of distinctive license plates to approval by the Legislative
Oversight Committee instead of approval by the passage of legislation for each type of distinctive
plate and placed specific restrictions on said approval.

Acts 1997, No. 916, p. 305
Amended current annual license taxes and registration fees for trucks or truck-tractors used for

agricultural purposes by establishing an additional class of trucks or truck-tractors with a maximum
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fee of $250 where the gross weight of the vehicle is up to and including 80,001 pounds. A farmer is
entitled to pay this reduced annual license tax and registration fee for only one truck-tractor.

Acts 1997, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 919, p. 310
Provided a temporary tag for a maximum of 90 days for vehicles manufactured in Alabama but
intended to be permanently licensed in some other jurisdiction than Alabama.

Acts 2000, No. 565, p. 1041
Established the process of converting from assessing and collecting ad valorem taxes in arrears to
assessing and collecting ad valorem taxes forward on a current basis.

Acts 2000, No. 699, p. 1421
Provided for the issuance of permanent license plates for vehicles owned by volunteer fire
departments, state and local governments upon the payment of an amount determined by the
Department of Revenue and approved by the Legislative Council as sufficient to cover the cost of
producing and issuing the plates.

Acts 2002, No. 256, p. 537
Deleted the fees for dealer and manufacturer tags and provided that the fee for a dealer tag would be
the same as the fee for private passenger tags; allowed motorcycle dealers to obtain motorcycle
dealer tags; and levied an additional issuance fee of $1.75 on each dealer tag.

Acts 2004, No. 292, p. 414
Provided that anyone reregistering a vehicle (not including farm trucks, farm truck-tractors, motor
homes or vintage vehicles) would not be allowed to pay prorated registration fees, even if the owner
or operator can document that the vehicle has not been used.

Acts 2004, No. 520, p. 1051
Established a new weight classification bracket and registration cost for trucks with a gross vehicle
weight between 8,001 and 10,000 pounds; and increased from 8,000 to 10,000 pounds the maximum
gross vehicle weight eligible for a distinctive and personalized license plate, with the exception of
military and disability access plates.

Acts 2004, No. 529, p. 1106
Increased from 10 to 20 the number of days a person acquiring a new vehicle has to register that
vehicle; and increased from $10 to $15 the penalty for failing to register a vehicle within the timeframe
granted by law.

Acts 2004, No. 554, p. 1192
Provided that motor vehicle registrations become expired on the last day of the designated renewal

month instead of the last day of the month preceding the designated renewal month.
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Acts 2006, No. 276, p. 482
Provided for multi-year apportioned (IRP) plates to be issued every five years instead of annually,
effective January 1, 2007; increased from $780 and $845 to $815 and $890 the annual registration fee
for X8 (73,281 to 80,000 pounds) and X9 (80,000+ pounds) license plates; also provided that truck
trailers, tractor-trailers and/or semitrailers may purchase a permanent trailer plate for a one-time
registration fee of $60 in lieu of an annual payment of $20.

Acts 2006, No. 356, p. 946
Provided that the gross vehicle weight for pickup trucks used only for personal or agricultural
purposes will be defined as the empty weight of the truck rather than the heaviest load carried and/or
the weight of the truck when used in combination with another vehicle or portable equipment, which
would still be the weight-defining standard for commercially used pickup trucks.

Acts 2009, No. 618, p. 1790
Allowed firefighters who qualify for distinctive tags under Section 32-6-272, Code of Alabama, as
amended, to receive one free distinctive tag.

Acts 2010, No. 689, p. 1674
Provided that registration fees for governmental and volunteer fire department plates shall be
determined by the Department of Revenue and may not exceed the fees for standard passenger
plates, and also provided that the Department of Revenue shall retain the fees to cover costs of
administration.

Acts 2011, No. 205, p. 384
Required qualified "mini-trucks” to have a tag and be registered.

Acts 2011, No. 540, p. 984
Provided that the registration fee for tow trucks will be determined only on the weight of the truck
and will not include the weight of any vehicle being towed.

Acts 2011, No. 554, p. 1032
Placed limits on the amount of the dealer license plates that can be purchased by new and used motor
vehicle dealers and created a new dealer transit plate.

Acts 2013, No. 251, p. 625
Provided that the $5 portion of the distinctive tag fee that was being distributed to the Penny Trust
Fund will be distributed to the Senior Services Trust Fund.

Acts 2013, No. 398, p. 1516
Provided that tags may be issued for out-of-state colleges and universities, with the extra fee

distributed to the State General Fund.
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Acts 2014, No. 158, p. 445
Provided that a licensed new motor vehicle dealer may purchase a maximum combined total of 25
dealer and motorcycle dealer license plates, with exception. A licensed used motor vehicle dealer may
purchase a maximum combined total of 10 dealer and motorcycle dealer license plates, with
exception. A motor vehicle manufacturer who purchases license plates must pay the $1.75 issuance

fee, which is deposited into the county general fund for operation of the issuing official’s office.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Generally, license tag fees are based on weight. For passenger cars and trucks, license tax fees
range from $19.50 to $44.00. For heavy trucks, buses and wreckers, license tax fees range from
$41.00 to $1,322.00. In addition, there are various additional charges added to all registration fees.
These various additional charges add up to approximately $27.00. A fee of $225 is imposed upon
the initial registration of automobiles for private use, lightweight trucks, motor homes and truck
campers, “goat” trucks and antique trucks.

Georgia
A flat tag fee of $20 is charged for passenger automobiles. License tag fees for motor trucks,
truck-tractors and other non-passenger carrying vehicles fees range from $25 to $725;
motorbuses and vans used as common or contract carriers for hire are based on weight with fees
ranging from $190 to $875; and private trucks and truck-tractor tag fees are also based on weight
and range from $25 to $400. Amounts do not include ad valorem taxes.

Mississippi
A base registration fee of $14 for first time registration and $12.75 for renewals, in addition to the
following license tax fees (privilege tax): Private passenger motor vehicles, $15; motorcycles, $8;
hearses and ambulances, $25; church and school buses, $10; private carriers of property, $7.20 to
$864; common and contract carriers of property and private commercial and noncommercial
carriers of property, $7.20 to $1,512; trailers, $10; taxicabs, $35. Additional privilege tax based on
vehicle weight of 80,000 pounds. Ad valorem taxes also apply based upon assessed vehicle value-
minimum of $100 for gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 Ibs.

Tennessee
A flat fee of $18.75 is charged for passenger vehicles while passenger vehicles for hire pay an

additional fee dependent on the number of passengers; motorcycles, $11.75; mobile homes, $19
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to $31; private buses not for hire, $200. Fees for freight motor vehicles are based on weight,

classification and class, and range from $48.50 to $1,332.50.
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Oil Companies Wholesale License Fees

Statutory Authority:

Section 40-17-174, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
The following provisions were enacted in 2011 by Acts 2011, No. 565, effective October 1, 2012. For

previous provisions, see the 2012 Tax Guide on our website (www.Ifo.alabama.gov).

Tax Base:

A license fee on every person, firm, corporation, or agency selling diesel fuel, other than transmix, across
the rack at a terminal in this state or importing diesel fuel, other than transmix, into this state, other than
by a bulk transfer, for delivery to a destination in this state. The permissive supplier is required to collect

this fee from the person who purchases the diesel fuel for import into Alabama.

Tax Rate:
$.0075 per gallon for each gallon of diesel fuel, other than transmix, sold across the rack at a terminal in
this state or imported into this state during the preceding fiscal year. No county license may be charged

under this section.

Collections:

By Department of Revenue on or before October 14.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 11,990,141* 75.94

2012-13 6,814,991 19.78
2011-12 5,689,403 39.49
2010-11 4,078,768 4.93

2009-10 3,887,040 (42.39)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Sale of biodiesel fuel to a licensed supplier when delivered to a terminal.

(2) Transmix.

* Note — includes $3,482,428 in one-time audit receipts.

Oil Companies Wholesale License Fees Page 328



(3) Diesel fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal
issued shipping document.

(4) Gallons for which a permissive supplier collected the fee from the importer.

Legislative History:
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established tax at .5% preceding years gross sales less federal, state and local excise taxes.

Acts 1996, No. 521, p. 669
Allowed an exclusion from the tax base for sales between wholesalers and for federal, state, and local
excise taxes included in the prices paid for taxable products.

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084
Changed the rate from a percentage of gross sales to $.0075 per gallon for each gallon of diesel fuel
sold during the preceding fiscal years effective October 1, 2012. Also removed exclusion for quantities
less than 25 gallons or less annually.

Acts 2013, No. 372, p. 1350
Provided for exemption for transmix and for diesel fuel exported from the state for which proof of

export is available in the form of a terminal issued shipping document.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

$30 annual license.
Georgia

Requires a one-time filing fee of $10.
Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable taxes.
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Lubricating Oil Tax

Statutory Authority:
Sections 40-17-170 through 40-17-173, 40-17-175 through 40-17-186, 40-17-220 through 40-17-225, 40-

17-240 and 40-17-250, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Excise tax on every distributor, manufacturer, dealer, or storer of lubricating oil upon selling, distributing,
or withdrawing such from storage (does not include products commercially known as "fuel oils" or "crude

oils").

Tax Rate:
The State of Alabama collects two levies, of $.02 and $.04, for a total of $.06 per gallon. Also subject to

petroleum inspection fee of $.15 per gallon. (See Agricultural Fees-Petroleum Commodities Fees).

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on or before the 20" of each month.

Fiscal Year $.02 $.04 Total % Change
2013-14 619,696 1,232,677 1,852,373 3.09

2012-13 598,972 1,197,857 1,796,829 (6.13)

2011-12 638,029 1,276,059 1,914,088 (11.00)

2010-11 716,840 1,433,680 2,150,520 17.97
2009-10 607,664 1,215,328 1,822,992 14.14

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

After deducting the cost of collection, the net tax proceeds are distributed as follows:

(1) Proceeds from the $.02 per gallon levy are deposited into the State General Fund.

(2) Proceeds from the $.04 per gallon levy are distributed (a) 45% to the Public Road and Bridge Fund;
and (b) 55% to the 67 counties and the municipal governing bodies located therein. Of the 55%,
45.45% is distributed equally to the 67 counties; and 54.55% is allocated among the 67 counties based
on population; 10% of each county's portion of the tax proceeds are shared with the municipal
governing bodies located therein on the ratio of the population of each such municipality to the total
population of all municipalities in said county unless otherwise provided by legislative act; and the
balance allocated to each county is to be distributed with respect to which the allocation is made

(Section 40-17-224) primarily resurfacing, restoration, rehabilitation and bridge replacement.
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Major Exemptions:

(1) From the $.02 tax and the $.04 tax:
(@) Sales to agencies of the U.S. Government.
(b) Local school boards.
(c) Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind (AIDB), Department of Youth Services (DYS) School
District and private and parochial schools.
(d) Sales to city and county governing bodies.
(2) From the $.02 tax:
(@) Sales of lubricating oil in interstate commerce.
(b) Sales of lubricating oil to an out-of-state purchaser who takes delivery of such oil within the
state with intent to transport it out-of-state.
(3) From the $.04 tax:
(@) Lubricating oil used in aircraft powered by reciprocating, jet or turbine engines, ships, vessels,
barges, railroad locomotives and other railroad equipment.
(b) Lubricating oil sold to be used for agricultural purposes.

(c) Lubricating oil sold to be used in off-road vehicles which do not require state licensing.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 516
Established the $.02 per gallon levy to provide for general revenue with tax receipts credited to the
State Highway Patrol.

Acts 1943, No. 477, p. 441
Authorized the Department of Revenue to exempt U.S. agencies from the $.02 tax.

Acts 1955, No. 42, p. 259
Changed the distribution of the $.02 per gallon tax receipts so that all receipts would be deposited
after the cost of collection is deducted to the General Fund.

Acts 1980, No. 427, p. 590
Levied the additional excise tax of $.04 per gallon on gasoline, motor fuel and lubricating oil and
provided for its distribution.

Acts 1980, No. 694, p. 1397
Exempted the sale of lubricating oil destined for out-of-state use from the $.02 tax.

Acts 1981, No. 787, p. 1379

Exempted local boards of education from the $.04 tax on gasoline, motor fuel and lubricating oil.
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Acts 1987, No. 553, p. 854
Exempted from the $.02 tax on lubricating oil private and parochial schools, city and county boards of
education, Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind, and the Department of Youth Services School
District; and exempted from the $.04 tax on lubricating oil private and church school systems.

Acts 1987, No. 675, p. 1205
Further provided for use of lubricating oil tax proceeds in municipalities to include construction of new
roads and streets.

Acts 1988, No. 641, p. 1027
Exempted Class 1 municipalities (Birmingham) from the payment of all oil, gasoline and diesel fuel
taxes of any kind.

Acts 1991, No. 665, p. 1273
Exempted Class 2 municipalities (Mobile) from the payment of all oil, gasoline and diesel fuel taxes of
any kind.

Acts 1991, No. 672, p. 1310
Exempted DYS, AIDB, city and county boards of education and private and parochial schools from all
gasoline, motor vehicle fuel and oil taxes. The effect of this act relative to the Lubricating Oil Tax was
to exempt the DYS School District, AIDB and private and parochial schools from the $.04 tax.

Acts 1995, No. 410, p. 881
Inserted into the Code of Alabama 1975, the general exemption for DYS and AIDB granted in the Act
1991-672 above.

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084
Beginning October 1, 2012 exempted all city and county governing bodies from the $.02 tax; class 1
(Birmingham) and class 2 (Mobile) were previously exempted from the $.02 tax; and all city and

counties are exempted from the $.04 tax.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida and Georgia
No comparable tax.
Mississippi
$.02 per quart.
Tennessee

$.02 per quart. (motor oil)
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Oil and Gas Drilling Permit, Filing and Application Fees

Statutory Authority:

Section 9-17-24, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Any person desiring or proposing to drill any well in search of oil or gas or a class II injection well as
defined by the Federal Safe Drinking Water Act, 42 USC 300f et seq., any person filing a petition or notice
of petition requesting a public hearing before the State Oil and Gas Board, and any person proposing to

fracture a coal group or geologic formation.

Tax Rate:

$300 drilling fee per well, $150 petition filing fee, and a fee to fracture a coal group or geologic formation
not to exceed $250 for each stage of a fracture stimulation operation in an individual well, up to a
maximum of $750 per well, regardless of the number of fracture stages proposed. The current fee to

fracture a coal group or geologic formation is $175.

Collections:

By the Oil and Gas Board. Deposits are made to the state treasury.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 107,225 55.85

2012-13 68,800 (23.99)

2011-12 85,300 (46.06)

2010-11 158,150 (14.71)

2009-10 185,425 232

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited to the State Oil and Gas Board Special Fund.

Exemptions:

Any person who desires to file a petition without paying the filing fee may request a waiver from the QOil

and Gas Board.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1945, No. 1, p. 1
Established drilling permit fee of $25 per well, to be paid into the Oil and Gas Fund.

Acts 1975, No. 1094, p. 2163
Provided for $250 drilling permit fee per well, to be paid into the State General Fund for the use of the
Oil and Gas Board as appropriated by the Legislature.

Acts 1979, No. 425, p. 666
Provided for $250 drilling permit fee per well, to be paid into the State General Fund; and abolished
the Oil and Gas Fund after September 30, 1979.

Acts 1988, No. 576, p. 893
Provided for drilling permit fee per well, filing fee and application fee per well status determination at
current rates; and created the Qil and Gas Board Special Fund, into which all fees are deposited.

Acts 2002, No. 425, p. 1092
Provided a fee of up to $250 for fracturing a coal group and the distribution of proceeds therefrom
retroactive to September 1, 2001.

Acts 2013, No. 203, p. 426
Provided further for the fees to fracture a coal group or geologic formation by allowing a maximum
fee of $250 for each stage of a fracture stimulation operation in an individual well, not to exceed $750
per well. Also, expanded the rulemaking authority of the Oil and Gas Board to include oil sands and
allowed the Board to establish a per acre fee on surface mining operations to recover oil from oil
sands.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Application fee for drilling permits - $2,000.
Application fee for geophysical exploration - $500.
Georgia
Application fee - $25.
Mississippi
Drilling permits, conversions and dual completions - $600.
Workovers and change of operations - $100.
Tennessee
Drilling permits - $500.

Permit amendment and change of operator fees - $100.
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Oil and Gas Privilege Tax

Statutory Authority:
Sections 40-20-1 through 40-20-13 and 40-20-20 through 40-20-23; and Sections 33-2-210 through 33-

2-213, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
An annual privilege tax on all persons engaged in the business of producing or severing oil or gas from

the soil or water, or from beneath the soil or water. (See also Oil and Gas Production Tax).

Tax Rate:

Well units are taxed at a percentage of the gross value of the oil or gas at the point of production.
However, offshore well units producing at a depth greater than 8,000 feet below mean sea level are taxed
at a percentage of gross proceeds attributable to the offshore production. The privilege tax rate varies.
(See the following table and Legislative History). Information on local taxes follows Legislative History.

Well Type Annual Tax Rate

Oil wells producing 25 barrels or less/day and gas wells producing 4%
200 MCF or less/day.

Incremental production from enhanced recovery projects. 4%

Offshore wells permitted on or after July 1, 1988 and producing at a 6%
depth less than 8,000 feet below mean sea level.

Onshore wells permitted on or after July 1, 1988, except those
qualifying for lower tax rates.

All other taxable production.

Offshore wells producing at a depth greater than 8,000 feet below
mean sea level.

Any well permitted between July 1, 1996, and July 1, 2002, that is not
a replacement well will qualify for a 50% tax rate reduction for five
years from first production.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue by the 15th day of the second calendar month following the month of

production.
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Fiscal Year

2013-14
2012-13
2011-12
2010-11

2009-10

Collections ($)
85,131,032

87,233,469
83,703,393
82,000,916
65,036,206

Percent Change

(2.41)
4.22
2.08

26.09

(17.94)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

After deducting the cost of collection, the proceeds from the annual tax are distributed as follows:

(1) Offshore Production:

(@) 90% to the State General Fund.

(b) 10% to the county in which the oil or gas was severed.

(2) Onshore Production:

(@) * 25% to the State General Fund.
(b) 75% as follows:
(i) 66.67% to the following:

(@) 25% to the counties in which the oil or gas was severed.

(b) 10% to the municipalities in which the oil or gas was severed.

(c) * Of the first $150,000 remaining, or any part thereof, 50% to the State General

Fund, 42.5% to the county in which the oil or gas was severed and 7.5% to the

cities therein on a population basis.

(d) * Of the balance, 84% to the State General Fund, 14% to the county in which the

oil or gas was severed and 2% to cities therein on a population basis.

(i)  *16.67% to the State General Fund.

(i) 16.67% to the county in which oil or gas was severed.

*The first $9.5 million of collections from this tax required to be deposited to the State General Fund

during each quarter of each fiscal year is credited to the Alabama State Docks Facilities Contingency Trust

Fund. Up to $9.5 million annually may be used by the State Port Authority for operations and/or bond

expenses, upon verification by the Director of Finance that such use of these funds is necessary. On the

30™ day of each month of each fiscal year, any funds remaining in the Contingency Trust Fund which have

not been designated as required by the Port Authority are deposited to the State General Fund. As of the

end of FY 2014 the Port Authority had not required the use of any of the Contingency Trust Fund monies,

so that all of the $9.5 million has been deposited to the State General Fund each year.
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Major Exemptions:

(1) Natural gas lawfully vented or flared in connection with the production, treatment, or processing of oil
or gas.

(2) Natural gas lawfully injected into oil or gas pools or reservoirs.

(3) Natural gas lawfully injected into the earth for the purpose of lifting oil or gas. However, if any gas
injected is sold or injected into underground storage facilities as defined in Section 9-17-150 et seq.,

then the gas is not exempt.

Legislative History:

Acts 1945, No. 2, p. 20
Established the oil and privilege tax at 4% of the gross value; and provided exemptions from ad
valorem taxation for all oil or gas produced, for leases in production, and for oil or gas beneath
producing properties to a maximum of 40 acres.
Acts 1971, No. 2057, p. 3317
Increased the rate to 5% of the gross value until October 1, 1973; after which, the rate was reduced to
4%.
Acts 1979, No. 434, p. 687
Increased the rate to 6% for wells producing 26 barrels or more per day and allowed wells beginning
production after September 1, 1979, to be taxed at 4% for the first 10 years of production; and
provided that additional collections be distributed 50% to State General Fund and 50% to county.
Acts 1980, No. 708, p. 1189
Increased the rate to 6% for well units producing 40 or more barrels per day and allowed well units
producing less than 40 barrels per day to be taxed at 4% of the gross value at the point of production.
Acts 1983, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 39, p. 39
Increased the rate to 8% for wells producing 10 or more barrels of oil per day; and allowed well units
producing less than 10 barrels per day to be taxed at 4% of gross value at the point of production.
Distribution formula changed to allow additional 2% to be deposited into the State General Fund.
Removed 10-year exemption.
Acts 1983, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 889, p- 116
Provided that all oil or gas produced by offshore production would be taxed at a rate of 6% of gross
value at point of production to be distributed 90% State General Fund and 10% to county; raised 10

barrel per day exemption (taxed at 4% rather than 8%) to 25 barrels per day. All wells producing 25
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barrels of oil per day or more would be taxed at 8%. Also provided that any gas well producing 200
cubic feet of gas per day or less would be taxed at 4% rather than 8%.

Acts 1984, No. 328, p. 749
Provided that all production from onshore discovery wells and onshore development wells on which
drilling commenced within four years of the completion date of the discovery well and producing from
a depth of 6,000 ft. or greater as well as all production from onshore development wells on which
drilling commenced within two years of the completion date of the discovery well and producing from
a depth less than 6,000 ft. would be taxed at 6% rather than 8% for a period of five years.

Acts 1984, No. 662, p. 1326
Provided that cities would receive 10% of any 4% tax levied on wells within the corporate limits of the
municipalities.

Acts 1984, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 672, p. 5
Provided that any well which began commercial production of occluded natural gas from coal seams
after June 7, 1984 would be taxed at the rate of 2% for a period of five years. This act expired on
June 7, 1994.

Acts 1985, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 911, p. 182
Provided that incremental oil and gas production resulting from an “enhanced recovery project” would
be taxed at 4% rather than 8%.

Acts 1987, No. 551, p. 849
Created the Alabama State Docks Facilities Contingency Trust Fund and provided that, beginning with
FY 1987, the first $9.5 million of collections from the Oil and Gas Privilege Tax required to be
deposited to the State General Fund during each year would be credited to this Contingency Trust
Fund, to be used by the Alabama State Docks Department for operations and/or bond expenses of the
State Docks, upon verification by the Director of Finance that such use of these funds is necessary; also
provided that, within 45 days after the close of the third quarter of each fiscal year, any funds
remaining in the Contingency Trust Fund which have not been designated as required by the State
Docks would be deposited to the State General Fund.

Acts 1988, No. 601, p. 935
Provided that the oil and gas produced from any well for which the initial permit issued by the Oil and
Gas Board is dated on or after July 1, 1988 (except a replacement well for which the initial permit
issued by the Oil and Gas Board is dated before July 1, 1988) would be taxed at a rate of 6% for

onshore wells and 4% for offshore wells (a 2% reduction for both types).
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Acts 1990, No. 652, p. 1249
Redefined offshore production as submerged lands, which means that if submerged lands are located
within the police jurisdiction or corporate limits of any municipality those submerged lands would be
defined as onshore lands for the purpose of distributing the tax, shifting the distribution of oil and gas
privilege tax receipts from 90%-state, 10%-local to approximately 70%-state, 30%-local.

Acts 1996, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 877, p. 1688
Reduced the privilege tax rate by one-half for a five-year period beginning with the date production
began on oil or gas produced from wells permitted on or after July 1, 1996, but before July 1, 1999.

Acts 1998, No. 503, p. 1120
Required that monies in the State Docks Facilities Contingency Trust Fund be transferred monthly to
the State General Fund if they are not needed to pay debt service on docks bonds.

Acts 1999, No. 584, p. 1332
Extended the reduced tax rate granted under Act 96-877 that was scheduled to expire July 1, 1999.
The extension was made through July 1, 2002.

Acts 2000, No. 598, p. 1199
In reference to the first $9.5 million in receipts from this tax for State General Fund that is first used by
the Port Authority, if needed by said Authority, this act changed the name from State Docks to Port
Authority and restricted the Authority’s use of these funds.

Acts 2004, No. 635, p. 1451
Levied a temporary oil and gas privilege tax at the rates of 1% on offshore production and 0.5% on
onshore production for the period from July 1, 2004 through June 30, 2005 and distributed the
proceeds to the State General Fund.

Acts 2009, No. 147, p. 284
Excluded deep water production of oil and natural gas from the privilege tax based on the gross value
at the point of production and levied a new tax on deep water production computed at the rate of
3.65% of the gross proceeds attributable to the offshore production.

Note Regarding Local Taxes:
A county or municipality may not establish, levy, impose, or collect, as a condition of doing business,
any tax, fee, or license, on or with respect to the production, processing or transportation on any oil or
gas produced in Alabama and on which severance taxes have been paid to Alabama. The limitation
imposed on counties and municipalities does not apply to any county or municipality which does not

receive a share of the severance tax levied on onshore production.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
For tertiary oil and mature field recovery oil, a tiered rate structure is in effect that is based on the
sales or market price for a barrel of oil. The rate ranges from 1% of the gross value of oil on the
value of oil $60 and below to 9% of the gross value of oil on the value of oil $80 and above.
Ordinary oil production, 8% of gross value; small well oil, 5% of gross value; escaped oil is an
additional 12.5%; gas, $.355 per mcf, effective July 1, 2012 (rate set annually, based on gas fuels
producer price index); sulfur, $6.88 per long ton effective July 1, 2012 (rate set annually, based on
sulfur producer price index).

Georgia
No comparable tax.

Mississippi
A severance tax is levied at the rate of 6% of the value at the point of production for both oil and
gas. A reduced rate of 3% applies to oil and gas produced from enhanced recovery projects. An
Oil and Gas Board maintenance tax is imposed on oil and gas produced and sold in Mississippi,
not to exceed 60 mills per barrel of oil or 6 mills per 1,000 cubic feet of gas.

Tennessee
A severance tax equal to 3% of the sales price of oil or gas removed is collected. No tax is
imposed on the following: (1) free gas used by a property owner or tenant under terms of a lease,
unless in lieu of cash payment; and (2) gas injected into the ground for storage and later

withdrawn.
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Oil and Gas Production Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-17-25 through 9-17-31, 9-17-34 and 9-17-35, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Tax on the production of oil or natural gas severed from any well or wells in Alabama. (See also Oil and

Gas Privilege Tax).

Tax Rate:

2% of the gross value of the oil or gas at the point of production. 1% for any well permitted between July
1,1996, and July 1, 2002, that is not a replacement well, for five years from first production. The tax on
offshore production, produced from depths greater than 8,000 feet below mean sea level, is computed at

the rate of 1.66% of the gross proceeds attributable to the offshore production. (See Major Exemptions).

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue by the 15th day of the second calendar month following the month of

production.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 28,431,604 (1.68)

2012-13 28,917,319 4.10
2011-12 27,778,319 (6.13)

2010-11 29,591,064 44 .45

2009-10 20,485,886 (35.48)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

The entire proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Natural gas lawfully injected into oil or gas pools or reservoirs.
(2) Natural gas lawfully injected into the earth for the purpose of lifting oil or gas. However, if any gas
injected is sold or injected into underground storage facilities as defined in Section 9-17-150 et seq.,

Code of Alabama 1975, as amended then the gas is not exempt.

42 Gross collections.
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(3) Natural gas lawfully vented or flared in connection with the production, treatment or processing of oil

or gas.

Legislative History:

Acts 1945, No. 1, p. 1
Established production tax at current rate to defray the expenses of enforcing Title 9, Chapter 17,
Article 1 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, and provided that tax returns and payments are
due on the 15" day of the month following the month of production.

Acts 1961, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 95, p. 2008
Provided that the receipts from the tax be deposited into the State General Fund and expended as
appropriated by the Legislature.

Acts 1996, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 877, p. 1688
Reduced the tax rate to 1% for a 5-year period beginning with the date production began on oil or
gas produced from wells permitted on or after July 1, 1996, but before July 1, 1999.

Acts 1999, No. 584. p. 1332
Extended the reduced tax rate granted under Act 96-877 that was scheduled to expire July 1, 1999.
The extension was made through July 1, 2002.

Acts 2009, No. 147, p. 284
Excludes deep water production of oil and natural gas from the production tax based on the gross
value at the point of production and levied a new tax on deep water production computed at the rate

of 1.66% of the gross proceeds received from the sale of the oil or natural gas.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

See the comparison for the Oil and Gas Privilege Tax.
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Lease of Oil and Gas Rights

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 450 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.02 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 85-79, 1% Ex.
Sess., proclaimed ratified June 4, 1985).
Established the Alabama Trust Fund and provided that 99% of any proceeds received after August 14,
1984, from the lease of offshore lands become a part of the trust capital. 1% of proceeds are allocated
to the State Lands Fund.
Amendment No. 666 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.04 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 00-491,
proclaimed ratified December 13, 2000).
Established the County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Trust Fund and the Alabama
Capital Improvement Trust Fund; redistributed 35% of the oil and gas capital payments in the previous
fiscal year to the County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Trust Fund (7%) and the
Alabama Capital Improvement Trust Fund (28%); and approved the issuance of general obligation
bonds in an aggregate principal amount not exceeding $350 million for the purposes of: (1) making
capital improvements to the state dock facilities at the Port of Mobile; (2) promoting economic
development and industrial recruitment in the state; (3) providing the local government match monies
required to issue federal grant revenue bonds for road and bridge improvements; and (4) providing
funds to municipal governments for infrastructure improvements. (See also “Alabama Trust Fund”).
Amendment No. 796 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.041 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 07-05,
proclaimed ratified June 28, 2007).
Increased the bonding authority under Amendment 666 above to an amount not exceeding $750
million. (See also "Deposits - Alabama Trust Fund”).
Amendment No. 856 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.09 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 12-490,
proclaimed ratified October 10, 2012).
Established a new annual spending policy for the Alabama Trust Fund, beginning with the state’s 2013
fiscal year, to distribute 33% of the previous year's oil and gas capital payments and 5% of the average
value of the Alabama Trust Fund investment portfolio over the previous three years. (See also

"Deposits - Alabama Trust Fund”).
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Amendment No. 880 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.042 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 2012-567,
proclaimed ratified December 13, 2012).
Authorized the Bond Commission established by Amendment 666 to issue refunding bonds and
provided that the principal amount of general obligation bonds for which provision for payment has
been made would not be considered outstanding.
Amendment No. 887 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 219.09 of the
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama 1901, as amended (proposed by Act 13-266,
proclaimed ratified December 1, 2014).
Increased the bonding authorized granted to the Bond Commission under Amendment 666, as
amended, by $50 million to issue bonds for construction and maintenance of National Guard armories
and provided for an additional payment of oil and gas capital payments received by the Alabama Trust

Fund to the Alabama Capital Improvement Trust Fund to pay the principal and interest on the bonds.

Statutory Authority:

Sections 9-17-60 through 9-17-69, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources is authorized to lease any lands or interest
therein under the Department's jurisdiction for exploration, development, and production of oil, gas, and
other minerals. The Commissioner, on behalf of the state, is authorized to lease any lands or interest
therein owned by a state department, institution or agency upon written request of the head of the state
department, institution or agency. The Commissioner may also lease any land or interest therein under

navigable streams or waterways for the same purposes.

Tax Rate:

Varies according to the provisions enumerated in the lease contract.

Collections:

By the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 94,206,188 4,52

2012-13 90,130,240 (5.37)

2011-12 95,241,662 (25.03)
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Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2010-11 127,043,525 (2.34)

2009-10 130,091,841 (37.49)

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

(1) 10% of all revenue, except revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico, is
deposited to the credit of the State Lands Fund to cover the cost of administration for the Department
of Conservation and Natural Resources. One percent of revenue from the lease of submerged lands in
the Gulf of Mexico is deposited to the credit of the State Lands Fund.

(2) All remaining revenue from properties of a department is deposited to the credit of that department.

(3) All remaining revenue from the lease of streams or waterways is deposited into the State General
Fund.

(4) Beginning in fiscal year 2013, 33% of the remaining revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the
Gulf of Mexico is distributed to the State General Fund (69%), cities and counties (10% each), Forever
Wild Land Trust (10%) and Senior Services Trust Fund (1%) and 32% becomes part of the trust capital
of the Alabama Trust Fund; however, this amount will be reduced by an amount necessary to make an
additional transfer to the Capital Improvement Trust Fund to pay debt service on a $50 million bond
issue to construct and renovate National Guard armories pursuant to Amendment 887 to the
Constitution of Alabama of 1901 (See also "Deposits — Alabama Trust Fund”). The remaining 35% of
revenue is distributed as follows: to the Capital Improvement Trust Fund, 28%; and to the County and
Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund, 7%. Prior to fiscal year 2013, 65% of the remaining
revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico became part of the trust capital of

the Alabama Trust Fund.

Legislative History:

Acts 1953, No. 825, p. 1111
Authorized and provided for the manner in which the Director of Conservation may execute oil, gas,
and mineral leases on all lands owned by a state department.

Acts 1956, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 158, p. 224

Repealed and rewrote Act 53-825 and authorized leases to be made on the basis of competitive bids.
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Acts 1957, No. 611, p. 877
Required invitations for bids to be published at least 25 days before the final date for submitting bids;
and required the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to either
accept the most advantageous offer or reject all bids within five days of the date bids are opened.
Acts 1963, No. 529, p. 1141
Authorized the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to charge a fee for copies of oil
and gas lease tract charts; and required that advertising costs be borne by the agency requesting the
lease of state lands.
Acts 1969, No. 479, p. 935
Provided further for the execution of oil and gas leases; and provided for the current distribution of

revenue, except revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Oil and gas leases are executed in accordance with the authority granted to the Division of State
Lands of the Department of Environmental Protection. Royalties are returned to the Department.
Georgia
No comparable law.
Mississippi
Oil and gas leases are executed in accordance with the authority granted to the Mississippi
Department of Environmental Quality. Royalties are distributed to an education trust fund; to a
gulf and wildlife protection fund; and for administrative costs of the Department.
Tennessee

No comparable law.
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Outdoor Advertising Permits

Statutory Authority:

Sections 23-1-270 through 23-1-288, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Fee for the erection of outdoor advertising signs which are visible from interstate or primary highways.

Tax Rate:
(1) $25 initial fee for each outdoor advertising sign location covered in the permit.
(2) $10 annual renewal fee (permits are for a calendar year and are not prorated for a partial year).

See NOTE below for information about the "interstate logo” program.

Collections:
By the State Department of Transportation upon receipt of a permit application and each year thereafter
between January 1 and February 15. A 25% penalty is charged and collected for any delinquent permit
issued after February 15.

Outdoor Advertising  Interstate Logo Total Percent

Fiscal Year Permit Fee Program Collections ($) Change
2013-14 67,485 1,536,350 1,603,835 1.50

2012-13 62,268 1,517,950 1,580,218 7.69

2011-12 65,980 1,401,410 1,467,390 (4.32)

2010-11 66,942 1,466,650 1,533,592 1.39

2009-10 68,608 1,444,000 1,512,608 1.04

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Note:

The Alabama Department of Transportation operates an “interstate logo” program that displays specific
service signs at various points along interstates in Alabama. These signs provide location information for
sponsoring restaurants, gas stations, camp grounds and other area attractions. The annual operating fee
for these service signs is an amount administratively set by the Department of Transportation. Depending
upon the type and size of the service signs, the annual operating fee currently ranges from $100 to $450.
Revenue collected by the Department from the logo signs is deposited into the Airports Development
Fund and is earmarked by the Department of Transportation for the state Aeronautics program to be used

for airport development.
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Distribution:
Permit fees for outdoor advertising signs are deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund, and fees from

“interstate logos” are deposited to the Airports Development Fund.

Major Exemptions:

Signs of less than one square foot in area, excluding the support, that are erected by a public utility to

mark the location of underground public utility facilities.

Legislative History:

Acts 1971, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 276, p. 4544
Provided for the issuance of permits and the collection of permit fees at rates of $5 for initial permit
and $3.50 for renewal.

Acts 1978, No. 383, p. 347

Increased outdoor advertising permit fees to current rates.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Fee of $51 per year for signs less than 200 square feet; $71 per year for signs 200 square feet and
over. Persons engaged in the outdoor advertising business pay an annual license fee of $300.
Georgia
Application fee for an outdoor advertising permit is $300; annual renewal fee of $85.
Mississippi
An initial permit fee of $85 per location; annual renewal fee of $20.
Tennessee
Application fee of $200 per permit and tag; renewal fee of $40 for 2008; $50 for 2009; $60 for

2010; and $70 for 2011 and thereafter for annual renewal of each permit.
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Oversize/Overweight Permit Fees

Constitutional Provision:

Amendment No. 93 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment No. 354, now
appearing as Section 111.06 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as
amended.
Amendment No. 93 (ratified November 19, 1952) provided that no monies derived from any fee,
excise or license tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles; or (2)
fuels used for propelling vehicles except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than
administration of said laws, cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public
highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Amendment No.
354 (ratified November 10, 1976) provided that the Legislature may provide for the manufacture,
distribution and use of personalized license plates and also require the payment of an additional fee
to be used in such manner as prescribed by the Legislature.
NOTE: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities

pursuant to authority granted by the state.

Statutory Authority:

Section 32-9-29, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Fee for the operation and/or movement of vehicles upon the public roads of this state whose weight,

width, length or height, or combination thereof, exceeds the maximum limit(s) specified by law.

Tax Rate:
(1) Annual permits - $100.
(2) Single trip permits:
(@) Mobile homes, modular homes, sectional homes, portable buildings and boats:
(i) $10 - up to and including 12 ft. wide and 75 ft. long.
(i) $20 - boats in excess of 12 ft. wide and mobile homes, modular homes, sectional
houses and portable buildings in excess of 12 ft. wide and/or 75 ft. long.
(b) Heavy commodities or equipment:
(i) $10 - over on any limitations as to length, height or width.

(i) $10 - over on weight from 80,001 Ibs. up to 100,000 Ibs.
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(iii) $30 - over on weight from 100,001 lbs. up to 125,000 Ibs.

(iv) $60 - over on weight from 125,001 Ibs. up to 150,000 Ibs.

(v) $100 - over on weight from 150,001 Ibs. and over.

(¢) Miscellaneous:

(i) $20 for houses.

(i) $10 for off-road equipment.

(iii) $20 for other oversized vehicles, loads, and equipment not otherwise specified.

(iv) $10 for other overheight loads not otherwise specified.

(v) $100 annual permit fee for rubber-tired equipment used solely in the scope and
operation of mining refractory grade bauxite and which exceeds maximum limits
with some restrictions.

Collections:

By the State Department of Transportation upon receipt of a permit application.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 3,786,140 5.50

2012-13 3,588,880 (2.68)

2011-12 3,687,700 9.25

2010-11 3,375,570 .67

2009-10 3,352,990

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All permit fees are deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund.

Major Exemptions:

Farm and/or agricultural commodities and equipment.

Legislative History:
Acts 1932, Ex. Sess., No. 58, p. 68

Provided that the State Highway Commission prescribe rules and regulations for issuance by it (at no
cost to applicant) of special permits for the transportation of oversize, overweight or overlength
commodities and for the operation of super heavy or oversize motor trucks, semitrailer trucks and

trailers.
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Acts 1977, No. 775, p. 1332
Provided further for the issuance of special permits for movement of certain oversized and overweight
vehicles and loads on the state highway system; and authorized the Highway Director to collect fees
for the issuance of such permits at current rate.

Acts 1977, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 78, p. 1506
A Senate Joint Resolution expressing that the intent of the Legislature, relative to Act 77-775, was to
exempt farm equipment and agricultural commodities and equipment from the provisions of said act
related to oversize, overweight permits.

Acts 1978, No. 837, p. 1241
Specifically exempted farm and agricultural commodities and equipment from the requirement of
obtaining permits for movement on the state highway system of heavy commodities or equipment.

Acts 1998, No. 321, p. 562
Provided for an annual $100 permit fee for the operation of oversized rubber-tired equipment used

solely for mining refractory grade bauxite.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Overdimension trip permits (7-day) from $5-$25. Overweight trip permits (7-day) from $0.27-$0.47 per
mile to $.003 per 1,000 Ibs. per mile, based upon weight. Blanket (annual) permits for overdimension
loads from $20-$500 for 12 months. Blanket (annual) permits for overweight and overdimension loads
from $240-$500 for 12 months. Overweight overall wheel base permit is $10 for a trip permit and $35
for an annual permit. Overweight implement of husbandry/farm/forestry equipment permits are $5
for a trip permit and $17 for an annual permit (local moves only). Some restrictions/exemptions.

Georgia
Single trip permit fees from $30-$500, depending upon dimensions and weight. Annual permit fees
from $150-$500, based on dimensions and weight. Annual commercial wrecker emergency tow
permits are $500.

Mississippi
Trip permit fee for overweight loads over 80,000 Ibs. of $.05 for each thousand pounds over 80,000
times the number of miles traveled in Mississippi (no permit for less than $10). Annual self-issued
permit is $500 (preapproved vehicles and loads can travel predesignated routes). Oversize load trip

permit fee of $10 for a single trip. Fee for extended oversize permit is annual fee of $100 per carrier.
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Tennessee

(1) Single trip permits (overdimensional loads):
(@) up to 10 ft. wide - $10.
(b) over 10 ft. and up to 12 ft. - $15.
(c) over 12 ft. and up to 14 ft. - $25.
(d) over 14 ft. and up to 16 ft. - $30.
(e) over 16 ft. - $30 plus $5 for each additional foot or fraction thereof over 17 ft.
(f) for excessive height - $15.
(g) for excessive length - $15.
(h) for excessive weight - $15 plus $.05/ton mile (>150,000 |bs. approval required for special

permit).
(i) for houseboats over 17 ft. - $2,500 plus $100 for each additional inch or fraction thereof over
18 ft.

(2) Annual permits:
(a) for weight up to 120,000 Ibs. - $500.
(b) for weight over 120,000 Ibs. - $1,000.

(3) Evaluation of bridges and similar structures:
(a) for weight greater than 200,000 Ibs. but less than 300,000 lbs. - $100.
(b) greater than 300,000 Ibs. but less than 500,000 Ibs. - $300.
(c) greater than 500,000 lbs. but less than 1 million Ibs. - $500.

(d) 1 million Ibs. or more — actual cost.
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Pari-Mutuel Pool Taxes

(A) Dog Track Tax

(B) Horse Wagering Fee

Statutory Authority:

(A) Sections 40-26A-1 though 40-26A-17, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
(B) Sections 11-65-28.1, 11-65-29 and 11-65-30, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A tax levied on persons engaged in the business of operating a dog or horse track, based upon the total
amount wagered (pool) on all pari-mutuel races (both live and simulcast). A pari-mutuel race is a race
wherein individuals who wager on winners divide the total amount wagered in proportion to their

individual wagers, after deduction of authorized taxes, fees and management expenses.

Tax Rate:
(A) State tax of 1% of the pari-mutuel pool on all pari-mutuel races, plus 1% of the pari-mutuel pool
on all pari-mutuel races requiring the selection of three or more racers. Local tax rates for facilities
located in counties designated are as provided by the following acts:
(1) Greene Co. (4%) - Act 75-376, p. 926; Act 85-936, 2" Ex. Sess., p. 238.
(2) Jefferson Co. (2%/4%/6%) - Act 91-187, p. 246.
(3) Macon Co. (4%) - Act 83-575, p. 882; Act 87-207, p. 295.
(4) Mobile Co. (7%) - Act 71-2431, p. 3880; Act 75-1095, p. 2164; Act 81-745, p. 1272; Act 89-696, p.
1376; Act 92-105, p. 169.
(B) State tax of 1% of the pari-mutuel pool on all horse races. A local tax rate is also provided for

facilities located in Jefferson County (2%/4%) by Act 84-131, p. 159.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue by the 20" day of the month following the month in which the wagers

were made.

State Only
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 1,546,564 (.69)

2012-13 1,557,287 (15.41)
2011-12 1,840,893 (6.69)
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State Only

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2010-11 1,972,957 (6.21)
2009-10 2,103,569 (13.31)

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

After the cost of collection is deducted, all proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

None.

Legislative History:

Acts 1984, No. 131, p. 159
Established state horse wagering fee of 1% to be effective after the fifth anniversary of the date on
which horse racing was first conducted.

Acts 1988, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 952, p. 575
Established the state dog racetrack pari-mutuel pool tax.

Acts 1989, No. 696, p. 1376
Clarified the non-payment of the additional 1% tax by the Mobile County dog track on races requiring
the selection of three or more racers.

Acts 1991, No. 187, p. 246
Authorized greyhound racing in Jefferson County (in addition to horse racing) and provided for tax
rates listed above.

Acts 1998, No. 128, p. 188
Provided further for the take-out from pari-mutuel pools for the Jefferson County racetrack.

Acts 1998, No. 130, p. 190

Provided further for the take-out from pari-mutuel pools for the Macon County racetrack.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Tax on handle levied as follows:
Dog Racing: Live and intertrack wagering tax of 5.5% of handle. On intertrack wages the tax may be
lower depending upon the location of the tracks and the type of permit held. Also rate is lower if total

tax on intertrack handle paid by permit holder during current state fiscal year exceeds the total tax on
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intertrack handle paid by permit holder during the 1992-93 fiscal year. Live and intertrack charity
performances tax of 7.6% of handle.

Horse Racing: Tax for quarter horse racing is 1% of handle. Intertrack tax on handle is 2% for a horse
track and 3.3% for a harness track. Intertrack wagering is 0.5% if the host track and the guest track are
thoroughbred permitholders or if the guest track is located outside the market of the host track and
within the market area of a thoroughbred permitholder currently conducting a live race meet.
Intertrack wagering on rebroadcast of simulcast is 2.4% for thoroughbred races and 1.5% for harness
races.

Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No dog or horse tracks.
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Passenger Bus License

Statutory Authority:

Section 40-12-246.1, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Annual special business operating license for any business, person or persons operating as a common
carrier of passengers that is authorized to operate in this state by the Public Service Commission pursuant
to Chapter 3 of Title 37. The license is in lieu of the payment of any state, county, municipal, or other local
ad valorem tax and in addition to any other business or occupational licenses required for operation by

the laws of this state.

Tax Rate:

The amount of each license is determined by multiplying by $620 the number of motor bus passenger
carrier vehicles that are less than 10 years old and are registered in the name of the common carrier of
passengers that is authorized to operate in this state by the Public Service Commission pursuant to
Chapter 3 of Title 37, and by multiplying by $100 the number of motor bus passenger carrier vehicles that
are 10 years old or older and are registered in the name of the common carrier of passengers that is

authorized to operate in this state by the Public Service Commission pursuant to Chapter 3 of Title 37.

Collections:
By county officials responsible for the collection of ad valorem taxes on motor vehicles in the county

where the motor bus passenger carrier vehicle is based.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)43 Percent Change
2013-14 59,507 27.83

2012-13 46,550 .62

2011-12 46,263

2010-11 50,444

2009-10 49,595

Source: "Comparison of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

3 General Fund and Education Trust Fund collections only.
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Distribution:
After deducting the cost of collection (2.5%), the balance of the revenue remaining is distributed as
follows:

(1) 7.5% to the State General Fund

2 56.5% to the Education Trust Fund

(3) 36% to the general fund of the collecting county

Legislative History:
Acts 2006, No. 632, p. 1726

Exempted motor bus passenger carrier vehicles from state, county, municipal or local ad valorem tax

and established special passenger bus operating license at current rate and distribution.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee

No comparable tax.
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Playing Card Tax

Statutory Authority:

Section 40-12-144, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A privilege tax imposed on packaged playing cards and sellers thereof.

Tax Rate:
(1) $.10 per package or deck of playing cards, numbering not more than 54 cards per pack.

(2) $2 annual license tax on retail dealers selling playing cards.

Collections:

Privilege stamp tax is collected by the Department of Revenue as stamps are purchased.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 70,085 (24.50)
2012-13 92,821 73.61
2011-12 53,464 (40.56)
2010-11 89,959 (21.98)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Note: Pursuant to Acts 2014, No. 331, the Department of Revenue, by Administrative Rule, shall
suspend the collection of a tax or fee when the cost of administering the collection of the
tax exceeds the total collections from the tax for each of the previous three fiscal years. The
Department exercised this authority to suspend the collection of the Playing Card Tax

effective April 1, 2015 by adopting Rule 810-7-1-.30.

Distribution:

All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

None.

“ Does not include $2 license tax on retail dealers (see Privilege License Tax).
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Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established tax on playing cards numbering not more than 54 per pack $.01 for each $.05, or fractional
part thereof, of the retail-selling price; also established an annual license tax of $2 on each retail
dealer, included in the general category of privilege license taxes. (See Privilege License Tax).

Acts 1951, No. 978, p. 1653

Changed the tax on playing cards, numbering not more than 54 per pack, to current rate.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable tax.
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Privilege License Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-12-1 through 40-12-180, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Privilege tax on persons, firms, corporations, companies, associations, receivers or trustees engaged in

certain businesses, vocations, or professions.

Tax Rate:

Rates vary according to the nature of the enterprise, and may also vary according to the population of the
municipality in which the business is located, volume of business, capital invested or certain other
conditions as specified in the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended. A $1 license issuance fee is also
required. For each state business, vocation or occupational license levied by Title 40, Article 2 of Chapter
12 of the Code an additional amount, equal to one-half the state levy (except as otherwise specifically
provided), is levied and collected as a county tax. Businesses, vocations and occupations may also be
subject to municipal licensing requirements which vary from city to city. Municipal licenses are issued and

administered by the municipalities.

Collections:
By probate judges, license commissioners, or the Department of Revenue each October 1, unless

otherwise specified.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 5,012,934 0.25

2012-13 5,000,438 (2.61)
2011-12 5,134,360 151

2010-11 5,057,883 (3.19)

2009-10 5,224,305 (5.24)

Source: "Comparison of Net Receipts” Report - Comptroller's Office.

* General Fund collections only.
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Distribution:

After deducting the cost of collection (up to 5%), privilege license taxes are distributed to the State
General Fund unless otherwise specified or unless there is a corresponding county license tax. When both
a state and county license tax are levied, the total collections for that tax are distributed 50% to the State
General Fund and 50% to the County General Fund of the county where the tax is collected (even though

the state tax may be greater than the county tax).

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established privilege license tax and distribution.
Acts 1943, No. 546, p. 535
Established issuance fee at $.50 and provided for the levy of county tax equal to one-half of state tax.
Acts 1955, No. 572, p. 1248
Provided for the current distribution of tax proceeds when both state and county license taxes are
levied.
Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040

Increased issuance fee to current amount.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
The state imposes miscellaneous license and inspection fees that are generally regulatory.
Counties and incorporated municipalities may levy occupational license taxes for the privilege of
engaging in or managing any business, profession, or occupation within their jurisdictions. Annual
licenses are issued, and rates vary according to the type of business. Local governments may levy
an additional license tax of up to 50% of the appropriate tax already imposed.

Georgia
Annual licenses are issued at varying rates for each person engaging in a business or occupation.
The fees are generally regulatory rather than revenue producing and most of the fees are paid to
the state, rather than county or municipal authorities. With certain exceptions, counties and
incorporated municipalities may levy occupational license taxes for the privilege of engaging in or

managing any business, profession, or occupation within their jurisdictions.
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Mississippi
Miscellaneous license taxes are levied for regulatory purposes. Counties and municipalities levy a
local privilege tax based upon number of employees and annual license fees on specific
businesses.

Tennessee

There is a flat $499 annual professional privilege tax for various occupations (T.C.A. § 67-4-1701 et

seq.).
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Gas Pipeline Safety Inspection Fee

Statutory Authority:

Section 37-4-88, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
An inspection fee for the purpose of enforcing gas pipeline safety requirements on any gas system
operated by any investor-owned company, city, county, municipality, or public gas district which comes

under supervision of the Commission.

Tax Rate:

Inspection fee of $.50 per active service line for the previous calendar year.

Collections:

By the Public Service Commission annually on October 1.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 533,185 0.62

2012-13 529,921 0.36

2011-12 527,998 0.08

2010-11 527,564 (0.06)

2009-10 527,886 1.03

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All inspection fees collected are paid into the Gas Pipeline Safety Fund. If by September 30 in any fiscal
year, the Fund accumulates an amount equal to 110% of the amount budgeted in that fiscal year for the
purpose of enforcing gas pipeline safety, the Commission shall suspend the collection of the inspection

fees for one year.

Legislative History:
Acts 1983, No. 588, p. 920

Established the fee at the current rate.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

The maximum fee that may be charged is 0.25% gross operating revenue derived from intrastate
business.
Georgia
No comparable fee.
Mississippi
Operating expenses of the Public Service Commission are paid by levying a tax on municipally owned
and/or operated gas utilities, sufficient to produce $25,000 per year, prorated among such utilities
according to their annual gross revenue from intrastate operations for the preceding year.
Tennessee
The inspection and supervision fee is measured by the number of active gas meters in service within
the service area of each public utility, municipal gas system and gas utility district as follows (where

there are no meters, the fee is to be measured by the number of active services):

All meters in service, up to 154 meters $100
155 meters up to 2,000 meters $.65 per meter
2,001 meters up to 10,000 meters $.50 per meter
10,001 meters and over $.35 per meter
Minimum fee $100

The fee on interstate pipeline companies or systems, or companies or systems having no gross
receipts, no active gas meters in service or other service in Tennessee, but traversing the state in the
transmission of gas service, is $4.75 per mile of 24-inch equivalent pipeline. In no case shall the fee be

less than $100 nor more than $78,000.
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Transportation Company Inspection and Supervision Fee

Statutory Authority:
Section 37-2-41, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
An inspection and supervision fee on transportation companies (including telephone companies) doing
business in the state as a common carrier and subject to the control and jurisdiction of the Commission

with respect to its rates and service regulations.

Tax Rate:

Fees are based on gross intrastate receipts for the preceding fiscal year:

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000
First $100,000 or less $2.85
$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.35
In excess of $1,000,000 $1.85

Minimum rate - $25; Maximum rate for railroad companies - $5,000/yr.
Providers of pay telephone service over instruments owned and/or operated by local exchange companies,
interexchange companies, and customer-owned, coin-operated telephone service providers may elect to

pay a fee, in lieu of the fees above, in the amount of $10 per instrument.

Collections:
By the Public Service Commission on a quarterly basis (November 1, February 1, May 1 and August 1), or
annually (on November 1) if the company elects to pay annually.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change

2013-14 3,411,805 (1.38)

2012-13 3,459,451 0.53

2011-12 3,441,189 1.77

2010-11 3,381,415 (0.59)

2009-10 3,401,632 (.86)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are held in the Commission's operating fund to be used for expenses of the Commission.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1920, No. 37, p. 38

Established the following annual inspection and supervision fees for public utilities (as defined in the

aCt).Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000
First $10,000 or less $2.50
Up to and including $100,000 $2.00
Up to and including $350,000 $1.50
Up to and including $700,000 $1.25
Up to and including $1,000,000 $1.00
Up to and including $2,000,000 $.75
Up to and including $3,000,000 $.25
In excess of $3,000,000 $.10

Minimum rate - $25
Maximum rate - $3,000
Provided for fees to be paid annually.
Acts 1920, No. 42, p. 92
Provided that the fees established in Act 20-37 also apply to transportation companies (as defined in
this act).
Acts 1981, No. 718, p. 1210
Amended inspection and supervision fees paid by transportation companies to the following rates

(based on gross intrastate receipts); and provided for quarterly payment:

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000
First $100,000 or less $2.50
$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.00
In excess of $1,000,000 $1.50

Minimum rate - $25; Maximum rate for railroad companies - $5,000/yr.
Acts 1985, No. 756, p. 1256
Provided that transportation companies with gross intrastate receipts in excess of $60 million per
calendar quarter be required to pay inspection and supervision fees based on the quarter rather than

the preceding fiscal year.
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Acts 1989, No. 943, p. 1852
Provided fee payment option of $10 per instrument annually in lieu of existing fees for providers of
pay telephone service; and authorized the Commission to deposit transportation company inspection
and supervision fees into the Commission’s operating fund, to be used for any expenses incurred by
the Commission under Title 37.

Acts 1991, No. 586, p. 1075

Established the current rate schedule.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Each regulated telecommunications company pays an annual regulatory assessment fee. The
amount of the fee is determined by deducting any amount paid to another telecommunications
company for the use of any telecommunications network to provide service to its customers and
then multiplying the remainder by a factor of 0.0016. Regardless of this formula, the minimum
regulatory assessment fee is $600 for a local telephone service provider and $100 for a pay
telephone service provider.

Georgia
Public service corporations and utilities subject to Public Service Commission jurisdiction must pay
an annual fee set by the Revenue Commissioner according to the gross revenues of each public
service corporation or utility resulting from intrastate service regulated by the Commission. The
fee is apportioned among such public service corporations or utilities so as to produce $1.05
million per year.

Mississippi
Railroads pay a regulatory tax that ranges from $5 to $90 per mile of track, depending upon the
average earnings of the railroad. To produce the amount required to meet the administrative
expenses of the PSC in regulating and supervising railroad companies operating in Mississippi, the
State Tax Commission prorates a tax of $201,000 among taxable railroad companies according to
track miles operated during the calendar year preceding the assessment. Pipeline companies pay
from $15 to $125 on each mile of pipe, depending on the diameter of the pipe. Telephone
companies pay a fee of $0.04 per telephone in service at the end of the year or $25.00, whichever

is greater.
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Tennessee

The following fees are based on the previous calendar year's gross receipts over $5,000 and must

be paid by every public utility company subject to control and jurisdiction of the Tennessee

Regulatory Authority (TRA):

| Excess over $5,000 Rate per $1,000 |

| First $1,000,000

$4.25 |

Over $1,000,000

$3.25 |

I Minimum fee - $100

Telecommunications public utilities, subject to control and jurisdiction of the TRA, with over

1,000,000 telephone access lines in Tennessee and operating under the market regulation statute

pay a fee in accordance with the calculation above, with a minimum fee of 49% of the inspection

fee due on April 1, 2012 or $100, whichever is greater.
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Utility Company Inspection and Supervision Fee

Statutory Authority:
Section 37-4-23, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
An inspection and supervision fee on utility companies (including electric, gas and water companies) doing
business in the state and subject to the control and jurisdiction of the Commission with respect to its rates

and service regulations.

Tax Rate:

Fees are based on gross intrastate receipts as follows:

Gross Receipts Rate per $1000
First $100,000 or less $2.85
$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.35
In excess of $1,000,000 $1.85

Minimum fee - $25

Collections:
By the Public Service Commission on a quarterly basis (November 1, February 1, May 1 and August 1), or

annually (on November 1) if the company elects to pay annually.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 10,822,665 1.86

2012-13 10,625,459 (2.75)

2011-12 10,925,499 (2.97)

2010-11 11,259,556 11.22

2009-10 10,123,516 (7.37)

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

All proceeds are held in the Commission's operating fund to be used for expenses of the Commission.

Legislative History:

Acts 1920, No. 37, p. 38
Established the following annual inspection and supervision fees for public utilities (as defined in the

act):
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Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000

First $10,000 or less $2.50
Up to and including $100,000 $2.00
Up to and including $350,000 $1.50
Up to and including $700,000 $1.25
Up to and including $1,000,000 $1.00
Up to and including $2,000,000 $.75
Up to and including $3,000,000 $.25
In excess of $3,000,000 $.10

Minimum fee - $25

Acts 1932, Ex. Sess., No. 232, p. 233

Changed the inspection and supervision fees to the following rates (based on gross intrastate

receipts):
Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000
First $100,000 or less $2.50
$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.00
In excess of $1,000,000 $1.50

Acts 1981, No. 718, p. 1210
Provided that fees are to be paid to the Commission quarterly.
Acts 1985, No. 756, p. 1256
Provided that utilities with gross intrastate receipts in excess of $60 million per calendar quarter be
required to pay inspection and supervision fees based on the quarter rather than the preceding fiscal
year.
Acts 1989, No. 943, p. 1852
Authorized the Commission to deposit utility company inspection and supervision fees into the
Commission’s operating fund, to be used for any expenses incurred by the Commission under Title 37.
Acts 1991, No. 586, p. 1075

Established the current rate schedule.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Each regulated company shall pay a prescribed fee based upon the gross operating revenues
derived from intrastate business to pay the expenses of the Public Service Commission. In no
event shall such fee be less than $25 annually.

Georgia
All public service corporations and utilities that are subject to the jurisdiction of the Public Service
Commission pay an annual fee fixed by the State Revenue Commissioner according to the gross
revenues of each public service corporation or utility resulting from intrastate service regulated by
the Commissioner. The fee is apportioned among those entities in order to produce revenue of
$1.05 million per year.

Mississippi
Electric, gas, water, telephone and telegraph companies regulated by the Public Service
Commission are required to pay regulatory fees on gross revenues from intrastate operations of
.164 of 1% per year and .09 of 1% per year of the gross revenues from the intrastate operations of
electric power associations and rural electrification authorities. The total revenue collected shall
not exceed the total legislative appropriation of monies from the Public Utilities Staff Regulation
Fund and the Public Service Commission Regulation Fund from the ensuing fiscal year.

Tennessee
The following service or inspection fees are based on the previous calendar year's gross receipts
over $5,000 and must be paid by every public utility company subject to control and jurisdiction

of the Tennessee Regulatory Authority:

Excess of $5,000 Rate per $1,000
First $1,000,000 $4.25
Over $1,000,000 $3.25

Minimum fee - $100
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Deed Record Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 11-62-18(c), 11-97-18(c), 40-22-1, 40-22-5.1, and 40-22-8, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Privilege or license tax on deeds, bills of sale, and other instruments that convey real or personal property
or convey any interest in such property within the state. The tax applies only to the value in excess of any
lien on which the mortgage record tax has been paid. When several deeds are executed for the same

consideration, only one of such deeds is taxable.

Tax Rate:

$.50 for each $500 or fraction thereof in value of property conveyed.

Collections:

By the probate judge of each county at the time of recording such instrument.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 8,257,393 (1.18)

2012-13 8,356,372 23.73

2011-12 6,753,449 2.88

2010-11 6,564,281 14.16

2009-10 5,750,019 (4.88)

Source: “"Comparison of Net Receipts” Report — Comptroller's Office

Distribution:
After 2.5% of the total amount collected is deducted for the administrative costs of the Probate Judge

proceeds are distributed as follows: 2/3 to the State General Fund and 1/3 to the county treasury.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Recordings by churches and other religious organizations are exempt if they result from division into
two or more similar organizations or from the consolidation of two or more religious organizations
into a single organization.

(2) Transfer of mortgages on real or personal property upon which the mortgage tax has been paid is

exempt.

4 .
® General Fund collections only.
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(3) The re-recordation of corrected mortgages or deeds for the purpose of perfecting the title to real
estate is exempt.

(4) Deeds executed for a nominal consideration for the purpose of perfecting title are exempt.

(5) Deeds executed before October 1, 1923, are exempt.

(6) Deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a Municipal Special Health
Care Facility Authority created pursuant to Chapter 62 of Title 11 are exempt.

(7) Deed:s filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a public corporation

organized pursuant to Chapter 97 of Title 11 are exempt.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established Deed Record Tax at present rates.

Acts 1951, No. 816, p. 1449
Provided for exemption from the Deed Record Tax of recordings of instruments previously exempt
from the Mortgage Record Tax upon transfer to a person or entity not exempt from the Mortgage
Record Tax.

Acts 1953, No. 769, p. 1029
Provided procedure for filing instruments which have been exempted by law from payment.

Acts 1976, No. 274, p. 304
Further exempted certain conveyances of religious organizations.

Acts 1979, No. 332, p. 506
Provided that deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a Municipal
Special Health Care Facility Authority created pursuant to Chapter 62 of Title 11 are exempt.

Acts 1984, No. 314, p. 695
Provided that deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a public
corporation organized pursuant to Chapter 97 of Title 11 are exempt.

Acts 1987, No. 816, p. 1630
Exempted re-recordation instruments which are made to correct errors.

Acts 2012, No. 494, p. 1444
Required any instrument presented for record to be accompanied by proof of the actual purchase
price paid for the property or if the property has not been sold proof of the actual value of the

property which is the subject of the instrument being recorded.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
A Documentary Excise Tax is imposed on conveyances of realty in the amount of $.70 on each
$100 of the consideration. The tax does not apply to a transfer of real property by any state
agency, water management district, or any local government; or to conveyances of marital homes
between spouses or former spouses in the course of a divorce.

Georgia
A Realty Transfer Tax is imposed on each conveyance of real property in the amount of $1 for the
first $1,000 or fraction of consideration or value of the property, plus $.10 for each additional $100
or fraction of consideration or value of the property. Transfers of less than $100 are exempt. The
tax does not apply to an instrument given to secure a debt; any deed of gift; any instrument
executed by an agency of Georgia, the U.S. or their political subdivisions or by any public
corporation or authority except profit-making public corporations; a lease; any transfer of realty
between a husband and wife in connection with a divorce case or child support award; deeds
issued in lieu of foreclosure; deeds of assent or distribution by an executor, administrator,
guardian, trustee or custodian; deeds carrying out the exercise of a power of appointment; any
instrument transferring realty to or from a fiduciary; any deed that effects a division of real
property among joint tenants or tenants in common if the transaction does not involve any
consideration; and the acquisition of property by donation, exchange, or prescription by the state.

Mississippi
No comparable tax.

Tennessee
A Real Estate Transfer Tax is applied to all realty transfers in the amount of $.37 per $100 on the
consideration for the transfer or the value of the property, whichever is greater. The maximum tax
is $100,000 for any real or personal property constructed, acquired or developed for the principal
purpose of manufacturing, processing, fabricating or assembling any manufactured product.
County registrars retain 5% of the tax collected. The tax does not apply to division of realty
formerly held by a tenancy by the entirety or tenants in common; transfers of a leasehold estate;
release of a life estate; realty in which a municipality is the grantee or transferee; and transfers of

real estate to a revocable living trust.
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Mortgage Record Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-22-2 through 40-22-12, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

License or privilege tax for filing a mortgage, deed of trust, contract of conditional sale, or similar
instrument given to secure payment of any debt which conveys any real or personal property in Alabama,
or any interest therein or security agreement or financing statement provided for by the Uniform
Commercial Code. Also, see Code for tax on amount of future indebtedness incurred under the terms of

the presently taxed instrument.

Tax Rate:

$.15 for each $100 of indebtedness, or fraction thereof.

Collections:

By the probate judge of the county when and where the instrument is offered for recording.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)*’ Percent Change
2013-14 24,500,802 (20.81)

2012-13 30,937,392 1478
2011-12 26,954,785 20.60
2010-11 22,349,974 (1.76)

2009-10 22,751,004 (22.34)

Source: "Comparison of Net Receipts" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:
After 5% is deducted for cost of collection by the Probate Judge, the Mortgage Record Tax proceeds are

distributed as follows: 2/3 to the State General Fund; 1/3 to the county treasury.

Major Exemptions:

1) The tax is not collected from any bank in the state unless it is collected uniformly on all banks
throughout the state.

2) Production credit corporations or associations engaged exclusively in making farm or crop loans are
exempt.

3) Organizations whose sole purpose is to conduct religious activities are exempt.

47 General Fund collections only.
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4) Security agreements or financing statements relating solely to security interests in accounts, contract
rights or general intangibles as defined by the Uniform Commercial Code are exempt.

5) The re-recording of mortgages or other such instruments to correct errors for the purpose of
perfecting the title to real or personal property are exempt.

6) Mortgages relating to issuing or securing obligations and conveying title into or out of a public
authority or a county or municipality with respect to private use industrial property may be abated.

(See Section 40-9B-4, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established Mortgage Record Tax at present rates.

Acts 1947, No. 181, p. 66
Provided that the tax would not be collected on any bank unless applicable to all banks.

Acts 1951, No. 540, p. 953
Exempted production credit corporations and associations.

Acts 1951, No. 816, p. 1449
Provided for tax due on previously exempted instruments which upon transfer would no longer be
exempt.

Acts 1953, No. 770, p. 1031
Provided for recordation process for exempt instruments; changed reference from State Tax
Commission to the Department of Revenue.

Acts 1953, No. 841, p. 1131
Exempted corporations or associations engaged in making farm or crop loans.

Acts 1965, No. 549, p. 811
Created the Uniform Commercial Code and related existing mortgage record tax to new law.

Acts 1969, No. 503, p. 960
Provided that the exemption relating to farm or crop loan instruments also be applied to instruments
of like character executed to corporations under the Federal Farm Loan Act as amended by the Farm
Credit Act of 1933.

Acts 1977, No. 671, p. 1152
Provided an alternative procedure for recording future indebtedness by banks, savings and loans and

insurance companies.
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Acts 1981, No. 662, p. 1078
Extended base of tax to include open-ended or revolving indebtedness at an amount not to exceed
$.15 for each $100 of maximum principal indebtedness to be secured by such instrument.

Acts 1987, No. 816, p. 1630

Exempted re-recordation instruments which are made to correct errors.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
A Documentary Excise Tax is imposed on mortgages, liens, and other evidences of indebtedness at
a rate of $0.35 per $100 or fraction thereof of the consideration paid, or to be paid.

Georgia
An Intangible Recording Tax is imposed on debts of more than three years which are secured by
real estate. Rate: $1.50 per $500 of face value of the loan. The maximum tax on any single loan is
$25,000.

Mississippi
No comparable tax.

Tennessee
A Mortgage Tax is imposed on any instrument evidencing an indebtedness of greater than $2,000.
Rate: $0.115 per $100 of amount secured over $2,000. The maximum tax is $500,000 for any real

or personal property constructed for the principal purpose of manufacturing a product.

Mortgage Record Tax Page 379



Sales Tax

Statutory Authority:
Sections 40-23-1 through 40-23-39 and 40-23-100 through 40-23-243, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:
Tax imposed on the gross proceeds from the sale of all taxable items to individuals and/or corporations
within the state and on the gross proceeds from conducting or operating public places of amusement or

entertainment.

Tax Rates:

Item Percent Rate
General rate — covers sales of all tangible personal property 4%
(excluding items below) and gross receipts from amusement or
entertainment businesses
Machinery used in mining, quarrying, compounding, processing, and
manufacturing tangible personal property
Farm machinery and equipment when used for agricultural purposes

(when a trade is involved, the tax is on the net difference)

Mobile home set-up materials and related supplies

Automotive vehicles, motorboats, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house
trailers (when a trade is involved, the tax is on the net difference)
Casual sales (purchase, other than at wholesale, from someone who is
not a licensed dealer) of automotive vehicles, truck trailers, trailers,
semitrailers, travel trailers, motorboats or mobile homes

Food products sold through vending machines

Collections:

By the Department of Revenue on the 20™ of each month for previous month's sales. Vendors who file tax
returns on time are entitled to a discount of 5% on the first $100 of tax and 2% on all tax over $100, but
the discount is limited to a total maximum discount of $400 per month to any license holder regardless of
the number of retail locations. Vendors whose average monthly tax liability exceeds $2,500 must make
estimated payments on or before the 20" day of the month in which the liability occurs. (See Legislative
History, Acts 2014, No. 316.) Vendors whose average monthly liability is less than $200 may make an
election to file quarterly rather than monthly.

Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 2,079,475,726 2.60

2012-13 2,026,866,139 1.63
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Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Percent Change

2011-12 1,994,425,975 4.29
2010-11 1,912,430,777 3.61
2009-10 1,845,802,409 .92

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution (After the deduction of Collection Costs):
Education Trust Fund, except as follows:
(1) 42% of the 2% tax on mobile home set-up materials and related supplies, automotive vehicles, truck
trailers, semitrailers or house trailers is deposited into the State General Fund;
(2) 50% of the 2% tax on motorboats is deposited into the State General Fund;
(3) $378,000 is distributed to the 67 counties (half on the basis of population and half equally) to be
used exclusively for full-time health service in cooperation with the State Board of Health or the federal
government and for extension services in cooperation with the Alabama Agriculture Extension Service
or the federal government, at the discretion of the county commissions;
(4) $1,322,000 is distributed to the Department of Human Resources for general welfare purposes;
(5) an amount equal to 5% of the value of food stamp benefits issued statewide in excess of the
amount paid by recipients for administration of the Food Stamp Program is distributed to the
Department of Human Resources;
(6) an amount for debt service is distributed to the Alabama Public School and College Authority;
The additional revenue generated as a result of the Governor setting a cap on the sales tax discount
allowed to retailers (Executive Order 53, dated May 22, 2001) is deposited into the State General Fund to
pay debt service for the then current fiscal year on bonds issued by the Alabama State Parks System
Improvement Corporation and/or the Alabama Public Historical Sites and Parks Improvement Corporation;
the greater of $5 million or $5 million adjusted by a percentage growth in receipts from the cap is
allocated to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) for capital outlay, repairs and
maintenance of the state parks system. However, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013 only, the $5 million was

transferred to the State General Fund. (See Legislative History, Acts 2011, No. 642.)

Major Exemptions:

A listing of exemptions is found in Chapter 9, Article 1 of Title 40 and Sections 40-23-4 through 40-23-5
Code of Alabama 1975, as amended. Examples of additional exemptions are found in Sections 11-92A-18
(county industrial development authorities), 11-54-96 (industrial development boards) and 11-58-14

(medical clinic boards) Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
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Legislative History:

Acts 1939, No. 18, p. 16
Established the general sales tax rate at 2% on retail sales of tangible personal property and an
amusement or entertainment enterprise and at .5 of 1% for automotive vehicles; provided for the
distribution of portions of the proceeds depending on amount of collections to the 67 counties, the
several funds to replace the homestead exemption, and the remaining balance to the Special
Educational Trust Fund.

Acts 1959, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 100, p. 298
Re-established sales tax rate at 3% on retail sale of tangible personal property and on amusement or
entertainment enterprises; and established a rate at 1.5% for retail sales of machines used in mining
quarrying, compounding, processing and manufacturing of tangible personal property and sales of
automotive vehicles or truck trailers and semitrailers.

Acts 1963, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 106, p. 286
Increased sales tax to 4% on tangible personal property and entertainment enterprises.

Acts 1973, No. 1135, p. 1916
Allowed for distribution of funds to counties for the administration of the Food Stamp Act of 1964, PL
88-525.

Acts 1978, No. 359, p. 300
Allowed for distribution of funds to the Department of Human Resources for administration of the
Food Stamp Program.

Acts 1981, No. 663, p. 1084
Exempted the sale of prescription drugs from sales tax.

Acts 1981, No. 665, p. 1086
Provided a 1.5% sales tax on the purchase of motor vehicles not bought at wholesale or from a
licensed dealer (“casual sales”).

PL. 99-198 (Food Security Act of 1985)
Provided that state and local sales taxes could no longer be collected on food stamp purchases,
beginning October 1, 1987.

Acts 1987, No. 580, p. 927
Provided that all food stamp purchases be exempt from taxation beginning October 1, 1987. This
exemption is contingent upon the continued requirement of federal law that conditions the state’s
participation in the food stamp program upon exempting from state and local taxes purchases made

with food stamps. Provided that the provisions of this act shall become inoperative, null and void if the
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food stamp sales tax amendment is either ruled unconstitutional or unenforceable by a federal court
or is repealed by Congress.

Acts 1987, No. 662, p. 1170
Amended Section 40-23-26 Code of Alabama 1975, to provide that any over-collection of sales tax by
a retailer from the customer is to be paid to the state and not retained by the retailer to increase the
net profits of the business.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 372
Increased the retail and “casual” sales tax rate on automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers, and
housetrailers from 1.5% to 2% effective October 1, 1988; and provided that the additional $.005 was to
be deposited to the credit of the State General Fund.

Acts 1989, No. 691, p. 1358
Provided for collection of local gross receipts or sales taxes which may exist in the local taxing
jurisdiction in which the purchaser resides on sales of automotive vehicles, truck trailers, trailers,
semitrailers or housetrailers when such sales are made by a person or firm other than a licensed
dealer; by out-of-state dealers; or licensed Alabama dealers (where such local taxes were not collected
at the time of purchase).

Acts 1989, No. 752, p. 1526
Amended the state “casual” sales and use taxes to include any mobile home purchased, other than at
wholesale, from any person, firm or corporation which is not a licensed dealer engaged in selling
mobile homes, effective October 1, 1989.

Acts 1989, No. 920, p. 1823
Provided for a sales tax rate of 2% on materials and supplies to be used for mobile home set-up.

Acts 1992, No. 343, p. 720
Clarified that the state sales tax base is to include consumer excise taxes included in the purchase price
of products (applies to alcoholic beverages and tobacco products); restricted the exemptions for
fertilizer, insecticides, fungicides and seedlings to “agricultural purposes”; and provided for exemption
certification for fertilizer, insecticides, fungicides, and seedlings.

Acts 1993, No. 711, p. 1384
Provided for the collection of state and local sales and use tax from the purchaser of a boat prior to
registration.

Acts 1994, No. 622, p. 1162

Consolidated the motorboat sales and use tax with the provisions of motor vehicle sales and use tax.

Sales Tax Page 383



Acts 1996, No. 785, p. 1459
Allowed Governor to cap the sales tax discount allowed to retailers who collect sales tax; and provided
for the distribution of any additional revenue generated as a result of the cap.

Acts 1996, No. 887, p. 1713
Made sales of eyeglasses and related items by optometrists subject to the state sales tax. Previously,
these items were taxed at the wholesale level.

Acts 1997, No. 648, p. 1201
Provided that the sale to or use by a manufacturer or compounder of property that becomes an
ingredient or component part of a finished product made by the manufacturer or compounder is
excluded from taxes as a wholesale sale.

Acts 1997, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 208
Provided that the sale of prepaid telephone calling cards and prepaid authorization numbers be
treated as the sale of tangible personal property.

Acts 1998, No. 192, p. 310
Provided that county and municipal sales and use taxes must generally conform to the corresponding
state levies, except for the rate of tax.

Acts 1999, No. 570, p. 1122
Clarified that refinery, residue, or fuel gas generated by a petroleum-refining process and then utilized
in the distillation or refining of petroleum products is exempt from sales and use tax.

Acts 1999, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 650, p- 96
Changed the distribution of revenue generated from the 2% sales and use tax on automobiles and
related items from 25% to the State General Fund and 75% to the Education Trust Fund to 42% to the
State General Fund and 58% to the Education Trust Fund, effective January 1, 2001.

Acts 2000, No. 731, p. 1578
Reaffirmed the Governor's authority to cap sales tax discounts; and provided for the distribution of
any additional revenue generated from the sales tax discount cap.

Acts 2001, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 975, p. 908
Exempted sale tax on tangible personal property purchased by a company actively engaged in a film
production project approved by the Alabama Film Office. Effective until September 30, 2005.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p- 1190
Provided for the distribution of sales and use taxes generated from remote sellers when the U.S.
Congress enacts legislation allowing states to collect sales and use taxes on remote sellers: (1) into the

Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account until the fund reaches and maintains a balance of 6% of the
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previous year's Education Trust Fund appropriations; (2) into the State General Fund Rainy Day Fund
until the fund reaches and maintains a balance of 6% of the previous year's State General Fund
appropriations; and (3) any remaining collections would be deposited into the Education Trust Fund.
Acts 2004, No. 638, p. 1461
Changed the distribution of revenue generated from the 2% sales tax on automobiles and related
items from 42% to the State General Fund and 58% to the Education Trust Fund to the following:
(1) From July 1, 2004, through the fiscal year ending September 30, 2005, 48.7% would be
deposited into the Education Trust Fund and 51.3% shall be deposited into the State General
Fund.
(2) From October 1, 2005, through the fiscal year ending September 30, 2006, 39.4% would be
deposited into the Education Trust Fund and 60.6% shall be deposited into the State General
Fund.
Acts 2005, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 305, p. 643
Extended the sunset date for the sales and use tax exemption allowed for film companies approved by
the Alabama Film Commission until September 30, 2006.
Acts 2006, No. 574, p. 1507
Established an annual sales and use taxes holiday for the first full weekend in August of each year.
Acts 2006, No. 583, p. 1537
Exempted withdrawals from inventory by retailers from sales and use taxes if made for the purpose of
making a gift to an entity that qualifies under federal law to receive tax exempt donations.
Acts 2006, No. 602, p. 1653
Provided that athletic events held by nonpublic schools are exempt from state sales tax.
Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268
Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Exempted qualified production companies from the
state’s portion of sales and use taxes and from all state and local lodgings taxes if a production
company spends in the aggregate at least $150,000 in the state within a 12 consecutive month period.
Acts 2010, No. 514, p. 848
Exempted certain items related to commercial fishing vessels from sales and use taxes, including

personal floatation devices and lifeboats.
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Acts 2011, No. 642, p. 1633
Redistributes revenues, not to exceed $5 million, that would otherwise be distributed to the
Department of Conservation and Natural Resources for capital outlay, repairs and maintenance of the
state parks system to the State General fund for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.

Acts 2012, No. 185, p. 298
Exempted from sales tax the parts, components and systems that become part of a fixed rotary wing
military aircraft or certified transport category aircraft which undergoes conversion or general
maintenance in Alabama so long as the address of the aircraft is not in the state.

Acts 2012, No. 256, p. 492
Established an annual sales tax holiday for certain disaster preparedness supplies for the first full
weekend in July 2012 and the last full weekend in February each subsequent year.

Acts 2012, No. 279, p. 563
Required the Department of Revenue to develop and make available before September 30, 2013, a
system that will allow a taxpayer to voluntarily file and remit state and local sales or use and leasing
and retail taxes through an electronic single-point filing program.

Acts 2012, No. 309, p. 680
Exempted from sales tax any item used for the treatment of diabetes with a valid prescription.

Acts 2012, No. 395, p. 1056
Exempted the sale of metal, other than gold or silver, purchased for the purpose of transferring the
metal to an investment trust in exchange for shares or other units.

Acts 2012, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 599, p. 1924
Repealed Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1122 and provided for the distribution of taxes generated from
remote sellers.

Acts 2013, No. 200, p. 391
Exempted from sales tax purchases of aviation jet fuel made by carriers conducting scheduled all-
cargo operations engaged in international flights.

Acts 2013, No. 205, p. 439
Required the Department of Revenue to grant contractors and subcontractors, licensed by the State
Licensing Board for General Contractors, a certificate of exemption from state and local sales tax for
the purchase of building materials, construction materials and supplies, and other tangible personal
property that becomes part of a structure that is the subject of a written contract for the construction
of a building or other project for the State of Alabama, counties, municipalities, local boards of

education, industrial development boards, and other governmental entities.
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Acts 2013, No. 333, p. 1165
Required licensed ophthalmologists or licensed optometrists to collect state sales tax when dispensing
or transferring ophthalmic materials and other therapeutic optic devices to a patient as part of their
professional service.

Acts 2013, No. 443, p. 1761
Exempted any item used for the treatment of illness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or
internal body part.

Acts 2014, No. 316, p. 1120
Small Business Tax Relief Act of 2014. Increased the average monthly state sales tax liability for
estimated payments from $1,000 to $2,500.

Acts 2014, No. 325, p. 1189
Codified a regulation of the Alabama Department of Revenue exempting private educational
institutions operating in the state from state and local sales and use taxes on tangible personal
property and lunches provided to K-12 students that are not sold for a profit.

Acts 2014, No. 336, p. 1240
Defined “prepaid wireless service” and clarified that prepaid wireless services evidenced by a physical
card and not evidenced by a physical card, which is considered a prepaid authorization number, are
subject to sales tax.

Acts 2014, No. 453, p. 1685
Repealed Acts 2013, No. 443 and established an exemption for a durable medical equipment,
prosthetics, or orthotic devices and medical supplies paid for by Medicare, Medicaid, or a health
benefit plan from all state and local sales and use and rental taxes.

Note Regarding Local Levies:

Municipalities may levy, by ordinance, a sales tax, per Sections 11-51-200 through 11-51-211 of the Code
of Alabama 1975, as amended. One-half the amount levied in the municipality may be levied in the police
jurisdiction.

Counties may, per Section 40-12-4 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, levy a sales or use tax
(referendum is optional) to be used exclusively for public school purposes. A local act may be enacted by
the legislature authorizing counties to levy a sales tax for other purposes. A county’s sales and use tax rate
may very depending upon whether the sale occurs within or outside of a municipality’s corporate limits. All
local sales and use taxes are subject to the same exemptions as the state sales and use tax and must
generally conform to the corresponding state levies except for the rate of the tax. Municipalities and

counties may collect their own sales and use tax. Section 40-23-2.1 provides that only one county and only
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one municipal tax may be collected on the same sale. A county or municipality may have more than one
sales or use tax rate depending on the type of tangible personal property purchased. For example, an

automobile rate may differ from the vending machine rate and the general rate.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

6% basic rate on all taxable transactions.
Food is exempt from sales tax. A discount of 2.5% of the first $1,200 of taxes paid ($30 max per
report) is allowed to dealers, sellers, lessors, and remitters. Counties may impose a local sales tax.

Georgia
4% sales tax rate with a discount of 3% of the first $3,000 and 0.5% of the amount over $3,000 of
total state and local sales and use taxes due. Counties may levy a special 1% sales tax. County
school boards of education may levy a 1% sales tax. Counties and municipalities may levy an
additional joint 1% sales tax. Certain counties may levy a special 1% sales for rapid transit
contracts. The cap on total sales and use tax is 7%. Grocery food is exempt from the state sales
tax, but is still subject to local sales taxes.

Mississippi
7% basic rate on tangible personal property with various other sale transaction rates of between
1% and 8%; 1.5% on machinery, equipment and farm implements and tractors. Certain counties
and cities impose convention and tourism taxes. A discount rate of 2% of the first $2,500 of taxes
paid ($50/month max) is allowed.

Tennessee
7% basic rate on all tangible personal property. 5.0% on food and food ingredients. An additional
2.75% state tax is imposed on the amount in excess of $1,600, but less than or equal to $3,200, on
the sale of a single article of personal property. (Effective July 1, 2015, single article applies only to
motor vehicles, aircraft, watercraft, modular homes, manufactured homes or mobile homes).
Counties and incorporated cities may levy a tax on the same privileges subject to the state sales
and use tax but at a rate not to exceed 2.75%. Lower caps for certain transactions. Out-of-state
vendors are allowed a 2% discount of the first $2,500 on each monthly report and 1.15% of

amounts over $2,500.
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State Securities Commission Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 8-6-1 through 8-6-60, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Registration fee required of all dealers and agents of securities, of all investment advisers and investment
adviser representatives and for all security issues offered for sale in the state. A fee is also required for
certain applications for exemption from registration of security issues and interpretative opinions or no-

action letters from the Securities Commission.

Tax Rate:

The initial or annual renewal registration fee is $250 for a broker/ dealer or an investment adviser and $60
for an agent or investment adviser representative. The filing fee for the registration of a security is a
minimum of $100 and a maximum of $1,500. The filing fee for an issue for open-ended management
companies, face amount certificate companies and unit investment trust companies that register an
indefinite amount of securities is $100. Open-end management investment companies who qualify for
security registration exemption must file a notice of intent to sell with the Commission, accompanied by a
filing fee of $350 (net assets of $25 million or less), $700 (net assets of more than $25 million but less than
$100 million) or $1,200 (net assets of $100 million or more); the fee must be paid each year any offer or
sale of a security is made. Unit investment trusts that qualify for the security registration exemption must
file a notice of intent to sell, accompanied by a filing fee of $200. Other entities that apply for an
exemption from registration based upon certain specified criteria pay a fee of $300. An application to the
Commission for an interpretative opinion or no-action letter or for a notice of exemption for certain

intrastate transactions must be accompanied by a fee of $150.

Collections:

State General Fund deposits (Securities Commission recording and assessment fees):

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 8,604,775 3.46

2012-13 8,316,842 1.56

2011-12 8,188,902 (1.65)

2010-11 8,324,280 (2.07)

2009-10 8,500,304 24.99
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Source: "Comparison of Net Receipts" Report — Comptroller’s Office.

Securities Commission Fund deposits (includes fees from the securities exemption permits, registration of
investment advisers and investment adviser representatives, filing and recording documents, and

investigation charges):

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 8,282,087 5.70

2012-13 7,835,127 244
2011-12 7,647,272 (18.62)

2010-11 9,396,953 4.66

2009-10 8,978,815 30.64

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenue Sources by Fund" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

The fee for initial or renewal registration of an investment adviser or investment adviser representative, the
$300 filing fee for application for an exemption from registration, the filing fees for the exemption of
open-end management investment companies and the $150 application fee for an interpretative opinion
or no-action letter or for a notice of exemption for certain interstate transactions from the Commission are
deposited into the Alabama Securities Commission Fund, for the use of the Commission. All other

proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

Any security, including a revenue obligation, issued or guaranteed by the U.S. or any state government (or
political subdivision thereof). A listing of exemptions is found in Sections 8-6-10 and 8-6-11, Code of
Alabama 1975, as amended.

Legislative History:
Acts 1959, No. 542, p. 1318

Established the Office of Securities Commission and required the registration of dealers, salesmen, and
securities.

Acts 1969, No. 740, p. 1315
Abolished the Office of the Securities Commission and established the Alabama Securities

Commission.
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Acts 1979, No. 462, p. 827
Increased the filing fee from $40 to $150 on applications for exemption from registration in certain
non-public security offerings.

Acts 1988, 1% Ex. Sess., No. 722, p. 112
Increased the registration fees for dealers from $100 to $200 and agents from $20 to $50.

Acts 1990, No. 527, p. 772
Substantial revision of the Securities Act, including: provision for registration and regulation of
investment advisers and investment adviser representatives; elimination of the $10 filing fee formerly
required with the quarterly report of issuers who registered securities; Securities Commission retention
of filing and registration fees when a security’'s registration statement is withdrawn before the effective
date or a pre-effective order is entered (formerly the Commission retained the filing fee and one-half
of the registration fee); modification of the registration fee requirements applicable to investment
company distributions, so that they may register an indefinite amount of securities for a $40 filing fee
and a $1,000 registration fee at the time of filing and thereafter report the amount of securities sold
and remit the same $1,000 registration fee for any additional year during which the registration
statement remains in effect; exemption from registration of securities sold by certain open-end
management investment companies and unit investment trusts, with a requirement that those
companies file a notice of intent to sell securities and pay specified filing fees; requirement that a $150
fee accompany an application for an interpretative opinion or no-action letter from the Commission;
eliminated $10 examination fee charged agents and dealers (fee had not been collected by
Commission in several years because it does not give examinations).

Acts 1991, No. 320, p. 584
Changed distribution of the filing fees for the exemption of open-end management investment
companies from the State General Fund to the Alabama Securities Commission Fund; and increased
filing fee for an exemption from full registration from $150 to $250.

Acts 2009, No. 774, p. 2401
Increased initial and renewal registration fees for dealers and investment advisors, filing fees for open-
ended management companies, face amount certificate companies and unit investment trust
companies and the filing fees for an exemption from full registration to the current amounts.

Acts 2014, No. 376, p. 1401
Eliminates an exemption for certain investments with an aggregate amount of not more than $500,000

from various regulations; creates a new intrastate crowd funding exemption that will allow Alabama
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entrepreneurs to raise up to $1,000,000 from Alabama investors; and requires a $150 nonrefundable

filing fee for every notice of exemption filed with the Commission.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Annual registration fees are: dealer or investment adviser, $200 annually; branch office fee, $100;
and registration fee for agents and investment adviser representatives, $50. The notice filing fee
for Canadian dealers and federally covered advisers is $200 annually. A nonrefundable application
fee of $1,000 is required to register an issue of securities.

Georgia
Initial registration fees are: broker-dealers, investment advisers and investment adviser
representatives, $250, with annual renewal fees, $100, with change of registration as an investment
adviser representative, $50; and agents $50, with annual renewal fees, $40, with change of
registration as an agent, $30. The filing fee for a security is .0005% of the maximum aggregate
offerings price, but not less than $250; after 12 months the registration renewal fee is $100. The
notice filing fee for federally covered securities and other types of securities is $250. After 12 to 14
months (depending on the type of security) the registration renewal fee is $100.

Mississippi
Annual and renewal registration fees are: security broker/dealers and investment advisers, $200;
and agents and investment adviser representatives, $50. A registration fee of .001% of the dollar
amount of securities registered and collected, with a minimum fee of $300 (definite amount of
securities) and a maximum fee of $1,000 (indefinite amount of securities). A disclosure statement
fee of $500, an opinion letter fee of $300, a name change fee of $150 per filing, and a minimum
fee of $300 and a maximum fee of $1,000 for federal covered securities issued in the state.

Tennessee
Annual renewal registration fees are: broker/dealers and investment advisers, $200 and agents
and investment adviser representatives, $50. The registration fee for securities is equal to 1/10 of
1% of the maximum aggregate amount registered, and the maximum fee shall not be more than
$1,000. Annual and renewal notice filing fee for federally covered securities is $500 and the annual

and renewal notice filing fee for federally covered investment advisers is $100.
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Store Licenses Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-1-31 and 40-12-310 through 40-12-319, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
Annual license fee levied on every person, firm, corporation, association or copartnership (foreign or
domestic) for the privilege of opening, establishing, operating, or maintaining stores or mercantile

establishments.

Tax Rate:

Number of stores Fees

1 $1.00 annual fee

2to5 $15.00 for each additional store
6 to 10 $22.50 for each additional store
11 to 20 $37.50 for each additional store
21 or more $112.50 for each additional store

New businesses beginning on or after April 1 may pay one-half the full rate for the then current year. In
addition to the above fees, each application for a store license must be accompanied by an issuance fee of
$.50 for each store, to be retained by the probate judge or license commissioner for the issuance of such

license if compensated by a fee system and otherwise deposited into the county general fund.

Collections:
By the probate judge or license commissioner at the courthouse in the county where the principal store is

located, on or before October 31 of each year or before opening any store.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)* Percent Change
2013-14 545,975 (1.88)

2012-13 556,442 251

2011-12 542,805 (4.11)

2010-11 566,051 2.15
2009-10 554,151 1.38

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

*8 Gross Collections.
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Distribution:
After the Department of Revenue deducts the cost of collections, net proceeds are deposited into the

Education Trust Fund.

Legislative History:
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established the Stores License Tax at the present rates.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida, Georgia, Mississippi and Tennessee

No comparable state taxes.
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Mobile Telecommunications Services Tax

Constitutional Provisions:

Amendment No. 616 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 (proposed by Act 97-356, proclaimed ratified
January 6, 1999), now appearing as Section 213.37 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of
Alabama of 1901, as amended.
Authorized the Legislature to appropriate funds collected pursuant to any cellular radio
telecommunication service tax to pay the principal and interest on bonds issued by the Alabama

Revolving Loan Fund Authority (ARLFA).

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-21-120 through 40-21-126, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended. Sections 11-85-100 through
11-85-111, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

A gross receipts tax levied on the furnishing of mobile telecommunications services to customers with a
place of primary use in Alabama. The home service provider furnishing the mobile telecommunications
services may deduct and retain .25% of the tax billed.

Tax Rate:

6% on the monthly recurring access charges and all airtime charges.

Collections:

By the home service provider of mobile telecommunications services, to be remitted to the Department of
Revenue on or before the 20" of each month, for the preceding month’s receipts. However, taxpayers with
an average monthly tax liability of $10,000 or greater during the preceding calendar year pay, on or before
the 20" of the month in which the liability occurs, an estimated amount not less than that paid for the
same calendar month of the preceding year. Effective October 1, 2011, the basis of the estimated payment

is the tax due less the collection allowance for the same calendar month of the preceding year.

Collections ($)

Fiscal Year GF ARLFA ETF Total Percent Change
2013-14 44,014,426 1,845,030 24,257,712 70,117,168 (12.91)

2012-13 50,938,195 1,847,405 27,725,098 80,510,698 (2.30)
2011-12 52,202,826 1,849,280 28,351,413 82,403,519 (13.07)
2010-11 61,205,789 730,871 32,852,907 94,789,567 (10.51)

2009-10 68,300,726 1,217,458 36,400,475 105,918,659 (2.63)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenue by Revenue Source” Report — Comptroller’s Office.
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Distribution:

Proceeds are deposited into the state treasury. The amount necessary to pay the principal and interest on

any outstanding bonds issued by the Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority (ARLFA) is distributed to the

Authority. One-third of the remaining proceeds, plus $1.5 million, are deposited into the Education Trust

Fund, and the remainder is deposited into the State General Fund.

Major Exemptions:

1

)
©)
(4)

Cellular services which the state is prohibited from taxing under the U.S. Constitution, Alabama
Constitution, or U.S. law.

Cellular services which are otherwise taxed under Alabama's sales tax provisions.

Wholesale sales.

Cellular services provided through the use of a prepaid telephone calling card, a prepaid

authorization number, or both.

Legislative History:

Acts 1990, No. 97, p. 104

Exempted cellular radio telecommunications companies from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax, the
Telephone Privilege Tax, the Public Utilities Tax, and from payment of ad valorem taxes at the Class I
assessment rate (30%); levied a tax on cellular customers, based on gross receipts derived by providers
from recurring access and local airtime charges for cellular radio telecommunications services, at the
rate of 4% or, if less, the rate imposed by Section 40-21-82 (Utility Gross Receipts Tax). The effect was
a tax at the rate of 4% on first $40,000, 3% on next $20,000 and 2% on any additional (over $60,000)

monthly charges. Provided that receipts be deposited "“into the state treasury” (i.e. State General Fund).

Acts 1992, No. 623, p. 1466

Provided for a separate (from electricity, water and gas utilities) telephone gross receipts tax at an
increased rate and amended Section 40-21-121 to provide that the cellular telephone tax rate is tied
to the telephone gross receipts tax rate (if that rate is lower than 4%) rather than to the gross receipts
tax rate of other utilities.

The effect of this provision was to maintain at 4% the tax rate on the first $40,000 of monthly charges,
increase from 3% to 4% the tax rate on the next $20,000 of monthly charges, and increase from 2% to

3.7% the tax rate on any additional (over $60,000) monthly charges.
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Acts 1997, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 208
Made the sale of prepaid telephone calling cards subject to the sales and use tax and exempted the
usage of those cards from the utility gross receipts tax and the cellular telecommunications services
tax.

Acts 1998, No. 195, p. 338
Provided for the incorporation of the Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority to issue up to $12
million in bonds for the purpose of making grants to the 12 regional planning commissions. This act
pledged for the repayment of the bonds as much as necessary of the cellular radio telecommunication
services tax, subject to ratification of the constitutional amendment proposed in Act 97-356. The
proposed amendment was ratified and became Amendment No. 616 to the Constitution of Alabama.

Acts 1999, No. 399, p. 663
Provided that broadband personal communications services would be taxed under the cellular
telecommunications tax, rather than the utility gross receipts tax, and included commercial mobile
radio services in the definition of cellular services to which the cellular telecommunications tax applies;
and provided that any cellular telecommunication services provider who accepts in good faith from a
purchaser a cellular telecommunication services tax exemption form provided or approved for use by
the Department of Revenue would not subsequently be liable to the Department of Revenue or others
for the tax on sales to that purchaser.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1090, p. 1120
Brought Alabama’s Cellular Telecommunications (Mobile Telecommunications) Tax provisions into
alignment with the federal Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act. The provisions of the act which
relate to alignment with that federal act were effective for customer bills issued on or after August 2,
2002 (pursuant to federal law). Amended the definition of “monthly charges” upon which the tax is
based to expand the tax base to include all airtime charges, including toll and roaming charges
(formerly local airtime charges only), effective for all customer bills dated on or after February 1, 2002,
regardless of when the services being billed were provided. Increased the tax rate from 4% on monthly
charges less than $60,000 and $4,020 plus 3.7% of excess over $60,000 on monthly charges over
$60,000 to 6% beginning with bills dated February 1, 2002.
Authorized home service providers furnishing mobile telecommunications services to deduct and
retain .9% from the tax billed on or after February 1, 2002 and until October 1, 2002, at which time the
amount retained and deducted decreased to .25% of the tax billed. Changed the distribution of the

remaining tax receipts,
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after payment of principal and interest on Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority bonds, from the
State General Fund to current distribution. Levied a tax on mobile radio communication services at the
same rate as the Mobile Telecommunications Tax, effective February 1, 2002.

Acts 2007, No. 279, p.378
Increased the aggregate amount of bonds that may be issued by the Alabama Revolving Loan
Authority for the purpose of making grants to the 12 regional planning and development commissions

from $12 million to $24 million.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
6.65% special state communications services tax rate is applied to cellular services, cable television
services, faxes and commercial landline telecommunications services. There is, in addition, a 2.52%
state utility gross receipts tax on the total amount of gross receipts derived from business done
within the state, for a total rate of 9.17%. There is also a local surtax that varies by jurisdiction. All
taxes are paid by the customer.

Georgia
State sales tax rate of 4% plus additional county surtax of up to 4% is applied to cellular telephone
(1) monthly access fees and set monthly fees; or (2) vertical services (call-waiting, call-forwarding,
etc.) charges. The tax is not applied to separately stated airtime charges or voicemail services.

Mississippi
State sales tax of 7% is applied to telecommunications gross receipts, including mobile and
cellular telephone.

Tennessee
State sales and use tax is applied to cellular telephone services. Residential interstate and
international calls are taxed at the state rate of 7% plus 1.5% local surtax. Interstate or
international telecommunications sold to businesses are taxed at 7.5% and are not subject to local

tax. Effective July 1, 2015, the general state rate and applicable local rate apply.
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Tennessee Valley Authority In Lieu of Taxes Payments

Statutory Authority:
16 USC, Section 831 and Sections 40-28-1 through 40-28-5, and 41-10-570, Code of Alabama 1975, as

amended.

Tax Base:
The Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) is a federal agency which makes in-lieu-of-taxes payments to the

states in which its power properties and operations are located.

Tax Rate:

The TVA pays 5% of its gross revenues from the sale of power in the preceding fiscal year to the states in
which TVA carries on power operations and in which TVA has acquired properties previously subject to
state and local taxation. Revenue from power sold to federal agencies is excluded from taxation. The
formula used to determine each state's share is: One-half of the annual payment is divided
proportionately among the states according to the value of the TVA's power property within each state,
and the remaining half is divided proportionately on the basis of the TVA's power revenues from each

state to the TVA's total power revenues.

Collections:
The Department of Revenue annually receives equal monthly installment payments from the TVA and a

year-end adjustment payment added to the last installment.

Fiscal Year Collections Percent Change
2013-14 106,578,572 (4.91)

2012-13 112,086,390 (7.69)

2011-12 121,420,697 3.60

2010-11 117,206,485 (4.44)
2009-10 122,653,041 .18

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

The total TVA payment is shared by the State of Alabama and the counties served by the TVA. The amount
of the TVA payment retained by the State of Alabama is credited to the State General Fund and/or to the
Incentives Financing Authority Debt Service Fund. The payment is distributed as follows: to the counties
served by TVA, 83%, to the Incentives Financing Authority the amount necessary to pay the debt service

on its bonds; and the remainder to the State General Fund. The county share is allocated based one each

Tennessee Valley Authority In Lieu of Taxes Payments Page 399



served county's respective share of: total TVA residential and industrial power sales for all counties and

total book value of TVA property for all served counties. Distributions for fiscal years 2013 and 2014 were

as follows:

Counties served by TVA:

FY2013

FY 2014

Calhoun

139,617

133,600

Cherokee

1,143,591

1,094,709

Colbert

6,363,745

5,729,922

Cullman

5,032,505

4,818,540

DeKalb

3,385,105

3,244,914

Etowah

198,277

189,754

Franklin

2,293,973

2,154,697

Jackson

9,203,008

8,916,402

Jefferson

2,530,860

2422,012

Lauderdale

5,939,623

5,689,178

Lawrence

2,618,782

2,576,323

Limestone

8,557,264

8,427,667

20,495,482

19,619,430

6,851,580

6,565,602

17,020,937

16,241,258

242,206

233,131

92,016,556

88,057,139

TVA Exhibit Commission Debt

0

0

18,035,800

Incentives Financing Authority 18,846,764
Debt
Total Distributed 110,863,320 106,092,939

Source: Department of Revenue.

Legislative History:

Public Law 48, Statute 68, Section 13
Initial federal legislation which established the Tennessee Valley Authority in 1933, and authorized
payments to the states served by TVA.

Acts 1978, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 92, p- 1786
Provided for the sharing of the TVA payments between the State of Alabama and certain counties,
including dry non-TVA counties; and amended Section 28-3-74, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended,
to eliminate the distribution of alcoholic beverage revenues to dry counties. (See Distribution).

Acts 1979, No. 306, p. 458
Amended Acts 1978, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 92, to tie distribution of 5% of total state TVA money going to
each dry non-TVA county and to municipalities within those counties to their respective shares of total
ABC distribution to dry non-TVA counties and municipalities within those counties in FY 1979, rather

than to a proportionate share of ABC total distribution to all dry counties that same fiscal year; also
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provided that dry counties would not receive less revenue from TVA receipts than they would have
received from ABC distributions in the previous fiscal year.

Acts 1979, No. 786, p. 1425
Added definitions of terms and clarified the manner and procedures for distributing portions of the
TVA payments and the procedures by which portions of the payments received by dry counties not
served by the TVA would be shared with the cities within such counties.

Acts 1987, No. 586, p. 957
Provided that all of the TVA in-lieu-of-taxes revenue retained by the State of Alabama (following the
distribution of the counties’ portion of TVA payments) be deposited to the credit of the Tennessee
Valley Exhibit Commission Trust Fund, until the balance in the Fund equals the amount of debt service
on any bonds issued by the Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission for the next succeeding fiscal year.
All other TVA in-lieu-of-taxes revenue retained by the state would be credited to the State General
Fund.

Acts 1990, No. 531, p. 823
Amended Sections 41-9-782 and 41-9-783, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, relating to the
Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission to authorize the Commission to issue and sell revenue bonds in
a principal amount not to exceed $1.5 million in order to pay certain costs of completing an
information and exhibit center; and appropriated and pledged such amounts as may be necessary to
pay principal and interest on the bond issue from monies retained by the state from in-lieu-of-tax
payments made by the Tennessee Valley Authority. Required the Commission to, at the end of each
fiscal year, transfer any surplus funds in its account to the Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission Trust
Fund for reimbursement of monies previously withdrawn (with interest). After repayment to the trust
fund, any surplus monies remaining are to be transferred to the State General Fund.

Acts 1995, No. 372, p. 746 and No. 373, p. 747
Pledged and appropriated the portion of the TVA payments remaining after distribution of the county
shares and the payment of the debt service on bonds issued by the Tennessee Valley Exhibit
Commission to pay the debt service on bonds issued by the Incentives Financing Authority. Act 1995-
373 created the Alabama Incentives Financing Authority and authorized it to issue bonds to finance

industrial projects in the state.
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Acts 2006, No. 655, p. 1792
Increased the annual amount of TVA payments distributed to served counties from 75% to 78%
beginning in FY 2006. Required additional amounts received by the counties from the 3% to be
allocated by local legislation. The additional 3% comes from amounts previously retained by the state.

Acts 2007, No. 417, p. 869
Provided that any county in which a community development district is located would participate in
the distribution of the state beer tax. A dry county that receives alcoholic beverage taxes or fees
because of this act would have its share of TVA payments reduced by the amount equal to the
alcoholic beverage taxes or fees received by such county.

Acts 2010, No. 135, p. 190
Limited the amount of revenue distributed from the state liquor taxes to the State General Fund, the
Public Welfare Trust Fund, and the Special Mental Health Fund at the amount received for fiscal year
2009 until the annual growth in liquor tax receipts above the fiscal year 2009 amount equals the
amount of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) in-lieu-of-taxes payments distributed in FY 2009 to the
dry counties not served by the TVA. Beginning with the fiscal year ending September 30, 2010,
distributed to the dry counties not served by the TVA from the growth in state liquor taxes up to the
amount of TVA payments distributed to dry counties for fiscal year 2009 plus an amount equal to the
percentage growth in TVA payments received by the state. In addition, beginning in the fiscal year
ending September 30, 2010, reduced the amount of TVA payments distributed to the dry counties not
served by TVA by an amount equal to the amounts allocated to those counties from the state liquor
taxes. The amount by which the TVA payments are reduced is distributed to the counties served by the

TVA.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
No payment is received from TVA.

Georgia
The total payment received from TVA is redistributed to counties, county school districts and
municipalities according to the relative book value of TVA property therein. The TVA payment
distributed to Georgia in fiscal year 2012 was $9.4 million.

Mississippi
The first 12.5% is retained by Tishomingo County, the next 10% is retained by the state, and the

remainder is distributed to the TVA served counties and municipalities, based on a ratio of power
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sales (of this amount, 25% is distributed to school districts within TVA served counties, based on a

teacher to pupil ratio). The TVA payment distributed to Mississippi in fiscal year 2012 was $40.9

million.

Tennessee
The state retains $55.2 million; $4.1 million is distributed to the counties and municipalities; and
any payments received in excess of this amount are split 48.5% to the state and 51.5% to the

counties and cities. The TVA payment distributed to Tennessee in fiscal year 2012 was $354.4

million.
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Tobacco Tax (Excluding Cigarettes)

Statutory Authority:
Sections 40-25-1 through 40-25-29 and 40-25-40 through 40-25-47, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Tax on sale, storage or distribution of tobacco or tobacco products by wholesalers and retailers and use by
consumers. Section 40-25-2, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended authorizes the taxes to be paid at the
wholesale level by affixing stamps and adding to the price of the tobacco product or, if the Commissioner
of Revenue determines that it is not economical to have stamps prepared, with the use of a monthly
report. Department of Revenue-Tobacco Tax Section Rule 810-7-1-.08 currently provides for the tax to be
paid through a monthly report. Rule 810-7-1-.23, effective July 1, 2012, required returns to be filed

electronically. The tax, in fact, is a levy on the ultimate consumer or user. (See also Cigarette Tax).

Tax Rates (Effective October 1, 2014. See Legislative History, Acts 2014, No. 262):

(1) Little cigars and filtered cigars, not weighing more than 3 $.04 per 10

Ibs. per 1,000
(2) Filtered cigars, weighing more than 3 Ibs. per 1,000 $.015 for each cigar
(3) All cigars (other than those shown above) $40.50 per 1,000, or

$.0405 each cigar
(4) Smoking tobacco, weighing:

1-1/8 oz. or less $.04/package
Over 1-1/8 but not exceeding 2 oz. $.10/package
Over 2 but not exceeding 3 oz. $.16/package
Over 3 but not exceeding 4 oz. $.21/package
Over 4 oz. (each additional ounce over 4 oz. or $.06

fractional part thereof

(5) Chewing tobacco $.015 per oz.
(6) Snuff weighing:

5/8 oz. or less $.01/package
Over 5/8 but not exceeding 1-5/8 oz. $.02/package
Over 1-5/8 but not exceeding 2-1/2 oz. $.04/package
Over 2-1/2 but not exceeding 5 oz. $.06/package

(cans, packages, gullets)
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Over 3 but not exceeding 5 oz. $.07/package
(glasses, tumblers, bottles)

Over 5 but not exceeding 6 oz. $.08/package
Over 6 oz. (each additional ounce over

6 ounces or fractional part thereof) $.12

(7) Cigar wrapper made from tobacco, weighing:

1-1/8 oz. or less $.04/package
Over 1-1/8 oz. but not exceeding 2 oz. $.10/package
Over 2 oz. but not exceeding 3 oz. $.16/package
Over 3 oz. but not exceeding 4 oz. $.21/package
Over 4 oz. (each additional ounce over 4 ounces or $.06

fractional part thereof)

Information on local rates follows Legislative History.

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue monthly. Privilege tax collected the 20™ of each month; use tax collected
the 10th of each month. Wholesalers and jobbers are allowed a 7.5% discount if the tax is collected by

affixing stamps.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)49 Percent Change
2013-14 9,358,670 23.95

2012-13 7,606,001 3.20

2011-12 7,370,731 11.57

2010-11 6,606,628 12.79
2009-10 5,857,334 7.27

Source: For fiscal years 2010 and 2011, Department of Revenue's Tobacco Tax Section. For fiscal years 2012 and after, Department

of Revenue’s Revenue Abstract. Collection amount represents total tobacco collections after refunds.

Distribution:
After deduction of the cost of collection, the remaining proceeds are deposited into the State General

Fund.

Major Exemptions:

A qualified wholesaler or jobber in Alabama may sell tobacco products to:

“9FY 2014 includes $1,437,813 from an audit finding.
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(i) A person who is outside of the state without affixing Alabama revenue stamps, provided
the criteria defined in Section 40-25-15 Code of Alabama 1975, is met.

(i) The United States or to any instrumentality thereof for resale to or for use or consumption
by members of the Armed Services of the United States.

(iii) Ships regularly engaged in foreign commerce or coastwise shipping between points in this
state and points outside this state for resale to or for use or consumption upon such ship or

in foreign commerce.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256
Established the tobacco stamp sales tax; outlined ten categories of tobacco products other than
cigarettes; and set rates for little cigars according to weight, while the rates on the remaining tobacco
product categories were based on retail price. See act for tobacco tax rate schedule.

Acts 1939, No. 409, p. 538
Established the tobacco use tax; set rates and definitions same as tobacco stamp sales tax.

Acts 1945, No. 326, p. 528
Changed the rate schedule for most tobacco product categories to a schedule based on retail price.
See act for tobacco tax rate schedule.

Acts 1947, No. 288, p. 143
Changed the rate schedule for several tobacco product categories and effectively increased the
tobacco tax rate on smoking tobacco by the adoption of rates based on weight per package, rather
than on retail price. See act for tobacco tax rate schedule.

Acts 1959, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 101, p- 318
Reduced the tobacco tax rates on most categories of cigars and smoking tobacco. See act for tobacco
tax rate schedule.

Acts 1959, No. 637, p. 1550
Increased tobacco tax rates on several categories of tobacco products. See act for tobacco rate
schedule.

Acts 1999, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 650, p- 96
Effective January 1, 2001, changed distribution of remaining proceeds, after deduction of the cost of

collection, from the Education Trust Fund to the State General Fund.
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Acts 2004, No. 545, p. 1157
Increased the state cigarette and other tobacco product taxes; provided for the distribution of
proceeds; and provided that no additional local taxes may be levied after the date of passage.

Acts 2012, No. 425, p. 1146
Established the cigar wrapper tax and provided for the distribution of proceeds.

Acts 2014, No. 262, p. 827
Separated little cigars from certain filtered cigars and eliminated the retail selling price requirement to
determine the tax rate on cigars. Also, required all wholesalers, jobbers, semijobbers or any other
person selling, receiving or distributing tobacco products in Alabama for resale to file a report of its
activity with the Department.

Note Regarding Local Levies:

The state tax is in lieu of any other or additional local taxes and/or license fees other than those imposed

by an act of the Legislature or an ordinance or resolution by a taxing authority passed or enacted prior to

May 2004. The Department of Revenue maintains a current list of local tax rates on its website.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
There is not a tax on cigars, however, there is a tobacco products tax for distributors, at 85% of the
wholesale sales price on chewing and smoking tobacco. Distributors are allowed a collection
discount of 1% of the amount of tax due.

Georgia
Cigars, other than little cigars, are taxed at 2.5 mills each. Little cigars are taxed at 23% of
wholesale cost price. The rate for loose or smokeless tobacco is 10% of the wholesale price.
Licensed distributors may be allowed discounts ranging from not less than 2% nor more than 8%
of the face value thereof, depending on the volume of cigars handled.

Mississippi
On cigars, cheroots, stogies, snuff, chewing and smoking tobacco and all other tobacco products,
except cigarettes, the tax rate is 15% of the manufacturer's list price. A 4% discount is allowed to
wholesalers on cigarette stamp purchases of $100 or more, and to retailers on purchases of $50 or
more.

Tennessee
Manufactured tobacco, snuff, and all other tobacco products including cigars, cheroots, and

stogies are taxed at 6.6% of the wholesale cost price. Dealers or distributors of tobacco products,
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other than cigarettes, are allowed 2% of the tax as compensation for remitting the tax, risk of loss,

and miscellaneous expenses.
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Unemployment Compensation Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 25-4-40.1, 25-4-52, 25-4-54, and 25-4-72, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

The first $8,000 paid to an individual employee during a calendar year.

Tax Rate:

The contribution rates (expressed as a percentage of taxable wages) are determined under an experience
rating plan, with rates ranging from .20% to 6.8% prior to reductions, depending upon: (1) the balance of
the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund at the end of any fiscal year; and (2) the desired level of the
Fund. An employer must pay unemployment compensation tax at the rate of 2.70% until such time as it
becomes eligible for experience rating (tax rate year beginning January 1 following the first fiscal year
ending September 30 throughout which its account has been chargeable for benefits based on its wages).
The length of time required for experience rating varies from seven to ten calendar quarters, depending
upon the quarter in which wages were first paid. A special assessment of 0.06% of taxable wages was
permanently extended in the 2013 Regular Session (see Acts 2013, No. 208) and is deposited into the

Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund.

Collections:

By the Department of Labor quarterly.

Fiscal Year Collections ($)>° Percent Change
2013-14 361,695,643 (17.00)

2012-13 435,771,249 (8.85)

2011-12 478,083,857 (12.05)

2010-11 543,595,700 4478
2009-10 375,471,149 67.69

Source: Department of Labor

Distribution:
All receipts are deposited into the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund. The 0.06% special

assessment is then transferred to the Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund.

% Includes penalties and interest and special assessments for the Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund.
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Major Exemptions:

See Section 25-4-10(b) Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Legislative History:

Acts 1935, No. 447, p. 950
Established system of unemployment compensation. Set employer rate at 2.7% of wages beginning
during the calendar year 1938 (employee rate was set at 1% of wages). Set maximum weekly benefit of
$15.

Acts 1939, No. 497, p. 721
After December 31, 1939, the employee rate of 1% was limited to the first $3,000 in wages earned.
Established a committee to explore an experience rating system for employer contributions.

Acts 1943, No. 310, p. 281
Limited the amount of wages which could be taxed to the first $3,000 earned each calendar year; and
established experience rating system whereby employer rates ranged from .5% to 2.7%. Employee
rates ranged from .1% to 1.0%.

Acts 1957, No. 299, p. 382
Employee contribution rate limited to .1% at all levels of earnings.

Acts 1961, No. 274, p. 2298
Employer contribution rate increased to a maximum of 3.6% of wages. Employee contribution
increased to .25% at all levels of earnings (.5% if no experience rating). Maximum weekly benefit
increased to $32.

Acts 1969, No. 234, p. 559
Weekly benefit amount set at 1/26th of the total wages for insured work paid to an employee during
that quarter of his or her base period in which such total wages were the highest. Maximum weekly
benefit increased to $50. Contribution rate for employee eliminated unless fund is less than certain
minimum amount (in which case, employee rate is .5%).

Acts 1971, No. 166, p. 440
Wage base upon which contribution rates are levied increased from $3,000 to $4,000. Employer rate
for those upon which no experience rating had been developed lowered from 2.7% to 1.5%.

Acts 1975, No. 801, p. 1604
Wage base upon which contribution rates are levied increased from $4,000 to $4,800. Maximum
employer rate increased to 4%. Employer rate for those upon which no experience rating has been

developed increased to 2.7%.
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Acts 1978, No. 1, p. 5
Wage base upon which contribution rates are levied increased from $4,800 to $6,600. Extended
coverage to state employees and political subdivisions.

Acts 1983, No. 155, p. 264
Increased taxable wage base from $6,600 to $8,000. Maximum employer rate increased to 5.0% for
1984 and 5.4% for 1985 and thereafter. Provided for emergency surcharge of 25% on employers’
computed tax rate, with a cap of .7% on any increase pursuant to the surcharge, until January 1
following the end of any fiscal year where the balance of the unemployment trust fund is equal to or
in excess of 75% of the minimum normal amount. Employee rate increased from .5% to 1% when
minimum amounts are not in fund. Maximum weekly benefit increased to $120 and the minimum
weekly benefit amount increased to $22.

Acts 1985, No. 804, p. 50
Provided further for suspension and reinstatement of the emergency employer surcharge; and
provided for the termination of the employee contribution.

Acts 1988, No. 783, p. 195
Provided for a special assessment of .06% against wages paid by certain employers to be deposited in
the "Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund" for calendar years 1989 through 1991;
and provided for a corresponding rate reduction of .06% for certain employers for rates paid for
calendar years 1989 through 1991.

Acts 1989, No. 405, p. 822
Changed experience rating system to the "benefit ratio" (based upon ratio of actual benefits to total
payroll); and provided for 4 rate schedules, one of which is to be used dependent upon the condition
of the fund and the desired level of the fund. Maximum rate increased to 6.8% (Schedule D). Minimum
rate reduced to .2% (Schedule A). Maximum weekly benefit increased to $150.

Acts 1992, No. 174, p. 285
Extended until March of 1997 the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and extended the corresponding rate
reduction for certain employers.

Acts 1995, No. 764, p. 1792
Extended until March 31, 2002 the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and also extended the corresponding

employer tax rate reduction for certain employers until March 31, 2002.
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Acts 2000, No. 456, p. 842
Extended until March 31, 2004 the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and also extended the employer tax rate
reduction for certain employers until March 31, 2004.

Acts 2001, No. 694, p. 1453
Exempted income received for National Guard and Armed Forces Reservists drill duty from being
offset against unemployment compensation benefits; eliminated the deduction of dismissal or
severance pay; and repealed the employer penalty tax provision.

Acts 2004, No. 110, p. 164
Extended until March 31, 2006 the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and also extended the employer tax rate
reduction for certain employers until March 31, 2006.

Acts 2006, No. 519, p. 1194
Extended until March 31, 2008, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and also extended the employer tax rate
reduction for certain employers until March 31, 2008.

Acts 2006, No. 521, p. 1208
Reduced the fraction used to calculate the maximum weekly benefit amount (that had been increased
to 1/24™ of the average wages from 1/26™ of the total wages paid to an employee during the two
quarters of his or her base period in which such total wages were the higher).

Acts 2008, No. 501, p. 1091
Extended until September 30, 2010, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund and also extended the employer tax rate
reduction for certain employers until September 30, 2010; provided for a one-week period after the
13" week and prior to the beginning of the 14™ week in which no benefits will be payable.

Acts 2010, No. 505, p. 811
Extended until September 30, 2011, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited into the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and extended the employer tax rate
reduction for certain employers until September 30, 2011.

Acts 2011, No. 558, p. 1047
Extended until September 30, 2013, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited into the
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and extended the employer tax rate

reduction for certain employers until September 30, 2013.
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Acts 2013, No. 208, p. 446
Permanently extended the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited into the Employment
Security Administration Fund and permanently extended the employer tax rate reduction for certain

employers.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida

Taxable wage base - $7,000.

Maximum rate 1.51% - Minimum rate 0.1%.

Rates for new employer with no experience rating - 2.7%.
Georgia

Taxable wage base - $8,500.

Maximum rate 5.4% - Minimum rate .01%.

Rates for new employer with no experience rating - 2.62%.
Mississippi

Taxable wage base - $7,000.

Maximum rate 5.4% - Minimum rate 0.1%.

Rates for new employers with no experience rating — 2.7%.
Tennessee

Taxable wage base - $7,000.

Maximum rate 10% - Minimum rate 0%.

Rates for new employers with no experience rating - 2.7%.
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Uniform Commercial Code Filing Fees

Statutory Authority:

Sections 7-9A-320, 7-9A-523 and 7-9A-525, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

In order to perfect a security interest in collateral, a secured party must file either with the Secretary of

State, the probate judge (in the case of certain farming or timber interests or consumer goods) or the

office where mortgage on the real estate would be filed (in the case of collateral goods which are or are to

become fixtures), a statement giving specific information concerning the secured party, the debtor and the

items subject to the security interest.

Tax Rate:

Initial Financing Statement

Amendment Fee

Record of Mortgage

Termination Statement

Information Request/
Confirmation of Oral
Search

Copies of Statements

Information Requests
Expedited Service
(Optional)

Copies of the master list
organized by farm
products

$20 if the record consists of one or two pages; $2 for each page thereafter;

$15 if the record is communicated by another medium authorized by filing

office rule; $10 if filed in connection with a manufactured home transaction;
and an additional $5 if filed in a nonstandard form.

Same as Financing Statement.

No fee with regard to a mortgage which is effective as a financing statement

filed as a fixture filing or covering as extracted collateral or timber to be cut if:
the record is recorded, indicates the goods or accounts it covers and satisfies
the requirements for a financing statement; and if the goods become fixtures
related to the real property described in the record.

No charge. $5 if statement is not in prescribed form.
$20; $15 if the request is communicated by another medium authorized by
filing office rule; additional $5 if request is in nonstandard form; $2 for each

financing statement or statement of assignment reported.

$1 per page for financing or assignment statement, plus $5 for each request
not made on standard form.

$100 in addition to required fees.

Up to $.25 per page for a printed copy, not to exceed $2,000 per year to any
buyer, commission merchant, or selling agent; up to $100 to receive the list in
electronic form.
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Collections:
By the Secretary of State at the time of filing; deposits are made to the state treasurer approximately once

a week.

Fiscal Year SGF Collections UCC Collections Total Collections % Change
2013-14 1,554,174 392,260 1,946,434 (2.81)

2012-13 1,621,806 380,894 2,002,700 444
2011-12 1,545,931 371,712 1,917,644 25.34

2010-11 1,242,146 287,857 1,530,003 0.97

2009-10 1,226,667 288,579 1,515,246 (16.33)

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source" Report - Comptroller's Office.

Distribution:

81% of collections from Uniform Commercial Code fees which are not related to farm products are
deposited to the credit of the State General Fund and 19% are deposited to the credit of the Uniform
Commercial Code Fund. However, if the first mailing address of the debtor or debtors on an initial filing
statement is located in a county in Alabama, $5 of the financing statement filing fee is rebated to the
probate judge of the county where the address is located. This rebate was effective from January 1, 2002
until December 31, 2011. (See Legislative History, Acts 2001, No. 481). Fees related to farm products are

deposited into the Alabama Farmers Credit Protection Fund.

Legislative History:

Acts 1965, No. 549, p. 811
Established filing requirements and the following fees: financing and continuation statements, $2 each;
termination, assignment and release statements, $1 each; information request, $1 plus $.50 for each
financing statement and statement of assignment reported therein; copies of statements, $.50 per
page.

Acts 1973, No. 865, p. 1365
Increased fees as follows: original financing, continuation, termination, separate assignment and
release statements and amendments, to $4; information request, to $3 plus $.50 for each financing
and assignment statement reported therein; copies of statements, to $1 per page.

Acts 1981, No. 312, p. 399
Increased fees as follows: original financing, continuation, termination, separate assignment and

release statements and amendments, to $4 for first page, $.50 for each page thereafter, and added
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penalty of $2 if not in prescribed form; added fee of $1 each for indexing of names or trade names in
addition to one required.

Acts 1984, No. 307, p. 680
Exempted mobile homes from being subject to the requirement of filing a continuation statement five
years after filing a financing statement on a perfected security interest.

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040
Increased fees as follows: original financing, continuation, termination, separate assignment and
release statements, to $5 for the first page, $1 for each page thereafter; continued $2 penalty if
statements not in prescribed form; information requests, to $4 plus $1 for each financing and
assignment statement reported therein; copies of statements, to $1 per page plus $2 if request not
made on standard form.

Acts 1986, No. 507, p. 989
The intent of this act was to bring Alabama in compliance with Section 1324 of the Federal Food
Security Act of 1985 by providing for filing of liens relating to farm products, and fees related thereto,
with the Secretary of State; provided for information request charge of $4 plus $1 for each financing
and statement of assignment reported and charge of $1 per page plus $2 if request not made on
standard form for copies of statements; and directed the Alabama Secretary of State to implement a
central filing system pertaining to said liens.

Acts 1987, No. 410, p. 595
Provided for original financing and continuation statement and amendment filing fees for farm
products liens and increased UCC filing and information fees; created Uniform Commercial Code and
Farm Products Central Index System Fund into which a designated percentage of collections of UCC
and farm products liens filings fees are to be deposited (said percentage decreased each year from a
high of 43% in FY 1988 to 19% in FY 1992 and each fiscal year thereafter), with the remainder to be
deposited to the State General Fund; discontinued filing fees for certain termination statements;
authorized Secretary of State to distribute micro-imaged portions of the UCC files for $50 and printed
copies of entire master lists (and any supplements to it) of farm products liens for an annual charge of
$25, or $15 annually for a portion of the master list on microfiche; and provided for fees for
confirmation of oral searches.

Acts 1990, No. 480, p. 706
Clarified that the fee for obtaining printed copies of the master list of farm products liens, or any
portion of that list, shall be up to $25 annually per collateral code requested, that the fee for a portion

of the master list on microfiche is $15 annually per collateral code requested and that oral
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confirmation of financing statements and the subsequent written confirmation (and fee therefore)
apply to UCC as well as farm products financing statements.

Acts 2000, No. 724, p. 1550
Provided for a charge of $100, in addition to required fees, for optional requests of immediate
expedition by the Secretary of State.

Acts 2001, No. 481, p. 647
Replaced Article 9 of the UCC, regarding secured transactions with revised provisions to allow
Alabama to participate in a nationwide, centralized (at the state level), electronic secured transaction
filing and information system; and revised the fee schedule to current rates. The effective date of this
act was January 1, 2002, except the revised fee provisions, which became effective July 1, 2001. The act
retained the prior distribution of fees for filings, but provided funding of the Secretary of State’s
implementation costs by allocating the amount deposited into the State General Fund from July 1,
2001 through December 31, 2001 to the Office of the Secretary of State.

Acts 2002, No. 518, p. 1337
Provided a federal Food Security Act — compliant central filing system to permit lenders with security
interests in farm products to protect their interests. The act established current filing and indexing fees
and authorized the Secretary of State to establish certain other fees to be deposited into the Alabama
Farmers Credit Protection Fund created by the act and expended for the administrative costs

associated with the act.
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Use Tax

Statutory Authority:
Sections 40-23-60 through 40-23-88, 40-23-100 through 40-23-111, and 40-23-150 through 40-23-190,

Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Excise tax on storage, use, or other consumption in this state of: tangible personal property; machines
used in mining, quarrying, compounding, processing, and manufacturing of tangible personal property;
automotive vehicles, motorboats, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers and mobile home set-up
materials and supplies; farm machinery or equipment; and the above property when used in the
performance of a contract. This tax is paid on items purchased outside Alabama for consumption or use
inside the state, unless the property is imported from a state having a reciprocal agreement with Alabama,
and a tax equal to or greater than the Alabama tax paid in the other state. If the amount of the tax paid to

the other state is less than the Alabama tax, then the difference must be paid to Alabama.

Tax Rates:

Item Percent Rate
General rate — covers sales of all tangible personal 4%
property (excluding items below)
Farm machinery and equipment (when a trade is 1.5%
involved, the tax is on the net difference)
Machinery used in mining, quarrying, processing 1.5%
and manufacturing
Mobile home set-up materials and related supplies 2%
Automotive vehicles, motorboats, truck trailers, 2%
semitrailers or house trailers (when a trade is
involved, the tax is on the net difference)

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue on the 20" of each month for previous month's sales. Penalty charges, plus

interest, may also be imposed on vendors who file deficient or delinquent returns.

Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 319,424,603 213

2012-13 312,764,841 9.35

2011-12 286,033,858 6.45

2010-11 268,705,345 6.79
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Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Percent Change
2009-10 251,632,071 1.06

Distribution:

After deducting the cost of collection, 42% of the 2% tax on automotive vehicles,

truck trailers, semitrailers or house trailers and mobile home set-up materials and supplies and 50% of the
2% tax on motorboats is distributed to the State General Fund. After the above distributions of the use tax
to the State General Fund, the balance of the proceeds is distributed as follows: (1) remote use tax
amounts, 75% to the State General Fund and 25% to the Education Trust Fund; and (2) any remaining
amounts, 75% to the Education Trust Fund and 25% to the State General Fund. Any additional revenue
generated as a result of the Governor eliminating the use tax discount allowed to vendors is distributed to
the Department of Human Resources for the foster children program in an amount not to exceed
$500,000 annually. Any remaining balances are distributed to the Department of Conservation and Natural
Resources to provide federally required funding and for the Coastal Program (in an amount not to exceed
$1,000,000 annually) and the remainder to the State General Fund. The discount was eliminated by
Executive Order 54, issued in May 2001.

Major Exemptions:

A listing of exemptions is found in Sections 40-9-9 through 40-9-40, 40-23-61, 40-23-62, 11-92A-18
(county industrial development authorities), 11-54-96 (industrial development boards) and 11-58-14
(medical clinic boards) Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.
Legislative History:
Acts 1939, No. 67, p. 96
Established a use tax rate of 2% on tangible personal property and .5% on automobile vehicles.
Revenues were earmarked for teachers' salaries.
Acts 1939, No. 376, p. 502
Changed distribution of revenues by removing the restriction for the payment of teachers' salaries.
Acts 1951, No. 209, p. 472
Changed rate to 3% on tangible personal property and 1% on automotive vehicles.
Acts 1959, 2" Ex. Sess., No. 99, p. 295
Imposed the tax on machines used in mining, quarrying, etc. at the rate of 1.5%; and increased rate on

automotive vehicles to 1.5%.
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Acts 1963, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 105, p- 284
Changed rate to 4% on tangible personal property.

Acts 1987, No. 647, p. 1151
Amended Sections 40-23-61 and 40-23-63 Code of Alabama 1975, to provide that any over collection
of use tax by a retailer from the customer is to be paid to the state and not retained by the retailer to
increase the net profits of the business.

Acts 1988, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 372
Increased the use tax rate on automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers and house trailers from
1.5% to 2% effective October 1, 1988; provided that the additional $.005 collected is to be deposited
to the credit of the State General Fund.

Acts 1989, No. 920, p. 1823
Levied a 2% use tax on mobile home set-up materials and supplies.

Acts 1991, No. 576, p. 1060
Broadened the array of activities that would require an out-of-state seller to collect and remit use
taxes.

Acts 1993, No. 711, p. 1384
Provided for the collection of state and local sales and use tax from the purchaser of a boat prior to
registration.

Acts 1994, No. 622, p. 1162
Consolidated the motorboat sales and use tax with the provisions of motor vehicle sales and use tax.

Acts 1997, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 208
Provided that the sale of prepaid telephone calling cards and prepaid authorization numbers be
treated as the sale of tangible personal property.

Acts 1998, No. 192, p. 310
Provided that county and municipal sales and use taxes must generally conform to the corresponding
state levies, except for the rate of tax.

Acts 1999, No. 570, p. 1122
Clarified that refinery, residue, or fuel gas generated by a petroleum-refining process and then utilized
in the distillation or refining of petroleum products is exempt from sales and use tax.

Acts 1999, 2™ Ex. Sess., No. 650, p- 96
Changed the distribution of revenue generated from the 2% sales and use tax on automobiles and
related items from 25% to the State General Fund and 75% to the Education Trust Fund to 42% to the

State General Fund and 58% to the Education Trust Fund, effective January 1, 2001.
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Acts 2001, No. 669, p. 1402
Authorized the Governor, by executive order, to establish a maximum discount at less than 3% for
each seller or vendor collecting state use tax, effective June 1, 2001; and provided for the distribution
of additional revenues.
Acts 2001, 3" Ex. Sess., No. 975, p- 908
Provided for exemption from sales, use and lodging taxes for film production companies approved by
the Alabama Film Office until September 30, 2005.
Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p. 1190
Provided that beginning with the first full fiscal year after Congress enacts legislation allowing states
to collect sales and use taxes on remote sellers that the increase in sales and use taxes attributable to
such sales shall be deposited by formula first to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account, then to
the State General Fund Rainy Day Account, and finally to the Education Trust Fund.
Acts 2002, No. 525, p. 1371
Provided for exemption from use tax for sellers who contract with a call center in service prior to
October 1, 2003.
Acts 2005, 1** Ex. Sess., No. 305, p. 643
Extended the sunset date for the sales and use tax exemption allowed for film companies approved by
the Alabama Film Commission until September 30, 2006.
Acts 2006, No. 574, p. 1507
Established an annual sales and use taxes holiday for the first full weekend in August of each year.
Acts 2006, No. 583, p. 1537
Exempted withdrawals from inventory by retailers from sales and use taxes if made for the purpose of
making a gift to an entity that qualifies under federal law to receive tax exempt donations.
Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268
Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Exempted qualified production companies from the
state’s portion of sales and use taxes and from all state and local lodgings taxes if a production
company spends in the aggregate at least $150,000 in the state within a 12 consecutive month period.
Acts 2010, No. 514, p. 848
Exempted certain items related to commercial fishing vessels from sales and use taxes, including

personal floatation devices and lifeboats.
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Acts 2011, No. 642, p. 1633
Redistributes $1 million in revenues that would otherwise be distributed to the Department of
Conservation and Natural Resources for the Coastal Program, to the State General Fund for fiscal years
2012 and 2013.
Acts 2012, No. 395, p. 1056
Provided for exemption from use tax for the storage or use of metal, other than gold or silver, when it
is held by an investment trust.
Acts 2012, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 599, p. 1924
Defined “remote use tax” as the tax imposed on: (1) an out-of-state seller with no nexus in Alabama;
and (2) the consumer in Alabama of out-of-state purchases. If Congress takes action to allow states to
impose taxes on remote sellers, one-half of the remote use tax revenues collected in Alabama will be
distributed to the state and the distributed, 75% to the State General Fund (SGF) and 25% to the
Education Trust Fund (ETF). Under the previous law, the entire one-half of the remote use tax revenues
would have been distributed to the ETF. Redistributed the state use tax proceeds collected on items
other than automobiles as follows: 25% to the SGF and 75% to the ETF. Under the previous law, state
use tax revenues collected on items other than automobiles were distributed to the ETF.
Acts 2013, No. 196, p. 376
Clarified that the sales tax exemption granted by Act 2012-185 for parts, components, and systems
which become part of a fixed or rotary wing military aircraft or certified transport category aircraft also
applied to the use tax.
Acts 2013, No. 443, p. 1761
Exempted any item used for the treatment of illness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or
internal body part.
Acts 2014, No. 325, p. 1189
Codified a regulation of the Alabama Department of Revenue exempting private educational
institutions operating in the state from state and local sales and use taxes on tangible personal
property and lunches provided to K-12 students that are not sold for a profit.
Acts 2014, No. 453, p. 1685
Repealed Acts 2013, No. 443 and established an exemption for a durable medical equipment,
prosthetics, or orthotic devices and medical supplies paid for by Medicare, Medicaid, or a health

benefit plan from all state and local sales and use and rental taxes.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
6% use tax on tangible personal property with other rates ranging from 4% to 10.8%.
Georgia
4% use tax on tangible personal property.
Mississippi
7% use tax on tangible personal property with other rates ranging from 1% to 8%, the same as
those rates imposed under the sales tax. The rate farm-related use is 1.5%.
Tennessee
7% use tax rate on tangible personal property (5% on grocery food) with other rates ranging from

1% to 9%.
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Utility Gross Receipts Tax and Utility Service Use Tax

Statutory Authority:

Sections 40-21-80 through 40-21-107, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

The Utility Gross Receipts Tax is a privilege tax on every utility (electric, domestic water, natural gas,
telegraph and telephone services) furnishing utility services in Alabama. Although this is a direct tax on
the utility service purchaser, it is collected by the utility service provider, with liability for payment of the
tax to the state remaining with the provider. The Utility Service Use Tax is a use tax which applies to the
storage, use or other consumption in Alabama of such utility services. The privilege tax is based on the
gross sales or receipts from the furnishing of the utility services. The use tax is based on the sales price of

the service.

Tax Rate:
The tax is computed with respect to each person to whom services are furnished, stored, used or
consumed at the following rates:

Electricity, domestic water or natural gas:

If monthly gross sales or receipts (privilege tax) or
sales price (use tax) respecting a person are: The tax rate is:

Not over $40,000 4%

Over $40,000 but not over $60,000 $1,600 plus 3% of excess over $40,000

Over $60,000 $2,200 plus 2% of excess over $60,000

Telegraph or telephone services:

On all gross sales or gross receipts the tax rate is 6%.

Telegraph and telephone utilities retain .25% of the gross amount of the tax billed.

Collections:

For the privilege tax, by the Department of Revenue (Sales and Use Tax Division) on or before the 20" of

each month, for the preceding month's receipts. For the use tax, by the Department on or before the 20™
of each month. However, taxpayers with an average monthly tax liability of $10,000 or greater during the

preceding calendar year pay, on or before the 20" of the month in which the liability occurs, an estimated
amount not less than that paid for the corresponding month of the preceding year. Effective October 1,

2011, the basis of the estimate is the tax due for the same calendar month of the preceding year.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($)™* Percent Change
2013-14 411,731,177 297

2012-13 401,429,073 4.79

2011-12 383,095,528 (6.78)

2010-11 410,946,581 (6.20)
2009-10 438,108,166 2.62

Source: Department of Revenue's “Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:
After deducting the cost of collection, $14.6 million of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax is deposited into the
Special Mental Health Fund. The remainder of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and all the Utility Service Use

Tax is deposited into the Education Trust Fund.

Major Exemptions:

A listing of exemptions and exclusions to the Utility Gross Receipts Tax is found in Sections 40-21-82.1
and 40-21-83 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended. A listing of exemptions and exclusions to the
Utility Service Use Tax is found in Section 40-21-103 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

(1) Entities organized under Title 10A, Chapter 20, Article 9 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended
for the purpose of operating waterworks for unincorporated areas are exempt pursuant to Section
10A-20-9.04. County water authorities organized under Section 11-88-1 are not exempt because of
language in Act 69-21, Section 40-21-81 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended, except as listed
in Section 40-21-82.1.

(2) Pursuant to court case (Methodist Homes for the Aging v. Alabama Power Co.) nonprofit entities

identified in Section 40-9-12 are exempt.
(3) U.S. Government entities are exempt.
(4) Section 40-21-80(a)(11)(i-vi) enumerates Utility Gross Receipts Tax exempt telephone services.
(5) Section 37-1-80.2 exempts the telephone surcharge for service to deaf and hearing-impaired
customers from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Use Tax.
(6) Section 40-21-100(a)(17)(i-vi) enumerates Utility Service Use Tax exempt telephone services.
(7) Prepaid telephone calling cards and Internet access charges are exempt from the Utility Gross

Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax.

*! Includes Utility Gross Receipts Tax and Utility Service Use Tax. Collections are prior to refunds.
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(8) Section 41-23-30 authorizes the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs to enter
into contracts until June 30, 1996 with eligible enterprise zone businesses to provide exemptions
from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax for up to 20 years.

(9) Section 40-9D-4(d) exempts qualifying entities (defined so as to target ThyssenKrupp) from the Utility

Gross Receipts Tax for up to 10 years.

Legislative History:

Acts 1969, Ex. Sess., No. 21, p. 46
Established the Utility Gross Receipts Tax for all utilities at the following rates:

Gross Monthly Sales Tax Rate

Less than $8,500 4%

$8,500-$20,000 $340 plus 3% over $8,500
$20,001-$40,000 $685 plus 2% over $20,000
Greater than $40,000 $1,085 plus 1% over $40,000

Acts 1969, Ex. Sess., No. 37, p. 88
Established the Utility Service Use Tax at same rates as Act 69-21 (above).
Acts 1969, No. 993, p. 1757
Deleted utility services stored, used or consumed by municipal utilities from the definition of “utility
services” for purposes of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax; and exempted from the Utility Gross Receipts
Tax consumption of certain utility services for specified purposes by municipalities, or an entity
thereof.
Acts 1971, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 98, p. 172
Established Utility Gross Receipts Tax for all utilities at present rate of tax on electricity, water and gas.
Acts 1971, 1* Ex. Sess., No. 99, p. 173
Established Utility Service Use Tax for all utilities at present rate of tax on electricity, water and gas.
Acts 1983, No. 739, p. 1207
Revised the payment schedule of Utility Gross Receipts Tax so that payers of large tax liabilities will
pay on an estimated basis during and for the period in which the tax liability accrues (one-time
windfall for ETF).
Acts 1992, No. 623, p. 1466
Further defined telephone services which are (and are not) subject to the Utilities Gross Receipts Tax
and the Utility Service Use Tax. Repealed the 2.5% Telephone Gross Receipts Tax and the 2.5%

Telegraph Gross Receipts Tax; increased the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax
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from 4% to 6.7% on sales to a person up to $40,000 per month, from 3% to 3.7% on the next $20,000
of sales per month, and from 2% to 3.7% on sales over $60,000 per month; and changed distribution
of Utility Gross Receipts Tax from Education Trust Fund to current distribution.

Acts 1996, No. 206, p. 236
Authorized the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs to enter into contracts until
June 30, 1996 with eligible enterprise zone businesses to provide exemptions from the Utility Gross
Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax for a period of up to 20 years. To qualify, a business must
employ at least 1,200 people and make capital investments and capital improvements of at least $75
million within the enterprise zone.

Acts 1997, No. 867, p. 208
Excluded prepaid telephone calling cards from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax, the Utility Service Use
Tax and the Cellular Radio Telecommunication Services Tax (and included them in the Sales and Use
Taxes).

Acts 1998, No. 654, p. 1431
Exempted from the definition of “Telephone Services,” for purposes of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax,
access to the Internet; and exempted from the definition of “Telephone Services” for purposes of the
Utility Service Use Tax, the Internet and access thereto.

Acts 2001, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 1090, p- 1120
Amended the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax, as applied to telephone
services, to include interstate telephone service, beginning with bills dated on or after February 1,
2002, regardless of when the services being billed were provided; changed the tax rate, beginning
April 1, 2002, (1) from 6.7% to 6% if gross sales or receipts (privilege tax) or sales price (use tax)
respecting a person are not over $60,000; and (2) from $4,020 plus 3.7% of excess over $60,000 to
6% if the gross sales or receipts or sales price is over $60,000; and provided that utilities furnishing
telegraph or telephone services may deduct and retain from the gross amount of tax billed by the
utility .9% of the tax billed on or after February 1, 2002 and .25% beginning October 1, 2002.

Acts 2004, No. 397, p. 668
Amended the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax to provide that if charges for
nontaxable services are “bundled” with charges for taxable items, then the nontaxable charges are
subject to the tax. If the utility can reasonably identify nontaxable charges from records kept in the
normal course of business then the charge is not subject to taxation. Stated that a customer does not
have a right to require the utility or the Department of Revenue to separate bundled charges in order

to minimize the amount of tax charged to the customer.
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Acts 2006, No. 292, p. 584
Amended the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax to provide definitions and
rules for the sourcing of telecommunication services for taxation purposes found in the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax Agreement.

Acts 2007, No. 199, p. 234
Alabama Economic Incentive Enhancement Act of 2007. Granted certain tax exemptions to qualifying
entities (defined in the act so as to target ThyssenKrupp), including a Utility Gross Receipts Tax

exemption for up to 10 years.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
Annual gross receipts tax of 2.5% for any utility service providing electricity or gas used for light,
heat or power, and 2.37% on residential and commercial landline and on mobile
telecommunications services. Interstate and international telecommunications services are subject
to the gross receipts tax if the charge therefor is billed to a Florida customer, number or
telecommunications device. A state sales tax of 7% is applied to customers' charges for electric
power or energy (governmental entities are exempt). A state communications services tax of 6.8%
is also applied to customers’ charges for mobile telecommunications services, cable, faxes and
commercial landline telecommunications services. When combined with the 2.37%
communications services tax, the total tax is 9.17%. The total tax on satellite services when
combined with the 2.37% communications services tax is 13.17%. Local jurisdictions impose their
taxes at various rates. When bundled services include both taxable and nontaxable services, the
entire package is taxable unless the company can identify the exempt services. (For regulatory
assessment fees levied on utilities see PSC Transportation Company Fees and Utility Company
Fees.)

Georgia
No utilities tax based on gross receipts. Public Service Corporations and utilities subject to Public
Service Commission pay an annual administrative expense assessment fee based on gross
revenues so as to produce revenue of $1.05 million per year. A state sales tax of 4% is applied to
customers' charges for natural or artificial gas, electricity, oil and local telephone service.

Mississippi
No gross receipts tax is levied. A privilege tax is levied instead as follows: Electric light and power

companies pay $22.50 per mile of pole line; pipe line companies, $15 to $125 per pipe line mile,
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according to the diameter of the pipe; telephone companies, $.04 per telephone in service or
$25, whichever is greater; and railroad companies, $5 to $90 per mile of railroad based on
average earnings. A regulatory tax to pay for the expenses of the Public Utilities Commission is
imposed on all utilities whose rates are subject to regulation and on all utilities not subject to
such rate regulation that furnish electricity to the ultimate consumer. A state sales tax of 7% is
applied to customers' charges for interstate and intrastate telephone services and residential
noncommercial charges for electricity, water, and natural gas (governmental entities are exempt).
Tennessee
A gross receipts tax on gas, water, electric power and light companies and other public utilities at
a rate generally of 3% of intrastate gross receipts (except gas companies that manufacture or
distribute manufactured gas pay 1.5%). All governmental agencies and gas, water and power

plants owned or operated by cities are also exempt.
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Public Utilities License Tax

Statutory Authority:
Sections 40-21-50, 40-21-51, 40-21-53 through 40-21-55 and 40-21-62 through 40-21-64, Code of

Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
License tax imposed for operating a public utility (hydroelectric, electric, gas, other public utility, or
privately owned and operated wastewater facility) except railroads or sleeping car companies, express

companies, telephone and telegraph companies. (See Note following Distribution).

Tax Rate:

2.2% on each dollar of gross receipts for the preceding year. (See Note following Distribution).

Collections:
By the Department of Revenue (Sales and Use Tax Division), quarterly on October 1, January 1, April 1 and

July 1. (See Note following Distribution.)

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 146,417,061 1.03

2012-13 144,931,326 (3.31)

2011-12 149,887,823 (0.02)

2010-11 149,922,854 3.67
2009-10 144,617,906 .89

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract."

Distribution:
After deducting the cost of collection: 15% is deposited to the State General Fund and 85% is deposited to
the Special Mental Health Fund.

Note:

This tax is paid by utility companies in four equal increments. The companies, in turn, add 2.2% to their
customers' bills for as long during the year as necessary to collect from their customers the amount paid
by the utility companies. The tax is paid on total gross receipts, including the minimum monthly (base)
charge. The overall base of this tax is larger than that of the 4% Utility Gross Receipts tax for utilities
subject to both taxes because the base of this tax includes receipts to utility companies from federal

entities. Utility companies vary as to how (and whether) they show this tax on customers' bills: it may be
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identified separately and totally (a separate 2.2% charge); it may be partially separately identified (typically
when this is the case the 1.8% will be separately identified and the 0.4% will not, although the full 2.2% is
charged); it may be separately identified in two parts (1.8% and 0.4%); or it may be combined with the 4%
Utility Gross Receipts Tax (appearing as a 6.2% total charge). Although this is a tax on the utility company,
the company treats it as a cost of doing business which it passes directly on to the customer. The October
1 payment is the first payment of each year, based on the twelve months preceding the closing of the

company's books, which is usually in September for most utility companies.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Gross receipts from the sale of electricity for resale and from the sale of electricity to disabled persons
and persons who are 62 years of age or older and who meet certain criteria are exempt.

(2) Municipal utility companies (electric, gas and water) are exempt by virtue of the "natural immunity" of
municipalities from state taxes unless specifically included. Rural Electric Associations are subject to
the tax.

(3) The Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) makes a "payment in-lieu-of-taxes" of 2.2% of the
gross receipts from all power sold by AMEA to member cities, deposited to the State General Fund
(Section 11-50A-7 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended).

(4) County water, sewer and fire protection authorities organized pursuant to Title 11, Chapter 88 are
exempt per Section 11-88-16 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

(5) Water authorities organized pursuant to Title 10A, Chapter 20, Article 9 are exempt pursuant to
Section 10A-20-9.04 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

(6) Cellular telecommunication services and providers are exempt pursuant to Section 40-21-120 of the

Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Legislative History:
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256

Established the tax at .2% of gross receipts for public utilities except electric, hydroelectric, telephone
or telegraph companies, railroads (or sleeping car) and express companies; and established the tax at
A% of gross receipts for electric and hydroelectric companies.

Acts 1971, No. 1412, p. 2406
Increased the tax rate to present rate for electric and hydroelectric companies.

Acts 1971, No. 1417, p. 2420
Increased the tax rate to present rate for public utilities except electric, hydroelectric, telephone or

telegraph companies, railroad (or sleeping car) and express companies.
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Acts 1981, No. 867, p. 1659
Provided an exemption from this tax (credit equal to the amount of the tax) levied on electricity sold
to disabled persons and persons who are 62 years of age or older and who meet certain other specific
criteria.

Acts 2009, No. 773, p. 2388
Repealed law regulating onsite wastewater entities using decentralized cluster wastewater systems and
replaced it with a new law regulating privately owned wastewater systems. As a result of this act, the
gross receipts of wastewater management entities operating as public utilities became subject to the
utilities license tax.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

See "Utility Gross Receipts Tax and Utility Service Use Tax.”
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Restored (Salvaged) Vehicle Inspection Fee

Statutory Authority:

Section 32-8-87 (k)-(l), Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:

Application fee charged to an owner of a salvage motor vehicle designated a 1975 model or later which

has been restored to the operating condition that existed prior to the event which caused the salvage

certificate of title to be issued. The fee is charged for the inspection of the vehicle by the Department of

Revenue to ensure compliance with the Uniform Certificate of Title and Anti-Theft Act.

Tax Rate:

$75 per application for inspection.

Collections:

By Department of Revenue upon receipt of application for inspection.

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change
2013-14 848,178 (1.20)

2012-13 858,452 (8.75)
2011-12 940,740 1.73

2010-11 924,710 (8.54)

2009-10 1,011,090 2.68

Source: Department of Revenue's "Revenue Abstract.”

Distribution:

Proceeds are retained by the Department of Revenue and applied toward personnel and maintenance

costs of the vehicle inspection program.

Legislative History:

Acts 1985, No. 650, p. 1010

Established inspection fee at current rate.

Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
$40 inspection fee.
Georgia

$100 inspection fee.
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Mississippi
$75 inspection fee.
Tennessee

$75 inspection fee.
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Vital Statistics Fees

Statutory Authority:

Section 22-9A-23, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended.

Tax Base:
A fee charged for the searching, amending and copying of various records kept by the Office of Vital
Statistics, State Department of Public Health. Records include certificates of birth, death, marriage, divorce

or annulment and reports of fetal death and induced termination of pregnancy.

Tax Rate:

Fee schedule is provided as follows:

Search, reporting and copying of one record* $15
Each additional copy of the same record" $6
Issuance of an apostile or exemplified copy® $25
Preparation and copy of an amended record and issue a certified copy $20
Preparation of a new birth certificate after legitimization or adoption and issue a certified $25
copy

Preparation of a delayed certificate and issue a certified copy $20
Certificate of foreign birth $25
Forwarding of legal documents for an adoption granted in this state for person born in

another state $10
Additional fee for non—routine, same day expedited service, and all special delivery mail $15
Keepsake birth certificate® $45
Non-routine special or research project See below
Orders by phone with a credit card’ See below

! If copies are made at the local registration district, the local office retains a portion of the fees as
prescribed by the State Board of Health.

% Includes the $5 certification fee of the Secretary of State.

? $17 of this amount forwarded to the Children's Trust Fund.

* To be determined by the State Registrar.

> Fees are dependent upon services requested as determined by the State Registrar.

Collections:

By the State Registrar.
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Fiscal Year Collections ($)52 Percent Change
2013-14 5,575,843 3.30

2012-13 5,397,461 171

2011-12 5,306,771 (1.91)

2010-11 5,410,049 0.52
2009-10 5,382,105 10.92

Source: "Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report-Comptrollers Office.

Distribution:
Fees collected, except as provided for local registration offices and the Children's Trust Fund, are
deposited into the Vital Statistics Fund to the credit of the State Board of Health, to fund operations

related to vital statistics.

Major Exemptions:

(1) Hospitals are exempt from the payment of any fee associated with vital statistics.
(2) Section 26-9-12 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended exempts incompetent veterans and their

dependents requesting certificates or records when needed to obtain any veterans' benefits.

Legislative History:

Acts 1919, No. 658, p. 909
Further defined the duties and responsibilities of the state and local health departments; created the
State Registrar and Bureau of Vital Statistics and provided for the collection of fees by both state and
local authorities; and provided that state fees be deposited in the state treasury. Provided exemptions
for parents and guardians requesting certificates for their children entering school or for securing
employment and for the U.S. Census Bureau requesting data from the state.

Acts 1943, No. 492, p. 454
Earmarked fees deposited into the state treasury for the use of the State Health Department to
implement the provisions of the Vital Statistics Act; provided that a county maintaining a full-time
county registrar may issue certificates and may charge a fee of $.50 for each copy, to be deposited
into the county treasury and used for county health services; and provided an additional statewide
exemption for a parent or guardian requesting a certificate when necessary for their child's

employment or for securing employment.

32 Excludes local registration office fees and Children's Trust Fund receipts.
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Acts 1959, No. 636, p. 1549
Expanded the fee schedule to include:
Records search and certified copy
Each authenticated copy (including the Secretary of State's fee)
Each birth or death verification
Special searches fee (per hour charge)
The act also eliminated the specified exemptions.
Acts 1969, No. 1118, p. 2072
Changed the fee schedule as follows:
Records search and certified copy
Each additional certified copy at the same time
Each authenticated copy (including the Secretary of State's fee)

Special searches fee (per hour charge)

$1
$3
$.50
$2

$2
$1
$5
$3

Required collections to be deposited into the newly created Vital Statistics Fund, to be used for the

implementation of the vital statistics program; and raised the county fee charged to $1 per certificate.

Acts 1975, 4™ Ex. Sess., No. 111, p- 2800
Increased the fee schedule as follows:
Records search and certified copy
Each additional copy of the same
Preparation and issuance of authenticated copy
Completion of a presumptive or special search fees (per hour charge)
Preparation of an authenticated copy of an amendment to the original

record of birth after legal adoption

$3
$1
$5
$3

$5

Also raised the county fee for a search and certified copy of a record to $3 plus a $1 fee for each

additional copy of the same record.
Acts 1980, No. 604, p. 1022
Increased the fee schedule as follows:
Records search and/or making certified copy
Each additional copy of the same
Each authenticated copy (including the Secretary of State's fee)
Special searches fee (per hour or any fraction of an hour charge)

Preparation and issuance of authenticated copy of an amended report

$5
$2
$8
$5
$8
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Preparation of a delayed certificate $8
Preparation of a new certificate after legal adoption $8
Also raised the county fee for a search and certified copy of a record to $5 plus a $2 fee for each
additional copy of the same record.

Acts 1992, No. 607, p. 1255
Repealed the entire vital statistics section of the Code of Alabama 1975, as amended and revised and
supplemented the existing statewide system for registering certain vital records and statistical data;

and increased fees for obtaining vital statistics data as follows:

Search, reporting and copying of one record $12
Each additional copy of the same record $4
Issuance of an authenticated or exemplified copy” $20
Preparation and copy of an amended record and issue a certified copy $15
Preparation of a new birth certificate after legitimization or adoption and issue a certified $20
copy

Preparation of a delayed certificate and issue a certified copy $20

Forwarding of legal documents for an adoption granted in this state for person born in

another state $10
Additional fee for non—routine, same day expedited service, and all special delivery mail $10
Special birth certificate suitable for framing® $40
Non-routine special or research project’ See below

! Includes the certification fee of the Secretary of State.
% $15 of this amount forwarded to the Children's Trust Fund.
’ To be determined by the State Registrar.
Acts 2009, No. 569, p. 1671
Increased fees for obtaining vital statistics data to the present rates. (See Tax Rate).
Acts 2011, No. 706, p. 2187
Added Certificate of Birth resulting in Stillbirth to list of documents available. Provides that the fee for
this issuance of the Certificate of Birth resulting in Stillbirth is the same as that of a certified copy of

any other vital record.
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Comparison with Neighboring States:

Florida
The Office of Vital Statistics is the repository for the state's vital statistics records. Fee categories
are as follows: birth certificates, $9; photo certification birth certificate, $15; additional copies of
same record, $4; commemorative birth certificate signed by the current governor, $34; additional
commemorative birth certificate when ordered at the same time, $25; certification of the
registered birth on file, $14; death, marriage, divorce and annulment records, $5; searches, $2 per
year, maximum search fee, $50; additional copies ordered at same time, $4 each; amendments,
$20; additional copies, $4 each; exemplified (foreign countries) copies, $10; certificate of foreign
birth, $20; commemorative marriage certificate, $30; certificate of birth resulting in stillbirth, $9;
rush fee, $10; Local fees vary by county, payment method and expediency.

Georgia
The state's vital statistics records are kept in the Office of the State Vital Records Service. The fees
charged for searches and copies of records include: birth and death certificates, $25; marriage and
divorce certificates, $10; additional copies of the same record, $5; correction or amendment to a
record, $10; multiple year search for a marriage license, $10. There is no fee to amend a birth
certificate during first year from date of birth; delayed certificate of birth, $10. Multiple year search
for birth certificates, $25. Birth and death certificates are available at the local health department
for $10.

Mississippi
The state's vital statistics are kept in the Office of Vital Statistics. The fee schedule is as follows:
birth certificates (newborns), $15; birth certificates, $15; additional copies of birth certificates, $5;
delayed birth certificate, $25; marriage certificates, $15; death certificates, $15; additional copies of
death and marriage certificates (ordered at the same time), $5; corrected or amended certificates,
$25; extended searches including genealogical searches, $25/hour; adoption record, $50; online
ordering fee, $7.50; express mail, $27. The records are closed to county offices and no fees are
charged locally.

Tennessee
The state's records are kept in the Office of Vital Records, with adoption records kept in a separate
Division of Adoption and Legitimization. The fee schedule is as follows: birth certificates (long
form), $15; birth certificate (short form), $8; additional copies, $5; adoption and legitimacy birth
certificate, $15; birth search $15; death certificate (parent, spouse, child),$7; delayed death

certificate, $22; death research, $15; verifications of death, $15; death uncertified without cause of
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death, death search, $15 (per additional year); death certificate with cause of death, $15; marriage
and divorce certificate, $15; amended certificate, $15; delayed issue, $15; amended current and
issue, $15; uncertified, $15; verification, $15; photocopy, $5; search per year, $15; and opening a

sealed file and providing one copy of contents, $30.

Vital Statistics Fees Page 440



